(2002) Any 2002 babies?

my girl's problem is she is too reliant on hanyu pinyin but weak in words recognition

Tien Hsia seems popular. All the time slot I wanted are full.

For kids who hates Chinese or have little exposure to the language, mummies do give julia gabriel a thought. Little ex though but kids just enjoy the lesson cos there's singing too. Teachers are quite "animated" too.

I am a mother of 2 girl
born Nov02, Jan 06,

My girl is now is berries for 2 semester, still never see any result, maybe chinese is more difficult.

Brystelle, thanks for the advice. DD1's preschool chinese is actually quite 'xiong'. For K1 syllabus, she is already on HanYuPinYin. The prinicpal has assured us that the kids will definitely be ready for Pri 1. It's just that as compared to English phonics where I am able to guide dd1 through, Chinese is like a foreign language to me. All i know is to go through the strokes with her. Even my HanYuPinYin also half-past-six.

What I want is a teacher/class which will teach dd1 chinese is a fun & creative way. Dd1 did use to attend JG when she was ard 2 years old...must admit that the teachers are fun and creative. Not sure if it's as good for the older kids. One thing I'm not keen about is to travel to town for the classes.

Meantime, still contemplating......

hi Pin (2princessmum),

you mentioned you have not seen results from your girl....btw, you mean there is no improvement? or that she has not met your expectations?

my boy is also in his second semester. he joined his first sememster half way through the semester. now he can read most of the words in the little orange booklet and his mandarin speaking is not as bad as before.

we do a lot of reinforcing (of the materials taught in school) at home though.

fz

my girl can read every words in the little orange booklet after the trial. But when I picked a few words to write on a piece of blank paper & asked her to read to me, I realized she didn't recognise those words. She read the booklet based on memory

hippo2002,

you are right. they read by memory. in a way, it is good to check on tonation/pronuncation. the good thing about the orange booklet system is that they will repeat some of the common words in the subsequent few booklets.

for me, to rectify the 'read by memory', i will randomly write those 'new' words on a piece of paper to test my boy. if he can't read them, for the rest of the week, i will paste them on the fridge and revised with him (the standalone words, not in a sentence)- a few minutes a day...he usually gets it by end of the week. then i transfer them to a booklet in random order. then at the end of a few weeks, or whenever i am free, i will choose random words to test him.

so using the orange booklet and the white sheets of paper, i can usually come up with some words he can't read, and add some more similar words (eg similar strokes or related words (totalling up to abt 5-8 words) and use that to teach him for the rest of the week.

we have to do the reinforcing...cos berries alone is only once a week nia...

cl,
hi so happy to see you in this forum also

fz,
yeah the teacher did tell me i need to do reinforce at home, will try it for this semester.
Beacuse my girl in zoophonic i never revise with her but can see great improvement. Can you advise how you revise with him.

hippo,

I do agree with you all is by memory, as my gal know how to read the orange book so well but when i show her the word in other book, she dunno what it is.

hippo.

hi pin
the method that i revise the chinese with my boy is posted in my earlier posts.

Brystelle
Can you tell me how does the teacher teach at TienHsia? Any story telling? Do they use colourful & big charts? Do they teach proverbs & idoms? Any interactive games?

Any mummies here know if Temasek Primary School is good? Thought of registering my son there for 2008 P1 registration exercise. Tks.

hippo,
how tall is consider tall? my son is apr 02, height abt 115cm...weight abt 18.6 so he is very skinny and looks like a bamboo........

ssm

your boy is very tall too

my girl is 118cm. She looks quite skinny even though she weighs 23kg. probably due to heavy bones

She is the tallest girl in class. January kid

hippo,
i am not sure if he's very tall cos half of his classmates are abt his height and 2 of them even taller.

By looking at the height and weight of yr girl, sounds ok to me, not skinny leh.

oops, just read yr post again and realised u already stated that u are SAHM with a feb2004 girl!

I have a boy who was born in Dec 2002 and a girl born Feb 2006.

Hope to chat with mummies here!

My boy is super duper lazy. He is currently in Berries, think oredi 3 semesters, still very weak. Partly our fault, as we do not do much reinforcement w him at home, cos we really do not have time! *guilty*

Ok, chat more tomorrow!

Sunshinekid

sigh...same plight lah, my girl also very lazy, loves to procastinate. must nag nag nag till I became so angry, then she will do her homework. Sometimes, sit at her desk for 2 hours just dreaming. So frustrating!

Sunshinekid & Hippo2002,
I guess all kids are the same, my kids either make fun of one another or day-dream...haiz. sometime I hv to put a alarm clock and ask them to finish their homework or else... get punish..hee hee.. :p

sunshinekid,
my son is also in berries 3rd semester but very lazy and always so reluctant whenever we asked him to read the orange booklet. And he told me he dislike chinese, how ah? BTW is tien hsia better than berries?

i think most kids like to daydream, even i myself am guilty of it too! btw do u all make yr kids do homework daily?

ssm,
my boy like to fiddle with things..eg eraser, pencils...and doodle on his book.

yes. i make him do a few pages of assessment book each day if he doesn't already have homework.

hippo2002,

i read elsewhere that you have just started your dd2 on abacus. i am intending to stop my boy's abacus cos he seems confused and that i read elsewhere that in P1, teachers will still require students to show workings even if they can master xin shuan. additionally, i read that some kids tend to mix up number bond arthimetic methods with abacus formulas. am trying to get mummies to feed back now.

i am now keen to know more about kumon to replace abacus enrichment. do you still have the thread info?

fz
Abacus is to help mental calculation. Personally it is good to complete addition & subtraction. If your child does not know times table by heart, no point continuing the abacus for the multiplication & division. The child definitely can't follow. This happened to my girl. But because the CC has certificate, I went through the whole course. Come to think about it, waste of time & money for the multiplication & division aspect.

