(2002) Any 2002 babies?

ssm,
my old sch has amalmagated wif another boys' sch so dun noe still count or not. anyway, it's not nearby. tink west grove is within 1 km but it's so popular.

fz,
must learn fm u 2 control buyin durin de yr so he'll look forward 2 their bds. makes is easier 4 us 2 choose a 'good' present dat may b they'll remember 4 de rest of their lifes hahaha

fz, jh,
ya.. i haven been buying for sm time le. i find that they dun appreciate the toys when there's too many!

think i've a copy of the 2007 P1 Registration - 2C No. of applications. u gals need it?

jh,
we didn't want to clutter up the already small house, so we don't usually indulge in toys. my boy also tend to only plays with small parts of a set of toys after a while, so we keep a look out for toys with removable accessories (eg removable barrier, or traffic lights in a car/city gift set).

j0L,
For presents and gifts, delayed gratification also leaves a much deeper impression than instant ones.

do you have the info on which school balloting for what distances?

any idea which school in Woodlands is good? Only gathered that Evergreen and Woodgrove is demand > supply at Phase 2C and does anyone heard of Qihua?

fz,
i left the list in office. let me check it tml..

wow.. the area u're looking at is very wide! frm bt batok.. to bt panjang.. n woodlands! intending to move there?

Any shopping mall shows has not ended yet ? Thinking of making up to my gal and bring her to one or two.

j0L,
intending to move, but have not decide where to move though ILs have been house hunting. initially looking at east, then looking at CCK, then look at Bt panjang and now woodlands. ILs priority is flat size (cos residing 6 members of the family) then environment then followed by schools.

time is running out.....told husband that maybe we stay put and let the boys sleep in the living room if they get bigger...he ask me to be realistic. :p

<font color="ff0000">jh</font>
oh, then must quickly find out more lor. West grove also need balloting within 1km?

<font color="0000ff">fz</font>
why must the boys slp in the living room?

caroline3sg
i will be going down later to find out. Or maybe I shd just give them a call first?

ssm
I only know it is smaller than A4 size. Because I have an elder girl and I know roughly whan & how the maths questions are taught, I didn't buy the book. I just flipped through when I saw it. However, I think it is a good book for those who has yet to enter P1. At least there won't be any "shock".

I think it is better to call them first. Usually the customer service is very helpful. If they don't have, ask them which branch has. And if it is more convenient for you to pick up at Bras Basar, ask them to transfer there. It takes about a week.

fz

woodlands has jumbo flats, sure enough space for family expansion. I visited one before, so huge!!!
I heard some are 2 three-room flats combined & some are a three-room & a four-room flat combined

caroline3sg,
i called alrdy. This was what the staff described to me. Anyways, I am going off now! Talk to u when I'm bk fm lunch.

Hippo,

Thanks for the info. Just wondering now if i should sign my dd1 for Abacus. Was telling her of my intentions yesterday. I said "girl, mummy want to sign you up for Abacus class." She replied instantly "No, i dont want to be a "baker"!"

Saw somewhere you are looking for giant lollipop? Have you found it? Do you mean the giant chuppachup? or those colorful ones?

Chicken little,

Thanks for updating the table. Appreciate it.

2galswithlove

I meant those colourful ones. Did you come across any place selling nice ones?

your dd1 likes piano? private lesson or in music school?

I am still harbouring hope to re-introduce dd1 to music otherwise she's quite free leh, just gym & Arts once a week, seems so idle

hippo2002,

Those colorful ones i have seen some at the titbit store at shopping malls. Their shop name is Umeya. You can try to find it there? Though i have not tasted them.... One more place, United Square level 2, outside Lesenphant boutique, there is a push cart that sells these too.

dd1 enjoys piano but its getting tougher as she must play the black and white keys together and the theory is also getting tough, i have zero music knowledge thus unable to help her at all with her homework. She is currently with Ossia (used to be called Christofi) but will be pulling her out by end of this year to go to private class.

As for those xmas shows at shopping malls, i only brought them to watch Princesses at Causeway Point last Saturday. The princesses were really gorgeous. As if they really come all the way from Disneyland. My two girls were so disappointed for not given a chance to get up close with them..

fz,
i only hv the vacancy statistics n the no. of children registered. looks like admiralty, evergreen, fuchun, innova, woodgrove n woodlands ring are the popular ones that required balloting.

jh,
jurong west, rulang, shuqun n west grove are the popular ones that required balloting. west grove has 316 applicants for 125 vacancies in phase 2C!

what is the ideal size of sch bag for P1 kid? ds1 wanted a trolley bag.. but he's very small build, it looks huge on him!

ssm,
ya..that is why must shift. need to shift to a bigger hse before ds1 goes to P1 else will disrupt either his or ds2's studies next time.

hippo2002,
ya...looking at jumbo. seen a very ideal one already. nearest sch is qihua followed by evergreen.

j0L
thanks for the info.
probably will go by 'past parents' instinct' ie...if need balloting..must be not bad. :p

2girlswithlove
How long have you been with Ossia? Which branch?

