(2002) Any 2002 babies?

dymples
the question about cow legs & tails, I think there should be another animal. Usually this type of question is 2 animals.

<font color="ff0066"> Valarie</font>
Pai seh... the question should be:
A Cow has 4 legs and 1 tail. If there are <font color="ff0000">6</font> more legs then tails, how many Cows are in the field. The answer is 2 Cows.

Dun ask me how to get the answer cos I also dunno. THe answer is my hub give one. hahahhaha...

CCK mummies
ha ha maybe we should just group together and exchange notes on their work. Then we can see how to teach them.

Maybe ask the one mummy each to take up 1 topic then we not so xiong. And usually the kids perform better with other pple's mummy instead of their own.

wow caroline, good leh, you can tell from their postures. The recent parent-teacher meeting, I didn't really notice that leh. I did talk to her before about homework, she says she want the kids to build up the responsibility and habit of doing work. She said for eg, normally if there are 4pages of homework, 1 or 2 page will be done in class and the rest to do at home...

So far I see from their homework, for english not their Stellar worksheets, but additional on grammar, compreh, compo, etc... I also confused....dunno good or bad for so much homework.. For maths is their maths workbook. Then 1 or 2 days later shall be Maths Homework book (another type of workbook), then additional worksheets occasionally. For chinese, is assessment book after every topic, and the HAO PENG YOU weekly will need to do many pages. And the kids need to practice writing chinese characters they had learn from the book at home and show teacher almost daily.

Sometimes I come to think of that with homework, we are aware of what they are being taught in school and how they had fare, base on the school work they are marked. I had friends complaining to me for their kids no homework or things brought back, hence don't know what is going on in their school work and how much has been taught so far. Not mentioning that how their children are coping.

<font color="ff0066"> Caroline3</font>
Tat question got no other animal. Only got the stupid cow. I also dunno the answer. Almost wanted to ask my gal to write - No cows. Only got monster. hahahahha...

<font color="ff0066"> Natellehcim</font>
Yup yup... I agree tat some homework is good then we as parents are able to assess our child's progress.
But I dun agree when the child is overloaded leh.

A typical homework for my gal is - Maths worksheets (each about 5 pages) + Activity book, English - either do Stellar worksheet / Spelling / Compo and Chinese is the Hao Peng You, 'Ting Xie', workbook and sometimes worksheets. *faintz*

This workload is way too much. I am afraid of the day when my gal will turn to me and say:" Mommy... I hate going to school." To me... education should be a 'fun' thing. Where children are able to express their creativity and learn at a comfortable pace. The current system sucks! I feel tat the schools and MOE expect all the children to hv had some enrichment programs b4 they go P1. But then again... how many children are so fortunate to be given tat opportunity? Sigh... really dunno wat MOE is thinking. There is certainly no school life balance here.

<font color="ff0066"> Chicken Little</font>
Tats a great idea!! Only thing is... I totally suck at teaching cos I got no patience leh. hahahah...

Dymples
1 cow = 4 legs + 1tail = 3more legs than tail
2 cows = 8 legs + 2tails = (8-2)ie 6 more legs than tail.

maybe your kids' school had taught the model. if not, maybe trial and error for P1 std??

may i know from the chinese text, your kiddos school exam will cover until which chapter (the character recognition ones; not the HYPY ones). my boy's school will examine until the 3rd lesson.

Hi Dymples, my kid's workload quiet similar to yours. But DSPS is a famous sch in CCK right? Think they stress alot in their school performance.
for mine is not famous type leh.. yet so much homework, makes me wonder why.

I totally agree with your comments about the education system. Now P1 already so much homework, I can't imagine the time when our kids reaches upper primary whereby they will be geared for PSLE. I believe schools will start gearing them, just like my friend's child in P5, everyday tons of homework from school, everyday 1 compos to write for chinese and english... not mentioning about extra lessons in school. Got to stay back and come home with tons of homework.

<font color="ff0066"> fz</font>
oohh.. thks for your explanation. Now me understand liaoz. hahahaa...

<font color="ff0066"> Natellehcim</font>
Actually there are lots of other famous schools in CCK area besides DLS leh. Like South View &amp; Unity. Haiz... but it does not matter which school our child goes to. It's the whole education system tat sucks! The MOE syllabus is too tough. I also tink tat these teachers keep giving homework and want their students to excel cos they got performance appraisal. Maybe the more their student get good scores, the better their chance of a promotion? Any teachers here can elighten us if this is true?

yawn yawn,
Congrats! I think you are the first one to be "free"! How nice to spend quality time with you and your girl only

I had also planned a trip to town after last day of exams tomorrow, with my girls. Haha, I think it's more like reward for the mummy!

