Congrats milogal n bunny33! Enjoy motherhood :)

I was also told boy or girl, the full month can be celebrated only early, not late.

My CL was a god send for my #1! So much so that I cried when I dropped her off at Golden Mile, lol. I already booked her for 6 wks this time round.

Ya 35+weeker baby doesn't necessarily means require nicu. If they're healthy & at least 2kg and above usually no issues wan. Anyway glad that u've also safely delivered. Now can enjoy the fruits of your labour!

I'm also having CL & helper with my mum helping me doing marketing...so I guess I still can rest easy for that 1 mth at least with the possibility of extending. Everyone was telling me for some reasons, the little angels turn into little monsters once they get home from the hospital! :eek:....keeping my fingers crossed!

Many ppl told me that too but I think not true lah cos in nursery many nurses look after n we don't see them 24hrs so don't feel it. Once home we have to handle everything ourselves so tend to feel the strain of taking care

Congrats milogal n bunny33! Enjoy motherhood :)

I was also told boy or girl, the full month can be celebrated only early, not late.

My CL was a god send for my #1! So much so that I cried when I dropped her off at Golden Mile, lol. I already booked her for 6 wks this time round.

Thanks! My cl was ok too except for her cooking. Haha

Wah i didn't know cannot celebrate bb full month late... And I followed 30 days my MIL said late lei. Also didn't understand why.

Anw this time i hope no bb shower but have this feeling bo bian must do.

Harmony test result came back today and it is normal! So relieved! Now just need to cross the last hurdle, which is detailed scan :)

Wah i didn't know cannot celebrate bb full month late... And I followed 30 days my MIL said late lei. Also didn't understand why.

Harmony test result came back today and it is normal! So relieved! Now just need to cross the last hurdle, which is detailed scan :)

Congrats congrats!! So happy for u, that must be a big load off your mind. :) So are u expecting a prince or princess this time around?

Ya by right the full month must follow the 农历几月初几。Meaning if u deliver eg 三月初一,your full month is on 四月初一, which is typically less than 30 days later.

That's great news! I'm sure you'll pass the detailed scan!
If follow the chinese calendar, basically you have to start planning even before you deliver. And after delivering, you need to confirm the details and chop chop book liao. If not will be very rush and might have to settle for the "2nd best". You did baby shower for your #1?

Congrats congrats!! So happy for u, that must be a big load off your mind. :) So are u expecting a prince or princess this time around?

Ya by right the full month must follow the 农历几月初几。Meaning if u deliver eg 三月初一,your full month is on 四月初一, which is typically less than 30 days later.
Thank u! It is a boy. But alr kinda expected cos two scans have alr shown it is boy.

Thanks for clarifying on the CL calendar!

That's great news! I'm sure you'll pass the detailed scan!
If follow the chinese calendar, basically you have to start planning even before you deliver. And after delivering, you need to confirm the details and chop chop book liao. If not will be very rush and might have to settle for the "2nd best". You did baby shower for your #1?
Thanks babe :) wah so rushed? Actually we always book caterer abt a week before and still can. Mb cos our pax not much, abt 50 pax. Did baby shower for #1 but i find it so troublesome. Anyway my hubby cleaned up the mess hahahaha!!!!!

From wat I understand from my sis CL during then was if bb girl cannot do late but bb boy is ok. Rationale was bb girl if do late next time will be left on the shelf. Something along that line. We're doing away with bb shower so save us 1 headache. Hehehe but do remember to ask your CL to be your gatekeeper so that your boys will have lesser bodily contact with friends or relatives.
oh y? cannot let them carry?

Thanks babe :) wah so rushed? Actually we always book caterer abt a week before and still can. Mb cos our pax not much, abt 50 pax. Did baby shower for #1 but i find it so troublesome. Anyway my hubby cleaned up the mess hahahaha!!!!!

Ya lor, it was super tiring coz have to clean up the mess. Thought it might be easier if i were to do it at home, who knows it's worse! Maybe mine was rush coz baby shower was on the 7th day of CNY. So everything gotta settle fast due to the numerous bookings during CNY period. Even the cakes had to be ordered immediately after i was discharged from hospital.
Lucky for my #2, my inlaws din insist we do baby shower. End up only went out for a good dinner with both sides of families.