The princesses show at Causeway Point up till when?

jol
I believe you have been to the sch during orientation day. Do you know if the children have to climb up & down stairs? I mean from assembly area to classroom? If need to go up & down (also sch bus?), it is better to get without trolley.

I feel nanhua parent volunteers very good. They have quarterly sessions with principal to look into many aspects. Amongst the issues, one of them is load of school bag while other is start of sch timing. I did not follow the replies and by the time I searched, I couldn't see any update.

One thing worth commend is the parent teacher conference is done at beg of yr.

jOL

does your son's primary school has stairs from assembly hall to his classroom? I find trolley bag a little tough to drag up & down the stairs. if assembly hall & classroom on ground floor, then trolley bag is very convenient

fz

how's the resale market in woodlands? any sellers asking ridiculous high cash above valuation? East side I heard mostly $50K above valuation

2galswithlove

thanks for the info on lolipops, will check them out

the princess show is 'meet & greet' only or there is a musical?

j0L,
i will not consider trolley bag for the steps reasons too.

hippo2002,
the one that we saw has yet been valuated, but check with recent sales indicate prices around $360k. guess due to the 'ulu' location, the price is still quite alright.

j0L,
I dont think i wl get trolley bag for my ds, as mentioned by other mummies, if has to go up and down the stairs, trolley bag might be a hazard to the child. Why not get the ergonomic bag?

caroline3sg,
went to popular just now and i didnt know there were so many guides book. see till my eyes popped out! anyways bought 2 in the end.

fz,
Where did you finally settle for ? My CCK flat oso no value, want to move oso cannot because so sim tia to lose so much money.

2galswithlove
Ya when is the princess show up till ? Though my gal already seen them so many times and we just went HKG disney i think she never grew tired of them.

Mummies , need your advise again. I think too many archive till i blur. I only have my gal started on Chinese lessons now. But thinking of gearing her up for English and Maths.

Have anyone tried MPM and KRTC ? Please give comments for these 2. KRTC has got this pre-primary programme to prepare for pri 1. Is it good ?

MPM any concern if there is any side effect ?

chicken little,
have not decide where to settle for yet. hope can stay rooted.

erm..what is krtc?

<font color="ff6000">Mummies, in case u are interested....</font>

Power Ranger - Live at Junction 8
(Power Ranger Mystic Force)
4-9 Dec (Tue - Sun, Top of the 8, Level 3
Tue - Fri : 1pm & 7pm ; Sat & Sun : 1pm, 4pm & 7pm

Spend a minimum of $30 at Junction 8 to redeem a pass for a photo session with the Rangers.

Dora's Best Friends Day 'Live' Musical Show/Meet & Greet
23 Nov - 9 Dec at United Square
Tue - Fri, 1pm & 7pm/Sat - Sun, 1pm, 4pm & 7pm

Spend $30 to have your photo taken with Dora & Boots after the show

Spongebob Squarepants & Patrick Starfish Meet & Greet
23 Nov - 9 Dec at United Square
Tue - Sun, 2pm & 5pm

Shine This X'mas Looney Tunes Musical Show
Suntec Entertainment Centre Atrium (Outside Carrefour)
Fri 30 Nov - Sun 16 Dec
1pm, 4pm & 7pm (no shows on Monday)

Limited to first 50 shoppers with minimum purchase of $30

Christmas with Barney & Friends
24 Nov - 9 Dec 2007 Central Atrium, Marina Square
Tue - Thu: 2pm & 7pm
Fri - Sun: 2pm, 5pm & 7pm

First fifty children will have the chance to get up close and personal with their favourite dino pals after the show!

Meet Debbi & Mikey (from Precious Thots) at West Mall
14 - 23 Dec, 1pm & 7pm

Spend $50 to redeem a pass to meet Debbi & Mikey for a photo session

Help Noddy Save Christmas
24 Nov to 9 Dec (except Mondays), 1pm & 5pm at Forum Galleria
Meet Noddy & Friends
24 Nov to 9 Dec at Forum Galleria (except Monday) - 3pm

Free although limited passes will be given out 1 hour before the session.

Also check this out:
http://www.mountfaber.com.sg/attraction1.htm

my boy's classroom is on the ground floor. only need to go to the sch hall at 2nd flr for weekly assembly. the daily assembly is on ground floor too. erm.. not sure leh, still considering cos i find the trolley bag quite heavy even when its empty. but ds1 been saying that he wants a trolley bag when he goes to P1 since last yr!

ssm,
he's not interested in ergonomic bag leh. during the orientation there was supplier selling similar kind, but he dun like.

caroline,
the sch encourage parents to be join the parentconnect club n participate in the sch activites. btw where did u read abt the quarterly sessions? do u mean in this forum?

j0L,
u've sent me previously; thks

yah rulang's de best in de area but i dun even dare dream abt it ...

ssm,
yes 1 km need 2 ballot

wat guide bks did u buy? de one dat caroline3sg recommended?
de mt faber snowfall looks interestin. do u noe how 2 purchase tickets?

