1 year birthday Celebration

Side track - I've this #1 shaped pink mylar balloon to sell off at $10 inclusive of postage. Just bring it to party shop to pump helium gas.

Anyone interested?
The front and back of the balloon.
1011665.jpg

1011666.jpg

Hi jenny,
Remember my colleague wif the sesame street/pooh bear saga wif PG. I went for her birthday on SAT, the sesame street cake turned out very well, it looked and tasted resonably good. A pity I dun hav any pics to show. But I've taken your advice to self collect my cake instead JUST IN CASE of any unexpected twist.

actually my sis told me over last weekend she attended her bf's sis 1 year old baby bday. The cake was also from PG, and the cake when reached there (according to my sis) was badly melted and figurine/cube fall off from the top tier...

and her bf's sis got to call PG to complain then PG told her will deliver another cake in 1 or 2 hours time...

hence my sis recommend to ask PG to deliver earlier in case got time to deliver the 2nd cake...

celyw,
Tat sounds familiar... my friend's cake the 2 cubes and figurines fell from top tier and the cream came off... can even see the inner cake flavour... also last weekend (is a sat). Wonder if the same?

shannen,

i went down to biy yest. apparently they run out of stocks for the lollipop cos of the festive season. my gal bday this sat...so i kindda disappointed....

i ordered from PG and liase with letty...Hong, i hope she is not the one u liase with?
i just told her i wanna the strawberry deisgn, and i give her some disney characters figurine....and ask the chef to do watever he deem fit....no draft shown to me leh...u mean i can request a draft?

Eeyore, i bght a minnie mouse wearing a tiara and some other disney characters from a flea market...playdough cant find....

now cross my finger tat it is nice..

stressma,
no draft shown to you?? Chan Wei told me now their practise is, they will do the draft to show customer to avoid miscommunicaton. You may wanna check??

stressmum, really? OOS? oh dear... i think i btr call to check..dun wan to make a waste trip..
My boy's early Nov,i hope the stks come in then..

anyway anyone wanna sell? i wan the animals (giffra,hippo,elephant,forgotten the last one) lollipops + Happy Birthday Candle..

PG drew me drafts n send me via email leh.. i liase w Chan Yun n Wei ..

don worrie, everytin will go fine..

cheers..

stacey
bakery crafts is from USA.. me n gf ordered in..
only hv the stripes ones..
1012428.jpg
1012429.jpg
1012430.jpg

$6.50 with postage.

sillycow
yr cake looks nice..
wld hv been better if they can add more sweets on the side..

hong
y dun u let them see big bird??

i mean.. not to scare mummies but to let everyone know the result of broken telephone.. nevertheless, PG cakes taste yummy..
thing will be better now..

I'm getting very disappointed over here. Ppl have been calling PG quoting my names and keep saying negatives things to them.

I'm going to say the last time... Please order the cake from PG if you have confidence with them, and not giving your doubts to them and yet wanna order from them! PG is trying very hard to ensure each order turns out fine.

And ppl have misunderstood what I meant with this statement when I posted to ethel earlier.

"Anyway I intend to order a cake for hb from a homemade bakery...... And I doubt PG can do the design I want leh."

Why I didn't ask PG to do the cake for my hb's upcoming birthday... cos the cake I wanna is a very complicated fonduet cake which PG isn't specialized in! PG is specialized in doing <font color="0000ff">cream</font> cakes but <font color="0000ff">NOT fonduet</font> cake.

understd hw u feel jenny..don worry we know wat to do..
For me, when Wei called me, i still told him i hear a lot of good comments hence i choose PG.. but he told me issit? alot of bad names recently.. i was like... *i kept quiet*
true engf, i get to know PG from the gd comments..

communications is v impt bah, but nonetheless i will play safe..collect it myself earlier..

I myself was ok with the cake design tat PG gave me though I was really upset tat day, but I think there are more ppl more upset (or rather more worried??) than me.