On the other hand, I don't think sch (P1/2) teach how to do abacus. The children are asked to do, that's it.

thanks caroline3sg.

memorising formulas is very tedious cos he doesn't quite understand how it works, so he tends to mix it up.

my boy is on abacus addition and subtraction now, any idea if the next stage is mental calculation for addition and subtraction or abacus multiplcation/division?

also, does your girl utilized what she learns now that she is in Pri sch?

fz
For times table, you have got to teach him by drawing. Example 3 groups of 4 apples or 4 groups of 3 apples = 12 by counting total no. of apples. After he knows the concept, then memorise.

Abacus addition & subtraction is for mental calculation. Example, 2 & 8 are friends = 10, 3 & 7 are friends = 10 or 9 = +10 - 1. So mental calculation is already incorporated into the teaching.

For multiplication/division, even I myself couldn't catch it, let alone my girl. But roughly it is: must know times table by heart first. Example 2 x 8 = 16, then 16 x 3 is ??. This x 3 = ?? is using abacus which I think is 3 of 10 + 3 of 6. Division totally lost track.

Abacus workbook do after exams, I think. To a certain extent, abacus does help in number bonds. Abacus also helps in speed of doing maths.

Hi caroline3sg, my ds is attending abacus and like fz, was considering how useful it is with current Primary syllabus. So your opinion and personal experience is it's not useful to continue with multiplication and division? Is that stage 2? TIA.

jan
Generally it takes 1 yr for full course. So roughly 6 months would have finished addition & subtraction. It is better to double check with teacher.

I have seen some children who did very well in abacus multiplication & division. The teacher sign them up for competition. Perhaps this multiplication & division helps when the children enter P3/4 because problem sums involve multiplication of big nos. Of course they need to show working. But speed is gradually more important as you go higher primary because more questions from Section C and about same total time allocated for exams.

fz

I saw your posting at kumon thread. hehe, was going to refer you to that thread

The reason I started dd2 on abacus is because I nearly vomit blood nagging dd1 to complete her kumon worksheets. dd1 is currently at this phrase of being 'stone' & 'daydreaming' when doing her worksheets, can sit at her desk for hours when she is supposed to finish within 10 minutes

I am so tempted to withdraw her but felt wasted because she has progressed quite far over the last 3 years. Anyway, I am definitely not sending dd2 to kumon. Cannot imagine having to nag both of them everyday

Nevertheless, Kumon is a good programme

I find abacus good leh, I can see result. dd2 is able to do single digit addition & subtraction a few weeks after she started abacus. I was using Kumon Maths material to teach her the last few months but her progress was very slow, that's why I turn to abacus. She likes abacus, itchy finger lah, needs to touch & hold something

wow, all of u started yr kids on abacus??? I am starting to feel guilty cos I dont seems to be paying as much as attention to my kids as u ladies do. I think its high time for me to do something....

btw hippo, where did u send yr girl for kumon? And what is the fees like?

Thks for the info, caroline3sg. Will see how he progresses and whether he wants to continue.

Hi ssm, my ds playmate's parent prompted me so signed him up since there's company. Then they talked too much during class and had to sit them separately.

hippo
Tks for the info. I am very keen to start both my kids on kumon. Let me go and call them up to find out more. I hope both kids will benefit from it.

jan,
haha! in that case, i prefer he attends alone without any of his friends, lest he cannot pay attention. Just like his swimming lesson, i opt for one-to-one eventually after attended a few lessons. Boys tend to be abit playful.

Hi ssm, problem is he's quite talkative and active, even without the friend. Just yesterday's class he was asked by the tcher to sit alone in front corner of the classrm bcoz talking to a boy beside him intially. Reminded him not to talk during lesson and he said, the boy talked alot to him also. sigh...

caroline3sg,
Thanks for your explanation.

hippo2002,
Ironically, my ds1 is on abacus and i intend not to let my ds2 try abacus. My hubby is skeptical that 30min kumon session can benefit the kids. He said that seems like the teacher will have an easy life cos there is no proper lesson to be conducted.

ssm,
I just continued my boy on swimming. However it is in a group of 5 cos I think personal training is a bit costly. :p Can't work that within a single income budget.

sunshinekid,
My nephew is on CMA. It is not bad. They use non-traditional method using both hands. But my sis are also entertaining the thought of letting her boy drop abacus after she realise that abacus merely involve memorising standard formulas without explanation on the logic behind the steps.

jan,
haha he's so cute. IMO, being talkative is better than being naughty. If he's chatty by nature, there's nothing u can do....

fz,
i do agree on the cost issue. If not becos of my son's inattentiveness, learning in a group can be quite fun.

Hi ssm, hopefully will outgrow this. Warned him that in primary school, if he talks during lesson, he will be asked to stand outside the classroom. Miss lesson and no separate table and chair so comfy. He went "really meh? why?" *faints*