1st few early signs of pregnancy... please advise....

A couple of signs i can think of :
1) you miss your period,
2) have a keener sense of smell
3) may feel nauseous when smelling something strong or eating something that doesn't go down well with you
4) feeling very tired - the tiredness is perpetual even if you have enough rest..don't know how to describe it until you experience it.

I think, the cramps & backache depending on individuals. Personally, I have serious cramps & backache towards the end of pregnancy but not at the early stage...

But I wld like to add one more early sign... I started dropping hair in the first few mths, due to hormone adjustment I think...

Hi curios froggy :

Yup ,I did have some minor cramps and backache at the beginning..it's like a tugging feeling pulling at the tummy as if something's stretching inside. For the backache, it helps if you get some cushions to prop behind when you are in the sofa or in the car. But now that i'm going into the start of my 2nd semester, it got better..

mickeyboy: oh yeah! I also experienced hair loss until i can't tahan and cut my hair short. However, my pregnant friend told me tht it's only during the initial stage..kinda regret cutting my hair so fast.

Some lose hair, some stop dropping hair totally till after they birth, some eat more, some normally, some can't eat, some feel healthier than before, some feel downright sick and nauseous, some lose weight, some gain weight, some spot, some don't, some get glowing skin, some get breakouts, some miss their menses, some don't (no kidding), some feel faint, some feel more alert and ambitious. The symptoms are so varied and the spectrum is so so wide.

Don't count on symptoms too much. Great fun to discuss, analyse and swop notes, but guess the simplest medically proven way is via a HCG test. In very early pregnancies, sometimes the urine HCG test may not show up a positive. That is when you decide to wait and test again in a couple of days/weeks. Alternatively, a blood test(s) can be taken and HCG levels counted.

Oh I have actually given birth to my little boy... What I can say is.. the dropping hair will come back after the delivery (at least for my case lor), which is what I am experiencing now...

So Audrey, had ur hair cut may be a good idea, furthermore it will make u feel better during the confinement too. So no need to regret lar...

I think a lot of women do experience varying degrees of post partum hairloss, but have read before that hairloss DURING preggie (IF significant) is a different ballgame as it can signify inadequate nourishment or hormonal imbalances, so if anyone is seriously moulting during preggie, might just wanna give it a little attention due.

To share on post partum hairloss (which is caused by hormonal changes post birth; we have increased levels of estrogen in our bodies during preggie), I lost quite a bit, maybe fifteen to twenty percent of my hair population, but the new hair did grow back, and within a month or two, I (then my family and friends) started noticing what seems to be plenty of "baby hair" with brownish tapered ends sprouting all over my head. They were most prominent at my forehead and back of head. I was glad to see new hair but I did look slightly comical for a while. Imagine someone trying to look neat with a french twist coupled with a brownish halo of baby hair all over. And these baby hair have a mind of their own, they STAND UP...

These new hair of mine stand the most upright when they were between the one cm and four cm mark. So they sure looked a stark contrast with the rest of the long hair which have slight natural curls. These newbies DEFY gravity, and they were ramrod straight. To mitigate the differences, we snipped off about six or seven inches of back length (still tie-able).

To get my husband to stop smiling at my head in amusement (he claims "adoration"...)perpectually, I simply applied some lotion or just regular styling products (nothing too costly) when I went out to get my new tresses to lie in the same direction as the rest, so that I would look neater and less clownish as they grow out and eventually be the same as the rest. It was really nothing too distressing, just quite funny to have friends touching your "halo" of new hair when they should be looking you in the eye when conversing.

Till now, I can still spot with fondness some of these hair on my head (except now they are much much longer and darker); we can identify them that they were from that post birth growth coz of their tapered (not snipped) ends. I like them coz they remind me of my kid's birth, and also their appearance reassured me that hair that I lost DO grow back!

I am facing hair loss, pimples breakout, nauseous and fatigue now. Urghh! I have pretty obvious freckles b4 pregnant. Really worried it will worsen as all the not so glam stuff when pregnant are happening to me.

Can i use pimples cream (those bought from Watson?)or go cut hair or do some coloring now??
I'm into my 7 weeks only.

I think pimple cream with benzoyl peroxide (like off the shelf oxy, clearasil, t3) is ok, but NOT those with vitamin A tretinoin.

Depending on your skin condition, budget and preference, plenty of choices out there vyong for the shopper's dollar, but I remember Oxy sold this reasonably priced set with cleanser, toner and blemish cream moisturizer for less than ten bucks. Do shop around, but perhaps it'd help quite a bit to keep skin clean (oil, bacteria free and well exfoliated so less trapped sebum) and hydrated (doesnt mean oily!). Quite likely, the pimples are a passing phase.