Ya lor, it was super tiring coz have to clean up the mess. Thought it might be easier if i were to do it at home, who knows it's worse! Maybe mine was rush coz baby shower was on the 7th day of CNY. So everything gotta settle fast due to the numerous bookings during CNY period. Even the cakes had to be ordered immediately after i was discharged from hospital.
Lucky for my #2, my inlaws din insist we do baby shower. End up only went out for a good dinner with both sides of families.
The dinner really sounds much better and less stressful. A much better choice!

dirty hands, cough & flu.....
Ya i agree... Some ppl really buay zi dong. Sick, cough/sneeze into hands and still wanna touch baby without washing. Ok la I know they are trying to be nice, but totally in an inconsiderate way. That is how my bb 2 mth old got sick that time... Some idiot friend sneezing then go pat my baby. Somemore can tell me it is cos he nv sleep well the night before that's all. From then on I don't believe anyone's excuses. U look sick, cannot touch liao.

Ya! Just remember, if you pai say to say out loud that "hey, you are sick, pls don't go near the baby", the one suffering is the baby and the parents...

I don't even give face to my parents-in-law. If they are not feeling well, they jolly well know that they cannot go near, else I will tell them off.

oh dear.. is true hor.. hw to refrain them frm touching.. esp old folks want to carry too!

Well no choice one....like what towkayneo mentioned..parent is the one who suffer if bb fall sick..I also told my mil no kissing of baby on face/esp mouth n have to wash hand always...she upset w me also Bo bian...:p

I did not do full month buffet too cos bb jaundice did not clear (drag for really a month),so unsettle (taking care of bb n etc) n up coming scan...

Just give out full month cake vouchers for those who give ang bao...n had a nice makan w both side...

All mummy...

Can I check w u all..breastfeeding/express out milk will result in no menstration through out or only for a while ?

As coming 6ww after c-sec...my lochia long stop b4 bb full month but yesterday hv brownish discharge n now still hv...not sure is menstruation or still lochia?

I scare is infection of my uterus result in tt although I no fever or etc at the moment ...

Thanks in advance for d reply

As suggested, ask them to apply hand sanitiser first before touching the baby. You must have a hand sanitiser, since the nursery should give one to you, if not just get one. In fact, even us parents also have to apply hand sanitiser before touching the baby.

dirty hands, cough & flu.....
Yes we are concerned about these too and have heard nasty stories. So we have also decided to do away with bb first month and heng both side parents are ok esp though hubby is the only son and this is our first child. We prolly just have a family dinner with very close relatives since extended family is small. With closer friends, we intend to have an Ang moh style baby shower before I pop. Then come first month, will just have hubby send gifts to friends and colleagues only...see how it goes. Hope I can have less worries after birth

As suggested, ask them to apply hand sanitiser first before touching the baby. You must have a hand sanitiser, since the nursery should give one to you, if not just get one. In fact, even us parents also have to apply hand sanitiser before touching the baby.
Actually I'm wary of too much hand sanitizer de. If you read the ingredients of some of these sanitizers, a great deal of chemicals and some are even toxic. Read that still nothing beats the classic washing of hands.

I am also wary of hand sanitizer. Hence i am like @towkayneo , just tell them to wash their hands before carrying. Usually only relatives or close friends will ask to carry baby, easier to tell them direct de.

Yes we are concerned about these too and have heard nasty stories. So we have also decided to do away with bb first month and heng both side parents are ok esp though hubby is the only son and this is our first child. We prolly just have a family dinner with very close relatives since extended family is small. With closer friends, we intend to have an Ang moh style baby shower before I pop. Then come first month, will just have hubby send gifts to friends and colleagues only...see how it goes. Hope I can have less worries after birth

I also don't really want bb shower especially when my babies are so small but my hubby being first time dad is so excited n looking forward to it. So we just do one at my mum place.

All mummy...

Can I check w u all..breastfeeding/express out milk will result in no menstration through out or only for a while ?

As coming 6ww after c-sec...my lochia long stop b4 bb full month but yesterday hv brownish discharge n now still hv...not sure is menstruation or still lochia?

I scare is infection of my uterus result in tt although I no fever or etc at the moment ...

My menses reported 7 weeks after i delivered even though i m still breastfeeding (95% pump and 5% latch). I guess its normal? 1 thing to note is that i notice my supply drops when menses reports. So duno can sustain for how long if supply wasn't high to start with.

I also don't really want bb shower especially when my babies are so small but my hubby being first time dad is so excited n looking forward to it. So we just do one at my mum place.
haiz.. i got thought of it too.. but since is our 1st babies.. everyone are excited. i wonder can we do 100 days instead? babies are bigger and know how to response by then too!

100 days like not so popular in S'pore. U can ask your hb n parents see if they are ok with it.

All mummy...

