(2002) Any 2002 babies?

Hi wan wan,
I went to snec then because it was established. The clinic at paragon was just a new setup then but it had since gained popularity.

Hi Jan,
My gal also kinda sad that she still needs to go studentcare during the 1wk break. Luckily the studentcare has 1 excursion for the students and she is looking forward to it.

hi jan, ya my ds' form also not collected back. still in his file. Yesterday went for their learning journey. quite a fun one, not only walking around the neighbourhood nia, the teacher did explain to them the places and had some worksheets along for them to find out the answers from those places and fill it in. Eg what does SMRT stands for, and they have to find out the answers from the station and fill it in. Another eg is How much fare needed from Semb to Orchard, and they need to find out the fare on the fare chart, ... many other questions about the nearby CC, bus service no, the library facilities, etc.

Hi wan wan,

thanks for the clarification on the FAs weightage. My boy din do very well in his Term 1. In fact, he failed his HCL. hopefully, he can catch up from Term 2 onwards.. I Tink ATS chinese standard is very high..i find it very challenging myself =p

My ds went to Kids kampong too. Probably on the same day as ur boy =D He too was really excited and enjoyed his trip. He caught 20 fishes, hi-fived with the rabbits and watched the gerbil did the sommersault!. I think the school make them write a journal on the trip is good as it re-emphasise what they have seen and done there.

Mummies, now that the school holiday has started, how did ur kids spend his time?

My dd was very excited about the 1 week break too, until I told her we couldnt bring her anywhere becoz daddy and mummy still need to work! Hee...

Nonetheless my husb took 1/2 day leave yest to bring her and her cousins to great world city games arcade. Very rainy nowadays, difficult to plan for outdoor activities...

my husband took 3 days leave.
but my boy is having fever since last thursday. supposedly subsided yesterday, but after our trip to sentosa, his fever shot up again last night.
so probably rest of the week is rest time.

luanee,
agree, nowsaday weather quite unpredictable. wanted to bring them to other 2 boys kampong after my ds shared with us his excursion. but my 2nd boy down wif chicken pox...so can't go anywhere...

FZ

haiz...sometimes our plans are just upsetted with these unexpected turns of events =p

tink de fever virus is around. my older gal had it for 2 days last wk n now her mei had it yesterday n was sent home fm cc. i'm also havin up n down fever ... n body achin all over.

fyi, there's a free creative writin camp fm 2day till sat @ bedok library by Monsters Under The Bed. 1 - 3pm is for ages 6 - 8 n 3 - 5pm is for ages 9 - 11. on sat, fathers r invited 2 write a story bk wif their child. it's not compulsory 4 children 2 go everyday, but it's preferred.

yawn2,
not in NLB website cos only decided n announced on sat durin a related workshop organised by de same pp. tink only those who attended de workshop n those on de 10,000 fathers' readin program mailin list noe abt it.
pm me; i'll forward u de email.

Hi cookiepie, good that there is excursion. There seems no program, no lessons by ds' studentcare. They did own stuff in the morning, then nap, then high tea, then it's tv all the way. My ds said he read his book, played his friend's DS and watched 2 shows after high tea. I will ask the teacher tomorrow, hopefully there're plans during the longer June and Dec holidays!

I'm taking 2 days leave. May bring ds to Science Centre, yah plan indoors becoz of the weather. Then he will be going for a robotics workshop for a day. Rest of the time, will be badminton with hubby, so effectively 2 days at studentcare.

He has a little project for oral presentation for English to be assessed in term 2. Haven't started..!

I am bringing my 2 boys to zoo this fri. They are so excited about it. I hope it will not rain on Fri.

Cool,
I am sorry to hear about your boy's HCL. I wonder if all P1 students have the same FA. Did you rec the result of his HCL pre-test result as it will give you a gd gauge of the stds. My son is not extremely gd in his HCL but his K1&K2 chinese teacher (fr China) has taught him a lot & I think that forms a gd foundation to his CL2. I am v appreciative of that. I wrote a compliment letter to the mgt for her dedication and passion in teaching the children at the childcare centre.

Is there anything that we could share & help your ds to improve on his HCL.

