(2002) Any 2002 babies?

yawn yawn, my 6-yr old is still drinking Gain IQ (for 1yr+) haha... the Abbott nutritionist said it is ok and we lazy to change since she can share with her younger sis. Qty wise, 180ml 3-4 times a day, still from a bottle

She also takes fresh milk, about 1/2 cup 2x a day. We call her a milk-queen.

shawy17,
you have a 2006 kid? me too! started schooling already?

wa...time flies. 3 weeks left before P1 starts...and i have yet to do all those labelling!!!

fz, yup..my 2006 dd2 has already started 4hr kindy in Aug this year. She enjoys school alot. What about yours?

Me too, yet to label. I'm still mulling over if I should make a stamp or just simply write on the books.

shawny17,
my ds2 is a Nov baby, so he can only start his pre-nursery when he reach 2.5 yrs old. starting school in end June 09.

i will be making a stamp for my boy (cos my husband also making for himself, so i thought might as well!) but still have to use marker to scribble the shoes. :p nametags sew halfway only. :p lazy mum. :p

fz,
Like shawny I have got a 2006 baby too but Jan 06. In cherie Hearts. Besides morning separation anxiety he is fine with full day childcare.

I just finished labelling the chinese cards and putting the protective sheets. Will move on to the books later.

Collecting name tag next week. So next week will be preparing the uniforms.

Thanks to shawny17 recommendations. Bought the body masters shoes at 2 for $29.90. Hmm size 2 too big for my gal but size 1 just nice. So kiasu mummy bought size 1 and 1 size 2. hb signed up the membership and we got additional 10% off. The gal quite nice. Told us to use UOB card to get 5% off $38 membership, then still use our rebate in UOB card to pay for the membership. Quite a good saving on the shoes.

Chicken Little,
is your 2002 child also @ cherie hearts? then u were also @ CJC last sat? parkin was crazy rite?

how do u label de chinese cards n put de protecive shts on de cards?

where can i find body master shoes?

JH
nope my 2002 not in cherie hearts.
I printed her name in Chinese with class on stickers and paste at the back of the card. Protective sheets are customised size bought from pacific bookstore.

I got the body masters from world of sport. I forgot to add. after signing up membership, there is also a free bag, 1 bottle and 2 pairs of socks so I need not buy socks for my gal too

CL, so you settled for BodyMaster in the end. I'm leaning towards that too. How come it's size 1...Ashley was trying on Size 12...maybe next size-type is size 1. Will probably give WOS Parkway a call to check if the sizes are available.

fz, dd2 is May 2006 baby. But surprisingly, the church kindy allowed her entry to Pre-Nursery when she was ard 2yrs 2mths. She'll have to repeat her Pre-Nursery again next year.

I wanted to make a chop at the Popular BookFest as there was a promotion on then but I was in a hurry and didn't want to rush with the selection. Furthermore, I still am not sure if I should have separate chops with the Chinese and English names, any advice from the mummies here?

shawny17,
how did your dd2's Pre-N decide if your girl is ready? maturity? size? my boy is quite big size for his age...but still so childish. heehee... On one hand, i hope that he can start his PreN early so that i can have that time slot free to fetch the elder one (without bringing him along as we need to commute by bus), but on the other hand as the church kindy is operating PreN for the first time, they may face teething problems the first few months. did your girl take long to settle in?

i think the chinese stamp will be underutilised...as we usually used it for only chinese text and workbooks....jmo. my husband got the self-inking type for my boy. don't think that is ideal as the ink may dry out in the long run as we don't use it frequently. haiz

I just went to pack all the first day books into my girl's new bag, and wrote her name on all the books hee... 3 more weeks to go!

Fz, it was Mid Aug when dd2 entered Pre-Nursery...maybe cos most of the children there are older and more settled, they were thus able to accept new students. Dd2 is quite independent. I left her in the teacher's care after staying less than 30mins with her. She didn't cry at all...so it was a very smooth transition for me. The best part is, she looks forward going to school everyday. Prior to attending this church kindy, she was constantly nagging me about attending childcare together with her big sis.

shawny17,
oic. my boy cries even when i go into the toilet! faintz...

do you plastic-wrap the workbooks?
just started labelling just now, and when i thought i have completed, i realised that i have to label each and every piece of stationary, crayons, colour pencils...practically everything!

luanee,
i print from computer and then scotchtape it on the book as i have ugly handwriting. at the same time, i am paranoid that the label will peel off too. haiz!

