(2002) Any 2002 babies?

Chicken Little & JH

I am staying in CCK as well and I have a boy (Jul '02). We don't have time to do volunteer work. I like Nanyang & Nan Hua. De La Salle has affiation to St Joseph but I heard their standard has dropped. I also wonder about my chances next year (2009) registration.

My son is in Kinderland (next to lot 1). I have registered him for phonics (by Crestar). I heard it is starting in Apr.

I have an elder girl (P4) at RGPS. She now attends Tien Hsia Chinese Enrichment & Writing. It is very good. But I have yet to know of a good centre for Maths. Writing at Lewin is full.

Hi Hi Caroline,

I have been MIA for this thread. Which part of CCK do you stay ? I stay at ST 52. De La Salle is right next to me leh. Aiyo, my nanny's kids are all from there. Her daughter in P6 changed 4 teachers within a year. Like that how to cope leh.

Is the phonics at Crestar good ? I was going to sign my gal up for Tien Hsia too. Her Chinese really cannot make it. Lewin oso have phonic class, did you check it out ? Lewin will be nearer for me though.

My hb feels play is very important for my gal now but I realli scare she cannot catch up. Moreover she is with childcare now.

has anyone tried Mind Stretcher's phonics? how's it different fm de others eg I Can Read or Crestar's phonics?

Chicken Little
I stay at St53 facing main road. Changing teachers is no good. My girl changed 2-3 teachers also when she was in P3. So I guess I have to set my mind on Nan Hua or Pei Hwa for my boy since Nanyang is difficult to get in.

It is more evident now that school teachers merely go through text. They cannot ensure every student understand the topics. They know parents send them for outside classes.

Crestar phonics would start in Apr. I don't know how good they are. I heard Kent Ridge (next to Lot1) phonics not bad. Environment better than Lewin. Management is bad at Lewin. Because there are no writing courses around except Lewin, I guess no choice have to wait. Class size also big at 18. Do you know nearby has any good writing course?

Child care phonics is slow.

Hi Caroline!

Am new to this thread.
Am just curious as to how you registered your daughter at RGPS then? Did you also live in CCK then? Or are you a member of ORA?

Hi Babyjo

I have a son born in mar 02 and i'm staying in Tampines too. I'm also looking for an enrichment class..so which one have you look into..

hello everyone

I'm a SAHM since my elder girl is 1 year old
She's now in K1 (Jan 2002). younger girl is 3 years old (Feb 2004)

We live in Bedok. Regarding enrichment, I think there are plenty in Tampines but very limited choices in Bedok area

Can you believe it? I can't find a pre-nursery for my 3 years old, either no vacancy or left with afternoon time slot which is her nap time

Hi hippo2002

So which nursery did you plan to enrol your 3yrs old girl. So what abt your 5yrs old girl. Which kindergarten is she attending...

my elder girl at PAP morning session

I'm interested in Bethesda pre-nursery but their 11:30am session has no more vacancy. PAP pre-nursery is also full, left with 2-4pm session which is her nap time

I am looking at different time slot for my 2 girls so that I can spend time 1 to 1 with each of them individually everyday

probably will let her skip pre-nursery and enrol for nursery when she's 4 next year

you have any recommendation for kindergarten in Bedok area?

Sue Ann
by the way, there is Mind Stretcher next to Tampines Swimming pool. I do not know whether they are good, yet to try. I called to enquire yesterday. $67 per month for phonics

I'm only sending my 3 years old to Chinese enrichment once a week, Gymnastic once a week, Storytime at library once a week.

In the morning, I will sit with her to do some English/Maths/Chinese using Kumon material

letting her trial Chinese Dance tomorrow, hopefully teacher will take her in.
don't know whether teacher will find her too young

she's not attending any pre-nursery.

hmm....is it enough?

hi hippo2002

nt sure if there's any gd kindergarten in bedok..hmm mind stetcher..ok maybe can call them and ask abt their programme

thanks for e info

Any idea when to enrol primary school for '02 kids? Must we search for a school now?

oh...ok thanks hippo2002

Hi Kristin's Mom

Sorry for replying late. I was ex-girl of RGPS/RGS. So my girl got in without hassle. All along, I have been staying CCK.

