(2002) Any 2002 babies?

luanee
CCA is compulsory from P4. But I do know now the sch promotes CCA from P1. For ballet, it is starting from P1 since the kids who sign up would have already started when in nursery.

My girl is in Chinese Dance. She joined in P3.

Noe
I have just written a long email to my son's sch principal. One of the items is about transport pick up timing.

<font face="Tahoma">Thank you, caroline3sg.
I called the person in charge of the bus transport services.
She checked and returned call, shifting the pick up time to 0545hr.
That would be the latest as my DS will be the first to be picked up.

Probably, we might try one way transport instead. Haiz ...
Ooh. It will be nice hearing from the P on this.</font>

what type of school bag are you getting for your child? Just bought Firefly for my son, they're selling them in the school orientation, not sure whether is it good but I find it quite light.

luanee,
same here, my son school orientation is exactly the same as yours and my hb got the school books while I'm in the hall watching the CCA and principal speech etc... From the start the CCA is wushu and some kungfu fighting hee....

hi noe,

pm you already. can i hv the no. you called for the bus operator pls? thks!

lunch at 3pm? poor boy. you will have to prepare some snacks for him to munch on the bus. do they allow eating on the bus?

seems like so many school promoting CCA so early and get to see their performance. when i went for my son's orientation, nothing to see only principal speech and some other talks... very boring compare to you all

ya, same here, did not see anything about their CCA, only photos of their CCA in the presentation slides by the principal. School also did not mention about Stellar programme either.

Hi fz, think different schools using different textbooks. My son's using My Pals are Here! some using Shaping MAths....

natellehcim,
i thought My Pals are Here is the standard book. i had a quick glance at my boy's math text and it is very simple. my husband is worried that the lack of exposure to more difficult questions will have a long term impact when the kid goes into upper pri.
guess i have to supplement at home then.

fz,
my gal's usin Shapin Maths.

annlee,
my gal's sch was also sellin firefly; haven't heard abt de brand but saw lots of people buyin it. not cheap though ... was it $49.90?

arrgh,
aiyo just checked the books delivered. All english text and activity books not available. Activity books for shaping maths oso not available. A lot of things not available. Alamak. Means I have to go get again so mah fan

Fz
Mine oso using shaping maths. English is Purposeful Penmanship under teachers'production

For english, mine is "The Magic Finger" by Roald Dhal, it's Stellar programme so no textbooks. For maths, it's "My pals are here".

Hi fz, ya although the maths seems simple, some kids might not have exposed to such simple maths yet. Hence the school/MOE need to strike a balance to it also by teaching the kids from start... But if the kids are fast learning, I'm sure the teacher will have their own set of teaching materials. Just like my son's school principal mentioned in his speech that his teachers may or may not use the textbooks provided. The teachers might use her own set of teaching materials for the kids, depending on the kids' progress. hence no worries for that, I'm sure the school will know how to handle the situation.

Hi Luanee

Is your kid's school using Stellar programme?

My girl's school is using Stellar, no textbooks but teacher mentioned got one Grammar book to buy in Jan. But never mentioned "The Magic Finger" book lei..

Maths sames as yours too

Actually mummies,
What is this stella programme ? Seems like many schools are using this but surprisingly Nanyang not using leh

Hi CL

Great to see you again.

Sellar programme no textbook to teach one, is thru reading the storybook with the children and they have to participate and ask questions. Something like that.

My hubby also puzzled abt this programe even after seeing the presentation slides by the teacher. Like no worksheet to do during lesson time.

I think last time there is a mummy posted the link on this. You can do a search on it.

Chickenlittle, I heard that NY now allow girls to keep their hair long. Does that apply only to the secondary level?

dear mummies,
I went to the school orientation yesterday. It is very long day yesterday as the orientation start from 8.30 am and i went home abt 2.30 pm <phew>

The school is under Stellar program so there are no english textbook and math is using my pals is here.

Mummies, would like to check whether any of you purchase the reference book that stated in booklist?

Chicken little,
Stellar is the more fund way in learning english. Instead of using textbook, now the teacher will be teaching using the storybook. From what i understand from my son's English HOD, She saying from year 2009 onwards all the P1 and P2 classes in singapore will be adapting the Stellar program in teaching english lei.

luanne
no leh i just attended orientation they says must cut. Only those in dance, ballet and gym exceptional.

