IUI/SO-IUI: Anyone?

Oh I see. I had experienced UTI once. Sometimes I feel UTI is coming, but it never happen. I know there's a medicine which you can buy from any pharmacy that helps prevent UTI. When I feel UTI is coming, I will take that medicine. I can't remember the name, but it's in sachet and you mix it with water and drink it. If you ask the pharmacist they should know.

oh i tried that before but i don't like the taste. 6dpiui today. feeling so impatient! haha

I'm new here.
I have tried IUI twice but failed. Was referred to a fertility doc and he told us to go for IVF straight due to my husband's low sperm count and I having PCOS. But I was hesitant as I was thinking to myself if we did really try all other means before IVF and was also put off by his nurse who kept asking me to go for IVF.

I switched to another clinic and started 1st round of SO plus natural last month but failed again.
I really hope we don't have to go for IVF as the cost is rather high and my hubby is worried about my health. Frankly, we have only started to try for baby for a year now.

Sometimes I get rather upset cos his family and relatives seems to think that I'm the one who is having problems to conceive as we have been married for almost 5 years. :(

I'm new here.
I have tried IUI twice but failed. Was referred to a fertility doc and he told us to go for IVF straight due to my husband's low sperm count and I having PCOS. But I was hesitant as I was thinking to myself if we did really try all other means before IVF and was also put off by his nurse who kept asking me to go for IVF.

I switched to another clinic and started 1st round of SO plus natural last month but failed again.
I really hope we don't have to go for IVF as the cost is rather high and my hubby is worried about my health. Frankly, we have only started to try for baby for a year now.

Sometimes I get rather upset cos his family and relatives seems to think that I'm the one who is having problems to conceive as we have been married for almost 5 years. :(

Don't think too much. I also start to think of having a baby and tried less than a year even though I'm married for 3-4 years. I don't know about you, you can get grants from the govt and medisave for the IVF treatment. You should not worry about the costs for IVF treatment.

The fertility doc told me the cost is around $16k and less medisave of $6k, it is still a whopping $10k. Unless I go to government hospital which I saw from some threads that they don't have to fork out any cash for the 1st IVF attempt.

Yup, you have 3 govt and medisave grants for IVF if you go to government hospital. If the cost factor is bothering you, you should go to government hospital.

i think i read before a post saying that there is a subsidize rate + able to claim medisave, end up the person only pay less than 2k or something...
cant remember who post it though...

Did your doctor say why?

My doctor said we have to have sex after IUI, to make full use of the trigger shot and ovulation period. I googled and found the same explanation too.
mine told me to have sex too... but we didn't coz too tired after work

Sorry to cause a stir , but just saw the jab instructions and it too stated protected. So maybe after implant it will be all natural

For my mrs fyi, is there anything we have to note of, she will be going for her first scan this weekend. First jab was yesterday. We used to be with thh and hope to be able to stick with him still. But he dun give us alot of details thus both mrs and myself still in limbo why natural not working for us

Sorry to cause a stir, but just noted instruction for jab says protected too. So guess is all natural after implant.

My mrs will be going for her first scan and jab adjuatment this weekend. Thus is it normal routine for her till plantation date?

Fyi the government grant is only 15000 for 1* only so make use of it well, for iui some kind soul at kk advise me to go cash dun take grant keep it for ivf. So share some tips wit all here

I did hsg on the same mth I started iui. Probably it helped cleared the tubes. Doc say we can bd one day later after iui and we did! By then I was starved up cos have to abstain from it before doing hsg and iui

Can I check if ur iui was natural w/o any injection??
Coz apparently I suppose to do my repeat hsg in mar but the staff didn't managed to squeeze me into slot. So I missed the chance. Now waiting for my AF to come so that I can proceed with my 2nd cycle of iui. So I asked the nurse if this cycle comes can I do hsg n iui on same cycle, she said can't due to the dye that they will inject during hsg. So I also dunno how.. Gonna waste this cycle jus to do hsg?? Haiz!!

