(2002) Any 2002 babies?

So exciting to hear about your orientations. My ds is this Saturday, hope won't be too messy.

Hi Shawny / chicken little, yes it's quite common to allow first 1-3 days for parents / guardians to be in school during recess. Not sure about my kid's yet but already planned to take leave to be there. Heard there's buddy system to accompany the P1 newbies during recess but the joke the other parents said is that the pm session is P1 and P2, so the buddy will be a P2 so also very young and just as blur and maybe, crying too!

my son's school allow parent in on the first 3 days, they will have talks on 1st half of the first 3 days as well to keep parents occupied while waiting for reccess time.

Hi jan and milo, so 1st 3 days' the norm I see. Guess I'll try to be there on the 1st day. Yup heard abt the buddy system, since dd's school is single session, so be P3 buddy...

Regarding the Stellar prgm, the HOD (English) briefly explained how it works. Seems to be much more enjoyable and interactive. My booklist doesn't state any reference books at all. Had to buy quite a bit of readers (Clips) for her Chinese though.

Sgniam73, you are not alone. I too worry about her grammer foundation so will probably get some text to teach her. Found out from 2008's class what they were using so may base on that text to supplement.

Cecelia Tan & CL, I bought 3 sets of uniforms plus 2 sets of PE attire...school some more have compulsory windbreaker and socks to buy. Dd's uniforms doesn't require name tag but she'll have to wear name tag for 1st 2-3 mths. Her school's under Stellar and using 'My Pals are here' for Maths too. I went ahead and bought all the optional references listed in the booklist.

Oh mine only have P1 and P2 in the afternoon session, so the buddy will be a P2 gal. What happens if both the P1 and P2 equally sotong? :p

Caroline, my girl's teacher is Ms Junaidah, u know her?

I think I would only go on the 1st day of school. My girl seems quite ok during the orientation.

luanee, don't worry too much, after being in the school for a year, i think the P2 should be pretty farmiliar with the school liao

Just to share a joke,
My daughter has a culture shock when the teacher brought them around. When she goes into the toilet she cannot believe her eyes that there is not toilet bowl, she has to squat. She has never squat before. Ha ha. Wonder how she going to go toilet in future

Haha CL, ur daughter so funny.... on the contrary my daughter loves those squat toilets, she always want to use the squat ones when we go public toilets (usu at the last cubicle). I dunno why also since but it's more hygienic so I didn't stop her...

Hi Jan,
Like you, my boy's orientation is this sat, so can't contribute much...also busy the last few days so MIA...

Hi Shawn,
My son is having STELLAR prog next yr too. Could you share what are the 2008's class using to supplement eng? I think I better check this out and read first. Thanks

Hi Caroline,
What's criteria for DSA? You mean they also look for other areas like grades of piano? Does your child go for an interview or tests in order to qualify for DSA?

wan wan
my girl next yr then P6. Not qualify for DSA.

You may like to visit websites of sec sch of your choice and look at their criteria. Audition is about $60 - $100

Wan Wan, yes piano grades do count for DSA. My colleague told me her daughter's classmate got place in RGS via DSA at P5 becoz she got a piano diploma.

Welcome to all the newbie.....

Shawny,
Me too purchase the Clips but it is from popular and it is cheaper by $2 something. Do you mind if i asked you which school is your child is attending?

Nat, sngiam,
thanks for your advise. I think me really think too much liao.

I'm KS mum, I've checked out for schools with music as niche area, as long as you have music (piano/violin) at least grade 5, most will take you in, but of cos it depends on 'competition'.

I'm letting my gals learn Guzheng now. The sec sch we r looking at are all strong in chinese orchestra or guzheng ensemble.

Hi Wan Wan, I don't think dd's school's current 2008 P1 batch is using Stellar....found out that they were using In Step by Panpac education so will check out the textbook and consider it for supplement on my end.

Cecelia Tan, Hi-5 to you, I bought my Clips and majority of the textbooks from Popular too...yup a few dollars savings here and there...add up to be over S$10+. Started reading some of the Clips readers to dd1, I find the stories interesting and easy to read...worth spending my $$ on.