SSM,
Thanks for listing the shows. Great help.

Fz
Hope you find your dream house soon. Did you check out CCK 45- plus , I think the EA there are newer and can have the million dollar Warren country club view. hee hee.

KRTC is Kent Ridge Tuition Centre supposed to man by Graduates I think. Anyway, Wed evening going there to attend a preview on MPM and will let my gal do a test to see if suitable to take the course or not

jol
it is not forum here. it is the sch's web links to parent connect. The article is sometime for the period Jan-Mar '07. I remember regarding the load of sch bag, they did a research (ie literally weigh the bag + books inside etc etc) and found that the children actually have books not needed for that day's lessons and many unnecessary things (don't know what). They recommend buy pencil box that are fabric type instead of metal or solid plastic (where it can open both sides).

Regarding trolley bag, how long you intend to use it for? 1 yr? 2 yrs? If you intend to change bag every yr, no issue. If it is going to last several yrs, then P2 or P3, classroom may be higher floors? Raining, assembly is in the hall.

caroline3sg, chicken little

The princess show has ended for Causeway Point, However, they have it tomorrow and Thurday at Centrepoint, 5pm and 7 pm. And thereafter, will be 7-9 Dec at Compass point. Many of my friends also did not get a chance to redeem the coupon.

Hippo 2002,

The musical is only for about 5 minutes and then followed on with meet and greet and taking pictures.

ssm,

Thanks so much for listing the show items.

j0L,
oh, not interested ah? Cos the bag looked too plain?

jh,
I bought 2 guidebooks. One is by SAP "Brainy Kids - 70 must-know problems for primary level" workbook 1 and the other by Marshall Cavendish Education "88 Challenging Problem Sums in Maths" for P1. They gave very clear workings to the ans, so not too bad. I saw another one by Longman but is for upper Primary, which I thought is quite good. Not sure which one Caroline3sg is referring to.

i have not tried the mt faber snowfall cos the list was given by my friend. u interested? think u can call them up to enquire.

Caroline3sg,

My girl has been with Ossia since Jan this year. Prior to this, she was with Christofori for a year for her music appreciation course.

just wanna check...how would we know if the school bus will serve our area? would the school bus ferry kids that live say 3 km (linear distance) away from the school?

jol
I went to parent connect again. Maybe the one I was talking about was 2006, not 2007. Now what they have is about wet floor at canteen and early dismissal for P1/2. It is mentioned half yearly meeting with either Principal or VP. They publish the agenda but not the outcome.

ssm
The book which I was talking about, if I am not wrong, it is showing different types of questions. Basically problem sums can be:
1) models
2) trial & error
3) table format
etc
etc

fz
bus association (in charge of the group of buses that serve your sch), would study together with the drivers what route to take. there might be more than 1 bus for the area but different routes. Even though your distance is short, same price. I heard next yr, the price would go up.

caroline3sg,
oh, then i must go find again. Is it a thick book? Abt A5 size? Any idea how much is the book roughly? Tks.

ssm
it is not a thick book, about half of A4. Sorry don't know how much. I am going Popular again tonight, have not decided JE or Woodlands coz Lot 1 too small (under renovation). But I might pass by and ask the staff about the book (ie last week I didn't ask, just look for it at the shelf I found it).

2galswithlove
did you sit in? the teacher is China? or M'sia?

Caroline3sg,

No, i did not sit in. I dont think they allow parents to sit in? Her teacher is a Malaysian. I like her cos she is patience and gentle. Her first teacher with the school was lousy. Young and arrogant. My daughter did not progress at all for the first 4 months as there was no motivation form her. Its only with this second teacher that i see results.

ssm
I found it! It is called "P1 My pals are here! - The Essential Parents Guide to Primary 1 Maths"
Author: Dr Fong Ho Keong
Publisher: Marshall Cavendish
UP: $9.50
Now: $8.55

caroline3sg,
OH I KNOW!!!! i saw that at populars yesterday but didnt know its that one!!! TKS!! Me going to get it now!

caroline3sg,
thanks for the info. my only worry is that they won't serve area that is too far away.

caroline,
oh ya i saw that.. i went to the website yesterday after u mention it. would u consider moving to clementi? so u could enrol yr boy there nx year..

i guess he should be changing sch bag every yr ba. i doubt kids would stick to juz one bag for years.

ssm,
ya lor.. he's eyeing on the power ranger bag! we saw thomas & friends design, he said those are for babies.. yet he's catching the thomas series on tv! *faint*

jh,
if the sch of yr choice is within 1km, no harm trying? thats what i did. i was considering nan hua or clementi - both within 1km. i took the chance n went for the balloting at nan hua knowing that there would be no vacancy left at clementi in phase 2C sup cos the sch also conduct balloting in phase 2C - for outside 2km.

fz,
3km shld be still alrite. but be prepared that he would need to leave the hse very early when he's in the morning session. also the bus fare difference btw 1km n 3km could be as much as $50!