Fyi the government grant is only 15000 for 1* only so make use of it well, for iui some kind soul at kk advise me to go cash dun take grant keep it for ivf. So share some tips wit all here
Eligible couples seeking Assisted Reproduction Technology (ART) treatment in public hospitals can receive up to 75% in co-funding from the Government for ART treatment cycles, for a maximum of 3 fresh and 3 frozen ART cycles. The amount of co-funding varies, depending on the citizenship of the couple, as illustrated below:

Enhanced ART Co-Funding Parameters per Treatment Cycle (with effect from 1 Jan 2013)
Singapore Citizen (SC) Couple SC-PR Couple* SC-Foreigner Couple*
Fresh 75%; up to $6,300 55%; up to $4,600 35%; up to $3,000
Frozen 75%; up to $1,200 55%; up to $900 35%; up to $600
* Note: At least one member of the couple must be an SC.

Couples with children are also eligible for co-funding. The co-funding scheme covers ART procedures such as in-vitro fertilisation (IVF) with or without intracytoplasmic sperm injection (ICSI), as well as gamete intra-fallopian transfer (GIFT).

All the standard procedures, from ovarian stimulation or thawing of the embryo to embryo transfer, can be considered for co-funding. However, initial consultations and investigations prior to a patient’s decision to start ART treatment are not included.

You are eligible for enhanced ART co-funding if you meet ALL of the following criteria:

• You have started or are scheduled to start your ART cycle at a public hospital on or after 1 Jan 2013, i.e. the date of ovarian stimulation (for fresh cycles) or the thawing of the embryo (for frozen cycles) is on or after 1 Jan 2013;
  • You are below 40 years of age at the start of the cycle;
  • You have not already received 3 co-funded fresh and 3 co-funded frozen cycles in the past;
  • You have been assessed by a doctor to have met the clinical requirements for ART; and
  • You OR your spouse must be a Singapore Citizen at the start of the ART cycle.
http://www.heybaby.sg/havingchildren/art.html

i think what KK is saying for 15K is A lifetime Medisave withdrawal limit of $15,000 per patient for ACP also applies.

Coz apparently I suppose to do my repeat hsg in mar but the staff didn't managed to squeeze me into slot. So I missed the chance. Now waiting for my AF to come so that I can proceed with my 2nd cycle of iui. So I asked the nurse if this cycle comes can I do hsg n iui on same cycle, she said can't due to the dye that they will inject during hsg. So I also dunno how.. Gonna waste this cycle jus to do hsg?? Haiz!!

Hi. I did my Hsg and iui in the same cycle month.
You should ask your gynae. The nurse might not know.
Hsg dye will be released from body in 2 day's time.

Eligible couples seeking Assisted Reproduction Technology (ART) treatment in public hospitals can receive up to 75% in co-funding from the Government for ART treatment cycles, for a maximum of 3 fresh and 3 frozen ART cycles. The amount of co-funding varies, depending on the citizenship of the couple, as illustrated below:

Enhanced ART Co-Funding Parameters per Treatment Cycle (with effect from 1 Jan 2013)
Singapore Citizen (SC) Couple SC-PR Couple* SC-Foreigner Couple*
Fresh 75%; up to $6,300 55%; up to $4,600 35%; up to $3,000
Frozen 75%; up to $1,200 55%; up to $900 35%; up to $600
* Note: At least one member of the couple must be an SC.

Couples with children are also eligible for co-funding. The co-funding scheme covers ART procedures such as in-vitro fertilisation (IVF) with or without intracytoplasmic sperm injection (ICSI), as well as gamete intra-fallopian transfer (GIFT).

All the standard procedures, from ovarian stimulation or thawing of the embryo to embryo transfer, can be considered for co-funding. However, initial consultations and investigations prior to a patient’s decision to start ART treatment are not included.