Hi my bleeding did come back for a bit ard 8 wks pp... But was nothing, just a bit of bleeding then no more...

All mummy...

No ley, some bf / express milk but menses still come. Some said that if you bf enough (dunno how much is enough), menses will be delayed. For my case, menses came on 9th month.

usually infection will come with fever....or pain when pee pee

Yeah, 100 days are not common in SG, but common in Korea :p Actually it all depends on how comfy you and your hubs are la...

Isit? My mum and mil insisted that full month and birthdays cannot do late wan, be it boy or girl. Heng you can do away with baby shower, if not have to prepare the pig trotters in vinegar and do all the preparation work. Actual day also super tiring for everyone. You bringing twinnies for the shave or wait till 3 months?
Chinese believe is before for full mth of birthday. For Indian, is after their birthday.

Ya! Just remember, if you pai say to say out loud that "hey, you are sick, pls don't go near the baby", the one suffering is the baby and the parents...

I don't even give face to my parents-in-law. If they are not feeling well, they jolly well know that they cannot go near, else I will tell them off.
I pre-M hubby. To go tell my pil. Don't kiss the face. Worse when my elder now older, teach kiss mouth to mouth. Arrrgh. Told my hubby to go tell my mil off. Everytime, there is a pimple pop on little face. Mouth to mouth even worse pass the germs. Wait fail sick who take care. If my hubby don't tell when my LO fall sick, ask he wake up every hrs to check. Make he do the night duty then he know.

All mummy...

For me, I pump out. After lochia follow by mens, I thought y my lochia so long. Until I went back for my post natal check up I still having spotting. Handsome dr say is Mens not lochia. Scared me.

My menses reported 7 weeks after i delivered even though i m still breastfeeding (95% pump and 5% latch). I guess its normal? 1 thing to note is that i notice my supply drops when menses reports. So duno can sustain for how long if supply wasn't high to start with.
Having Mens = hormones change. Hence milk supply will drop abit. Continue to express BM. Should be back to normal after Mens over

I pre-M hubby. To go tell my pil. Don't kiss the face. Worse when my elder now older, teach kiss mouth to mouth. Arrrgh. Told my hubby to go tell my mil off. Everytime, there is a pimple pop on little face. Mouth to mouth even worse pass the germs. Wait fail sick who take care. If my hubby don't tell when my LO fall sick, ask he wake up every hrs to check. Make he do the night duty then he know.
actually, mouth to mouth is the WORST. It's a hotbed for bacteria and virus and whats not. don't make it a habit, else v hard to change.

First time Dh tell her nicely. 2nd time me tell my LO off in front of her n show my black face. Now my LO 3yrs old don't know how to kiss one whether face or mouth. Teach her give other big hugs hahaha

Ya! kisses should only be reserved for mummy and daddy :p :p

Actually I'm wary of too much hand sanitizer de. If you read the ingredients of some of these sanitizers, a great deal of chemicals and some are even toxic. Read that still nothing beats the classic washing of hands.

Then might as well don't go hospital since all nurses, doctors use hand sanitiser, they even asked to wash our hands and apply hand sanitiser before touching the baby, otherwise can't touch.

Agree with @DawnBB. If there is a choice, we should try to avoid chemical (through shower form, lotion, sanitizer) on baby's skin. The most natural way is still to wash our hand with water. That's why there are many mummies out there who bath their newborns with water only. I guess sanitizer is a more convenient and "portable" solution to clean the hands, any where and any time.

Of course can avoid hope to avoid. If have to be at hospital, that is no choice. Otherwise, we do have a choice mah.

http://www.livestrong.com/article/526795-the-danger-of-hand-sanitizer-to-a-baby/

So this is the same as saying that all doctors and nurses doing the wrong thing. Should tell them that they're wrong next time if they ask to apply hand sanitiser.

Agree with @DawnBB. If there is a choice, we should try to avoid chemical (through shower form, lotion, sanitizer) on baby's skin. The most natural way is still to wash our hand with water. That's why there are many mummies out there who bath their newborns with water only. I guess sanitizer is a more convenient and "portable" solution to clean the hands, any where and any time.

No, it's not for convenient. Washing hands is a must. Hands must still be washed before applying hand sanitiser. That's what I was told at hospital. And washing hands with just water is not suffient.

So this is the same as saying that all doctors and nurses doing the wrong thing. Should tell them that they're wrong next time if they ask to apply hand sanitiser.