Wan Wan

Brought my kids to the zoo on Mon. Aiyo, raining the entire time we were there. Took the tram, loop one round & hang around the souvenir shop. Decided to give up & went home. Raining season very hard to plan anything. These 2 days weather seems better

Hi Yawn,
The weather is so good today! My boys & my friends who brought their kids too had a wonderful time. Sorry to hear that it rained when you were there. Did you bring your kids to the new kidsworld? I think it is really a fun place for the children. But it was quite crowded today as it is the school holiday. If you go the next round, don't miss the kidsworld

How's everyone? Term 2 started yesterday. Mg gal has 2 tingxie, 1 spelling and 1 mini project to complete this wk ...gosh.....how i miss the school holidays....

My dd said the new chinese teacher allowed them to nap during class first day of term yesterday? I was appalled.....

cookiepie,
2 tingxie in a week?
i understand FTWM's looking forward to school holidays, but as a SAHM, i prefer the school term...heehee...cos when my boy has too much time at home, he gets restless and naughty. and also we get to talk about what's happening in school.
and with the older one in school for half a day, the house is quieter without 2 rowdy boys playing together.

exam is on the vesak day week...

luanee,
Did your dd say whether it is a one-off thing as goodwill fm the new teacher or it is going to be a permanent arrangement? Some teachers may do this to build rapport with the students .....

fz,
yah, 2 tingxie within 1 wk, think the chinese teachers are making up for time lost during the 1wk break...

hi wan wan

Thanks for your concern.

He has problem matching the pix with the write word, becos he doesn't really know how it is said in chines..like dog bone, clow example. he knows it in english, but dun noe wat is it call in chines..haiz...how can i help him?

Hi cool

I guess it's due to exposure to the chinese language? My gal has that problem too and I try to speak to her more in chinese and also remember to give the chinese equivalent of some of the terms when we converse in english. It'll help but will take time to see the effect.

Anyone's kids been through the show and tell in school? How do you prepare them for this?

Also, my gal told me yesterday that the teacher switched some of their sitting arrangement. She commented she has grown 'taller' coz she's being moved from the first to the second row. Is it a norm nowadays for teachers to switch places at the start of each term?

pressuredkid

My girl swapped seats twice in term 1. Think it's the norm. Asked teacher during meeting & she said it's for the child to get to know their classmates better
Their partners changed whenever they changed seats.

Hi Cool,
Agree with Pressurekid that you need to converse more with your ds in mandarin and get him to read more chinese books. I can understand it will take you & ds some time to reach your desired std but it is better to start now & enjoy the fruits of your labour later. My ds could not speak or recognise a single chinese word 2 yrs ago & when I realised i need to do sth abt it, I make it a pt to converse with him in mandarin & read many chinese books to both boys. Now my younger ds is going thru the same thing as the korkor slow but improving. So dun lose hard, it's always tough in the beginning

I have also started to coach my k2 ds with hanyupinyin now & start from the very basic. Dun want him to struggle when he is in P1 next yr. Altho some may comment that doing worksheet is not the ideal way of learning, they work well for my ds. Worksheets usually focus on the expected level of std for the child & both my ds pick up some new words from there. Sometimes they can't remember the words but I never lose heart, speak more and use difft ways to make them remember the words.

pressuredkid,

tis is a sample for the show and tell which my son's teacher give to him...hope it helps...but u can always change here and there on tat...

mime_msword.gif

show &amp; tell.doc (48.1 k)</td></tr></table></center>

yawn yawn, wow swapped twice in term 1, think that's a bit too frequent isn't it. Anyway, she says only a handfull are affected and glad to know that other teachers also practice this.

amyamy, thanks for sharing, my gal will be having show and tell on favourite toy starting from week 3. Really appreciate your posting as I'd never think of asking her to start off with greeting the teacher and class and an introduction of herself.

Cookiepie, my dd didnt mention whether it is a one time arrangement or not...

Pressurekid, my dd just brought a story book to read during show-and-tell. Some of her other classmates sang songs and they had to print out the lyrics for all the classmates.

Not sure about sitting arrangements. But teacher did mention she would change their roles second week of the new term.