Luanee, time flies, so fast going to start school already... very excited and yet worried that me boy can't cope with the homework... as the school has already sort of inform us that there will be homework for the children to bring home.

shawny, your dd2 so cute, like to attend school so much, hopefully my dd also can get use to cc which i will be putting her in end of this mth... hopefully not like her bro who cried one whole mth then stop!

fz, i wrap the textbooks and workbooks as well cos i'm afraid it will become kiam chye before the june holiday as my boy is quite rough. Also just in case he will put his book on wet table but he without realising and spoil the bk...

hi mummies, been a long time since i last post here... ya time flies... firstly we were talking abt registration, then orientation.. now looking forward to school re-open. Had plastic wrapped all the books.

I've received a letter fm the school, telling me the class allocation, then school indicate parents can only go on the first day. Also indicated in the letter what are the things to bring for first day. No need to bring textbooks on first day but to bring the handbook, pencil case, water bottle (no sweetened drinks) and those coloured plastic files bought for each subject.

milo,
ya! thanks for the good advise. will wrap the workbooks too...then recycle those wraps for the 'B' books. ;)

i'm not so worried about my boy being unable to cope with homework. i'm more worried of him unable to cope with situations at school eg..stomach upset, bullies, foodspills, borrow $$, peer pressure etc etc etc. so worried he gets his heart broken!

natellehcim,
we don't have a list, the principal just briefly told us. i only remember must bring workbooks and report books. :D no handbook also. :D

fz
me too. My gal is a chilli padi at home but when she is outside, she is like mouse.

did you work out a schedule for your kids ? I am wondering if this is too much for my gal. Can share share yours and comment ?

2.15 - 3 pm : back from school. Bath, Lunch settle down
3 - 4 pm : Homework from school.
4 - 5.30 pm: Enrichment classes, if no class, will be drawing, craft work, reading etc
6 - 8 pm : R & R, dinner
8 - 9 pm : the only hour I can spend with her after work. Review of what is done in school and reading

I need her to go to bed at 9 pm as she need to wake up at 5.30 to catch school bus at 6.05 am

Chickenlittle, my girl same! Outside like a mouse, at home like a tiger. Just like me when I was young hence I had a nickname known as the 'double-headed snake' LOL.

I didnt wrap the workbooks coz I ran out of wrapping paper hee... Need to label individual pencils and color pencils too????

Wanted to buy a new pencil case for my girl but she wanted those metal type which I find too heavy. Didnt manage to reach a compromise so end up will let her use an old one instead hee...

Luanne
Me only do the cards. Ha ha long weekend but super lazy too. I just get her the Hello kitty one with wallet too. Scarely she wants to bring her princess bag but I cannot find princess pencil case and wallet.

Just bought her a princess watch yday. Nowadays watch oso so exp at after discount $38

Back to enrichment class. I just finalised on my think tank for Maths. Any recommendation for English enrichment in the west ? Bukit Batok, Bukit Timah or CCK ?

luanee,
just to avoid argument when a stray pencil drop to the floor, i think i'll just label each of them. kiasu....heeeee

Chicken Little,
i do have some sort of a programme in mind, but it is event based rather than timebased.
ie after lunch, rest for half hour, then homework then rest for teabreak, then mummies' homework, then dinner, then play. the school have reading period every morning, so i am leaving his reading for that timeslot. i'm a sahm, so quite flexible and i can keep an eye on him.
my boy needs to wake up at 6.15am and i am thinking of 8pm for his bedtime!

Fz
ha ha i dun have the luxury of 8 pm bedtime woh.
If I send her so early she come back never talk to me have to go sleep liao. Then my house become a hotel for her only hee hee

chicken little,
ya..very true. that also means that you have to leave your work on the dot and no OT.
my boy will laze around in bed for half hour before he sleeps, so i will try to let him go to bed by 8pm.
6.05am on school bus? that is very early. your girl can get ready in half an hour's time? my boy needs 1 hr....ie 15min for him to laze in bed and the rest for him to slowly eat his breakfast....if not, he'll get cranky.

fz,
if I can get my gal out of bed up to bathroom. She will be totally fresh after she brush teeth. So now every morning just 10 mins brush teeth and change and we are out of the house. So i just incorporate another 20 mins for breakfast.

Sigh i pity her school bus operator says she gets up at 6.05 and will reach school before 7 am. So she is on the bus probably 1 hour. I cannot send her to school because I still have a younger one who will tag along with me to work as he attends cc near my workplace. So I either be mean to her or mean to her brother. Even if I send her to school, we have to leave house by 6.15 so 10 mins is no diff.

ha ha i generalise my timetable again. Maybe give her more time and leeway to organise her homework etc.