No, it's not for convenient. Washing hands is a must. Hands must still be washed before applying hand sanitiser. That's what I was told at hospital. And washing hands with just water is not suffient.
Hospital sanitizers and over the counter sanitizers have slight differences. If really want to buy hand sanitizers, I suggest buy the hospital sanitizers (alcohol based, "non-bacterial" component) than over the counter. For myself, I try not to use too much of "anti-bacterial" component kind of wipes, sanitizers as it is known to make changes to your immune system.

If you notice, the hospital sanitizers are more liquid-based, whereas the over the counter types are more gel-like.

In fact, I just bought a bottle of hand sanitizer from KKH, in case I need it when there are no soap and water available.

Hospital environment[edit]

Hand alcohol in a hospital
Alcohol-based hand rubs are extensively used in the hospital environment as an alternative to antiseptic soaps. Hand-rubs in the hospital environment have two applications: hygienic hand rubbing and surgical hand disinfection. Alcohol based hand rubs provide a better skin tolerance as compared to antiseptic soap.[11] Hand rubs also prove to have more effective microbiological properties as compared to antiseptic soaps.

The same ingredients used in over-the-counter hand-rubs are also used in hospital hand-rubs: alcohols such ethanol and isopropanol, sometimes combined with quats (quaternary ammonium cations) such as benzalkonium chloride. Quats are added at levels up to 200 parts per million to increase antimicrobial effectiveness. Although allergy to alcohol-only rubs is rare, fragrances, preservatives and quats can cause contact allergies.[60] These other ingredients do not evaporate like alcohol and accumulate leaving a "sticky" residue until they are removed with soap and water.

The most common brands of alcohol hand rubs include Aniosgel, Avant, Sterillium, Desderman and Allsept S. All hospital hand rubs must conform to certain regulations like EN 12054 for hygienic treatment and surgical disinfection by hand-rubbing. Products with a claim of "99.99% reduction" or 4Log reduction are ineffective in hospital environment, since the reduction must be more than "99.99%".[3]

The hand sanitizer dosing systems for hospitals are designed to deliver a measured amount of the product for staff. They are dosing pumps screwed onto a bottle or are specially designed dispensers with refill bottles. Dispensers for surgical hand disinfection are usually equipped with elbow controlled mechanism or infrared sensors to avoid any contact with the pump.

Yes we should be using the 7 or 10-step when washing our hands and it's not just with water but with a proper hand soap. And of course, if we think following what the specialist are doing is the best and the safest, why now?

I guess it also depends on the comfort level of parents, especially with the news about J&J products containing cancer-causing agents. They are a reputable pharmaceutical company and families have been using their products way back until the news broke. As parents, we are just being more careful and selective about the kind of products we use on our children and this practice may not necessary be adopted by everyone. Stay chill and enjoy the parenthood process ;)

Hospital sanitizers and over the counter sanitizers have slight differences. If really want to buy hand sanitizers, I suggest buy the hospital sanitizers (alcohol based, "non-bacterial" component) than over the counter.

Yup, I was referring to the one given by the hospital. So yes, we're referring to the same one. Couldn't even finish the hand sanitiser given by the nursery. Still got 1/2 bottle left at home.

@towkayneo You do a lot of research le!!! You really got use all the way ah? For my #1, i only bought 1 bottle and use it when i go gai gai with my baby. I think i stopped using it when he was 2months.

Yup, I was referring to the one given by the hospital. So yes, we're referring to the same one. Couldn't even finish the hand sanitiser given by the nursery. Still got 1/2 bottle left at home.
Can put it in a same bottle and use it when you really cannot find soap and water. It helps.

Esp when HFMD is on the rise, it's always better to be more careful. But use sparingly as alcohol may dry your hands.

Can put it in a same bottle and use it when you really cannot find soap and water. It helps.

Esp when HFMD is on the rise, it's always better to be more careful. But use sparingly as alcohol may dry your hands.

It may also cause allergies in some babies, which happened in my sil's case. She had to clear her stash of hand sanitizer.

@towkayneo You do a lot of research le!!! You really got use all the way ah? For my #1, i only bought 1 bottle and use it when i go gai gai with my baby. I think i stopped using it when he was 2months.

bo bian ley...you know why not? I am abit on the OCD side, so when I was pregnant with #1, I always carry a pack of Dettol anti-bacterial wipes until one fine day, I went to do some research wanting to confirm that what I did was right. I was quite shocked to see that instead of more good, it carries more bad. So I try to avoid "anti-bacterial" components, like handwash, body wash etc. Kiasee ley, if you are not responsible towards your kids and yourself, who will ley!

http://www.ewg.org/enviroblog/2012/09/dont-wipe-out-hidden-hazards-antibacterial-wipes