(2002) Any 2002 babies?

jan, i must agree that the bag is about the same size, but the fact that its softer does make it look better not so bulky. My view point is this, since i'm buying a bag for my son, i have start scouting around and some back without any ergo features can cost easily $40-50+.also notmuch smaller. Then if thats the case, might as well take this bag which is cheaper and have ergo??

Another thing i consider is that, my son's school requires them to bring those A4 size file to school, with this bag, he can keep the files inside instead of holding in his hand, which my "blur sotong" will sure forget where he left it...HTH

Hi nothing2do,

Are violin and gymnastics considered good CCAs? I suppose "good" CCA means those activities that most good schools would accept/look out for?

Violin and gymnastics are 'good' CCAs that got higher chance of getting into the 'popular' sec schools

my gal not very atheletic, so we chose piano and guzheng. she's grade 2 piano prac and gonna take grade 1 guzheng end this yr.

Yawn yawn, based on the schools i'm looking at for sec sch, all their niche areas is their music groups. so piano and guzheng will give her very high chance if she excels in these 2

intend to let her join guzheng as CCA from p1 since her teacher says she should be able to get at least a merit for the grade 1 exam in Dec

piano-wise we're trying to push her to skip grades. she skipped grade 1 (learnt the songs but did not take exam) and took grade 2 exam as piano teacher said no need to waste money on the exam fee for grade 1.

Joy's mum

haiz, my girl has absolutely no interest in piano or violin. Her primary school no gymnastics CCA

If take private gymnastics lesson count or not??

If not, only left with guzheng. Hopefully she likes guzheng...

Yawn yawn, private gymnastics lessons do count, but she must take the grading exam and must have come sort of 'certification' to prove that she is good in it. During DSA, they will have audition (she needs to perform some sort of routine for their coach to decide if wanna take her or not). Best if she takes part in competition and win some awards

even if the pri sch does not have the CCA, she can actually represent the school in competitions if the HOD CCA allow. but of cos ur coach will need to liase with the school also.

my gal enjoys guzheng so far cos her teacher is very encouraging. but i've heard of very fierce guzheng teachers that scare off many children. but he's really good, he produced more than 12 SYF Golds and in recent years, all gold with honours! i'm letting my gal learn basics from another teacher, then when she enters P1, she will be learning from in during CCA while continuing private lessons. so hopefully she will not be scared off by the fierce teacher!

Joy's mum
I always wanted to try guzheng myself. Can I have the contact for the teacher ? Could you pm me ? Is the charges very high?

BTW, any mummies looking for enrichment for your kiddo ? I am intending to sign up my gal at Wordplus- Bukit Timah Shopping Centre for wed 4 pm class. However they need 4 to start and currently only 2 including my gal.

If anyone is interested, please contact wordplus directly to arrange for assessment. I find them quite good and convince by the teacher on how to make the lesson interesting so that they can grasp the skills.

CL, I always wonder where you find the time and energy for all your hobbies...and there's quite a fair bit you've got on your hand. Pei-fu indeed.

I'm currently taking skating lessons along with dd1. Once she gets a hang of it, I may move on to ice-skating. I always wanted to figure-skate...so guess will have to let my dd fulfil my dreams for moi. I don't suppose that's an CCA option. Othewise, I'm hoping for something sporty....like badminton. The plus point is the whole family can learn and play together. What I can do is to introduce her to the game and maybe get her foundation firmed up. Afterwhich it's pretty much up to her whether she develops a passion and affinity for the game.

Hi squirrel, the grading exam is usualli provided by the school to determine their 'level'. my gal is not atheletic, so i din really ask alot abt it too, but my frens told me got grading exam.

shawny, my eldest gal learnt skating back when we were in US, she learnt when she was 4yo. it was fun! i picked up some basic skills too. but, it's real exp to skate in SG! entrance fees, rental of equip is madness!

