(2002) Any 2002 babies?

chicken little

yeah i have to even need to do some research of what is Haiku, haha never heard of it before. And during the one week holiday the teacher need them to read the story book of Sakura, this book is meant for gifted kids. Nowsaday school not easy.

Hi my ds Chinese class has been changed from term 2. The 'core' ones stay while abt 8 of them move to join another class. There's only one boy who had to go to a 'foundation' class. There's a letter to inform abt this segregation but we were not told which type of class child is allotted to. I'm looking forward to more Chinese characters learning rather than hanyu pinyin.

Any of your child has e-learning? There's no school for a day next week with lower primary stay home to complete lessons and assignmt from website. So hightech! But means another day of leave..

my dd had e-learning last Friday. English must finish on the same day but i see wrongly and when i let her do on the next day. it's lock liao.
dun know it will include in the report book or not.

BTW for those parents with kids taking their first SA in May, do u feel nervous? I am feeling kind of jitterish after I received a letter from school yest detailing about the format of the SAs, hee... Wonder need to do any preparation or not?

my boy also no CA. this SA1 is the first.
Eng Paper 1 is 'written expression'; i think is compo
Eng Paper 2 appears to be regular test paper, but has 'editting' as one of the component.
then also have oral and listening compre

The chinese...i am lost...probably dont really understand those chinese words telling us what the format is about...only know have count the strokes as one of the content. :p

Hi amy, yah no school for that day. child to logon website for e-lesson then complete assignmt. Sounds like bcp for a business incase anything happens and have to 'work' from home!

Hi luanee, not sure how many assignmts to complete for that day but also need take leave to look after him. Ds did a math e-learning as homework before and teacher showed them how to login so completed himself. Meimei sat beside him and 'studied' with him bcos it's like playing pc game?!

mine was rec'd on thurs.

so if we top up $5 to activate card for buses n mrts, do we surrender de child transitlink card? can value in card b transferred?

Thks yawn n jh. Bcos my ds said Tcher told class they will get the student cards in term 3 but just chk that the child ezlink card xpiry is in April.

Jh

No my girl never study japanese. Is only the school is doing international friendship day so all different class has to to different country. My girl happen to do on japAn, some other class do on Israel turkey etc. So my girl project for term 2 Is all related to japan

jh

I returned the ezlink card to get refund since it's expiring soon

mrt staff said child ezlink card cannot be used once expired, so have to return anyway after expiry date

thks. since de student card's ready then will return de ezlink card anyway. does anyone noe how much 2 replace de student card if spoilt or lost?

anyone here gives your kids chinese herbs on a regular basis? esp in soups or juz 4 drinkin. can share wat u give? n 4 wat purposes? thks

jh
chinese herbal soup for general well being.

I boil black chicken soup once a month.

Nanny boils chicken soup once a week for my boy.

mommies

Is your child adapting well to primary school so far? 3 months passed so quickly

Starting to prepare for SA1? I'm wondering how to prepare for oral...

Caroline, CL, Wanwan,

I cant rem the SA format offhand now coz I am trying to memorise the one for the Oral one first cos it is next week.

For oral, first they must greet the teacher, tell the teacher their name and index number. Then there would be a passage reading. Must read with correct pauses, intonation, feelings etc.

After that is one with a picture for them to talk about. Start with 'this is a picture of xxx' then go round describing what u see, eg on left hand side , there is a xxx, followed by middle, then right hand side. Can also go to top/bottom right/left hand side etc. Must use present tense, cannot give names to the people u see (this is not compo writing). Can add in what u think eg. 'The boy is xxx-ing and I think he is doing that because xxx' etc. Finally end with 'That is all I have to say. Thank you.'

See? So many steps. Luckily both English and Chinese same. Now I am trying to practise with my dd. The English teacher has also given them 2 pictures for them to practise writing out a passage as if during oral exam.

I will try to memorise the SA format after the oral exam finishes next week.

