(2002) Any 2002 babies?

Hi hippo2002, wow the "miscellaneous" are not misc amounts! There must be very structured program to charge $110 for computer alone.

Everything $$$. My kids' fees will also increase next year. Talk about inflation..

just went to my ds1's meet-the-parents session.

will not be expecting any tingxie or spelling next year in K2 too.....yippee??

Birthday party

mommies, do you know where to buy those huge lolipops?

my first time organising a party for dd1. Any tips to share? blur leh

Also, are we supposed to invite their parents too or just ask them to drop off the kids? what is the usual practice?

Anyone tried MacDonald party?

ssmmummy,
hm...no spelling...good or bad?

hippo2002,
can't help much. never had any big parties, not even 1st birthday celebration, so no comments.
only attended once macdonald party as a child....:p

Hi hippo2002, had macd party for my kids' bday last year. Games, makan, then cut cake and giving out the happy meal toys. I catered buffet for adults and had macd party for the kids. 2 staff bring the food to your place and they will be the party makers for the kids - just reimburse for the taxifare. It's no fuss and for lazy people like me lor.

For party at the macd outlet, some just drop the kids off and come back after 3 hrs (I think) while some hosts do ask the parents to order food.

Jan

Mac'D staff came to your house to entertain the kids? all dressed up in costumn? how much did you pay? We are having 6 to 8 kids. Any minimum charges or number of kids? Thanks for sharing!

hehe, I am lazy too, can outsource better outsource

Hi hippo2002, no costume lah - just the staff who will host the games not Mr Ronald! Can't remember but think it's about $7 per pax and taxifare reimbursemt. Got min number of kids - 14 pax if I recall correctly. If you have it at the outlet, think it's cheaper. Yah outsource is the in thing. heeheeh!

hippo2002,
the last time i enquired abt the mac party at the outlet, its abt $7.50 per kid. min 15 kids. bday cake optional. my son attended his classmates party, the mummies did invite parents to join. but i didnt la. juz drop him off and fetch 2hr ltr.

is the misc courses at the kindergarten optional? my son's sch conducted optional enrichment classes for k1 and k2. english, chinese, mathematics and robotics. charges range fm $120 - $150 for 10 - 12 lessons. whats yr sch fees like?

ssmummy,
yeah, he's kinda excited abt P1. went to the orientation last sat, got the uniforms and textbk. was shocked by the contents of the books. omg! so diff fm our times. guess had really lost touch with primary sch wrk. and higher chinese!! faint.. really gota source for chinese enrichment class for him le.

the sch gave out a 'dolch list' compiling of 220 words of the 'basic sight vocabulary' which pupils shld recognize by sight. any mummies keen to hv a copy?

fz & ssmummy,
are yr kids also studying at PAP? Cos most PAP dont hv spelling for the students right?

just to check if anyone send ur children to Kinderland?

I am planning to send my 3yo son to kinderland next yr. would like to hear the comments

j0L,
can i have the list too? thanks.
have pmed you my email.

my boy's abacus enrichment at pap kindergarten cos $120 for 12 lessons.

ya..nowadays pri sch syllabus is very different from ours ba. i don't remember us doing problems sums back then....

ssm,
ya...my boy is in PAP kindergarten. no spelling and exams.

jOL

only computer is optional. They didn't indicate as optional in the letter so a lot of parents thought compulsory. I probed further then found out is optional

The rest are compulsory. School fees $450 per term of 10 weeks

fz,
same here, my boy is in PAP. Just had the meet-the-parent session. His teacher commented that my boy is overall ok and he knows his work well but he's very dreamy and likes to dilly dally esp when doing work in school. What to do? He is just like his mummy! :p I was very dreamy when I was young too!

ssm,
haha.
whenever i ask my boy what he does in school, he keep saying only playing. so before the meet-the-parent session, i joked that i will ask his teacher why everyday let the children play, my boy cannot tahan! he then instruct me not to ask any questions and just to hear what the teachers have to say. heehee. worry i embarass him ba. :p

the teacher said my boy likes to ask questions...why like this, why like that, why cannot be like this or like that. what can i say? whenever i tell him bedtime 9pm, he will negotiate for an extra 5 min, ask him to do this pg worksheet, he will ask why cannot do another pg!

fz,
Actually I prefer spelling for the kids. But that's my personal opinion lah... :) Haha.. your boy very cute.