Badminton is a fun family game! i like it too. i play every monday with my niece (she's a school team player, so she 'teaches' my gals). but equipment is not very cheap. maybe cos my niece is picky but the rackets she chooses for us are always $200+, she says good rackets will prevent long term injury. well, but i got it online for way cheaper so no harm done
& it's a great family sport. too bad my eldest not atheletic, if not i'll let her try badminton too

maybe for my 2nd gal. my niece says she has a flare for it which maybe good for her next time cos my 2nd gal not good with music (no sense of rhythm).

Joy's Mum, yes badminton racquets can be quite costly....the good ones during my days were well over S$100+...graphite and extremely light. Dd seems to have inherited some of my sporty genes...thus I'm hoping that she'll fall in love badminton just as I did when I was in primary school. As I've opted for ballet as dd's CCA in school, wondering if I can still opt for another CCA.

I've got another dd too, she's 2.5yrs old. Seems to be even more garang than her sister....dare to skate on her own too!!!

Skate With Us

We're learning as a family of 2 adults & 2 children so it's S$80/person for 4 lessons. That's with 1 instructor attached to the family. Otherwise, think it's S$60/person for 4 lessons. They've got a free trial....so you can rent the shoes & equipment to try out first.

The good thing about SWU is that after you pay up for the 4 lessons, you can opt to attend their scheduled classes held at various timings and locations. You need not be stuck with just one location or timing. For example, currently the East Coast class clashes with dd's art class, thus we are attending the lessons held at Tampines. However, in Dec when dd has a 1month break from her art class, we can opt to attend lessons held at the East Coast site (which is closer to where we reside) instead. Furthermore, they have a deadline of like 2 months to finish up using the 4 lessons. So if your ds/dd is sick or you have some trip/event to attend, can always skip lessons for that period. Just make sure you finish up your lessons by the stipulated deadline.

Hths.

Btw, not sure if the mummies here have gone ahead and purchased school shoes for your dd/ds. Any good brands and locations to share?

carol
I din bring the leaflet for wordplus. Let me know what information you need.

Shawny
ha ha I din know you so sporty. Me besides basketball not good at the rest plus my gal so Xiao Jie I think she cannot make it during PE one lah

I bought one pair disney one at $16.90 as I think my gal does not realli like laces. I think oso bata one. Will get another pair nearer to the date just in case the leg grow

shawny, thanks for sharing the info on skating, was thinking of putting my son to learn at community centre but instructor cancelled the course due to poor response.

I've bought sch shoe for my son, one bata one and one brandless one both are fully covered with PVC, save my the hassle of washing the shoe regularly. hehe.... bought different brand then can know which is more tahan...haha

Luanee & CL, thanks for the heads-up, will check out Bata. Browse thru another mummy forum, seems that Fila/Nike/Reebok also quite popular...Will probably reckee Royal Sporting House too!!

CL, during my primary schooldays, I'm known as the zero-point queen!!! lol!

Shawny17
Zero point I oso can lah. 5 stone oso my favourite

Fila got white white one ? Ha ha later the NYPS principal will stress on "simple" again

Happysupermum, didn't know that Kiddy Palace also carries white school shoes. Always shop at Parkway Parade, there's a branch there so will chk it out.

Milo, yup initially I was considering the CC course too...but it was a 2 day camp style which was out for me since dd1's on full-day childcare.

I signed up with Skate With Us due to the free trial but there's other skating schools out there that you can check with :

Inline Culture

Skateline

I'm abit early with the Xmas tree decoration this year as hubby may be flying off this week. My 5 year old lightings' fusebox blew up so had to get a new set of Xmas lightings....finally settled on blue LED lights. The night effect is pretty nice actually, it makes my golden Xmas tree looks white instead. Tonight, we are going to buy a single LED light to 'light up' the blue star.

1922881.jpg
1922882.jpg

Hi Shawnny17

Kiddy Palace has a few brands. They have snoopy, barney and two other brands that I cannot remember. Good selection for both boys and girls.

My kid also just started learning inline skate. The school is www.inlinefusion.com.sg. I find the instructors are professional.