Come on lah, almost 2 weeks liao, wat's over is over. And I already said that mine is an exceptation case. Just dun understand why ppl wanna scare themselves that their cakes turn out haywired. If tats the case, dun order lah. Why make oneself BP rises? Then keep calling PG for wat lah? Call is your decision, not mine, so STOP QUOTING MY NAME!!! I DUN WANT TO PLAY THE BAD PERSON HERE TO PG HOR.

I've been keeping quiet for the past week, and this is not the first time Chan Wei called and checked with me. The 1st call came to me early last week saying a lot of "my friends" quoting my names for the cake orders. What is it that these ppl wanna PG to do? Special treatment ah? Pls lah, PG dun owe me anything, neither do I owe them anything. And I'm getting sick to answer calls from PG to listen to what these ppl told them, some to the extent of saying "Jenny says..."!!! Stop putting yr words into my mouth. Thank you!! And sorry for posting my frustation here.

Hi Jenny,
I've been following this PG saga for quite sometime, as I'm also preparing for my gal's BD in Dec, so was looking for various sources for ideas since August.

Think your "bad" experience with PG indeed has shocked many, as PG has often been highly recommended. I even went down personally few months ago (after seeing the good reviews here), just to try out their lychee martini & triple choc to see how good is the recommendation.

Think pple quote ur name and experience to PG to make sure that their cakes wun turn out as bad and in a way, "remind" PG to do a good job to "redeem" and restore its standards. Their intention is more towards paranoid side, and was probably unaware that this might cause inconvenience to u.

Well, this is the power of forum. Just hope tat this will die down soon and u dun get too affected by this. Also, hope to see more positive reviews for PG on their efforts to restore its reputation. Cheers!

yup i admit i was worried, but Wei/Yun gv me the assurance.. based on trust bah.. n i feel shd hv good rapport, then they will happily do nice nice cake for us oso..
i now happily waitin for Yun to come back w my quote

i opt for Blackforest, tat one nice? i din try any.. i choose from the list she gv me..coz tat one got stars on it.. hehee..

Btw experienced mummies.. can gv any tips for a good bday party bash.. i din get party planner..no $$ ..i plan it myself.. 2 more wks nia..stressed..

gg to buy banner , balloons etc to deco.. conourse is the rite place rite?
i'll be doing powerpt slide oso to show my guest on tv, the developm of my boy.. wat else? ..

Hee, I'm sure ur cake will turn out nice, shannen!

Yup, there are lots of party stuff at concourse, tat time i went on Sat, some shops closed at 5pm, so maybe u can go earlier. Too many things to see until blur, so draw up ur shopping list! Centrepoint level 5 oso got 1 partyware shop; there is a shop along Bugis oso got party stuff.

Foodwise, u cooking or order buffet?
Wah, u doing a montage to entertain ur guests? that's nice... it's like preparing for wedding...
Btw, remember to appoint someone to take photos/video, as u prob will be too busy entertaining guests, coordinating and looking after ur son tat day.

Hi snowyin,
I believe Jenny is pissed cos ppl are quoting her name without her permission. Best of all, she might nt even noe them. PLUS... I dun think Jenny gave any of us the right to call PG and mention "jenny said..."
I get the drift that some of us are paranoid over wat PG will be giving us... I admit, I'm 1 of them but I dun think it will be fair for me to call PG up, quote jenny's name and her experience and hope for special treatment from PG.

Just my 2 cents worth. Dun shoot me!

thanks snowyin... heee..
ya lo..i think oso sometin interestg.. heee coz norm gather ard eat then go , abit boring rite.. hee .. oni 1 star, not everyone gets to play w him .. hee... i order buffet.. i cook i be siao liao... abt 30+ guests..
yup gotta assign 1 fotographer.. my BIL..hee..
i will do a foto montage then i taken studioshoot oso..got the photobook + norm foto albums for the guests.. so exciting..

ya la.. guess mummies here w bad experiences wan us to be careful oni, coz everyone wanna hv a great party for our darlings.. cautious us nia.. thanks all..