2.15 - 3 pm : back from school. Bath, Lunch settle down
3 - 5.30 pm : Homework and Enrichment classes (maybe only 2 days), remaining time craft, etc of her wish
6 - 8 pm : finish up homework if no time during pm, R & R, dinner
8 - 9 pm : the only hour I can spend with her after work. Review of what is done in school and reading
9 pm bed time

chicken little

the cards are very small. Do you know if popular sell the customised protection sheets you mentioned? Do they sell in per piece and how much is it?

Luanee, need to 'protect' the cards from becoming 'kiam chye'. I don't have a habit of flashing cards, I just take a batch, stick it up on the sticky bulletin board pasted on my wall and get dd1 to go thru.

1970665.jpg
1970666.jpg

Milo & fz, dd2 is very weird, she can say hello to strangers and go up and hug them. But recently tried to get her to pose with Santa Clause and those life-size characters like Dora, she cried like mad...people who don't know her would think that she is so timid.

CL, you know I'm just going thru your timetable, what abt incorporating an afternoon nap in the afternoon for Char, then she can stay up later at night. As Fz pointed up, the kids do need some time to wind down so if sleeptime is 9pm, she may only fall asleep after 30mins to 1hr.

shawny
i cannot afford charmaine to have nap. YOu know her nap is from 2 - 5 or 6 kind ha ha. So now cutting on nap. She knock out quite fast. Just like aden 5 - 10 mins

Have been a silent reader of this thread, I also have a gal going P1 in a few weeks time. Hope you all do not mind me posing a qn here.

For those mummies who wrap the chinese flash cards, can the cards still fit into the box that was provided to contain the cards after wrapping as the plastic wrapper will add some thickness right? I quite like the idea of wrapping it but scared if the box is too tight to contain all the cards than dd may just crumpled the cards even more by forcing it in, or worse still forget to keep all the cards after lesson.

wah..3-4hr afternoon nap...wish I have kids like that. Ash takes a long time to settle down....need to cut down on her sugar intake. I have yet to condition Ash to start sleeping early, keep postponing.

PressuredKid, there's ample space even with the plastic wrap so not to worry.

thanks shawny, I got the impression that the box was already quite compact as it is. Ok, then must go popular to buy the plastic wraps.

Wow, you very on ah, already displaying the cards for your dd to go thru, mine still in the box....me lazy mummy

pressuredkid
ya shawny inspired me so I oso bought the sticky board too. ha ha

Shawny
my 2 kids need beauty nap if not they would be monsters. If they miss that nap, usually they knock out by 5 pm and can sleep through till next morning. ha ha next time I show you how to massage their foot to make them knock out within 5 mins. Learnt from the cc that aden goes now, they calm him down with massage ha ha

need to ask parents who have older kids who had used de chinese cards. how r de cards used in class? is every card used? will de teacher b upset if a kid has a few missin cards?

i'm askin dis cos i've juz rec'd fm my cousin, her kid's hand-me-down cards n i realised a few cards missin. hence i'm considerin whether to buy a new set ...

shawny, my dd also always ask me to scratch her back before she fall asleep, there was one time so bad that she'll wake up in the middle of the night ask me to scratch. Me so fedup and my strategy is ask her to scratch my back before bedtime, now she stopped asking liao, hope she won't go back to that habit.

Hello...

Wow! Everyone of you are now preparing your children for P1 liao...

Hi Shawn,
May I know what's the other black board that you posted that can help to hold the cards? Did you also get it from popular?

Actually the sch did ask if I want to buy the plastic cover but i didn't get it...

shawny, my dd also like that, sometimes very friendly, even ppl who she has not met she will still say "hi" sometimes the person she already know but still scared and cry... weird hor.

jh, not all teachers will use the cards, but if your child sch ask u to buy the item as compulsory then the chance of using it is higher. Why not wait till sch open and if the teacher request for the children to use then u consider whether to get a new set or use the old one? if not it will be wasted if the teacher doesn't use it at all.

thanks shawny17,

finally finished labelling everything...even the pencils. my husband said that i'm too kiasu. :p

have some books that i have not purchase yet (out of stock). think will be getting when school reopens.

have you gotten any purse/wallet for your kid? i've gotten a small coin porch and a clip to clip to his shorts in case he loses it. i'm so paranoid! argh!!!!