Caroline3sg
I just sign my gal up for the phonics class at Growing up at CCK Blk 541. Today first class. Heard the teacher is not bad.

Now planning to start her for Chinese in 2 months time since she just started on this phonics and still have the music class at cc.

Hi Chicken Little
I find Growing up environment a bit small & dark. I signed up Crestar at next to Lot1 (ie Kinderland premises) Sun 9.30am starting Apr. Now about 5 students. They would proceed with 6 - 8 students. Fees is $195 per term (1 hour each lesson).

Which child care centre does your girl attend?

You managed to get a place in TienHsia for Chinese?

The music class is at Yew Tee CC? How much? My son has music class during child care hours. I think is free. Just pay for the instruments & book.

Caroline,
I find the class ok. The class only 5 also. Per month $60 only. I think they are saying this teacher is good and a lot of pple has ask her to open up more classes. Main thing is out of 5 student, my gal already know the other 3 who are her classmates in nursery of the CCK bible centre kindergarten.

She is attending Del-care at Fuji Xerox. I din go to Tienhsia as the timing for sat clashes with my son's class lah. I may put her at Berries at Bukit Batok as they say it is more interactive. Is Tien Hsia Classes boring ? My gal quite active

The music class at cc is underYamaha. I think I pay $175 perterm. Which childcare is your son with again ?

Chicken little,
I enrolled my son for Tien Hsia next term too. Registration opened sometime back. After that, we will be shifting house.... maybe will transfer him to Tien Hsia in bishan or Crestar at Thomson.

I am thinking of signing my boy for music classes - either organ or piano classes. is Yamaha good?

caroline,
so good to be ex-RGS... at least u dont have to move to a property near there to better your chance. I have to move house just to put my boy into a school of our choice.

Chicken Little
TienHsia is academic. It is good for primary level. I am not sure pre-primary levels.

When my girl was in K1/K2, she attended abacus & hanyu pinyin. Hanyu pinyin is good enough.

My son is in Kinderland.

Tinkerbell
Though my girl entered RGPS without hassle, I still have a boy. He would be due for registration next year. We don't have time to do voluntee work. No money to shift house.

My child is born in Aug 02, have written in to Pei Hwa for voluntary service as I'm interested to get my gal to study there. However till now, did not hear from the school, have tried calling up but always difficult to get a reply from them.
Anyone out there also interested to get their child to Pei Hwa?
I stay in bukit batok but my mum stays very near Pei Hwa tt's the reason why I wanna put my child there...

MooMooko
You need to register as parent volunteer before June or July this year (must check MOE website for exact cut off date)

Is Pei Hwa very popular? need balloting?

hippo2002
Phonics. But I let my son attend only 1 lesson last week. I don't like the contents and the teacher. The teacher is a young Malay girl. The contents is like what is covered in class (ie Kinderland child care). They cannot give me proper lesson plan and the assurance that the child is able to identify & read after completion of course.

ChickenLittle
Is Berries expensive? What is the price like? Do you have the website?

ChickenLittle
Thank you. Actually I chose Crestar phonics for my son is because it is his school as well and it happen to be exact classroom. But the contents is same as what is taught in class except it has more rhyming words.

I enquired Kent Ridge, same building, 4th floor. This one is very popular, classes all full. I have to wait till Oct for Sun 9.30am slot. June Sat class 2pm is nap time. It is 1.5hr, $28 per lesson, pay monthly. If a certain month has 5 weeks, then $28 x 5. If child is sick, teacher would spend 15 min on 1-1 basis, no refund. This course teaches single vowels, double consonants etc etc.

Meanwhile, I have trouble getting through Lewin P4 writing, no centre offers good compo course. If I have the slot, I may find out art class at YT CC for my son.

Hippo2002
Me in dilema. In a way for convenience, I hope to enrol my gal at De La Salle in CCK which is just next to my block. But it is quite popular within this area so I am afraid of balloting. On the other hand, I am old gal of Nanyang Pri, should be able to enrol easily but afraid of the stress level. So very headache now

hippo2002,
I heard fr my colleague that a quite a few school she enquired have already closed for intake of volunteers for 2009 intake.

For me, I will be shifting to be in time for boy's P1 registration.

tinklebell
does that school need to ballot if within 1 km?