<font color="ff0066"> yawn yawn</font>
Woo... Congrats on the 'end of the exams'! So nice to be able to spend special 'alone' time wz your gal as a reward.

<font color="ff0066"> Linette</font>
You also lucky tat the exams will be over for you tomolo. I'm still waiting to be discharged from my quarantine after next Tuesday. Sigh...
heheheh... agree... I tink the mommies will need a bigger reward for all the stress they had to go thru. *lolz*

Linette, Dymples

yes yes, definitely a relief exam is over. Even though I kept telling myself only P1 don't be so kan cheong, but still quite concerned, worried she careless lor

Exam prep

The two weeks prior to exam teachers gave more homework than usual + mock exams. I think well prepared in school already. She whined about doing extra work so I only managed to coax her to practice a few open ended comprehension at home

Not sure when results will be released but I believe teachers already finished marking. Form teacher told them 2 classmates failed their English papers!

Wow, this page is blooming with posts. Been MIA for a long time.

I am so worried for my son too with the coming SA.

Homework issues - To have homework is good, but overloading is definitely out! Worse if homework given has not been taught and expect parents to do the teaching all the time (Once in a while is fine).

Also, can speak to other parents first to see if their children are also "barely coping" with their homework as well. If it's true for most children, perhaps can highlight to school/teacher.

Hi I am new here..a new SAHM with 2 gals (5 and 6 yrs old).

I have a P1 gal and she will be taking her first SA1 (non-graded) next week. I am stressed over her weak performance and losing sleep over it.
I have came here hopefully to look for help and support. I have never prepared my kids for any enrichment class (except phonics - just for the fun of it)..but since she started P1, I realised she has weak, or rather no foundation. She was doing okay during pre-school days (except for maths)..but now Chinese (HYPY), English (Compo writing and vocab) and Maths are nightmare to us. The worst part is I only realised her weakness in English last month when I spoke to Teacher. Those worksheets which she brought home were done in school and with teacher's guidance. If you asked her to do independently, she is totally clueless.

For her upcoming maths test, I gave up teaching her the those heuristics stuff (if she can do it, I think I can prepare her for MENSA test!!). Her daddy said if she can grasp the basic concept, she can score at least a pass. (Keeping my finger crossed). For English, she speaks and reads well, but if you get her to put them down in words, she cannot do it. I have yet to go thru with her on her Chinese..bet she must have forgotten those HYPY which was taught earlier in Term1. I told her I will be happy if she can score 60 and above for all subjects. She told me her fav subjects are English and Chinese..and I do not want to kill her interest by stressing her too much.

Now I am starting to think if i shd send my younger gal (who will be in P1 next year) for enrichment class to avoid the nightmares I am facing now.

bebe75
Does your girl have class test?

My girl has weekly class test or bi-weekly class test for every subject since term 2. Plus mock exam two weeks prior to exam. Having all these regular class tests helped parents to identify which are the weaker areas

If possible, set aside 2 hours daily to coach them personally. Should be able to see improvements

natellehcim &amp; Dymples
Yes, that's the same amount of homework daily.

My girl P6 sleeps at 11pm daily. Can imagine the tonnes of homework.

Hi Yawn Yawn

No, she does not have any class test. Next week SA1 will be the first "class test" she is taking. Apart from the weekly English spelling and Chinese Dictation, she has no other tests.

Her school is quite relaxed, very few homework (except Chinese writing, and Arts &amp; Craft) as her teachers want them to complete the work in school.

Since I spoke to her teacher 2 weeks ago, I had been coaching her 2-3 hrly daily except on those days when she needed to study for her spelling. I had to start everything from the basic cos she had forgotten all that she learnt in Term 1.

The only consolation part that I can think of is that the marks for this SA1 will not be computed as part of SA2. So I am going to make use of this June holiday to catch up and build the foundation.

Besides academic aspect, I also need to look out for my gal's social behaviour. She is very shy and soft spoken (lack of confidence is one of the reasons) in school. I need to prompt her (MANY TIMES) to clarify with teachers if she is unsure what they were teaching.

In fact, I have drawn up a few points to discuss with her teacher in the next Parents-teachers meeting sessions. This serves as a wake up call that I should not take SG education system for granted (a lot of effort is expected from us as parents).