Anyway my gal already say bye bye to her long hair liao. Feel so sad for her. Now i will pre ampt my frens not to mention anything about her hair.hb tells her so nice with short hair , she says " I dun think so"

luanee,
i think the principal mentioned that NYGH will allow long hair as long as neatly kept. They trust the bigger girls to take care of their hygiene. ;) Like CL said, pri girls only those in ballet, dance troupe, gymnastics can have long hair (neatly tied!).

How many uniform you purchase for your child? I bought 2 sets of uniform and 2 sets of PE attire. Would it enuf or not har?

Regards to CCA,
Would you you intend to enrol your child in one of the CCA of the school?

Hi Cecelia

Not sure cos the HOD Eng Teacher just says to get it on first day of school lei.

BTW, for those using Stellar programme, will you also buy the Pri Eng Text to coach them at home? hee... I thought of getting it to coach her lei.. hee Me Kiasu

I purchased 2 uniforms and 3 PE attires cos my friend told me now children got more PE lessons per week woh...

Hi Cecelia,
No, we didnt buy those optional reference books in the booklist. For uniform, we got for my girl 3 pinafores + 2 normal tops + 2 PE tops + 2 PE shorts. I reckon since there be 2 PE lessons per week, it should be enough.

For CCA, not so sure yet. The principal said P1 students are given 1 term to consider, so no need to rush. My girl interested in the choir, ballet and gym.

Hi Luanee

You already have the class schedule for your kid?

My school orientation never mentioned about CCA lei..

cecelia
me too, 2 sets each. 1 extra skirt as standby

sngiam73
was told about the grammar book too during orientation, that we can purchase from 17 Nov onwards
I went bookshop yesterday but book not avail yet

Thanks Mickeyh
Ha ha if not for you pointing out to me I still as sotong as ever.

Cecelia
I got 3 sets because all white sure gets dirty easily and I can only wash them at nite so no sure can dry in time or not. PE attire only allow to get 1 set during orientation but will get another set when I get the name tag. Come to think of it, I need to order another set of name tag because 1 set is 4 so for 5 sets of clothings I need 5

cecelia, i did buy those optional reference as i heard from few mummies who have kids with the school saying that most teacher don't use the opt items, if the teacher need, they will then ask parents to buy at after school start.

for uniform, i got 2set and 2 sets of PE attire, should be more than enough, if not enough then get it later when school open lor. Wait for timetable to be given before deciding whether to get more.

Luanee, how come you all so fast join CCA already? I thought only P3 onwards then have??

Thanks mummies for answering my q

Milo,
According to my SIL and frendz, it is betta to sign them up early to the CCA of your choice as when your kids reach P3 the school will kinda choose and pick 'members' so your kids might nt have a chance to join the cca of his/her choice.

Another thing to ask- yesterday at the orientation the school did nt give any list of things to bring on their first to school &amp; also the timetable, it is normal or i should email the general office to ask?

Sngiam, no we havent got the class schedule yet. But we met the class teacher already and she gave us her hp number! So can call her anytime hee hee..

Milo, cca is compulsory from P4 onwards but the school encourages us to start from P1. I dont mind as long there is transport available. But doubt if my girl knows how to take lunch in school?

cecelia,
I also did not receive any timetable. i checked with the teacher what to bring on first day, guess what she told me?? "bring all the books" i wanted to faint on the spot cos it will be so heavy.... then i commented heavy, she say ok then bring textbook will do....

The school did not mention anything about the CCA leh...i didn't know have to start so early

Luanee,
the teacher so good, give u her Hp no. my son's teacher never even intro about herself, it was later part then i realise she is the form teacher... phiangz

Hi milo, i was not given any timetable either. they nvr mention anything about stellar prog, but no textbooks to buy. We were given a list of what to bring on the first day, not all the books.

milo, luanee
What cecelia said is true with regards to popular CCA. I signed my girl up for Chinese Dance in P3 (didn't know they have gold every yr till last yr). So when I register for CCA at P4, I am auto in (ie first priority). If no. of applicants more than vacancies, balloting is required. You need to check no. of vacancies for popular CCA. Choosing CCA is like choosing sec sch, have 6 choices.

luanee, so you can see that my girl has performed last yr &amp; this yr. I have asked her to ensure that she gets into the inter-sch competition. Originally wanted to go for DSA, but her academic results not so good. Her piano also not G7 yet. So can't qualify for DSA. At least have gone up stage to perform. The feeling should be great. Going for competition also instil some feeling of achievement.

luanee
was busy with buying exercise books, uniform, settle transport on orientation day that I overlooked finding out who is the teacher. Anyway, for me 2nd child already, not so kan cheong.

