(2002) Any 2002 babies?

fz
precisely, time spent on homework could be used for personal coaching.

Copy homework is okay. You never know when your child does not know how to do (and teacher is very fierce, must complete allocated work) and need help.

As you go higher, there would be project work (ie social studies). There would be bound to have free riders. But because some kids really do not know how to get info from the net, how to write so end up only 1 girl produced 'group work'

luanee

My girl started homework on 2nd day of school. But very simple ones lah, like colouring, drawing or tracing

fz

My girl in afternoon session & twice a week she has to attend enrichment & CCA in the morning, only left 3 weekdays morning to coach her.
I asked her to finish her school homework at night otherwise next morning no time leh

CCAs

How do you choose CCAs for your child?
Which are the ones you shortlisted?

Since my girl has no external music classes, my preference is for her to learn a musical instrument.
Seem like only have guzheng or Chinese Orchestra, no western instruments such as violin or cello offered by the school

Hi Linette, I too have 2002/2006 gals. Dd is pretty much like yours, seems to be content with the daily packed meal provided. I believe the friends she hangs out with play a part...her best friend also brings along packed meal thus she doesn't feel the need to buy food. Don't know if it's a blessing in disguise.

DD's school (SCGS) is also very laid-back academic-wise....no spelling list/homework to-date.

Yesterday, received a promotional mailer by her school to sign up for the bi-weekly maths newsletter called '+venture'. Wondering if any other schools are promoting this too?

fZ,don't think so, glanced thru but it didn't seem that interesting.

Dd's school subscribes to the Lead.com.sg educational site. She seems to enjoy the online lessons and games there. Think will stick with that for the moment.

shawny17,
ya. i agree that the materials are a bit too easy for my boy, but my boy seems interested (perhaps its the novelty of receiving stuff in the classroom...I remember the days when i envy other kids getting to drink yakult or milk in clas...). may try out first. my main interest is using it as a source of math-teaching ideas for my ds2.... :p

fz, shawny
Me too got the mailer. Charmaine says she is keen so I am subscribing. Not only that we have Chee Tze Poh Chinese and Storybox to subscribe too. So many things

yawn yawn, for CCAs I let my girl choose herself. She saw some of the CCAs performing during the orientation, like choir, gym, ballet, chinese dance etc and she likes the choir. So we chose choir for her first choice.

jchew hi hi!!! welcome welcome! the more the merrier.

at the moment, my girl doesnt attend any enrichment (never attended one b4)or other outside classes. THe last activity she attended was an art workshop (she likes to draw and paint) which ended in december. Decided not to put her in any new activity this year until after CNY. Most probably will sign her up for Harobee (forgot spelling) at esplanade.

Caroline, re your survey: no homework for p1 and p2 please! I am one lazy mommy (actually more busy than lazy).

linette, yeah man, i think i was busier last yr with spelling and dictation that i was this year. Or mabbe not yet?? So i am still enjoying this honeymoon period of having no homework and you should too :D

caroline3sg

RE: Copy Homework
This is already happening in my boy's P1 chinese class. I suspect that his partner is not familiar with hanyu pinyin, so my boy said he let him copy the class work. That happened in class, so i was worried that he may get into trouble. I couldn't ask my boy to teach the kid cos that will involve talking in class.

His friend even offered him something in return for letting him copy. isn't that consider as bribery? i had told my boy not to accept.

shawny17, fz, chicken little,
rec'd de maths mailer too. it's easy for P1 standard, wonder if they allow us 2 subscribe P2 newsletter at de same time

will b subscribin cos like fz said, more useful 4 for my younger gal

chicken little,
is Chee Tze Poh Chinese de same as Hao Peng You? my gal was told 2 subscribe de latter ...

saw Da Mu Zi in NTUC. anyone noes if dis is gd?

Stellar programme,
4 kids wif dis programme, wat story bks r they teachin in sch? mine's usin Dan, the Flying Man now. can't remember de other 3 titles. is dis de same as yours?

rec'd yesterday a mailer informin us dat de sch has bought insurance 4 all kids n we shd keep de certificate in de mailer, in case we need 2 make a claim. any one of u rec'd dis? din noe de sch bought insurance 4 de kids ...

fz
Regarding copy homework, yes, they are not allowed to talk in class. I think it is better for you to talk to the teacher so that teacher knows your concerns and take appropriate action (ie follow up with the child's mother). Adult and adult direct talk would reduce miscommunication.

jh
Hao Peng You, Da Mu Zhi, etc, I thought is different levels?

stellar programme - sch didn't inform what titles.