Yipee! Oral, EL compo &amp; Chinese Spelling Exams r over! I hope next week will pass quicky. This week, my boy's teacher has given his class mock exam papers to do. Compre is another nightmare... somehow my boy just cannot think of an answer on his own. Hiaz. Another thing is careless mistakes... as usual he doesn't check. How to cultivate in them the habit to check their work? I've repeat countless times but no use.

yawn yawn
U r one of the first to be "free". My boy has exams till next Friday. I'm looking forward to those stress-free days again.

bebe75,
it's a good thing her exams are non graded. At least, it's not so stressful.
Thinking back, I feel that those pre P1 enrichment classes did help. My son was v poor in mandarin (so bad that his teacher asked me if his dad is ang mo) so I sent him to Chinese enrichment since K1 and now, his Chinese is quite ok.
I kind of regretted not sending him for Eng enrichment. I have 2 younger girls so with this experience, I think I will definitely send both of them to classes which focus on writing and reading.

Yah how come this thread suddenly so alive after being dorminant for so long? Hee...

My dd having her English SA paper today. Drilled her on where animals live, sounds they made and the male/female/young yesterday. She asked me why is a young swan called cyagnet? I also thought her how to different young of deer and horse (fawn/foal). Her weakest is the comprehension though, sigh... she can never answer the questions.

Next Tue is Math SA. I have prepared some similar questions to those which she always make mistakes in. Will drill her over the long weekend...

hmm.. envy you mummies whose kids completing their SA soon. Me still got to wait for 1-2 more wks before the SA comes. next week is their listening compreh and 18May onwards then is their main papers. Lately having mock exams

luanee,
you drill her on the place animals live and their young is cos these are covered in school?
i'm clueless about what is covered under stellar...those that you mentioned above is not covered at all.

fz
place where animals live, their young, animals' sounds, males/females, collective nouns, colours (ie green fingers, pink of health, once in a blue moon, etc), these are 'syllabus' of RGPS. My son's sch does not have these.

My son's syllabus is myself (ie body parts) places, occupation, types of animals.

Hehe, I am the 2nd here to report end of exams! (As if I am really the one having exams! Ha)

I asked my girl how did she do for the exams...for every paper, she just said "ok". But she is very excited to know the results. Kept asking me when the results will be released!

Am quite glad her school decided to bring forward the exams. Although the last part of term 2 is CRAZY! So much homework and I can see the teachers literally rushing through the syllabus!

But I agree with the mummies here that June holidays will be a good opportunity to brush up on the foundation and to make sure they won't get rusty!

All the best to those kids having exams soon!

wow you all making me feel so stress. I actually dun realli know what to revise for English for my girl.

For topical test
Maths I just go by the topic and use assessment book. Chinese I only do the HYPY.

So any suggestion what I should do to get her up and running this June holiday ?

tinklebell
Which pre P1 enrichment classes did you send your kids to? Currently, the younger one (k2) is doing Phonics, but I am pulling her out after end of this month. I also send her to the same HYPY class with my P1 gal, because I want to expose her to HYPY entering P1 next year. Her Chinese is weaker than her sis. It is a nightmare asking her to speak or read chinese.

luanee/ caroline3sg/ fz
I have also asked my gal to memorise the names of the animail young, their movements and sounds. These are from a list which the teacher has given to her before end of term 1. I thought it was spelling list, but my gal said the teacher gave to her "for reading only". My guess is that there will be some vocab questions on these stuffs.

I have no ideas what other vocab will be covered, ...probably will go through the Stellar worksheets with her. I agree that comprehension is another "problematic area". If it is MCQ, she is alright, BUT if the questions require her to write IN FULL. She will give away marks for wrong punctuaton, wrong grammar or the worst scenario, she will leave blank.

I am so tired of asking her to check and check and check...after checking, you can still find careless mistakes. Very gek sim.

I had given up teaching her maths myself...I told her daddy to do the teaching over the long weekend.

This June holiday, I am thinking of spending 2 weeks to revise her Term 1 and term 2 work to build up the foundation, another 2 weeks to do a preview on Term 3 stuff. Besides that, I also "intend" to get her to practise writing English and Chinese Compo.

bebe75,
i can understand on the 'giving marks' away for compre part - wrong spelling...wrong tenses...missing capital letter....really very gek sim!

natellehcim
you have 1 week more to revise. But teachers have to rush to mark the papers.

bebe75
good for you! you very on. It is a marathorn running for 6 yrs. I relinguish slowly from P5/6 to tuition, especially Maths &amp; eng/chinese compo

fz
my boy has difficulty remembering grammar rules. He can't read too.

***sigh*** no chance to revise lah. Rushing with time. After school, bathe, dinner, then homework. By then 11pm, need to sleep, need to go school early next day.. that's the disadvantage of studying in afternoon session.

bebe75, my boy is attending chinese class in Eduplus. My no 2 is in N1 and youngest only one. I'm intending to let no 2 attend english lessons soon. Any recommendation?