You are eligible for enhanced ART co-funding if you meet ALL of the following criteria:

• You have started or are scheduled to start your ART cycle at a public hospital on or after 1 Jan 2013, i.e. the date of ovarian stimulation (for fresh cycles) or the thawing of the embryo (for frozen cycles) is on or after 1 Jan 2013;
  • You are below 40 years of age at the start of the cycle;
  • You have not already received 3 co-funded fresh and 3 co-funded frozen cycles in the past;
  • You have been assessed by a doctor to have met the clinical requirements for ART; and
  • You OR your spouse must be a Singapore Citizen at the start of the ART cycle.
http://www.heybaby.sg/havingchildren/art.html

i think what KK is saying for 15K is A lifetime Medisave withdrawal limit of $15,000 per patient for ACP also applies.

Great info, thanks for sharing! My friend's friend only paid around $500 in cash for her ivf at KK, the rest was through medisave and subsidies, any idea how that's possible? I have never heard a figure that low before. That's even cheaper than IUI in JB!

I did hsg on the same mth I started iui. Probably it helped cleared the tubes. Doc say we can bd one day later after iui and we did! By then I was starved up cos have to abstain from it before doing hsg and iui

Preciousbeanie, prof Wong told me to get an ovidriel jab at Gp at certain timing den come back to nuh 1.5 days later to do iui. Other than tat, prof wong did not give me any medicine or jabs.

Great info, thanks for sharing! My friend's friend only paid around $500 in cash for her ivf at KK, the rest was through medisave and subsidies, any idea how that's possible? I have never heard a figure that low before. That's even cheaper than IUI in JB!
i think is possible.. if IVF is 10K, then medisave claim 5k, subsidies another 5k, you basically no need pay anything...
tat why i say if IVF, i definitely will do in singapore..haha...

you can view more info at http://deardyan.com/2014/05/26/ivf-dollars-cents/#more-3529

Hi pixie,

Thank you for the clarification thus it still summarize up to a 1x use only right?
Subsequent will have to fork out in cash?

Anyway it is good to ask the counter staff before each start of the procedure because rules changes without our knowledge like HDB.

HSG got dye? We were told it is "water". Ok i am not the female side, so will not know what goes on in the room.

Bel> Dun forget at public hospital the wait time can be very long de wor and once u start choosing doctor, they will consider you as private patients for consultations and treatment. The grants will stay still.

Why i made such statement, on our waiting time in KK, overheard a couple who mentioned they will like to choose doctor as part of the preliminary check before the decision of iui or ivf. Counter told them can u can choose but it will be consider as private which means consultation will be non subsidized rate

Bel> Dun forget at public hospital the wait time can be very long de wor and once u start choosing doctor, they will consider you as private patients for consultations and treatment. The grants will stay still.

Why i made such statement, on our waiting time in KK, overheard a couple who mentioned they will like to choose doctor as part of the preliminary check before the decision of iui or ivf. Counter told them can u can choose but it will be consider as private which means consultation will be non subsidized rate

haha...i do realise that I will prob get what I pay for but it would make sense to try out KKH if I do need to go down the ivf route since I now realise it would cost next to nothing if I don't choose a doctor and utilise my medishield. It would make sense to be able to compare the difference between private/public so I know if I'm willing to pay more for private hospitals for the rest of my baby journey. 16k at raffles for just a 30 to 40% success rate is really pretty crazy. o_O:confused: even if I can afford it, I will def feel the pinch. And besides, why pay so much when the government is so willing to cover the cost of ivf so you can contribute to the population? :p

Of cos, I'm still hoping and praying I don't need to do IVF. I heard the injections are really painful for IVF :eek:

yes that's what our doc inform us as well. Thus he suggested to go with iui first though the success rate is only 10% but hey a chance is still a chance right. Thus to all ladies and hubbies in this thread, may good luck go for everyone!

Hi pixie,

Thank you for the clarification thus it still summarize up to a 1x use only right?
Subsequent will have to fork out in cash?

Anyway it is good to ask the counter staff before each start of the procedure because rules changes without our knowledge like HDB.