Qdee
my gal at the moment not taking any tution but she is still continuing her Abacus class which she enjoy at the moment.
Yesterdaly my gal came back and insist us to give her some $$ to buy food but i told her she is now using the coupons so will let her after the period end for the coupons.
Her class going to start chinese spelling nxt wk onwards.
How abt ur gal got any homework or spelling yet?

Gosh CL, that's quite alot to subscribe to. But of course, if it's within our means and most importantly if the child shows interest...think it'll be good to give them a try.

Ashley is home today, down with food poisioning. Must be the coconut agar agar I bought for her yesterday.

Regarding this Stellar programme....i still have no ideas as to what books they're using in school.

luanee
fyi, since last week, everyday 2 pages of homework, either eng or maths. This week, either 4 pages maths or eng. Maths so far easy, have completed p16 of activity book. Eng, last night, vocab (picture matching with words, vocab cloze) words: pupils, neighbour, classmates, classroom, teacher, computer, friends, school, count, read, together, write, uniform.

Jh, my girl in stellar programme using The Magic Finger by Roald Dahl. Only 1 book leh. And we also got the insurance letter, I just left it in my girl's school bag.

Caroline, ur P1 son has all those homework already? Looks like neighbourhood school even more on leh...

Hi jh / luanee, for the English storybooks, do you have to buy them? My ds did a number of worksheets based on a story which he said it's a story book that the teacher reads with them in class. Just got the spelling list yesterday and words are also related to the book. Only 2 English books bought are Grammar and handwriting skills.

Hi fz,

oops, my ds is the one who copied - a hanyu statement from a classmate. And one 'word' was wrong! But teacher also blur, marked correct. *faints*
I saw a multi-coloured pen in my ds pencil case. He said his friend John gave it to him because his jiejie doesn't want it. Told him to return it - But John gave it to me. You have to return him becoz it's not yours. I said I don't want but he said he doesn't want. Then you tell him to return to his parents becoz they bought the pen. Return it tomorrow ok. And so he returned the pen.

jan, so far I only bought one book for English for my girl as it was on the book list. Not so sure whether they use other books in school.

And the taking of other kids' stuff issue, my girl did that in K2 when her friend gave her a watch (kids type). I told her to return it immediately. Then the next day she got a hairband becoz the other girl didnt want it, she said. I let her keep that though.

jh, luanee

my girl also stellar programme. So far no news on story books titles & we weren't ask to purchase any story books leh
She didn't bring any worksheets home for English either. Absolutely no idea what they were doing for English

luanee

my girl everything also like. Said she wants to learn guzheng, flute, erhu, pipa

So must help her to choose lor

Did someone mentions wishy washy ? I think for Stellar, I oso saw the video in school for introduction, it is a very big book under Sails and wishy washy is one of the book.

We have worksheets too - Sounds, Listening and Process skills for Maths

Shawny
Hope Ashley is better. Me and Aden is trying to keep away from Charmaine since we are down with bad cough, fever and flu

jan, luanee,

ya, my boy had a 'struggle' yesterday before finally buying my explanation to return the stuff. I told him that friends help each other (but not in excessive copying or in copying for test) and we should not expect to accept anything in return. He argued that his friend don't want the stuff already (i didn't want to venture into whether his friend offered the stuff to start with or my boy request it in return for the 'favour'). Then i reasoned what if the mummy check his bag and the boy panic and said my boy took it? It's not worth getting into trouble over such things. I also don't want my boy to be expecting things/gifts in return for helping others. but gifts of art and craft in nature (eg selfmade stuff eg drawing/card) is perfectly acceptable.

Hi fz / luanee, on the other hand in his childcare days when I know some of his friends very well, they do exchange or give each other things like playcards, small toys, nothing too ex$. Sometimes for a new book / toy, my ds will ask me to buy for so-and-so becoz 'my best friend'. I have to say no, so-so parents will buy for him. It's so funny when he said...but so-so parents don't want to buy for so-so, I want to buy for him. Then I have to explain that so-so parents must have reason for not buying. If so-so is good, maybe will get it as birthday present. Now, primary school just got to know one another for one week, best friends liao!