Chicken Little
for convenience, I would prefer my girl's school to be as near as possible. I noticed school bus is usually very early especially in morning session. the nearest school from my house ballot every year even for within 1 km. the next nearest school is 3 bus stop away. although no need to ballot if within 1 km but my girl will need to take school bus

hippo,
It depends... for last yr intake, need balloting cos Dragon year. Donno whether there r as many horse bbs or not. I am hoping can get thru Phase 2B without ballot. Hope can avoid phase 2C.

I'm quite sick of the school registration thing
Even for kindergarten, also have to take leave to q... almost didnt manage to get in to the one we wanted to put my boy cos the school said K2 spaces all reserved for this year's K1 batch. Good thing the principal was nice enough to squeeze in one more.

tinklebell

did you volunteer in the school? for phrase 2B

me too! So suprised to see a queue outside the kindergarten that day.
haha! we haven't got use to the idea of queuing for pre-school. Thought sure have vacancies, always take my own sweet time. That's why this year didn't manage to get a vacancy for my 3 years old so let her skip pre-nursery. My mom has been ticking me off the last few months, for being slow motioned leh. We were planning to go for breakfast, quickly change our mind & join the queue instead. the principal also told me the same thing, K2 reserved for K1 batch. Luckily there are still vacancies left otherwise my mom will tick me off again

I am sending them to different sessions so that I can have individual time with them
they love to squabble so better to separate them

any mommies have 2 kids or more? do they bicker a lot? how to resolve?

hippo,

haha! The system is terrible right? So stressful even for registering kindergarten. That day when i went to register for K2 for my boy, i woke up 5 plus and left home at 630am and it started to rain so heavily! i was so worried... planned to reach the school at 730 but was stuck in the traffic jam! Eventually, i reached at 830 and was really v upset when told no vacancy
But the next day, the school called me and told me they can reserve a place for my boy... phew!

No lah... didnt do volunteer work. The school i was hoping to put my boy in is affiliated to my church. Hopefully by moving with 1km will increase our chances of getting a place. Hiaz... can't believe we can do all these silly things for our kids. Hope next time they will appreciate it.

i also have 2 kids - one boy 4yr 4 mths. The other is a girl - 10 mths. When it's my girl's turn, think i'll have another round of heart attack!!

tinklebell
maybe can consider sending your son to a mixed school, then next time your girl will have priority, only suffer once

I'm thinking really long term too, my 2 girls will have a total of 8 years in a primary school (they are 2 years apart) so convenience such as within walking distance is very important for me

Chicken Little
I think I have advised you before to go for Nanyang. I wanted to enrol in Nanyang but was told very difficult to get in.

I understand the travelling time & having to wake up so early. But I heard that De La Salle standard has dropped because a few years ago, a lot of teachers resigned as they cannot get along with the principal.

I don't know whether I have chance for Nan Hua or Pei Hwa.

Caroline
Ya I remember. I was thinking of sending my gal to school daily myself and will get her to take school bus home to my mummy's place at commonwealth. Have to battle with hb lor

Caroline

You referring to Growing Up Centre ? Maybe you can check with them. I saw a few poster but din check it out if not relevant to my gal

Blk 541 Choa Chu Kang St 52 #01-46 Singapore 680541 Tel : 6892 8341

Hi I am new. My girl was born on Feb 2002. I am considering to enrol her in Kumon. Any of your 2002 precious prince or princess already in Kumon? Can you please share whether is it good?

my boy is not in KUMON...but i thought KUMON is mainly doing quite a fair bit of worksheets.....true?
i intend to enrol him in Jan & Elly though.

jan and elly is an english language centre. it only have two branches, one near bukit timah (railmall) and one in serangoon.

anyone bring yr 2002 kids to plays n musicals frequently? i bring mine 2 almost all de act 3 n little people shows n some of my friends tink it's a waste of time.

jh,
i brought my boy to watch the Peter Pan play quite sometime back and he kept asking questions until the ushers have to request that he keeps quiet

jh
My daughter has gone for a Gingerbreadman with her school. She realli enjoy it and came back to recite the whole story to me.

If there is one at Esplanade, I will like to bring her. Hee Hee me never been there