Cool,

My gal also has problem with chinese due to lack of exposure. My fault also for not speaking chinese to her since young. Even if I do, it is broken chinese like yao bu yao chi "cake"? As a result, the poor kid doesn't know "cake" equal "dan gao". This word actually came out in her CA1. Nowadays I insist on speaking to her in proper chinese. While she stubbornly replies in English and continues to speak in broken chinese, at least she understands the language.

pressuredkid,

No prob...during last term of FA1...my boy hve tis tested..and during kindergarden time,teacher dn't even expo to them...which some of the kindergarden hve it....

when looked at the FA1 test list...they will b test on the show and tell,I almost faint...dn't know how to go about it...but luckly his teacher pass them the guide,so at least know wat he should do....

Ha, my dd said they slept in class during chinese lesson again. This is a new teacher coz old one went on maternity leave. Wonder is that the norm or is the teacher skiving? Should I send an email to the principal??

Nat, how to find out ah? Question my dd? But sometimes her words not that accurate... Maybe I should go interrogate her further.

i feel that you may wan to communicate with her classmates' mummies and try to find out from these kids. If they speak the same, then one of you need to talk to the principal.

As for changing of sitting positions, my ds told me that they had changed this term. Others were changed grouping also but his does not.

Nat, so far I have contacted one mummy and she said her dd didnt tell her that, she will go find out more. Now I had to scan through the old PV contact list to figure out which ones have dds in same class as mine. Luckily my dd showed me her class name list before so I managed to screen out some mummies. Hope they reply me soon.. got a feeling this teacher is skiving leh...

IMO luanee, why not just approach the teacher and ask. If its true but he/she denies it, at least he/she won't do it again, knowing that some parents are awared of it and disapproving it. Most probably you will not find out the truth but at least you can stop it for happening again.

Maternity leave is now 4 months, so better act on it fast. SA1 is coming soon....

if done in such way, if it's untrue, teacher might feel that the child is telling tales, mummy will afraid their child be kana marked. is better to gather more mummies to find out first. Maybe the teacher has her own intention/plan for doing so.

Ya understanding nat, maybe can do it in a more liberal way. Check whether did the incident actually happen, if so what was the intention/plan for it. Express your concern about the matter. And if he/she has a valid reason, at least we won't be guessing here. Cheers.

So should I or should I not approach the teacher? I was thinking of using an email address that the school has no record of, and send an anoynomous email to the principal? Then my girl wont be blackmarked? Cos there are 30 pax in the class mah...I do not have the full name of the teacher so I do not have her email address... And I do not send my girl to school too, so no chance to meet the teacher...

instead of show n tell, my gal's sch will assess them wif eng poetry recitation dis term n chinese ones next term. chim rite? i was only exposed 2 poetry when i did literature ... wonder if her teacher taught her abt which words 2 emphasise n remind her of pronounciation. must memorise n get audience participation somemore ... my gal read n re-read her chosen poetry de whole of her mar hols ...

Hi hothotmum,

u may try tis few bks,...

English: Teachers @ work,Cosco.

Maths:Teachers @ work, Andrew Er, Dolphin pub or Li Fanglan...

As for the chinese...most of the bk are nt @ hm...so can't adv....

Hope is give u a guide on it....

Wow japanese poetry?

Just to update, I managed to contact 3 other mummies with girls in same class as my dd, and all said their dd said the chinese teacher didnt ask them to sleep in class??!! Quite unusual my dd would come up with a story like this though... still very puzzled...

pin,
does yr gal's sch offer jap as a 3rd language? cool leh ... may b they also teach menga drawin ...

luanee,
do u tink de teacher was askin them 2 do relaxation exercises? u noe de type where u have 2 close yr eyes n imagine u r walkin in de forest? n yr gal mistook as sleepin?

Nat, yah lor, luckily u advised me to do so, hee...

JH, not too sure leh... my dd told me the teacher asked them to sleep while she marks some work. Then she told me some girl couldnt sleep and looked around. Whereas others really fell asleep...

I will continue to monitor... thks to all for ur advices...

hello
hee hee I totally blur. Think never post and this thread dropped out from my email.

Pin
ha ha I did Japanese as major in uni oso never do Haiku ha ha realli ver xiong leh