Hi Jchew,

Welcome to the 2002 thread.

Hi Qdee and hothotmum,

My girl have never attended any enrichment class. They are supposed to have spelling (from the timetable) but accordingly to her, the teacher gave them the spelling in the form of a quiz.

May i ask for how long did we pay for the meal coupon? My daughter is afraid to queue for other food as they have a standard stall to queue everyday. Esp when its the day for Bun, it really spoil her appetite. How about your kids? Any complain about the food?

Thanks for sharing

jan,
haha...best friends in a week..not bad!

2galswithlove,
my boy has been purchasing from the same stall since day1. he said have different variety of breads and buns to choose from.....
he wanted to buy icecream too, but i guess from parents feedback, the school had disallowed vendors to sell icecream during recess (cos 1st 3 days i saw a lot of P1 eating icecream.)

fZ,

Wah not bad huh? I thought nowadays the schools are very strict on the selection of food to be sold in the canteen? I don mind if they sell Ice cream in Beacon though.. At least something to motivate my piggy to school.

Hi FZ,
i can understand ur boy's struggle...my boy has the same struggle when i ask him to retn the 50cents to the kind boy (his lunch buddy) for the exercise book that he has bought for him too.haha

Wan Wan,
I tink the chinese spelling has abt 6-7 works. It be tested next week..so is it week 4? haha..so ur boy's class doesn't really lag behind la.

CCA list? i haven't rec'd any yet leh? Rec'd a letter to say that my boy is identified to have potential in gymnastic. But notice that no name was in the letter. So upon checking with the other mummies in the same class, realise the letter was given to every students..Faintz...it is a scam!! haha
Anyway, my boy is more interested in calligraphy and badminton/soccer/basket ball. What are the choices?
For the transport. u can check with the bus operator, may be able to arrange for early pick up at a cost.

POCKET MONEY

I started with $1 in the 1st week, but realised it is not enuf. So give $1.50 the next week. But my boy came back with 70cents and asked him what did he buy? Den he says he spent 80cents on a slice of pizza. I ask if he is full, den he says no..den i asked him why din he buy somemore. he says the money is not enuf to buy another pizza. He is only interested in the pizza (80cents) and Sushi ($1), not any others..So now i increase it to $2. Yesterday he put the balances back in the piggy bank and asked me for today's pocket money. While i appreciate his savings habit...i fear that he will become a miser later. So i am starting to share with him on keeping 10cents everday for charity.

Home work

yesterday, my boy has 6 pages of uncompleted English worksheet (Penmanship) We started at 8.30pm, and finished only at 10.45pm.. His problem is he is a perfectionist but yet lazy. He spends more than 15mins just to write and re-write the letter K becos it is not nice! I almost fainted. The teacher has also commented on his earlier worksheet that his handwriting is nice but must work faster. haiz...
But one ting good abt him is his responsibility, today he wake up 9am by himself and called me to tell me he wakes up early becos he has spelling test today..
How to teach him to have lower expectation of himself...haiz!

My son in Pri 1 too. Today I gave him the money to buy the magic school bus magazine selling at his school, and he gave his first issue away to his friend because he kept asking for it. Upset with him but also touched by his generosity. However need to remind him not to give away things without permission...

First English spelling will be next week, 5 words each time. No Chinese ting xie yet.

Math homework was brought home because he could not finish, but good for me to take a look and realise the Math worksheets are quite simple
I like it that school don't try to be unrealistically high standard without getting the kids up to speed first. One mom mentioned SCGS is "laid back" in terms of homework, I like that!!

School designated 3 PE sessions per week, but according to my son, they have not had any PE lessons since school started. I wonder why, and what they do during the PE slots when there are no lessons?

My son is usually very adaptable and sociable with kids and even adults, but honestly he has not been very happy going to school, although he doesn't verbalise clearly why. We are at first very worried, but will be meeting the school this Friday so will get a chance to learn more.