If you have some dough to burn, see a good dermatologist. That should lighten your load, especially your wallet's load

For the freckles, there's no point in going to an asthetic surgeon now, as we all know what pregnancy(s) can do. Wait till you're done with all your babies. You can use what you can to make yourself feel better (home skin peel, aha, feckle cream, etc), but know that the experts advised that many of these products don't really work. When I grew a few new freckles with pregnancy, my husband would comfort me that after we're done with the babies, he will pay for my skinwork (note not unlimited plastic surgery n all...). Probably to make me feel better, he did speak to a few friends. If it ever materialises after my babies season and my freckles get blasted away well, will reco.

Cut hair? Er... Why not? I think many mommies here will think it's good idea. A good haircut often makes is look and feel better.

I also like to keep my scalp clean with clarifying shampoos like Neutrogena residue removing. I find that if my scalp is oily, I tend to lose hair.

Colouring hair.. I dunno, I dun colour my hair, let me ask someone who'd know...

Spoke to a salon propreitress, she say medically, results are not conclusive but customers who are concerned about the babies' welfare usually switch to just doing highlights and stylists make sure the dye doesnt touch the scalp.

wow.. there is so much things to do and not to do. What about facial? Can we also take supplements during the 1st trimester? Please advise if curious froggy... ;-D

No lah, I don't think there is that much to do and not do. A learning curve, definitely, but pregnancy can be very straightforward, just as the post-birth period can also be, some do what they term "confinement", cannot bathe, cannot this that, whereas there are those who pretty much regain their normalcy, just resting well and eating well. It's all about how one decides to be.

Supplements, there is a thread on supplements somewhere amongst the first few topics on this forum.

How many weeks or months along are you? Who's your ObGyn?

so glad to find this thread le.
i into my 9wks and i have been losing a lot of hairs since preg. in my 1st preg i dont lose hair until give birth. now its so different. i lose so much hair. and also i feel so tired so fatigue, yet insomia at night. and also my blood pressure shoot up so high that the gynae was so frighten. send me Sgh checkup. then i had v fast heartbeat. i just feel v awful. going nuh to see cardiologist to see if any heart condition that make my BP shoot up so high. i previously dont have any high BP problem lor.

Oic Nelle... Thank you. I will take a look at the thread on supplements then.

I am into 2 weeks.... My Gynae is Dr Chen Han Lin...

Hey Smiley.. I am also feeling very tired.. and also insomia.... also fast heartbeat... why is that so?? Are we too nervous??

curious froggy,
u meant chen lin han isit? he is my 1st birth gynae. this rd i not going back to him.
2wks????? not possible bah. should be 6wks lah. u miss menses 2wks liao huh? if miss menses 2 wks should be roughly 6wks preg.

my 1st preg i dun have any blood pressure prob but the usual fatigue n insomia have.

i will be going kkh gynae cos this rd i has high blood pressure condition since preg. its v unusual so will be consider as high risk preg so dun play play...better go govt hos.

Oic Smiley.. the world is so small. How was 1st preg with Dr Chen?

Haha... Ah yo. I am so blur. Yes. I think should be 6 weeks counting that I miss meses 2 weeks liao. Yes. So your calculation is absolutely right.

Hmm.. so having insomia is usual.... really makes me very tired during the day....

hmm...dr chen is fine. not especially caring or what but not rude either. u ask what qns he will try answer. that was 4yrs back lah when i preg.
oni thing is his clinic not at the hos itself so when i deliver he oni rush down when i abt to deliver. he did not even come when my bb is in distress n heartbeat abnormal.

Let's just see how it goes... I already booked for a short trip to KL via flight in Aug. Hmm... Let's just see how it goes...

Smiley.. are you also in your 1st trimester?

Hi curiousfroggy, its normal to have brown stains as long as not bleeding. i have that too and gynae prescribe duphatston for me. You should inform your gynae about it and will check for you if the condition is serious.

If you are into your 6 weeks, then maybe you will like to join us at MTB-March thread. You can find more info there.

Nelle: Thanks for the info. Think i will ask the hairstylist to color my hair but don't touch my scalp.

You're most welcome, 1727.

Yes, many have experienced spotting in their pregnancies at some time or another. In some cases, it may be implantation spotting (obviously then that happens around the week / timeframe of implantation). Brown spotting is generally ok, but not when it's reddish, like blood, or clots (that's a red flag). Sometimes spotting is unexplained and unresolved and goes away on its own. But whenever you are unsure, do check with your ObGyn and let them know what you are experiencing.

