(2002) Any 2002 babies?

Happy holidays to all mummies!

Hi ssm, your son likes drums? Go get this movie Drumline. The band performances are very captivating but of course not real. My gal loves the show and you can feel the beat. Checked out the website and it looks interesting. Let us know your feedback after attending the lessons.

hi jan,
my son has been bugging me to sign him up for drum lesson but i only did it recently. so far, my hubby brought him for classes while i stay home to look after the younger one. He enjoyed it very much though it is only a 30min lesson and he has attended 3 lessons so far. He can even read the music notes. Ok, shall go and get the movie u mentioned and hope he enjoys watching. Tks.

ssm,
My ds also likes drum but thinking of sending him to music appreciation course first. If he's still int'd later on, then send for drum lesson. How much is drum lesson?

weekly activities for 2008...
Mon-Fri kindergarten AM session
Tues /Wed phonics & Chinese
Sat Speech & Drama, Gymnastics (planned)

Hippo,
Where does your kids learn gym? I'm planning to start them next yr.

gin,
the drum lesson is $110 for 4 lessons, each lesson is 30mins. u can refer to the link above for more details. where do u intend to send him for music appreciation course?

ssm,
Maybe sending him to Yamaha Children music course at Kembangan CC. My dd has been attending there for almost 2 yr. She's finishing her course next term so maybe start my ds after that. Drum lesson sounds fun tho I'm not sure how's his "music talent".

gin,
OIC. My son not interested in music appreciation course, also not into piano or violin. He prefers drum, trumpet and guitar, so weird....keke

Hi Gin, is your dd course the same syllabus as the Yamaha jmc? My kids are attending the jmc but the focus is on the electone keyboard.

Hi ssm, who is your son's teacher? Is it noisy and do they need to protect their ears? May consider sending my kids to try for fun since the package is for 4 lessons.

hi jan,
err...cant rem his teacher's name. there's a headphone provided and my son actually wears it each time, cos the room is small and drums can be quite loud.

Thanks ssm, will consider. As it is, they are noisy enough at home without learning to play drums!

ssm,
cool ... yr kid's de jazzy type

i wan my gal 2 learn drums 2 but she tinks it's not a 'princess' thing 2 do ... sigh ...

any one managed 2 get de new maths guide bk fm popular?

jan,
hahaha, its a different type of noise lah...

jh,
i haven been to popular recently cos very crowded. Think I will make a trip down after sch reopen.

Jan,
It's same as JMC, except the books are slightly different as JMC's books are copyright in Japan. The kids sing, dance, listen & recognize the notes/chords, play on the electone keyboard (both hands). At end of 2 yrs, they'll take a test. The tester will come from Yamaha. The teachers are also Yamaha teachers.

ssm,
Maybe Your son like rock / R&B type of music... that's why he likes drum? Should look for a primary school which has a band then he'll enjoy.

ssm
thanks for the info. the location is quite out of the way for me. i guess i'll wait for ds1 to enrol himself in his primary school's band later....i do take into consideration of giving priority to primary schools having concert band as one of their ccas. was a band member myself.
but i guess chances are that he may end up in a library or computer club or something nerdy cos that seems the way that he is. :p

gin,
err.....my son doesnt look that hip to me. i hv no idea why he likes drum or trumpet cos both his parents cant play a single musical instrument! But of course, i am glad that at least he likes music.

fz,
ya, the location also abit out of the way and even the timing but no choice leh. Oh yes, i also want to encourage my son to join sch band though I was never one before. What instrument do u play?
Haha, not nerdy lah....just boring. I myself was a librarian and brownie, very boring lor....

hehe, I rather fancy the image of my girl playing keyboard. Have that vivid picture in my mind

But she's just not interested....

Ballet not interested, Chinese dance not interested, music not interested.

