(2002) Any 2002 babies?

luanee
sleep & lunch are the 2 criteria why I disagree to having CCA at P1. If you/your girl do/does not want ballet, then you can wait till P3 to decide on which cca. If want ballet, had better join now.

I heard my girl said her chinese dance has P2 girl. I guess the girl may be staying near the sch so that she can have enough sleep and perhaps pop by home to have lunch before going to sch again.

caroline3sg,
my boy is the one that is keen on robotics. but from his explanation, i think he is more suited for Entrepreneur club if there is any (his views are that he can build 'robots' and sell it for a profit).

i have no preference so long he enjoys what he is doing and does well in it. No dances of course! :p

fz
Originally I wanted my girl to be either in Science Club or Entrepreneur Club. But she didn't want. I thought Science Club can learn more science stuff on top of normal science class and Entrepreneur Club is good practical skills.

luanee
I looked at the CCA form. It is 6 choices, 2 from each group, no change.

Each group meaning:
1) Sports & Games
2) Performing Arts
3) Clubs & Societies / Uniform Groups

I have already registered on line.

I asked my girl about the contemporary dance. She said only for P1/P2 (also chinese dance though I can't remember during her P1 time, only ballet coz registration was on a Sat personally at the sch). This one was not indicated on the CCA list meant for P4 (optional for P3). If you are really interested and have a solution for lunch on CCA day, perhaps you can call the general office to ask.

wanwan, My ds school also only have SA2. The principal explained that its not fair if they have a SA1 and the kids can't do well as they are not familiar with the thing "exam". But nevertheless, the school will conduct regular "test" to make sure that the children are coping well. And regular test have a certain percentage counted.

u ladies are so fast.. from spelling list to CCAs... i felt so backward now!! haha
There's no cca in my gal's school, just enrichment. At the moment i dunno what i WOULD like her to take.. but i do know she loves to perform and she loves arts. At the same time she's quite an outdoorish kinda gal. So I hafta see which one she really would like to join.
I do knw i love seeing little ballerinas.. but this is not meant to be for my gal! haha

wan wan,
yes i have the chinese spelling list already, but it will only commence in the 3rd week. May be ur ds's chinese teacher will give him next week.

My ds form teacher has asked the class to buy the big square book. I called her and told her that i have purchased the books and was told that they will be given to the form teacher. After speaking to her, i realised that the bookshop vendor have not passed those exercise book to her yet. She was not even aware that we have bought the books. did u have the same problem?

What is CA1/CA2 and SA1/SA2?

for CCA, my ds says he is interested in calligraphy and Badminton..think they haven't take in P1 yet

2gals, yes. As your name suggest, i am also with 2 gals. My gal in 1/5 what abt yours? How is she doing?
Hothotmum is another beacon mummy :D
So glad to find some other mummies from there!

Hi Qdee, my elder gal is in 1/3. She is still struggling to settle down. She was so stressed up that she had diahhrea and did not sleep well since the first day of school.

Teacher said she needs lots of encouragement right now. She complains that school hours are too long, she always comes back hungry, hot and tired.

How old is your number 2?

Hi Hothotmum...

Cool
CA1 is Continual Assessment held in Mar
CA2 is held in Aug/Sep
SA1 is Semester Assessment held in May (Mid yr exam)
SA2 is held in Oct/Nov (final yr exam)

thanks caroline.
my boy now sick with cold. having cough and fever..haiz
now that he's in primary school, must give mc if not attending school rite?

cool,
my boy complained of mild stomachache on friday. luckily he's ok now.
i think as per previously, if sick, either MC or parent letter shall suffice.

Had been reading this thread quietly but could not resist posting to share with more mummies with the same plight of P1 here!

My 2 daughters are born in 2002 and 2006, like many others here.

Re CCAs, my girl's school has a whole slew of CCAs for P1, and I had enrolled her for ballet and tennis. She had been taking ballet since N2 and I am wondering if I should continue her ballet outside that she may be taking it in school? Hmm..then at least can free up some weekend time...

As for spelling, homework, etc, her school had not given anything yet!!

And like many other Mums here, I also feel strained juggling my time between my big girl and toddler. Sigh...

my gal has 8 hanyu pinyin for chinese spellin. dat's de ave no. of 'words' every wk. english spellin is also 8 words but each word is part of a sentence. de teacher said de whole sentence will b read durin spellin n de child has 2 pic up each word n write it down. my gal's alredi given de list for de next 2 wks for english & chinese, de next 14 wks. in her sch, english spellin is known as 'listenin comprehension'.

my gal was given a P1 recommended readin list 4 english; non 4 chinese. anyone rec'd such a list as well? would actually b more interested if there was a chinese bk list.

my gal also only has SA2. marks of common tests (conducted in place of SA1 & CAs) do not count in de final SA result. so it's 100% on SA2!

dun need P1s to join CCAs but heard lots of enrichments - art, S&D, netball, swimmin etc.

Hi Qdee & 2gals mum,

Wow hopefully can heard more beacon mummy from this thread.
My gal from 1/7. Although the first few days she is veri slow in terms of eating and line up. Overall,she is quite happy in the sch.
She will tell us what happen to her classmates etc.
Can i check do ur gals take any tution for this moment?