Hi luanee, wa there's oral for P1? It's still quite 'honeymoon' for my ds school then. Only SA2 (100%) and don't think there's oral.

Hi mummies, my ds' tingxie for this week started with proper chinese characters; the earlier ones' were just numbers. Realised that it's quite difficult to teach bi hua (strokes and sequence). Asked him if the school chinese teacher goes through bi hua during class and he said no. Guess it's not possible to teach every word. Is there a general guide which strokes come first? It may end looking the same but I think it's important and helps the writing to look better.

Hi CL, hahaa good for now but when it comes to SA2, super stress! Quite surprised - thought NYPS is very chinese focused, thus should have started more intensive 'proper' chinese character learning, no?

Hi CL, no not chinese calligraphy, but Chinese lessons more focus on chinese character 'ren zi' rather than the current emphasis on hanyu pinyin?

My ds is also worried now, just told me that he can't read the chinese words without looking at the hanyu pinyin. Previously in preschool, no hanyu pinyin he can 'ren zi' easily.

Jan, as a general guide, the strokes usually start from top to bottom, and from left to right. Part of the chinese SA involves counting the number of strokes. True u still can get the answer right even if u get the wrong order. But at least for example 'kou' as in 'mouth', u need to know it is 3 strokes instead of 1 stroke like drawing a square.

Btw I havent gotten any ezlink card yet...

Hi Luanee,
Thanks for your sharing, that's really quite a bit for a P1 student. My ds had a oral test in Mar, all students were given a choice to select one of the 2 'tang shi' given and recited to the class individually & then they were assessed. I was like 'huh?' when my ds told me but it seemed that all them were able to do so with little difficulty...

Jan,
For the chinese strokes, you can get a good dictionary that provides the strokes. But I have just realised there are some chinese characters that can be written in different ways and still acceptable. So just be aware to get the latest edition so that you learn the later 'version' which may differ from what we have learnt in the past.

jan, chicken little
my boy's tingxie has half hanyupinyin and half chinese characters since the start.

luanee
I also have not received ezlink card. I think the child ezlink card expires 31 mar.

Does any mommies here have good piano teacher to recommend? Urgently required. Thank you

Hi luanee, thanks - yah general rule is like that but like writing hua (flower), was unsure about the sequence for the top. Is it dian dian first then the heng (line across) or heng first then dian dian. My ds came out with his own version - left dian first then heng then right dian. Not even sure if it's called dian or short 'na' and short 'pie'. Duno if you know what I'm talking about!!

Hi wanwan, thanks! Didn't know chinese dictionary has the strokes. Don't think mine has though, as it's just a small edition which I bought 2 years ago.

Will check with the school re the student card to confirm since my ds was told they will get in term 3. My child ezlink card expires April so will just get another one under my dd's name (year 2003) if still hasn't received. Don't understand why so slow....!

Jan, I know what u talking about, it's the 'grass head' right? My dd's middle name happened to have that 'head' too and I have been teaching her to write it as heng dian dian from day1. Dunno correct or not also, haha...

Pin,
I just received the school magazine this week and saw your daughter in it! So lucky! OK, will keep the copy for you. Let me know when you want to take it. Wow, how come your Japanese international week is so cheem? Her class is doing Spain, nothing much to do, only need to learn 1-10 in Spanish. But she knows it long ago from Dora TV shows, haha.

Btw, do you know when their oral exams will be?

My dd's SA1 will be May 6,7,8. The format is also out. Each paper is 1.5 hour, very long hor. I am also wondering how to coach her on oral...

linette

Thank you, as i only got one copy. Yeah i dunno why mine girl class so cheem, my other friend's kid from 1.2 also dun have all this project. My girl keep telling me got oral but till now dun have. Regarding how to coach her my girl's tuition school already prepare her for the oral. They provide her a picture and some sentences to describe the picture than ask her keep revising.

Hi luanee, yes the grass head! oops, for myself, I write the dian dian first then heng leh...