Typical book worm, just likes to read

ssm,
i was in the clarinet section, though i have some drums background, but couldn't quite coordinate my limbs on the jazz set. :p but that was in sec sch. in Pri sch, i was the boring librarian too...and also AVA club member...*yawn*

hippo2002,
my boy dislikes reading. he prefers to be read to. as a matter of fact, i discovered that he knows how to read, but just that he doesn't understand what he is reading! *scratch head* I either have to rephrase it, or re-read it for him before he knows what the instructions is about!

ds1 also very introvet. at least upon 'forcing' him to continue swimming, after he learned some technique, he enjoyed it alot.
music? he said not interested unless drums. :p

ssm / fz,
I'm also boring librarian leh. But I did join the choir and music club, play Double Bass, take part in performance etc. I'd prefer my kids to take part in a variety of CCA be it art / dance / music. Even if no talent but at least try before, no regrets. Now old already wan to join also nobody want liao.

mommies

withdrawn dd1 from Arts. Teacher feedback she has been dazing in class the last few months. I reminded her every week to pay attention in class. $90 per month for 4 lessons, so expensive, waste my money!

dd1 is upset. Cried in the car on way home. Sigh...why don't pay attention in the first place then? I have given her so many chance. Super fed up liao. Once a week lesson also cannot concentrate

hippo2002,

$90 for 4 lessons? i thought community centre art classes are pretty cheap. dd1 is upset because you are upset or because she still want to resume lessons? perhaps the classes are too boring for her and she need something more intellectually challenging for her?

fz

not at CC. We withdrew her from CC because she dazed in class. She attended a trial at a private school & claimed that she is very interested. We thought CC teacher is not able to stimulate her so we switched her over despites the expensive fees. But she continues to daze in class leh.

When we asked her whether she's not interested since she cannot concentrate, she insisted she's very interested. She is upset because she wanted to continue her lessons but her actions indicated otherwise.

Teacher said maybe she's tired. However dd1 is not attending any other classes on same day, just relax at home in the morning before her art lesson

sigh....really don't know what's bothering with her

hippo2002,

oic. i guess only you can gauged from her actions and inactions on whether she is really keen to continue. as for dazing in class...is that part of her way of stimulating her creative mind? are you having the same problem with other lessons previously?

does your kid pester you to play with them? or they are satisfied playing by themselves? my ds1 pester everyone in the house to play with him. if no one is free, he rather sit on the sofa and grumble (grumble 'boring, boring') rather than go read a book, switch on the computer or watch TV. at times when I grumble that I don't like what we are playing (he loves cars but i don't), he will retort 'i also don't like to do some worksheets, but i still do.' *faintz* even if i go for toilet break for a few minutes in the midst of playing with him, he will extend the playtime accordingly! *faintz*

fz,
Wah, yr son dare to "ding zui" to u. My kids can play on their own most of the time, esp my son. Of course, there are still times when he complained "i am so bored" and there are times when he wants me to play with him but not often. So actually I can be quite "eng" at times.

fz,
Same here my kids even watch tv also want me to sit next to them when all I want to do is go back to my room and have some quiet time. I feel that they jus want attention. When I'm pick up a phonecall, the kids will start shouting at the top of their voice. Maybe want the other party to hear them too. So pai se. My friends thot I've monkeys in the house. Sometimes I lock myself in the room to talk then they keep banging on the door. Recently I got so angry that I cane them for being so rude.

ssm,
ya...he does 'ding zui' at times. perhaps that is due to our 'open communication' style at home. we talk about anything under the sun. maybe cos at times i am pretty critical and sarcastic to him, so i guess he picked some bad habits from me. :p

gin,
my ds1 doesn't shout....he likes to nag...nag nag nag....i don't cane though...he has not ruffle my feathers enough to deserve it....yet. :p

fz,
my sons are always seeking for attention too. be it play or watching tv, they want someone to be with them. my ds2 used to be more independant when he's young. i feel he pick up the attention seeking habit from his bro. ds1 is gone case! super sticky. i'm hoping that he would behave more 'grown up' after he starts sch tis yr. even my frens find it hard to believe that he's goin P1 le. cos he's so 'kid-ish'!

