1 or 4 bedder at KKH

Bulma,

I did hear that coconut water to be drunk a month before the delivery can cleanse the bb. But Marcia is having threatened premature birth and tummy aches of late. That's why it's better to play safe by avoiding it.

I reported my case to MOM this morning and they advise me that my claim is valid so I quickly informed our coy. They are also in the process of checking with MOM and a few hrs later, HR called me and apologize for their mistake.

I'm so very happy now, at least I can rest well knowing that I'm fully covered with MLeave and HLeave. Thanks to all of u also for giving me advise.

About the coconut:
I will check with my doc if it's ok with me, lately I've been vomitting and having stomach upset. I'm scared that I might go into labor early if the stomach upset didn't go away.

marcia,
good idea to ask gynae abt the coconut. i did ask him before i took it.

good to hear that your HR realised their mistake. think it's really ridiculous of them.

Marcia,

Now you can relax and give birth in peace, knowing you are fully covered. So, take it easy and check with your gynae regarding the coconut.

Thanks a lot for the moral support.

I heard that Bulma checked -in to the hosp last night. Should hv delivered by now. Congrats to her! And hope to hear her birth story soon.

SY,
Do remember to bring thick jacket and socks to wear during your hospital stay. Hospitals tend to be cold, esp now when the weather is rainy.

Janet,
yah i was just thinking what a cold month to do confinement!! actually quite good.

SY,

When I delivered my 2 kids, it was also rainy weather but not as cold as NOW !!! So if you deliver during this cold season, wipe yourself with hot towel and try not to get sick. As for the private area, use warm water to wash because it is important to be clean or infection will set in easily.

Janet,
think if i really want to bathe, must do a really quick one!

do we have to apply any gel on the private area if we have episotomy? will KKH provide that?

SY,

I haven't heard of applying any gel on that area after episotomy. What I did was to sit in a tub of salt water instead of the solution the hospital provides. The solution provided by the hospital tends to sting.

janet,
so i just need to get some warm water and put some salt and sit over it? do i have to wash the area with salt water? that would hurt!

I just came back from my checkup.
My bb now weighs 3.1kg at 35+ weeks.
Do u think it's too big?
I asked the doc and he said yes, above normal.

But cannot do anything bec it's still early for me to give birth. So i still have to rest and eat.

Maybe at 37 weeks, I will start to walk a lot to help build my stamina during labor

marcia,
my bb is only 2.5kg at 35+ weeks

but i m quite small size so maybe that's why my bb is small.

u better rest more. once u past 36 weeks, then u can prepare to give birth!

Hi SY,
I'm already suffering severe heartburn and pain in both sides of my ribs.
I feel hungry most of the time, how huh?

But doc said once bb comes out I will feel a total relief, bec most of the weight i'm carrying will be off me.

Praying very hard that I can tahan the pain of pushing.

marcia,
maybe u try to spread out your meals into small meals. it's supposed to help your heartburn. i also canot stand heartburn. my gynae did prescribed antacids for me. did yours give u?

yah , once bb comes and the weight is off, can imagine the relief...

SY,

Dissolve some salt into tap water and then pour into a tub. Sit in it for few min esp few few days after childbirth. It helps to cure the area faster after episotomy.

i m bk home...

u can go feb mtb to see my super summarised birth story hehe and here is my bb's pix for u all

359125.jpg

tried posting yesterday but got problem with the post...

janet,
so i can just dissolve the salt and sit over the tub. does that mean i have to squat? will it be painful to squat the first few days?

bulma,
i went in to read your super short story already....

Birth story
2am : sleeping fl water bag leak... call hb 3x then he wk up.. i alr jump out of bed and water bag burst as i walk to toilet. Bath and pack hp charger then go KKh
3.15am : admit KKH delivery suite
4am : given epidural. 2-3cm dilate
7am : 7-8cm dilate
9am : 9cm dilate. eidural run out. Nurse and HB refuse to let me hv another tube.
9.30am : 10cm dilate. start to push and tear (sob sob) and as time pass, fl the terrible labor pain... wanna die meh
11am : Jarren is out w vacuum assisted
2pm : bk to ward

i REGRET try natural... shd direct go c-sec lah dun nd so much sufferingssssssssss =/ i got vvvv painful piles........... now cant sit, stand, walk, lie, sleep... v xin ku...

then i no BM yet... keep give jarren FM no choice

anyone has gd gynae to recommend? care to share the pricing of delivery?
i m a few wks preggie onli (tested by CLEAR BLUE kit) and will go to a GP to confirm..but now i m worried to which gynae n hospital to go....any advise?

SY,

It's not painful at all. Don't put too much salt, just a little will do. Dissolve in a cup and dilute with water. In fact, it's very soothing

Hi SY,

I had episotomy too... n KKH dun encourage any medication to wash. They juz ask me to wash with warm water everytime after visiting the washroom. I follow their instructions until now... which is aldy 3 wks after giving birth to my girl =)

Tink Janet's suggestion is great but I dun have bathtub at home so cant try that... I tink it will heal faster if try that...