Caroline,
Aiyoh I dare not stress my girl. That day she had a misconception that she got to go up to stage to play the keyboard during her K2 graduation ceremony, and she cried at night to say she does not want to go. End up it was just a class performance and she was ok. For the real graduation ceremony, she went up the stage to recite a Chinese poem with another girl and she was ok with that. She is the shy type, who doesnt mind group performances, but will shun solo gigs.

Oh, we went to the class itself to pick up our girl after the orientation, so get to meet the form teacher. She introduced herself as the fierciest teacher in the school, LOL.

caro,

so we only get to chose CCA in P3? i remember last time i chose CCA anyhow one, when get in, i tell teacher alot of excuse to get myself out...

nat,

at least u have an idea of what to bring to sch, i'm still wondering what to bring?? how come no bk to buy? the school also did not mention anything about the stellar programme at all leh.. still very vague of what is it about....

think 1st day no need textbooks, but some books for 2nd lang. The school got provide lockers for the kids to put their books and the teachers will teach them how to pack in the lockers.

As for the class allocation, not done yet. Will only mail us in mid dec.

natellehcim
I don't think lockers are for lower primary. Usually for higher primary. Coz lower primary may lose the key. Need to pay $10 to replace. Usually lower primary use shelves or cupboard in classroom.

milo
P3 not compulsory. It is online registration but I am not sure of your child's sch. Some sch encourage from P1. Getting out is easier than getting in.

We would be having 'breakfast with principal' basically it is giving more info, I think. He would elabourate on SEED &amp; Stellar. SEED is excursion / outing then come back to talk / write about experiences / learning outcomes. Stellar is a reading programme. Encourages students to read. That's all I know.

luanee
Who is the teacher? Maybe I know?

hi, my kid going to a neighbourhood school, Sembawang pri. The principal had mentioned during the speech that the lockers are for the P1 and P2. My friend's kid's school also provide lockers and the kid is P2 this yr.

regards to lockers,
that is another headache thing for me as mentioned by the principal yesterday that 1 locker is share btw 2 pupils..... my ds very sotong blur if his belonging taken by her classmate he oso dun noe 1 <haiz....>

have any idea how u should label your child belonging? Printed out from computer and stick or just write using markers?

For my girl, the form teacher gave us her email address.

As for labelling, my colleague just told me to label everything woh... Cos her girl's classmates like to borrow pencil or colour pencil from her till lost and she got to replace for her girl.

I am printing out the computer label to label for her.

if you need something neat and nice, use those coloured labels. otherwise you can print out from computer and tape it onto the items. Don't worry, I believe the teachers will teach the kids on how to pack their stuff.

<font face="Tahoma"><font size="-2"><blockquote><hr size=0><!-quote-!><font size=1>quote:</font>

hi noe,
pm you already. can i hv the no. you called for the bus operator pls? thks!
lunch at 3pm? poor boy. you will have to prepare some snacks for him to munch on the bus. do they allow eating on the bus?<!-/quote-!><hr size=0></blockquote></font>
Felixcat,
Thanks! I have received it.
Person-In-Charge: Carrie Lee 65608032

I have checked with her.
Eating in bus was disallowed for a good reason.
The boys exploited them and dirtied the bus.

However, she did add that if he can eat bit sizes and keep to minimum crumbs, they will allow them to eat and will stop them once they see messy eating.
Fine thin line. Haiz ...</font>

Hi ladies, joining in the chat. Just attended orientation last Sat, was surprised to hear that they allowed the mummies to drop by during recess time for the 1st 3 days of school. Is this the norm? DD's school was quite considerate too..just for the 1st day of school, they delayed the school commencing time to 8plus instead of the normal 7.20am. (Not sure if working parents, dropping off the kids along the way to work, welcome this gesture though.)

Hi Shawny17
Welcome here. So nice leh your gal's school. For NYPS we can volunteer to help out for the first 3 days if we join PTA. So I did opt for first day. Dun want to burn my leaves for just these 3 days.

Hi CL, thks for the welcome. I'm still contemplating whether I should join PSG. Too bad, Char cut her hair....Ashley gets to retain her long hair.

Hi to all the mummies,
im new here. Im interested in the topic that all of you have discussed, about the stellar programme. Ive also check the stellar website.

Do you think it is effective for learning or not effective for our children???