PG wouldnt wan to smear their reputation oso..maybe juz bad luck how come miscomm n spoil the cakes.. ruin ctm's mood, think they are sorry abt it too..

but i learnt a lot of party tips from this thread.. thanks all.. no copyrite here hor..haa.. i "steal" idea here ;P

freshpoison77,
MUACKS MUACKS! Xie Xie Ni!

snowyin,
My experience is not considered as bad if compare with other mummies especially Hong... <font color="0000ff">Hong, sorry but to raise the big bird issue again.</font> At least my cake still looks presentable and sweet. Only design is not wat I want.
If quoting my name is becos of the paranoid side, maybe they should think of more paranoid issue lor. After so much, if you were me, do you think I still have "face" to go back PG for my other orders?? My name so "chow" in PG lor
<font color="0000ff">JOKE ASIDE in case ppl misunderstood again!!</font>

virgoinvenus,
Do you have many kids in your guest list? If so, blackforest may not be appropriate cos of the rum. Some of my elder relatives dun like blackforest cos of the rum taste. If you are doing more than 1 tier, you can choose different flavour for each tier. Their choco cake is nice, but if you scare too choco, you can opt for orange zest with choco (mine is this for both tier) cos the choco is not too thick, won't get sick of eating too much choco cake.
I dun have party planner, I did everything myself from planning to organising till photographer. Just did some simple deco and ordered a bouquet of mylar balloons nia, tats it. I spent my $ for the good food + PINE GARDEN ONEH ONEH
Concourse is a one stop service, but just to warn you, the price there can be more ex than other places.

Hi freshpoison77,
Yup, I empathize Jenny's situation, as her initial intention is tat she juz wans to share her experience in forum with other mommies and end up like this... can really be frustrating.

Shoot u for wat huh? I've got no gun lah... Hee...

Just wanna say, do cheer up and move on!

Just wanna share, there is a very-easy-to-use freeware (free trial download) to do montage / slide show. my hubby used tat to create our ROM montage, wedding montage, honeymoon trip 2 years ago. Can insert many many photos and songs, oh and even small video clips (taken from camera) too. Find it easier to use than powerpoint, cos tat software seems to have more "animated transition" for photos. Will ask hubby tonite, as I can't remember wat's the software called.

To all who are reading and still very interested in the PG saga, just to let you know that I am also one of the paranoid mums after reading about the numerous things associated with PG that were posted in this thread, or even this forum for this matter. But then again, I am still going to put forth my order with them. A couple of mummies have already stepped up and given their unbiased views on what had happened and I do agree with them.

For a lot of us, reason for going ahead is cos we can choose to customise our cakes as well as to select from the vast variety of cake flavours they have. So, if this is the reason you have and you are willing to take the calculated risk, then just order as how you will usually order from another cake shop. There is no one guarantee-ing that nothing will go wrong when you order from a reknown cakeshop. Whenever we put forth an order for a cake or even a dress lets say, there is that risk that it will not turn out how we want it to be. It all boils down to how we manage our own expectations.

Furthermore, we should be appreciative of the mummies who are brave enough to step up and share their bad experiences here (hey, do note that their particulars are with PG and if PG really want to be nasty to them after "matching" what they say here to the cases that happen in their shop, they can ya? NOT saying they did but trying to say the mummies are taking a risk here as well). It is from their sharing that we get to make our informed choice on whether we want to go ahead with our orders with PG.

Sorry for such a long post but after having followed the discussion here for a while, this is just my personal view points. I just feel we should move on and spare Jenny anymore agony. All she did was to be brave and step out to share her bad experience. Really don't think it is fair for her to be harassed thereafter, especially by opportunistic people who make use of her name to "threaten" for better services.

hi virgo,
brandon's still as active as ever, giving me a headache sometimes, especially trying to change his diaper. now learning to walk. how's rayden? i have been so busy; only have time for one forum at a time..yeah i am more active in the nov 06 thread here.. so long never go into ido, shall pop by when i'm free soon. hee

how are you celebrating for rayden?

the nov mummies are having a nov baby bash, would you like to join in? it'll be fun!

hi ep,
the #1 candle looks nice. i would like to ask if it is possible to meet up to get it from you instead? i'm concerned that it might break.