Hi luanee / milo, are the bata shoes brand Bfirst or something like that? I saw a few with price range between $16.90 to $19.90. But haven't bot.

Hi shawny, do the other sports brands have laceless shoes? Those I saw are with lace. Must go check out rsh.

Hi CL, heard one school has uniform plus shoes set - very ex$ becoz shoes are from fila! atas hor..

Hi CL / shawny, me chatek and carrom queen! These 'traditional' games are so much more healthy and affordable right? Too bad they are replaced with computer games, tv and wii now.

Ha ha Jan
Me dunno carrom one. From 5 stones, I had fun and my fren always I add up points very fast so it is a way of practising Maths hor. Ha ha

Wow shawny ur xmas tree so nice! Good to get some xmas mood now!!

Jan, yah think the brand is Bfirst or what, price is about $16, the ones I bought. Wow lucky my girl's school didnt ask for fila shoes man...

My son's school - need to wear shoe laces. Hence, we bought it from Bata which carries small sizes.

How many pairs of shoes did you buy? So far, I only bought 1 pair, thinking should I buy another pair?

juz, My sil told us that 1 pair not enough, in case of rain etc. So we bought 2.

Btw have anyone of u looked through the P1 books? I havent done so yet, just left all of them in the original box hee...

lunanee

Have not look at it. My dd wants to flip through but I forbid her. I want her to retain the 'fresh' element mah.
Told her to read only when teacher starts teaching that chapter

CL & Jan, not good at carrom, only briefly introduced to that in JC. Must agree that the games of the old days were much healthier. Though I'm happy to say that my dd1 has yet to be enticed by PSPs, Xbox and Wiis what not. The only games she has tried online is reading the Starfall webby and online typing.

Luanee, thks...was hoping other mummies would post pics of Xmas tree....maybe I'm really too early this year. Hehe....paiseh to say that I've gone thru the Maths Textbook (My Pals are Here) with Ashley already. She really likes it alot (colourful illustrations)!

Jan & Luanee, I've yet to view any school shoes yet....been reading others' posting but lazy to shop. May check it out this weekend.

I think 1 pair not enough for sure....cos rainy days...surely get dirty & muddy. I'll proabably get 2 pairs, try out different brands.

Yup agree I think shoes need 2 pairs.

Shawny17
Hey if you are checking out royal sporting house and if they have nice white one for school. sms me leh. 28 - 30 Nov, DBS card got 20%

okie, will sms if see...saw ad that World of Sport also have sale plus 10% off if payment is via NETs...maybe they have certain brands to. Btw, forgot to sms you....only have the old sculptor that I used for Ashley's bday eons ago...you still need the details?

pls enlighten me.... must we purchase the sport shoe as school shoe or normal bata shoe is good enuf? I believe whether with lace or not will depend on how comfortable your kid with the shoe lace.... am i rite? For me i am looking at the non-lace as my DS is v clumsy type....

Shawny17
Yup can give me details of that. Asking on behalf of friend. I think that one suitable for younger kids

Cecelia
Normal shoes is good enuff. I am just keeping my option open. If I can find a light weight sport white shoes at reasonable price I will get that

Hi Chicken little,

I bought a pair of white shoes at Bata that cost us abt $25. The brand is Power and I find it quite light weight. You may want to check it out

Hi luanee, good tip to buy 2 pairs as contingency! Never thought of it. Shall buy one from bata then shop around for 2nd pair.

I actually prefer sports brand shoes, think that they are more comfy becoz flexi and 'breathable'? But velcro strap easier than lace for young kid.

<font color="119911">Does your 6 years old still drink milk?
Which brand of formula milk?</font>

Thanks for sharing!

yawn yawn,

dumex choc FM in the morning. only half a cup as he finds FM yucky.
teabreak or night, meiji choc fresh milk.

Hi mummies, any of you know where to buy sleeping bag or mat for kids to zzz in studentcare during school holidays? Can't find children sleeping bag / mat for aircon room, only got those keep warm kind for outdoors camping.