Saw my girl's hanyu pinyin spelling list, consist of words such as wo, ya etc at different intonations.

And the English spelling list have jumped, paddled, farm, interesting, animals etc. Cannot imagine they expect P1 kids to know these words within first few days of school? Lucky my girl knew how to spell when I tested her over the weekend, phew.

I wondered what sort of spelling words the other mummies kids have?

luanee
As I mentioned earlier, elite & neighbourhood sch are very very different.

Elite sch doesn't teach basics. Parents are expected to be actively supporting the children at home, not just basics but also the intermediate & advanced aspects.

I keep asking my son for eng spelling list but has none. I remember my girl's chinese spelling in P1. Each time was 10 words/phrases.

For those sch that have enrichment, I think speech & drama would be good. Some pri sch have show & tell as their oral aspect of exam. S&D would be good practice to meet the demands of show/tell.

luanee, haah i like the way u put it! But i think elite schools mostly have very good working relationship with parents. More like a collaborated approach. To outsiders may seems like throwing the work to parents.

hothotmum, no tuition. I hope she doesnt need it! What abt you girl? I think i'll just assess how she's doing in these few months. When she needs it then maybe i'll sign her up for something.

Qdee
I am no outsider, I still think elite sch teachers throw the teaching work to parents.

I have yet to see how neighbourhood teachers perform in their their duties.

Wow, so many updates and I totally MIA because did receive update on this thread via my email.

Spelling, my gal's school still have not received leh.

Went for Meet Principal session last sat and was being covered on the curriculum. It seems like they are still learning thru play and they do not want us to give negative impact by giving them too much homework as they associate homework with learning.

Hi Cool,
Today my boy said chinese teacher asked for the square bk. I think same thing is happening here. I think his teacher didn't know abt the pack of stationary we have paid. i've told my ds to explain it to his teacher & refer to the note that i've written to his teacher.

And just rec'd the chinese spelling list. There are 6 words starting fr wk 4. is yours the same too? Looks like my ds class is always lagging behind your ds class. CCA list is out too, do u intend to let your ds join? I m thinking of how to settle the transport for ds if he joins & table tennis requires selection...

Hi mummies, so how much pocket money are you giving kids, for those who buy food during recess? I have settled on $1.50 daily but I leave a $2 note as extra. My ds ate and spent so much today! 2 chocolate buns (40c each), wanton mee (60c) and drink (50c), total $1.90. Told him that he has to 'return' me 40c for the deficit, and he was so upset. Said it's his money. When I told him must budget within $1.50 like have drink on alternate days, he said that he's hungry and had already drank so much water.

Hi Milo,
Could u share how do u intend to monitor your child's level of learning if there's only SA2.

Hi Caroline,
Tks. At least ur child still have SA1 & u can decide if u need to put in more time to coach ur child. i've to monitor my ds learning progress closely & make sure he knows what to expect for just that one-time exam

Hi Jan,
I've also settled on $1.50 & told my ds to work within this amt. so far he has spent abt $1.00. To ensure he has enough to eat i've also packed a pkt of milk or cereal for him. He doesn't eat a lot bec he likes to enjoy his food slowly so I don't think he has enough time to buy as much food that he likes. But he will have packed food on alt days to save $$ for other things.

Hi Jan
For me I started with $2 then I realised she used mostly on snack. So I tell her she can save the money to buy other things and should not spend so much. So yday she ate her lunch box stuff and $1.50 is intact so I let her put $1 into her piggy bank.

Bully
I think my daughter kenna the first incident yday. A boy in her school bus hit her head , glad she will complain to the bus auntie but what can the bus auntie do. The bus auntie only ask the boy to stop.

Then this same boy, took her lunch box cover and went up the staircase and threw against the bus and there is a crack.

Told her to note the boy's name. I thinking of calling the bus operator up. Then my husband so upset with his gal being bullied, wanted to go to school today to tell the boy off

What would you do ?

Forgot to add
I just got the spelling list for Next tuesday. Ha ha it is every monday, next tuesday, every wednesday, Next thursday and every friday. Ha ha I wanted to laugh. The next one is a list from the sail story book they used during stellar programm - Wishy washy something

chicken little, ask for the boy's or ask your daughter to take note of his name and call the school/displine master. School will deal with him even tho incident happened on school bus.

Thanks Qdee
I just called bus operator. He says leave it to him to handle if still cannot will give my contact number to the boy's mummy.

I oso told my gal to take note of his name. I assume it is P2 boy as his badge is purple. If it happens again, I will go directly to parents if still persistent then no choice will go to teacher

chicken little
who gets up the bus earlier, your girl or the boy? If I were you, I would give him a sterm warning, followed by tracing to his mum.

I am not sure if teacher would intervene coz my girl's money was stolen 3 times and framed one time by putting someone else's money into her bag. The teacher knew the culprit but didn't tell me if she informed the mum when I probed.

Qdee, 2gals and hothotmum, I'm new here. Recommended by Chicken Little. My son is in Beacon too. He's in class 1/6.