<font color="ff0066"> bebe75</font>
I can totally understand your predicament cos I'm in the exact same position. I also only send my gal to I Can Read (ICR) before entering P1. Then in March, thru her homework... I discivered tat she was way behind in all subject. Worse still... after paying ICR for 1-yr.. she still could not read as well as I'd hope. In the end, I withdrew her from ICR. Now she's taking Phonics, has Chinese Speech &amp; Drama (organised by her school) and attends Berries for her Chinese Enrichment. I'm now thinking whether to send her to MPM for Maths.
2430928.gif

<font color="ff0066"> Luanee</font>
Wow!! Your gal is attending RGPS? The syllabus seems alot tougher. I can't imagine my gal going. Already she can't cope in those normal school... much less a SAP school.

<font color="ff0066"> Linette, Bebe75</font>
Me too! Me too! This June hols... I'm going to quarantine my gal and make her do revision of all areas covered in Term 1 &amp; 2. Then the last 2 weeks I will go thru the coming Term 3 and maybe even Term 4 work. Really gotta drill and prepare her. Somemore the Maths in the next term going to cover multiplication, money &amp; the numbers up to 100.
2430929.gif

<font color="ff0066"> Caroline</font>
My gal also can't read very well. Tink the 1-yr of school fees to I Can Read is all down the drain. Really waste of money!! Luckily now I found a good Phonics place and my gal slowly improving liaoz.

<font color="ff0066"> Chicken Little</font>
For English, you will need to revise Capital Letters, Punctuation, Verbs (Present tense), Conjunctions (and,or,so,and,with), Articles (a,an,the), Verbs ending with (-ing) and try to increase her level of Vocab. REally lots of things to cover lor. You can go Popular to get some Assessment Books.

<font color="ff0066">Natellhcim</font>
Yes yes! I also facing same situation as you. Really no time to do revision with my gal during weekdays. Only left with the weekends. So I kinda gave up on my gal scoring well for this SA. Now will focus more on the next Semester. Haiz...
2430930.gif

wow! didn't check thread recently becoz thought all mummies are busy with SA1...hhahaa!

Can't imagine when it's SA2 turn end of the year - it's 100% for my ds.

At least some of your hubbies yell at child to do homework. Mine doesn't bother so I'm the only nagging one! For my ds, I find the amount of work manageable, some days none, but still got to nag at him to complete before watching tv.

caroline3sg
Marathon for 6 YEARS!!!..*faint* My intention was to be SAHM for 2-3 years!! I am trying to see if I can coach her myself..before I consider outsourcing the teaching to "private tuition". Someone told me it is important to build up their foundation in P1 and P2, cos once the kids reach P3, they are required to know more than what we used to learn during our days. And frankly speaking, sometimes I get so impatient and upset with her that I would snap at her, I am so afraid that the tension will be doing more harm to our bonding/relations

Natallehchim
My P1 gal is in afternoon session too...really not much time to teach her. She is best alert in the morning, but I can only spare at most 1-2hrs before I rush her to bath/pack school bag/ eat lunch/prepare for school etc. *Sigh*

tinklebell
I don't know which English enrichment I should recommend you. I think for N1, it will be good to start some literacy programmes. I used to think phonics is the key to literacy, that is why I sent both gals to phonics class. But then I realised my P1 gal learnt reading by memorising the "whole word", the phonics technics such as decoding, blending sounds only help to some extent. The K2 gal, however, picked up reading through phonics, but now slowly trying to memorise the whole words like her sister. I will discontinue her phonics end of the month as I find that she has mixed up HYPY with phonics.

Dymples
My P1 gal can read, but she always read WITHOUT understanding, mainly JUST reading. >( I have to prompt her to go further, using those words in context and guide her along. That is why she is always struggling with written comprehension and maths problem sum. I have heard of MPM, but I am not sure if my P1 gal is suitable. The method needs a lot of visualisation skill, which she is lacking. In fact, we had a brief encounter with sakatomo maths late last year, but she did not like it and so we stopped the class.

And yes, for next term maths, multiplication will be covered..another hurdle to cross
. Up till now, she is still struggling with the 11 - 20 numbers addition and subtraction. I notice that the sch is using number bonds to break up the tens and ones...was wondering if we can skip that and just use the traditional method. I find that if she has to use the number bonds to split and add back, she tends to get confuse and careless, and ends up getting the wrong answer.