Dd1 will be going to SCGS next year. After attending orientation and trying on the uniforms, she now feels a sense of belonging. Really happy to know cos prior to the orientation, she was still asking if she could change school so as to be with her best friend.

Shawny, same problem here. I have enrolled my girl in RGPS but she wanted to go HPPS (her cousins all there) or NHPS (her best friend going there) which is impossible since we dont stay <1km of those 2 schools. During the orientation, we bought her a doll dressed up as a RGPS girl, and now she can't let go of it! And she was also happy trying on her new uniform.

wow looking at secondary school even. What is a good ECA for enrolment leh ?

I was from Dunman, to me is basketball or chinese orchestra.

Wan Wan, yup they are Chinese supplementary readers it seem. Chinese Language Instructional Materials for Primary Schools (CLIPS)
I find the size and spacing of words just nice, not too crammpy and stressful on the eyes. The pages are attractively illustrated too. Most importantly the words are suitable for their age-group and supplements the chinese syllabus, so why not. Just like to stress that this is my personal view as my level of Chinese is not good thus I feel that this is less intimidating for both dd and myself.

1898081.jpg

1898082.jpg

milo
DSA = Direct School Admission
Usually top sec sch allocate 20% of their sec 1 places to P6 students at mid yr before SA2 &amp; PSLE. They look at consistent academic results from P4 and excellent CCA (ie national team).

They would go primary sch to give talk / video presentation. Students who qualify would go for audtion. Once accepted by sec sch, that means you are guaranteed a place. However, you must confirm your acceptance back to the sch. PSLE result not concerned anymore. Usually people go for 2 audition (Hwa Chong &amp; Raffles).

Shawny, yah they sold that during the school carnival to raise funds.

Milo, DSA is direct school admission, for P6 students to get a place in sec school before the release of PSLE results, usu based on CCAs. Too early for us P1 parents with 2002 kids to think about that but some parents here have older kids as well.

my gal'll also b usin lockers but dun noe if sharin wif anyone.

we were also told for de 1st wk, P5 students'll attach 1-to-1 to de P1 kids durin recess to help them buy food, get back change n go toilet.

r de CLIPS bks supplementary for Normal Chinese or Higher Chinese?

i did know now want to go sec school also need audition?? So different from my time.... next time think pri school need audition tooo.... haha

Mummies, I spoke to teachers from sec sch and they said it it good to look at sec sch NOW even though our kids are only going into pri 1 next year.

reason being if u realli wanna help ur child have better chance at DSA because of their pri sch CCA, it's good to join the CCA early, eg from P1 if they can cope with sch work.

i've spoke to parents with kids in sec sch and this is the same advice they gave me.
one example is my niece. she loves badminton so she joined on her own accord in P2. she was in school team in P4 and won alot of medals.
she DSA into a good sch with cut off point of 240. but, her PSLE was only 220+, but she had secured her place in the good school and she is going to be S3 in the good school, in a double science class. bcos of her pri sch CCA, she got a plc in a good sch even though her PSLE score not very good. and her parents tink it is the studious environment that made her study hard in lower sec and make it to good class in S3 despite the stiff competition.

i mean, it's ur choice but it's good to tink long term also. eg, maybe some of u will consider letting ur child take up music course or some sports courses.

for me i'm letting my gal take more music classes and hopefully it will be to her advantage when she goes to sec sch

CL, now I do recall you saying that you were from Dunman....along with Bianche and her hubby.

JH, dd's school doesn't have higher Chinese but I understand from my sis that my nephew (p3 currently) used this set as his P1 supplementary reader. He's from TaoNan, it's HCL over there. Guess can use for both.

But would all of you think that just with stellar, which is interactive and enjoyable, our children might not be learning. They wouldnt be using any english textbooks and probably, they wouldnt be receiving as much as they should be?