Blackforest -
PG is able to omit the rum from the blackforest.. did tat for my cake..

stacey
i will bubble wrap the candle.. if u wanna meet up, i m at marine pde.

was someone looking for lollies?
i hv disney pooh lollies.. (4 eeyore,4tiger,4 pooh & 4 piglets)
$4 per box of 12 pcs.. anyone wants, pls pm me..
self collect marine pde of postage abt $1.50..

hi ep,
no problem with meeting up at marine parade. I am keen on the winnie the pooh lollies as my theme for the party is winnie the pooh as well. how apt! do you have a picture of the lollies to show? Thanks alot!

hey ep,

can u show me the pictures i interested on the lollipops..

so w/o rum, nice nice?
i was thinking gotta change, rum is a kind of alcohol issit? sorry i suanku..hehee

jenny, my crowd mostly adults..lil kids.. mine is 2 tier oso.. can mix flavours..good good.
i myself like light taste.. hee

Stacey,
tat's fast Brandon learning to walk... RAyden walk w support, still cant std w/o support.. same same.. changing diaper or gettg him to lie flat is a hell of time.. i always perspire like crazy at the end of it..phew!

we are gettg off track here..hee..saw the gathering.. but.. no time la..bz w preparation .. free email me, we can catchup abit there..hee

jenny,

I need to tell you frankly after hearing horrid stories I am one of those that are paranoid but why i insist to stick with them because I find them accomodative at a good price.

BUT I NEVER quote your name...in the first place I dun even know your real name leh...well I assume the nick you use here is not real (same for me :p)

what I did was for self assurance after reading the "saga" I personally went down to talk to Yun, pass her the figurine and my "artwork" asked her baker to follow as close as what I have drawn as I am afraid of their own "creativity" now. At the same time buy afew pc of the cakes to try out which flavor i like (i choose black forest and triple chocolate in the end).

And later part for follow up I ask her to give me the black and white invoice stating the delivery time and the instruction. I talked to Yun today as the instruction on the invoice was totally different from my "artwork" she told me dun worry she already show my "artwork" to her baker and confirmed ok. I told her in exact words "ok, you are sure...I dun want any miscommunication tats all" she said "yes dun worry"

I also nvr bought up my sis'bf Sis case but I change my delivery time earlier incase they got "screwup" I still got time to change (my back up plan)

So after all these work, pls pray for me that I will get a nicely design cake ya! ;)

anyway, for those paronoid mummies, what we can do is just to take some steps to "minimize risks" from PG. But I think you need to seek permission if quoting ppl name leh...she is not your buddy you know anyhow quote ppl name not very appropriate :p

Anyway, I still find PG did not improve much... if ppl complain to the boss how come last sat still got two accidents (quoted from me and jenny!) After I got my cake I will give feedback to them irregardless mine turn out to be ok or not :p

Like what i've posted before. Order from PG if you are totally comfortable with it, else manage your expectations. Each bakery has it's pros and cons. If you even a bit of doubt that PG can't deliver what you want, why bother to go to them? It's a self-fulfilling prophecy thinking that your cake may go wrong and in that case any slightest dissatisfaction will get amplified and make you unhappy. And it's certainly not fair quoting Jenny's name just to make sure that your order gets special attention.

I was at PG today to collect my cake. Was talking to Chan Wei and Li Keow and they told me that after Minnie posted about PG washing the toys with anti-bacteria detergent, they received a lot of phone requests asking that their toys be washed with that. Paranoia at work again? Or a case of kiasu-ism to make sure that what other customers have, you must have also?

Let's not lump the 2 unfortunate incidents last sat on the damaged cake with the earlier incidents. Jenny's and cookieoreo's incidents were on the design of the cake not matching their specifications which i believe PG is now taking steps to rectify. The damaged cake incident which i assume happens during delivery and this could happen for cakes from other bakeries as well. Yes, PG can look into improving in this area as well and i really sympathise with mommies who to deal with the stress of a damaged cake but to say that PG didn't improve much is not fair cos it's a different matter altogether.