How about sibling rivalry? I tend to sayang ds2 more bcos he's younger and more 'tei'. So my dd1 complain we didn't give enough attention to her. She is getting qt rebellious making unreasonable request or purposely provoke her brother. If I give in to her, I feel that I'm allowing her to continue with her bossy ways. If I dun give in, she throw tantrums and I become really angry. Dunno how they can co-exist in peace.. sigh...

j0L,
my ds1 wants me to hold his hand to sleep every night! used to be until he fall asleep...but nowadays i insist only 5 min or so. :p on one hand, i find him too needy, but on the other hand, i dread the day when he doesn't want to hold my hands anymore. he has long entered the phase of 'kisses are yucky'. :p

Gin,

As ds2 is becoming more mobile, being the cute 13mth old, we tend to be more protective of him and sayang him more. ds1 did try to get my attention by being annoying (nagging...talking nonsense..etc), but i get really upset when he tried to 'trip' his brother. I am crossing my fingers that the 4 years age gap will work in lessen sibling rivalry. :p i hope my personal experience of bickering with my siblings will come in handy when the time comes. :p

Hi Gin / fz, it's different for me. I have to discipline my younger one more given her aggressive character. My boy has been giving way to her since young. When I punish the meimei, he will even plead with me to forgive and give her a chance. On the whole, both of them are very close but the occasional sibling rivalry does exist.

Hi mummies, read that the cane is used. What's your take with caning the kids? I grew up with the cane but don't have one at home now.

jan,
have not used cane on ds1. so far, he is quite well behaved (except for the nagging part) and rational in doing things. don't think will use cane cos i believe in talking things through and withdrawing privileges instead of caning. don't think CAN use cane also, cos stay with ILs, and both dss are their only grandchildren....

jan,
yr case is the same as mine. my son has been giving in to his meimei who is headstrong and demanding. But yet both are still very close and my boy also plead with me when i scold the younger one. As for the cane, i do have one at home, but more for display. I usually have 4 levels of discipline which starts with a stare (lvl 1) when they try to be funny and if stare doesnt work, i will scold (lvl 2) and if that doesnt work, then taking away their privileges will come in (lvl 3) and if that still doesnt work, i wl use my bare hands to hit their hands or legs or make them stand by the wall for a while and will ignore them until they really repent! usually i have no prob with my son, he shd stop his nonsense at lvl 1 and the max lvl 2 but my daughter is the headache one.....*shake head*

btw mummies, how's yr kids 1st day of sch? its my dd 1st day in nursery and she was very excited and kancheong. just hope that she wont give prob to teacher.....

jan, ssm

mine is reverse. dd1 is the tyrant at home. mei mei has been giving way to dd1 since she was a baby. dd2 is the blur sotong harmless cheerful type of baby & forgives her sister in 3 seconds

If dd1 is in a bad mood, she will shove dd2 away or snatch her toys. Then dd2 will start crying lor.
I am very bored with their 'movie plot', playing the same scene over & over again everyday, snatch-cry-complain to mommy, snatch-cry-complain to mommy

Hi ssm, our kids sound alike! We always praise ds for being the best korkor and then my gal will ask 'me leh?'. Luckily she's an angel in school and the teachers adore her. I used the naughty corner to discipline her since she was 2 yrs old. It seems to work better than if I hit her palm as she would just hit me back. Never need to use the naughty corner for ds except once. Considered getting a cane for display too but better not, too accessible!

Hi hippo, surprised to hear that. I always thought that if the elder one is a gal, she will be very caring and protective towards the younger sibling like typical dajie. Hopefully it's a phase they are going through. My kids used to blame the other started it first, I tell them that's not important, it's who stop first that matters. Now they will compete "I stop first". haha kids...!