Im quite worried about it. /:

Hi milo, yah a friend was busy going for auditions and selections with child in June for DSA. hahaha you are right, we are luckier hor... In future, may need to pv for place in preschool!

Hi Joy's mum, I agree with you. The percentage of intake for DSA is actually quite high for the good schools. For those coupled with the integrated program, it's a miserable number of vacancies left to squeeze in after O levels.

However, the child must have the passion to pursue whatever he dsa for else it will be quite tough coping. sigh...maybe by the time our 2002 kids reach upper primary, got new pattern liao.

Just sharing with u, my best frendz's gal oso DSA to dunman high with her guzheng's CCA. Her PSLE score alone wont get her to that school.

Am just plexed whether to choose the CCA which can be use for DSA or to my child's interest?

Re: HC
For my son's school, HC's option will be available from July 09 onwards for those chinese who is above average.

Cecelia
ha ha so still no change in Dunman high lah. Guzheng is realli the highlights.

I wanted to let my gal have a choice but then again she is so "nua" so maybe have to plan her route for her

RE: Stellar
my gal's school is using stellar program, at the moment totally no mention of any english book to purchase!
as KS mum, i've already hired a tutor and the tutor has gone through all the basic grammar with her and starting on other skills (creative writing, comprehension, etc). I really can't imagine how they are gonna give our kids a good english foundation without proper materials?
the tutor tt is teaching my gal says it really depends on the teachers preparing the materials. if they are realli hardworking, they will develop very good materials for the kids and the stellar programme will work very well. but i nvr noe wot type of teachers she will get, so safer to get a tutor to coach her and i can monitor cos the tutor does give me feedback on her progress.

RE: DSA
i did tell my gal tt e CCA she chooses must be something she enjoys and will want to continue with it. tt's why i'm starting her in P1, if she dun like it, P2 still got time to change n excel in another CCA.
but again, i'm very KS. i've started her on private guzheng lessons at home. loaned a 2nd hand set for her to try. so far she enjoys learning it and did mention she was to continue learning it.

Cecelia, alot of good schools have good CO and guzheng ensemble, tt's y i'm letting my gal try it and hopefully she will continue to learn until it's time for DSA. going to a school with good guzheng ensemble also mean she got higher chance of joining SYF and getting awards for the school. means more CCA points!!

Sorry if I seem very KS, but i've spent half my life in US. and coming back to SG was a huge adjustment, seeing and talking to parents with kids of all ages really made me KS!

Hi mummies, just thought of sharing this with you. Can bring your kids along during weekends.

Carnival - SYT 10th Anniversary Celebration
Encounter with Nanyang Artists - NAFA Junior Art Exhibition 2008

Opening : 14 November 2008, 7pm
Dress Code : Casual Smart

Date : 15 November - 23 November 2008
Time : 10am - 6pm (Weekdays)
10am - 8pm (Weekends)
Venue : Gallery 3
NAFA Campus 1
80 Bencoolen Street
Singapore 189655
Enquiries : Ms Tang Yuet Sum | 6512 4159
Admission : FREE

“In the Museum” series
Teoh Kang Ting Constance

This exhibition is part of NAFA’s 70th anniversary and SYT’s 10th anniversary celebration. It features student artworks inspired by five Nanyang pioneer artists - Georgette Chen, Cheong Soo Pieng, Liu Kang, Chen Chong Swee and Chen Wen Hsi. Students aged 5-17 drew on the masterpieces as the stimulus for appreciation, imagination, and expression; connecting the traditions with the modernity in their creation of artworks.

Wanwan, it depends on which sec sch you are aiming for. I have 3 gals, so looking mostly at gals school or co-ed schools. so far found that music groups can get them into relatively alot of schools. or sports like badminton, netball.

different sch got different niche area, so u must go find out what is the niche area of the schools u r aiming for.

usually it is music groups (band, angklung, guzheng, etc), dance (ballet, modern), or sports (swimming, badminton, table tennis, etc)

im actually too late for DSA. but really hope u all will pick a good cca for ur kids. it really do help in getting into better sch.