My son also have problem with the school routine. But overall, he's still ok. But sometimes, he will wake up and tell me, I'm very sleepy, but he actually slept at 9pm.

Right now, he is only going for the "I can read" class cause I want him to improve his phonics skills. Other than that is his usual piano and swimming.

Carol
The problem is the bus to school is not the same bus she takes for her return trip. Because going home she goes to my sil place at crescent and she is the last one onboard the bus liao. Sigh. See what the bus driver will do lor.

The good thing is my gal will not fight back and she is a tell tale gal so she wont let you off too. She will make sure someone is aware.

Pocket money wise, I gave my girl $1 on first day and she spent it on a 80cents milk drink. So second day I topped up with another $1 and she has $1.20 in her wallet now. But she had been bringing her own food and water to canteen since then so the money is still there, and I havent given her any more money since then. Should I do so everyday?

CCA wise, she is very excited that she had chosen choir. Now need to worry how to settle her lunch on CCA day.

luanee,
i ensure that my boy has $2 in his wallet everyday. his pocket money is $2. i will only top up the difference. so if he spent 90cents and saved $1.10, i top up 90cents, i told him and show him that i jot down $1.10 that he saved as his savings (but was actually the difference that i owe him). at the end of the month, he can see how much he accumulated on paper and i will permit him to withdraw a certain amount for his own purchases. :D

came up with his idea cos i don't have some much loose change.

I gave my girl $1.50 daily. Sometimes she doesn't eat during recess as she ususally eat a lot during lunch so not hungry.
On days she's feeling hungry, will spend around $1.10

Told her not to buy drinks from canteen. 60 cents so expensive, might as well add another 20 cents to buy a plate of rice

Wow, my girl does not have a spelling list yet. I heard that their school is more relaxed in terms of homework as they want the little girls to enjoy school life first (my dd is in MGS). So, she is now much free-er than in K2! I am not used to it at all!

For pocket money, I give my girl $2 a day. But she never spends it, cos I will also pack sandwich/bread and water for her every day. I also do not top up, hee...

Hi yawnyawn, yah told my ds the same thing. There was a juice that he bought which costs 80c. When I exclaimed that it's ex$, he said it's nutritious and good quality...

Hi fz, I've got him to save up the balance so that's why he was quite upset when I asked him to topup the deficit that day. keke.. Haven't opened any official savings a/c yet. Any recommendation - Posb, ocbc? Would like to do so soon, as will let him keep the angpow money this round.

The spelling list was out, first one starting next week. First few times 5 words, then 10 words.

BTW, mummies I would like to seek your views regarding homework from neighbourhood sch. Do you agree to have sch assign homework? Or should they be done & completed in sch? Why.

BTW when would homework start? My husband lamenting how come my girl got no homework?(apart from the spelling list)

luanee
my girl in P1 time no homework, which is good, I like. P2, minimal.

my boy since last week, everyday 2 pages, either eng or maths. Last night, 4 pages of maths.

Actually my dd's school has not given any spelling list or real written homework yet but they have homework in the form of research, like yesterday, she wrote in her note book, to find out more on Greece and Guam and Youth Olympics. Aiyoh, P1 only leh, how to leave her alone to surf the web for such info? Poor mummy got to help after going back late from work yesterday.

Her home work for last week was to learn the words of sounds made by animals...

Caroline, I thot u said earlier that elite schools throw the teaching work to parents? How they do so if no homework? Or does that start in P3?

Pressurekid, wow research on youth olympics??? Cross my fingers that my girl does not come home with such instructions :p

luanee
Sch teach the easy ones (I am already very nice to say they teach the easy ones. Actually they never teach, straight away ask the children do the activity books). You can see from the activity books how easy the questions are. They are done/completed in class. When you see the SA1 paper or the topical test, you would know that to know how to do, the children must have been taught at home or tuition centre.

Youth olympics could be social studies project. My girl visited Chinese Heritage yesterday and came back with Samsui woman as comprehension. She told me 10% of the marks for this project. I think it is social studies, not eng.

wanwan, i'm also not sure how to keep track on my boy if there is no SA1... headache leh, think got to rely on his daily homework. But as of now, there are no homework and no spelling list was given yet. Only confirm that there will be compulsory swimming lesson... He beg me to let him go and i told him he have to do assessment everyday then can go since he already have outside swimming lesson... he agreed... At least swimming is something he likes...

For pocket money i only give him $1 cos he always buy titbits only...=P

jan,
my boy is under posbkids. no min amount required. didn't really check out others actually.

caroline3sg,
i prefer no homework to be done at home so that i can use that time to do personal coaching as i am a sahm.
so far no homework as my boy finishes all the allocated assignment in school. but the downside is that i can only rely on my son's feedback on what is covered in class. For english, i have totally no idea what they are doing. he said they had been doing Wishy Washy something.

what if your kid's classmates offer gifts to your kid for helping them in class? will you let your kid accept?
and if your kid's classmates want to copy some work, how strict is your guidelines without making your kid sounds like he is selfish?
*headache*