Wow Jan, ssm
Very lucky to have nice siblings leh. My gal will be a super tell tale one. Always tell me what my son did wrongly.

My younger one turning 2 next week has started to fight back. That day my daughter close the door and hit his leg, he came and complain, point point and cry. So I think next time when he is going to talk more, I will be very headache.

My older daughter is the one who will go me leh me leh. When we praise the younger one, she will go always praise aden one.

weekly activities for 2008...
Mon-Fri Full day childcare
Sat : Morning - MPM , PM - Chinese
Sun : Trying to keep her free

But I think need to sign her up for English to get ready.

Once again, any comment on I can read or the branch at CCK

chicken little,
your younger one is 2006 also, like mine. but i still have some time before the bickering will start cos ds2 turning 2 only in nov 08.
i better enjoy my peace now. :p
my ds1 also like to tell tale. :p

hooray! Good news is I finally fulfilled my 40 hours of volunteer work.
Not so good news is the school will conduct balloting for phrase 2B this year
Oh please don't ask which school. I'm superstitious, wait till my girl is confirmed a place

mommies
any of you doing volunteer work for this year enrolment?

mommies

do you think your child is prepared for P1?
mine isn't !

I asked dd1 to write one sentence in chinese character today. She sat there pitifully in tears. She would rather spent her time crying than to lift her finger to write

fz,
mine is Jan 06 and weight very close to his sister so when they fight my daughter can lose out kind.

Hippo2002
Mine oso not. Aiyo she only want to write what she like. Can try getting her to write her name first. ask her what she like then do it in mandarin and write it out. Do it like game ?

hippo2002,
academic preparedness wise...not there yet. but maturity wise...yes, he is ready. can follow instructions, pay attention, tell the time...good enough ba. :p

fz

your boy very clever! dd1 can only read digital time but not long hand short hand.

another important skill I intend to teach is money. then can pay the right amount when they buy food at recess. hehe, action item

hippo2002,
on the contrary, ds1 started reading long hand short hand first before we teach him how to translate to digital time. :p as for money skill..bringing him to vending machine is a fun way to get started. :p

Kay Stella,
My gal ex schoolmate mummy is a private piano teacher. If you interested, can email me at [email protected]. I can hook you up but I not sure if she can meet your standard. Alternatively , the second floor at limbang shopping centre, the game station has moved up and now it is replaced by Yamaha. Maybe can check it out.

fz,
good idea on vending machine. I have started to get my gal to pay for food, buy things at supermarket too. Like buying the things she wants, then I have a $2 or $5 and get her to choose which is enough to pay for it

Hi hippo, I've completed my pv hours last year and it's all in for phase 2B. But I may consider other schools. Still thinking...

Like fz, in terms of mentality, ds is prepared. From academic viewpoint, he's not but he will catchup. Heard that there is a test (some schools, maybe not all) which will sort of grade and allocate them to their P1 classes. Have you heard of that?

fz/ hippo,
i had juz officially taught my ds1 to read the time and count money few weeks ago before sch started. very jialet hor.. haha!

all the while my ds1 been very timid. he dun dare to buy things or order food when we go out. but i believe children can adapt very quickly. today we went to sch for cca recruitment. at the sch canteen asked him to buy his own food. he actually agreed but told me to watch him from a short distance. i think that is great improvement le though i ended up bside him, teaching him hw to order. lol!

btw, alot of parents feedback that the mkt rate for P1 allowance is $1. but i'm quite doubtful if its enough. my son has not start to bring money yet cos the sch has prepare lunch box for the kids for the first 10 days. today he ordered rice with tofu n a chicken fillet. it costed $1.60! i had checked out the menu in the sch canteen. chicken rice $1, nasi lemak $0.70 - comes with egg n ikan bilis, noodles ard $0.70 - $0.80. is it the norm? 1 of the stall hawker told me prices hv increased by 10cents tis yr. my hb keep nagging that $1 wont be enough!