Congrats to Bulma too...

d woof,
I tink u better go see a GP 1st then if cfm (congrats) then u can go KKH. Actually I tink they are really experienced thou not very cheap... I find that my gynae is good. He is very gentle and also confident. He always answer my queries. That's how I feel about him lah.. Btw, he is Dr Chris Ng. You may want to consider.

But i m not sure if can choose gynae leh... 'cos i was sent to see him the 1st time i went KKH and I continued to consult him as I tink he is really good.

i also just wash w warm water lei.... wash w salt pain or not? lk so scary

SY give birth alr. guess she is recuperating so no news fr her here

yah i gave birth already. busy these few days.

how do u wash the wound with water? in hosp i just use the hose to lightly wash the area. no need use soap at all? at home i just dab with tissue usually.

bulma,
how's bf for u? it's going terribly badly for me. bb latching on not well, breasts now engorged and milk flow is bad. though got milk ,it cannot come out. think my pumping is lousy also. help!!

Tricia,
I don't have a bathtub at home. I use a wash basin (those for washing baby clothes). I understand if you are worried about the pain. If that's the case, use cotton wool and warm water to clean the area gently.

SY,
It's ok to use tap water. Just make sure you cover up yourself (esp shoulders) after a quick shower.

CONGRATS on your delivery. How's your bb ? Do you have a bottle of this cord spirit to clean the bb's umbilical cord ?

SY,
If you have engorged breasts, put a hot towel on them to relieve the pain. Massage the breasts. Should the pain persists, make an appt to see the LC at KK. I think she is Cecilia Pang.

SY
i use lukewarm water... then dun use tissue lah.. u use cotton wool softer and better... then every x after u do smalll and big biz must wash and keep it dry. i every time after do biz, will use toilet paper lightly wipe liao then use cotton wool dap w water and wipe then use toilet paper tap dry and change my pad... must alway keep it dry and clean

BF ah.. my milk flow also low... not enuf to cater to my bb... so i supplement w FM. did u massage with warm towel first? then squeeze a bit of milk out then pump? i everyday whole day total can only pump the most 60-100ml .i dun let bb latch cos i got sore nipple after let him latch lei

SY,
Must keep the area clean after delivery or infection will set in easily. I had blocked ducts and my girl was impatient sucking. So after seeing the LC, I just stuck to expressing every 3 hours 24/7. After she started on cereal, I dropped slowly. I expressed for 11 months.

Congrats SY!

I oso use warm water to wash... Ya muz make sure the area is clean.. actually i find it comfortable to wash with warm water & feels tat its more clean n hygenic since we have the menses. =)

SY, my milk did not come until the 3rd or 4th day... at least u still got milk. So hows ur milk flow now? is it better? I tink the more baby latch on, the more the milk going to come n the engorgement sure dun cum one leh... but i tried many times before my girl can latched on properly oso lah.. My nipples initially oso became sore then have to resort to use pump...

Anyway, Mummies r the greatest! =)

my milk only come in on 5th day. i nowadays alway expressed out instead of let bb latch cos i dunno how much bb drink if latch on. then he alway keep hungry every hr lk dat.. i expressed out and keep to let him drink 60-80ml per feed can last him 3-4hrs. my BM not enuf, i supplement w FM

SY,
It requires some practice before the bb learns to latch on. Then after a while, my nipples became sore and I switched to expressing. That way, I could get rid of the blocked ducts too. This way, I know how much she drinks each time. It can be inconvenient expressing because have to sterilize funnel and bottle.

Hi bulma,

Congrats on yr newborn bb, it is best for yr baby to latch on directly instead of expressing out cause this can stabilize yr milk supply when yr bb is older and can also prevent engorgement. BF babies tend to get hungry faster than feeding FM cause at this stage yr milk is more protein less fat, it is at the 3rd month, when yr milk become more fat less protein, that is y babies can last longer after feeding...

Hi galleria
txs hehe i prefer express out lor cos can monitor how much bb drink ... then he can b fed "bao bao" then he can enjoy his hrs of sleep... when i latch him, he every 1 hr will wk up cry for milk then end up everyone cant sleep well...

Janet,
thanks! bb is quite cranky and difficult. sometimes he keeps CL awake for hours at night. refuse to sleep. even let him drink milk he also doesnt want to sleep.

i m expressing now cos he doesn't latch on well. will try to latch him on for short while when he is in good mood. the only thin is must keep waking up at night to express which is tiring.

bulma,
finally got some improvement today. tahnks for all the advice!!

SY
no prob ... i just share w u only wat i do... also dunno will help u or not ... great it helps u

i at night no pump one... i b4 sleep at night pump then wk up in morn then pump

SY,
To maintain the supply, no choice have to wake up several times a night to express. Once bb gets used to drinking from the bottle, he won't want to latch on.

bulma,
u can maintain ss without waking up at night to pump? i feel very uncomfortable and sore if i dun wke up to pump

Hi SY,

if u prefer to express out also can, but must maintain to pump very few hours... I did that too during my confinement... waking up at night to pump... after my confinement, my supply got stabilize. But when my son turn 3mths, i keep on falling sick... now my supply is only enough to feed my son one feed