Some ObGyn who'd prefer to be more conservative would monitor more carefully. It is not uncommon to be prescribed Duphaston (oral progesterone) to help support the pregnancy. Some go on weekly or twice a week Proluton (progesterone) injections to help see them through shaky times. P17 has had quite good reviews.

I have a facial appt that had been arranged a month ago... do you think facial is alright for preggie mums?? Especially during the 1st trimester?

I would also suppose that good facials without use of tretinoin A products are fine.

But I thought AHAs are fine? After all arent AHAs just weak fruit acids that purportedly have mild exfloliating effects? The logic is the same as putting some papaya puree on our skin when we are pregnant? (for those who eat papaya, try rubbing the skin interior on your arms or legs in the shower for a fruit acid exfoliation. Why in the shower? So you don't drip papaya juice all over your house and so that you can shower the juice off and not smell like a papaya for the rest of the day!)

If you refer to the contraindications in the labelling of AHA and Tretinoin A products, you can see they are in different leagues. Their effects, risks and categories too.

I understand that when some women are more heavily pregnant, they would refrain from such activities that requires them to be lying flat on their backs for extended period of time, as then, some of them feel more comfy lying sideways, also the weight of the fetus can press down on one of the arteries near the back. Or perhaps the better facial salons can allow the lady to lie on their sides at some points to make everything more comfy. Moving from time to time also prevents DVT.

I havent heard of anything bad bad bad about first tri facials in the same respect.

This is from my gynae, as i wanted to do facial when I was pregnant. Her advise was so long as no Retin A and AHA, you should be fine.

Hahaha! You can double that winky smiley ;-) !

In case this little tete-a-tete really inspires someone else reading it at another timeframe to springclean out all the AHAs as well, just know that there is a lot of credible literature available, can take a quick look first at FDA and other studies on the same topic. The teratogenic effects, or lack of it, would be stated, clear as a bell.

FYI, in general, Tretinoin A products, of any respectable content, needs a physician's prescription in this land. So if you know you didnt go to the trouble of buying something like that and didnt have to take the post-application measures of staying out of the sun (even away from the windows, no kidding! That's if you want good results), trying not to freak out when the old skin peels or in some extreme adverse cases, they react to it and five pimples become fifty in two days(I saw that in a medical friend. It was thaaaaaat bad for him...), you probably then don't have such products. Usually, many of us (when not pregnant and using Tretinoin A) don't have such extreme adverse reactions, thus use Tretinoin A under good derma supervision.

But sure, good time to stocktake your jars and tubes. What you don't like anymore, you can put on your husband's face in the name of love! And then it gives you the excuse to buy new stuff!

Happy pregnancy!

It varies from person to person and the build of the person..Generally, should be around 2nd trimester, say 5th month?

But if u are asking when the belly bump will be visible to rest of the public transport users, try rarely or never!haha. I still do not get any mrt seats given up to me when i was 8 mths preggy n had to stand from cityhall to jurong east. So much for a gracious society. *roll eyes*

I have been sleeping throughout the whole of CNY and still feel tired. Tot that after each day of rest, the next day will be like my normal self...but still the same...when will this end!

my menses supposed to come on 20 mar....abt 5 days before my menses was due, i had spotting for up to 3 days...thot menses coming....but nvr come...tested with home pregnancy test n it came bck positive....can see faint line....tested again the following day n came bck positive again....this morning i tested with clearblue...it was a + sign....was elated but at the same time still having doubts cos havent really been confirmed by the GP.

currently im experiencing
1. soreness of breasts
2. cramps every now n then
3. feeling of fullness
4. bloatedness
5. tiredness
6. frequent urination
7. loss of appetite

I'm new here, my menses usually are regularly. my last mens was on 31st Mar. I hv nt done any test also.

will like to know isit due to stress tat cause in a delay on menses?

for the past 1 - 2wk i do feel headache & slight dizzy too. tdy when sitting down in office feel like tummy is very tight (isit i'm overweight haha)

need some advice

hi jac: maybe u would like to buy a test kit? but that time i missed my menses for 2 1/2mths..(last mense in May) 1st 2 mths i tested oso negative.. and after that i test randomly.. end up positive.. after that i went to do ultrasound scanning, the cell was abt 5weeks+ old already. means i onli conceive in July despite my last mense was in May..

Hi everyone, i'm new here... I am TTC-ing too. Been experiencing dizziness for the past 2 days. First time experience this kind of dizziness. Its still a week to my forecasted menses but very anxious to know the result.. hope its something good. anyone has seimilar experience? Care to share?