Appreciate all the feedback on this thread. I have been diligently reading and the collective feedback is really very reassuring to me and I share these information with my husband too. Best part is that we get to hear feedback from all schools across the board
Thanks Mommies!

hi all moms here! juz to update my gal's status.So far i only received the chinese spelling list , but the spelling date was wrongly typed , so teacher asked them to return back the list & so far hvn't given back the amended one , but shld be next wk started chinese spelling on Hanyupinyin. So far chinese teaching Hanyupinyin , maths teaching the addition , which my gal already learnt frm her K2 .Comes to English , the schl also using Stellar programme , dun hv any text bks .Then i asked my gal what did she learn in english class , she is unable to answer , then she mentioned smthing abt "wishy ...." Then i hv no idea what she had learnt.As i always communicate with her in mandarin , so i more concern abt her English.Smore there is no progress book returned to student , at least can show to parents what had the students been taught.

hmwork wise so far there aren't any yet , i browse thru sm of the threads here seems like sm of the schls already giving hmworks , is it really there's difference between "popular" schl practise & "normal" schl practise?

for CCA , my gal also did mention to me P1 also can enter sm of the CCAs , but i also nvr received any list for tat, so dun hv any information.

forget to tell you all tat my gal is studying at Lianhua Pr Schl , which is at Bukit Gombak , any mommies same as mine?

Ling!
my boy is in the same school as yours, but no spelling list yet, so i reckon our kids are not classmates. :p

so nice to meet another mummy with kids from the same school.

you don't accept PM.

My boy also in P1.

Buying Food

For the first few days, i let him bring food to school. After that he said he doesnt want to bring food everyday, he wanted to learn how to buy food himself. So for his first try, he bought himself a plate of chicken rice and then he came back and told me he's very brave because he has learnt how to buy food himself.
So till today, he had tried chicken rice, nasi lemak, fishball noodle...and yesterday he told me he had indian fried noodles and its too spicy!

Homework

My boy brought back homework almost everyday. He will bring back worksheets for all the 3 subjects, Math, Eng and chinese Hanyu Pinyin. Two days ago, he brought back his art homework. Yesterday, he brought back a spelling list and it will be tested every Wednedsay. It will start next week and there are 10 words each week.

Yesterday, he told me the teacher brought them to the computer lab to teach them how to use the computer.

CCA

AS for CCA, so far havent receive or hear anything for that.

My boy is studying in Woodgrove Primary in Woodlands. Any mummies your kids also there?

Oh I saw a book title above my girl's spelling list yesterday (stellar programme). It was "Mr Wishy Washy". Asked my girl whether the they read this book in class and she gave me a blank look, sigh.

Hi mummies, my girl told me yesterday that she prefer her p1 school than her childcare previously - not so boring.
No homework as yet. Every monday spelling for 10 words and every wednesday 8 han yu ping yi spelling.
So far she have only purchased from 1 stall which sells bao, pancakes, egg tart & etc.
I felt that she is happy going to school but I wonder will she be as happy when she is loaded with home works.
As for CCA, her school will start them off with modular CCA in Term 2.
After school she proceed to Student care centre where worksheets will be given to her. So basically when she reach home is rest and relax besides learning the spelling. Anyway with my toddler around, its difficult for me to forcus on my p1 girl. Felt so torn between them. Sigh...
Have enrol her for chinese and english enrichment class during weekend. Just wonder whether maths tuition is necessary at this moment. Maybe sees how she flair in her SA1 first then decide.

caroline,
thks. so wat is Zhi Shi Pao? i remember durin our times it was used 4 all levels ...

my gal brought back a slightly damaged pair of spectacles - abt an inch of de plastic at de end of de left side, de part dat goes ard de ears, came off. she told me a boy played wif her specs when she took it off (2 dun noe do wat) n when her teachers tried 2 fix back de specs, it came off. asked de teacher dis mornin n she told me she wanted to separate 2 mischievious boys n since my gal was independent in class, she sat her between de 2 boys. in de end, 1 of them played wif her specs.

dun noe if it's cos de specs is of poor material; de boy spoilt it, or de teacher spoilt it. tink i can't make de boy pay 4 a new pair if i can't juz 'repair' dat portion rite?

i give my gal $1 everyday n unless she eats wan tan mee, she brings home $ everyday. i asked her dis mornin if after she buys a bowl of somethg durin recess, is she full enuf? she said no so she always drink de packet of uht milk i put in her bag tog wif a packet of nestle cereal. i told her if not enuf, eat de cereal as well.

de other day her chinese calligrapgy enrichment teacher din noe her student care provided lunch 4 her so brought her 2 have lunch. she happily bought lunch n hence din have enuf $ 4 recess. she still went 2 a stall n even though she din have enuf $, de anuty still gave her food. when she told me dat nite, i wanted her 2 return de $ she owed. she asked me y since de anuty din tell her 2 return! sigh ...

jh
isn't Zhi Shi Pao consists of the 3 that I have listed?