For this not so bad, as it still looks ok whichever strokes are written first. There are some words which will be totally off if the bihua is wrong.

My ds collected his studentcare today. Are kids supposed to carry with them to school daily like an IC or we can keep at home? Scared lost..

There's ERP printed behind - he asked me does it mean can use his card to pay for ERP!?! I also dunno but not logical for a studentcard to use for ERP payment.

My dd got her ezlink card yesterday. Think it is the new one that can be used for taking MRT, buses, paying ERP (like cashcard) also? I intend to keep it at home. Wonder is there any value inside complimentary from MOE? Hee...

My oral is 13-16 Apr and SA1 4-8 May. I tried to practise 'picture description' with my dd but ended up she got carried away and started to spin her own story, LOL.

luanee

My girl refuses to open her mouth, just keep shaking her head. I told her she will get zero if keep quiet
Aiya, wrong thing to say to her but I got frustrated mah, like that how to go for oral? Stressed

By the way, need to top up ezlink card, no value inside

Jan

I kept the ezlink card at home. Only bring along when we need to take public transport

I heard ezlink card can also be used to borrow books from school library

luanee,
for chinese oral, my boy keep asking me what is ____ in mandarin - he only knows them in english....haiz.

Fz, my dd's school gave a list of places with their english names and the chinese translation. Eg. a picture of a canteen, then english 'canteen' followed by chinese 'shi tang'. Guess I need to drill my dd the chinese names of all the places in that list. More difficult ones are MRT cabin, void deck I rem...

h all it's been a long time i nvr post & read the threads.My gal is at Lianhua , she will b hving her SA1 ard end of April , & i already received the letter of all the formats for 3 subjects.Actually nt so sure hw to prepare for my gal, especially English & Chinese.They have reading , listening test n show the picture tell in sentences.Then they aso hving written test.Maths is quite straightforwrd , as they go according to their workbook , but English is based on Stellar Programme , & chinese is more on "hanyupinyin" , so dun knoe how 2 prepare for her.Let her do some assessment books & pass yr papers will do?after tis test my gal told me tat they will be arranged to go to different class again , so think tis SA1 is kinda of important....
Any moms (especially kids frm Lianhua) can help?

Ling,
i dunno how to prepare for Listening Compre.
i intend to revise all spelling and tingxie words, go through the files and workbooks.
will there be streaming after SA1?
my boy said they will be streamed into different chinese class next week.
do you have an email address? i think i lost yours...and you dont accept PM.

Jan, I found an assessment book that says the 'grass head' in flower should be written as 'heng, dian, dian'.
2344029.jpg

Btw my dd said she need to bring the ezlink card to school as she has to use it to borrow books from her school library? Dont they have separate cards for that purpose?

luanee,
i've written de 'grass head' dis way as well all my life ... luckily it's correct cos dat's how i taught my gal. was shocked when her bi ji ben showed de word shang (as in 'up') as shu heng heng ... i've written heng shu heng all my life LOL

looks like we need 2 buy de pre-sch chinese assessment bks again ... go dig out my younger gal's ones 1st ...

my gal also said she needs 2 bring ezlink card 2 sch 2 borrow library bks

my gal's goin 2 de butterfly park @ sentosa in de afternoon. 2 classes in a batch go everyday 2 de park. her teacher told them not 2 spray insect repellent cos if all de insects die, there wont b anymore insects n butterfies 4 de next classes ... gd reminder cos we always spray repellent when de kids go excursions n outings rite? instead, she was told 2 bring tiger balm/axe oil but i wonder how 2 apply them cos i thot it was used after de insect bites. anyone noes?

she told me her teacher said rub everywhere LOL. i put de tiger balm in her bag n ask her 2 go c where her classmates apply them.

JH, insect repellent is just to deter the insects from biting the kids mah, will it kill all the insects? What about those stickers-type?

Yah, Shang (Up) should be written as shu, heng, heng.