Anyway just to share a pic of my girl's birthday cake which i collected today (erh or rather y'day since it's past midnight)
1014759.jpg

I'm very happy with the cake cos they did what i wanted. My order was made over email and further discussion over the phone with Yun. I didn't provide any sketch of my design. And yes, my order was one of those in Jenny's list since i know her but i never made reference to being on Jenny's list when i contacted Yun a few days before my collection just to confirm my order since i ordered mine very early in Sep (scared they forgot). So whether special treatment under Jenny's name or not, they still manage to deliver what i want. <font color="ff0000">So mommies, do not worry and please do not use Jenny's name if you don't know her</font>

Of course i managed my expectations that PG may interpret my design differently since i didn't produce a sketch or a detailed powerpoint instructions. But i kept an open mind about it. How worse can the design be right? They have been in this business for a long time, definitely they wont give me a hideous looking cake lah. haha!

bbgrace,
I am finally seeing the cake after hearing about the description. Very sweet and cheery
Hope Emma had a smashing good time with all her those who love her so dearly

btw babygrace, how big is your cake? 3kg? i requested PG to do the way that your "EMMA" is done, they say no space leh.. mine is "RAYDEN" + "1" ..so sad..
me n dh think this way very cute..but they told me cant leh..

yours is consider 1 tier or 2 tier?

pups,
Yes, Emma had a wonderful time yesterday. She squealed in delight when she saw the sesame street figurines. Even she gave the cake her stamp of approval

shannen,
My cake is only 1.5kg, single tier, that's why it looks a bit crowded with all the figurines and so my "1" is just a small written one.

then mine 3kg shd be bigger rite? unless they can oni restrict to one kind of dimension? puzzled.. i guess i btr go down n talk to them, anyway i can go cake tastg first too.. hee
thanks babygrace

coz i don intend to hv so many figures as u.. juz poke some lollipops onto the "Rayden" "1"..shd hv ample space bah.. Hmm..maybe single tier is good..

anyway i go down n find out more.. thanks all

Thanks, ladies.

virgoinvenus,
There's a lot of mummies who love the lychee martini. The taste is light but personally I dun like it cos it taste sweet to me and hb. My hb love the black forest and triple choco. Personally, I won't order the whole cake flavour as triple choco cos eat too much choco feel very sick lah. So, if yours is 2 tiers, you can mix the cake flavour lor. A lot of mummies opt for 1 tier lychee martini, 1 tier triple choco. Recently, PG has 2 new flavour, coconut and one is hei ruo mi. I haven't taste yet but I think coconut is something unique

Although you are doing a 3kg cake, but yours is a 2 tier cake. Definately can't do the cubes for your boy's name. If you want to do the cubes for your boy's name, you need to have a 1 tier cake where you have a wider surface for the cake.

See these posts for the 2 tier cake. The space is only enough to use cream to write name or use the icing letters to form the names. No space for cubes lor.
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/cgi-bin/forumboard/show.cgi?tpc=353640&post=3611311#POST3611311
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/cgi-bin/forumboard/show.cgi?tpc=353640&post=3621959#POST3621959

Unless you get PG to do a flat cake with a wider surface, then you can use the cubes for name like my elder's gal's cake
1015716.jpg

Hi Gals
Wow so many nice cake designs. Just to share the PG cake i had last mth. I had Lychee Martini, something unique for my family.
1015856.jpg

I am starting to plan for my gal's 1st bday. Looking around for Hello Kitty Designs cakes.
I emailed Smiling Orchid for cake designs but they ask me to go to their shop at Ghim Moh, very way out for me. I remembered they use to have kids designs cakes on the web but now no more.

FYI:
for those with strawberry shortcake or care bear theme,
popular is having a bazaar sale n they are selling SS stationary stuff/packs from $0.50.. cute for goody bags..

hehe...just celebrate my boy b'day yesterday. and here is my cake.
i'm glad that PG can do such nice cake design for me. even my hb oso say nice.