Oh,my son school fees is close to $410 per month for K1, no enrichment class leh.

fz,
same here lah! My boy likes to negotiate too! BTW, I thought of sending him for Kumon class next year! But cant decide whether should I send him for Maths or English or BOTH!?!? Also I went to Popular few days back to buy some assessment books as well as to take a look at the P1 books. WOW, IMO the P1 standard quite high wor.....

hi mummies, had sent the list to all who pm me. let me knw if i hv miss out. any comment/ feedback on those words? the usual common ones or consider chim?

ssmummy,
is it per term or per mth?

hippo,
u sending yr kids to church kindergarten ya? mine too. k2 is $450 per term. nx yr increase to $480. for my no.2, the nursery fees is $510. misc for group insurance and stationery $40, and text material for 2 terms $70.

ssm,
my boy complaining that he is overload already. am still undecided if want to send him for any math enrichment coz hubby has the opinion that for math, i can coach him using assessment books.

hippo2002,
ya. we started late. you no need to worry about your dd1's math already.

j0L,
the words seem pretty ok for reading, but if need to spell, may be quite tricky, cos some doesn't 'rhyme' with the phonetic sounds of the letter.

j0l,
thanks a lot! quite stressful after seeing the list
these days, p1's work is not easy.

hippo2002,
maybe u shld let ur girl continue kumon. i have just started mine

j0l,
thanks alot, i've rece'd it. I will try out the list with my son tonight and see how many words he can recognise.....

fz,
why overloaded? what class did u send him? I also using assessment books to coach him for maths, eng and science but i'm not sure if my teaching method is correct.

JOL
Thanks for the list. It is good that the sch spell out what is expected of the child when entering P1. So this is your holiday homework.

fz
If you can teach, then don't need go for tuition / enrichment. It is a lot of money. When your child goes to P5, that's where more stress are building up. That's where almost all subjects need tuition, not enough time, piles of maths worksheets to do.

ssm,

he has ababcus, chinese enrichment, phonics and swimming. so his rational is all these (4 classes) plus his Mon-Fri afternoon pcf classes, he said he already attending 9 classes a week...too much already. :p he and his reasoning...:p

btw, how you teach science? i find it difficult to explain concepts without experiments.

caroline3sg,
thanks for the tip/reassurance.

ssm
need to teach science so early? I saw Popular has new arrivals for K2 science. As you know, science is only introduced at P3. Some of these assessment books cover P3 & P4 topics. While it may be interesting to know such issues that evolves our body (ie digestive system etc), I question is it necessary to introduce at such young age?

Hi j0L, thks. It's a long list but I think it's ok. If the kid is reading alot, we don't even notice most of the words specifically if you know what I mean. With sufficient parental support and guidance at home, the vocab list is reasonable.

mommies

I started a thread on assessment books. Appreciate your advice. Thanks for sharing

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/353638/1014469.html?1192415039

ssm

wow, you FTWM got time to do assessment with him personally? I so paiseh, rely on kumon all this while. Hardly teach dd1, just nag her to do her worksheets.

CarolineSg

that's what I thought too. I am paying $110 per subject at Kumon. Can buy a lot of assessment books with that sum of money
Now a little erractic because dd2 is homeschool. I don't have time to coach dd1 with dd2 in the background seeking my attention. dd2 starting nursery next year so I will have some 1-1 time with dd1

Jasmine

she is very reluctant to do her worksheets leh. I don't want to force her. If she requests to start Kumon again in future, I will consider lor. At least she will be accountable if she makes the request herself rather than I impose it on her

jOL

yeah, both going to church kindergarten. Try something different lor since I don't like PAP style. Hopefully the extra cost is worth the money

hippo
What is the meaning of homeschool? Who teach? You? How is the time table like?

Is there any homeschool for primary children? I mean instead of going to school, someone qualified and has approval from MOE to conduct at home or designated place.

fz, caroline3sg
no no, i am not talking abt those science which need experiments. If u look at those K1 or K2 science assessment books, some can be very basic and not difficult to understand, i.e., plant growing cycle (fm seed to root to stem to leaves to flower, etc), different types of materials (i.e. cotten, glass, wood, etc), body system (diff body parts n its basic function). I intro to my boy at a young age becos i noticed he is very interested in science and facts. So I thought no harm letting him learn. But of course whether to learn science at this time or not, i guess depends on individual's needs bah?

hippo,
I just started recently nia. All along, I thought no nd to be so hard on the poor child but I realised that he's getting more and more lazy. So have to gear him up and prepare him for P1 as he can be abit slow when comes to learning.....

ssm
My boy likes to look at books with colourful insects, animals. He would ask questions why this why that.

Regarding the plant parts, I think quite boring. Simple external body parts, nursery or K1 already taught. Internal body parts, never see his interest yet.