Last time I was 'on' with my girl and ensured that she did the questions on Hao Peng You. I saw the exercises explicity mentioned P1 & 2. Now she P6 and sch asks for money for Da Mu Zhi, same as last yr P5. So I assume the different names are for their respective levels.

My boy also in P1

Pocket $
$1 but till to date, he refused to buy food himself. Request to bring home food instead. I believe he dare not to buy himself despite got 3 days of buddy following. *haiz*

Homework
So far, only 2 pages of English homework twice. It was fr ‘Farm Concert’ related to ‘Stellar programme’.
English spelling every Mon 10 words fr ‘Stellar’ and Hanyu Pingyin ting xie every Wed 8 words.

CCA
Modular CCA only starts in Term 2

Most of his activity book were kept in school including Health Edu, CMS & Social Study, even drawing board also kept in school.

hi cclyn

My son is also on stellar programme, believe they are also doing Farm concert now, Which school is ur boy in?

Yesterday they supposed to have their 1st spelling test. When i asked my son how he fare. he says no spelling today, becos no spelling book! i was shocked. We already paid the bookshop vendor before school reopened last decemeber and till now there is still no stock!
Thought that the teacher should at least inform us. Really bad experience.

CCA
My son was given the CCA list yesterday already, He is interested in Badminton. But realised we have to pay $60/mth for that. It is said that we can use the edusave accoout. Wat is the edusave account? its from the government?

Now got problem arranging for transport. Tat's the problem of not sending him to neigbhourhood school..haiz..

hi cool

my boy is in Endeavour Pri sch at Sembawang.

huh ? Does the sch engaging coach for coaching Batminton thus need to pay for it ?

Sch is having modular CCA every Tuesday starting Term 2, sch bus will pick up the kids together after their CCA. It solve my transport problem
U might want to check with the sch bus operator of ur boy's sch to make arrangement

My girl is also P1 this year. She is studing at Red Swastika and also on Stellar Programme.

Share with mummies here.

1) Eng spelling every Friday, starts tomorrow. 10 words on animals for tomorrow. Same as Cool as she is also learning Farm. And got 1 spelling word - Concert

2) Chi spelling starts next Month every Wed on Hanyu Pinyin. Forgotten how many words to test

3) Teacher asked them to choose Ballet or Chinese Instrucment as their CCA, so my girl choose Ballet and received letter that they need to commit as they will be performing in 2010 Singapore Youth Festival??? But my girl no ballet backgroup b4, don know can or not.

She also did not bring back any homeworks for all 3 subjects.

Oh.. just to share. She had her Eng Readiness Test yesterday which the Teacher informed us last week. She told us overall was ok except she don't know how to spell - BIRD. ha!!! So she says got 1 wrong liao...

Hope to share more with mummies here.

cclyn, mine is in 1A. So that means our kids would not meet during recess time. Her recess is 9.50 a.m. Did you help out in the classroom decorations, well i did not. Only contributed some materials.

Valerie
My boy was allocated to class 1A during 1st Orientation, but was transferred to 1I, if not will be in the same class also. Reason given was students transfer in & out of the sch before 2nd Orientation, so they have to rearrange the name list in order to have certain no. of Malay/Indian & Chinese in a class. My boy was the ‘luckiest’ one to kena

No, I din help nor contribute for their classroom decoration.

Did you join their Parents Support Group ? Was thinking of joining.... haven submit the form

Actually, i was expecting the school to sent me a letter for the re-allocation of class for the 2nd Orientation after the assessment test they had during the 1st Orientation. But they told me it will be the same as the 1st Orientation. Did they send you a separate letter informing you of the change. Anyway, I will not be joining the PSG.

NO letter nor phone call fr sch.
Was told the class allocation was fix, no changes. So my boy happily queuing at 1A during 2nd orientation, he got panic when his name was not in the name list. I went to General office to check than was told of it. They claimed they had called but my line was engage (3 no. given, HP/office/home) all engaged ??? I was so angry
!