1016081.jpg

Trust to PD if u order frm them.
Dun quote Jenny name lel..altho i know her but i never mention her name at all and my cake still turn out nice. hehe...

Jenny,
Thanks for ur suggestion & recommendation.

Hi Jasmine,

May i know roughly how many cm the No 1 is? Seems like the No 1 is much bigger than your bb's 3D icing name...M I right? Opps one more question, who design the cake for u?

Jenny, actually i 'steal' tat pic n told PG that i wan similar but still they say no space, i actually cant understd why oso.. yours oso 3kg , but conisder 1 tier or 2 tier? i v confused w the tier thingy... Yun provided me small sq on top of my big sq, she say 3kg oni can do sq, cant rectangular.. i shown my hubby, he don like it leh..i wasnt 100% v satifacted but i emailed Yun so many times that i paiseh liao.. n decided to be a lil more qincai.. but hubby nt.. gotta go over again..

sorry all, i end up now consultg all of u for design..hehehe

jasmine's oso v simple n nice... the more i see the more fickle i gets liao.. hahaa

juz nw i went to PG by chance, coz had our dinner at Blk232 AMK, v famous for crabs, u all shd try nt bad.. side track..heee

Anyway i bought coffee mousse, orange zest n triple choc.. i confirmed liao, i wan ornage zest, v refreshg, both my n hubby like it.. thumbsup

btw, their shop look v nice, i saw the paper cuttings pasted all ard their walls..the weddg cakes.. all v nicely done... wow!

Jasmine,
Super nice cake for Alvis! The color combination works really well! At least something different from the "usual" cake. This is the garden theme which I wanna for Jaslyn lor, so glad it turned out well for Alvis!

ppp,
Kapo for Jasmine. Yes, the "1" is bigger than the name.

virgoinvenus,
Orange zest is nice right? I love it too, though a lot of mummies opt for triple choco and lychee martini.
Perhaps you show Jolene's cake pic to Chan Yun? She may not have a clear pic of wat you want.
Jolene's cake is 3 tiers, but I requested the 1st and 2nd tier to be "small", thats why you only see the tiers in the centre part. And I have the bottom tier where the surface area is big, so can do the cube for the name. Also I requested them to do a flat cake, not their usual tall cake. But if you are using orange zest, you won't be able to do a flat cake. That's why Chan Wei told me.
For those normal 2 tier or more, the surface area for the bottom tier is very small, definately no space to put the cubes. Get what I mean?
You may like to check out freshpoison's cake, hers is 2 tier square shape. You can see the bottom tier space is very limited. If you are doing this shape, definately no space to use cube for names. Can only use cream to write (like her cake) or use icing sugar for the name. No worries with consulting lah, we are all here to share.
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/cgi-bin/forumboard/show.cgi?tpc=353640&post=3702802#POST3702802

ppp,
think the NO.1 was 2 inch as Chan Yun told me and yes, it's bigger than the 3D icing name.
hehe...i copy one of the cake design & modified it.
abt the colour, shld thanks to my friend, jenny. she gave me the idea of the colour combination.

Jenny,
thanks again.
yes yes..it's really diff from the "usual" cake. that's wat i want. I can say it's last min decision, only managed to email PG 3 days b4 his b'day.
i didnt tried their orange zest, really nice? for lychee martini, i m not used to the alcohol tast..

for those mommies can't get No.1 candle, can ask PG do the icing No.1 like what i have in my cake.
i didn't buy any no.1 candle & figurine, so i ask PG to find any figurine they have & suitable for my cake except sesame street. Chan yun told me they have 'not branded' figurine. i m ok with it.

Jasmine,
If you have chance to go down to PG again. Buy and try the orange zest. Personally, if I'm doing a big cake, I will definately opt for orange zest. The orange layer has this fresh orange taste, not sweet. Then the choco layer is the triple choco. The combination of this 2 flavour is like wat virgoinvenus mentioned - "refreshing". Eat more also won't "ni".

Actually the lychee martini not much alcohol lah. The blackforest has more.