I am very laxed with my boy coz he can't sit for long.

CarolineSg

I teach lor. dd2 is still young so my time table not so rigid. In fact my homeschooling is the relaxed type. If she's in the mood, we do more. If not, just play puzzles or colouring is good enough for me too

I have a weekly schedule mainly to cover with her 3 subjects. I only started doing this early this year. Now she can read simple sentences, do additions & subtraction & recognise more than 100 chinese characters. The flexibility is I can teach more if she can absorb or less if she's not ready

homeschooling for primary school is tedious I heard, need to conform to MOE requirements. Don't think I have the discipline to do a fixed timetable & teach according to syllabus. Need to sit for PSLE eventually so better to pack them off to school

I think a gifted child probably benefited more from homeschooling. Then maybe he can attempt O level at 9 years old like the article in Straits Times a couple of week ago

fz

hey, your boy is very clever to come up with this reasoning

I asked dd1 'do you feel that you are studying more or playing more?' she said 'I study more'

Then I show her my calculation. You have 24 hours a day. 10 hours sleeping, 1 hour to do Kumon homework, you are left with 13 hours to play. Going to PAP is playtime too because you play with your friends in school.

She said 'yeah hor, I spend so much time playing everyday' & she gave me a sheepish grin. Dawn on her that she's having such a relaxed lifestyle rather than what she perceives 'studying everyday'

<font color="0000ff">fz, hippo,</font>
i think yr kids are very smart to reason with u. My son just "gong gong" do what i asked him to do though he reason with me sometimes but sure kena back from me. His famous reason is always "I am very tired." Just plain lazy lah. Anyways, he felt abit stressed up cos of me pushing him abit harder than usual and when I told him that even during the coming school hols, he still have to do writing or assessment books daily. He was very disappointed (cos he planned to play throughout the whole sch hols!) but I told him its for his own good, else he cannot go Aussie for further studies, oh just in case u thought I planned this for him. No, he was the one who said he wants to go Aussie.

<font color="ff6000">caroline3sg</font>
my son is the opp. he likes to know abt body parts, including the internal ones. I even bought him this Magic School Bus series of VCDs for him to understand better. He even asked qns abt the planets which his mummy aka me cannot ans him at all cos i was never interested in it, i.e. why humans cannot stay in Mars? Are there any creatures in other planets? To be honest, many times I couldnt ans him, so I said "U can ask God when u go to heaven." Just as I thought I could shut him from asking further, he went on to ask "then where is heaven and what is heaven like?" *faint*

haha, the questions they ask are very interesting which we never even thought of questioning. But that's the fun in learning! If I don't know, will say mummy need to check and learn also. Huo dao lao xue dao lao!

Hi ssm, hippo2002, fz,
I don't have any assessment books for the kids at home. As it is, there's no time to do anything during weekdays, just one hour daily max of 'family time'. Hope that's ok since they are in full day school.

hippo2002,
i thought your dd1 already stopped kumon? still have worksheet to do?

your dd2 knows 100 chinese words? that's very good.
you teach using kumon materials from dd1?

yes, sometimes i get frustrated too trying to coach ds1 while at the same time have to entertain ds2 and keep an eye on him as ds2 (1 yr old) likes to probe around at home and is currently learning to walk around (and bump his head around) the house. :p

as for the 'good at reasoning', when i am in a bad mood, it becomes 'he talking back at me'...:p but is pretty fun when he can make me speechless.

ssm,
ya, i used to buy some science assessment for him, but realised that it is quite difficult to teach as it is difficult for him to relate to the stuff if he doesn't has hands-on...eg cotton that comes from cotton plant..he did not see cotton plant before, then he question how come plant has cotton. also, maybe i am lazy, coz a lot of research needed on my part to entertain his additional queries. :p

Your boy seems to love science. good for him!

caroline3sg
my boy is opposite...he can sit for long, but the problem is that he will day-dream, fiddle with his pencil, eraser, doodle etc etc..anything but do his work. :p

jan
i understand for FTWM, it is pretty difficult. coz later the kid may associate 'why everytime mummy comes home is to give us extra work'. when i was a PTWM, my ds1 goes to enrichment during my off-days. He resent it so much that he tells me he prefers me to work and doesn't look forward to my off days!

Assessment books...
Aiyo... I am must say I love to buy assessment books and my son hates it. But I don't let him do everything leh.

does ur k2 children takes naps in the afternoon?
my p1 and k1 sons are still taking naps in the afternoon. my friend told me that i shld stop it as it is a bad habit.