Today is my first day here, I am glad to find that my gal is not the only one struggling her P1..I kept reproaching myself that I made the mistakes of not doing enough to get her ready for the local P1 education system. When I learnt of kids getting 90 marks and above, I am so envious...need to remind myself not to compare
nono.gif
cos every child is different in strength and weakness..I will be happy if she can pass this round.

bebe75
My marathon coming to end. My elder P6 this yr and have mentioned earlier, I started outsource
1)Chinese compo (fm P3)
2)Eng compo (half yr ea in P4, P5, this yr just settle down in one centre coz couldn't find suitable one)
3)Maths (P5)
4 Science (P6)

SAHM for 2-3 yrs? P3 is one jump, P5 is one jump and P6 is another jump.

Dymples
I have finally seen CA1 samples of my son's sch. Much easier than RGPS.

Haven't report here for quite a while ...busy coaching my gal for SA1 too. My "torture" session will only end next fri....was shocked to discover tt my gal actually needed to use her TOES to count beyond 10 for maths. So i asked her "are you going to remove your socks when doing Maths test????" .....fainted. My fault for not sending her to any enrichment classes ...

Good Morning

Natellhcim / Dymples
Same for me... usually we reach home ard 830pm everyday and there is no time for revision. My son is in morning session so by 930pm, he's usually asleep. Weekends r packed with chinese enrichment, swimming and church activities so time is q limited for revision. Anyway, even if I have a whole full day to revise with him, i find that his attention span goes downhill after an hr or so.

haha maybe we can share SA1 papers after exams papers r returned... i also need to drill my boy in his foundation this june hols. We have RGPS, DLS, CCKPS, my boy is in CHS... wat else i miss out..

Jan,
Ya, this thread had been quiet for quite sometime, glad to see it alive again.

Dymples n bebe75,
Studying in afternoon session really not enough time for revision.. **sigh** Just like I intend to revise work with my boy last night, but he has a long list of chinese characters to practise write on his 笔记本, after all his maths and english homework. I really don't have the chance to teach him or revise anything. By the time he finishes already 11.30pm, and my MIL rushing him to sleep liao. Because next morning he got to wake up early to attend his chinese tuition 9am... With all these rushing, I've notice poor boy don't seem to have ample rest....

My K2 girl had gone through phonics lesson and also knows how to read. She like to read sentences or books with proper phonics style pronounication, but never understand what the sentence or word means. Hence I'm worrying about her next year coping with P1, especially problem sums for maths.

Tinklebell
Mine in NYPS but no SA1 so maybe can contribute the topical test papers ?

Me too by the time I reach home already 8.30 pm but she has no homework, and I was lucky that my enrichment class are ferried by sil during weekdays and she will make her learn spelling and tingxie. Minus point is she will say sil already tested her why must I test her again.

Cookiepie
My girl oso use finger to count. But her maths enrichment teacher ask me to coach on number bonding to help her. Which I will be doing coming holiday.

Chicken little
Ya ya... topical tests also can...my boy has math topical test almost every week.
so now we have
RGPS, DLS, CCKPS, CHS, NYPS

Natellecim
Any school is good mah. Ha ha we form our own group, mailing list then ha ha each time we consolidate x number of members and mail out ha ha

I will get Pei Hwa one too from my friend

My girl has completed all on May 6 and we have already received the marked papers back to sign.

So we are relaxed now.

But as her Maths result is not up to my standard (78/100), so today get her to complete one SA1 worksheet in the morning b4 going to sch later. ha!!!

However, she scores well for her MT which I worried the most but she surprised us

Eng - over 80. Mistakes mostly in the compre part and most of her classmates all forgotten how to spell Catepillar.
ha!!

So we may award her for her MT. Probably will get the Barbie doll that she has been asking for.

natellacim,
it's ok... it's for revision purposes... so any contribution will be good...
btw, SPS stands for...(pardon me)
RGPS, DLS, CCKPS, CHS, NYPS, SPS

Mine is RSS

But hor, everytime we signed the Topical Tests and return to Teacher. They never give us back lei..

Maybe I should ask my hubby to invest a 3-1 printer and scanner machiner hor...

caroline3sg - so you have been SAHM for the past 5-6 years?

cookiepie - u can ask yr gal to use the grid numbers on the long ruler (20 - 30cm) to the counting (just like the number line mtd). This is what I am going to get my gal to do..if you ask her to use mental and fingers..she get confused.

natellecim - my gal is also having chinese homework almost everyday..I think the school is running out of time to finish the syallbus and now trying to speed up. She has chinese spelling next tues and her chinese test is on the following Wednesday.

Yes, it will be great to consolidate and tests/exam script from various school My gal is from CHIJ TP..her last test will be next Friday..