HSG got dye? We were told it is "water". Ok i am not the female side, so will not know what goes on in the room.
if you have read the post, you will know the answer is no

Hi! Wow... how lucky!
May I ask which gynae did you see for your 1st SOIUI... care to share more info like what was being prescribed and the process etc...
Hee. Just wanna compare with what I've done. TIA!
*1st SOIUI, 7dpiui

My gynae is Michelle Lee previously under Sincere Medical Group but now opened her own clinic at Mt Alvernia. I start off with oral medication then follow by injection. When follicles growth is almost optimum, another injection to boost the follicle to mature and release the egg. Inject 2 days before (Saturday night) the SOIUI procedure (Monday morning).

You can get government grant for IVF procedures for 3 times treatment, not 1 shot use $15,000. First treatment is around $6,000, follow by $5,000, $4,000 subsequently, that's what I read but it's no longer stated in the website. Anyways the website did mention you can receive co-funding up to 3 times treatment. https://www.ecitizen.gov.sg/topics/pages/mobile/topicsdetail.aspx?mpageId=209

On top of the govt funding, you can use your medisave up to $15,000 - breakdown to 3 treatments. https://www.moh.gov.sg/content/moh_...more-flexible-medisave-use-for-assisted-.html

Conclusion is you don't have to pay a single cent for your first treatment, you have to pay some cash for your 2nd or 3rd IVF, but the amount will not be a lot. If you are really so unlucky you can't strike after 3 rounds of IVF, you have to pay cash from your own pocket from 4th treatment onwards.

Don't scare people can....

WOW! ok looks like ivf at public hospitals in sg is the way to go! ivf at raffles costs 16k!! no subsidy! faints

You can use medisave for private hospital or clinic, but you can only offset $6,000, $5,000, $4,000. You cannot get the government funding for ART. You have to go to government hospitals to do IVF to receive full co-funding.

Nice to know I can use medisave for private! :)

Yup can use.. I was told by my precious gynae that public hospitals (whether seen as private patients or not) has an additional subsidy, on top of the $6k for first time.

Which was why she recommended that I go to public hospital instead of staying with her (even though I didn't want to be with her anymore :p).

Dear Ladies,

I am returning 400 eggs to Zhu sheng niang niang at toa payoh shuang Lin temple tomorrow between 12 to 2pm.

Interested ladies, please feel free to go pray and collect some eggs and may all be blessed with babies soon.

Okay... so we aren't first time lucky. 1st SOIUI failed.
Dr threw the ball in our court. To proceed with 2nd iui attempt or Ivf.
Now, because I'm seeing a private, if I choose to do Ivf with him, the estimated costs is 8-10k cash after govt subsidy.
If I go with him for another round of iui, estimated cost is $3-4k. I already paid $3,500 for all the pre tests including Hsg/blood tests etc...for my 1st iui.
My Dr also suggested Femera on CD2-6 then see him on CD6 for scan. He might put me on Gonal f.
I'm a bit hesitated this round. I don't know if I should go for another round of iui or straight to Ivf.
If I choose Ivf, I will go to nuh because of the heavy subsidy.
Please share your views before my CD6.

Now, because I'm seeing a private, if I choose to do Ivf with him, the estimated costs is 8-10k cash after govt subsidy.
If I go with him for another round of iui, estimated cost is $3-4k. I already paid $3,500 for all the pre tests including Hsg/blood tests etc...for my 1st iui.
My Dr also suggested Femera on CD2-6 then see him on CD6 for scan. He might put me on Gonal f.
I'm a bit hesitated this round. I don't know if I should go for another round of iui or straight to Ivf.
Sorry but can't remember what are the fertility issues you're facing?

Did your doc advise you?

Fr my experience, if go NUH, and your conditions are considered ok/good, they will want to monitor u on IUI before putting you up for ivf

I think just one cycle of IUI is totally insufficient to tell if IUI works for you. My doctor has been telling me that perhaps I should step up to IVF if this cycle fails (10 dpiui today) now that I have been through 2 rounds of IUI but I feel that even 2 rounds of IUI is too premature to give up on the program. What if I manage to conceive on my next IUI attempt? Or even on my 4th IUI attempt if that's what it takes? IUI is tough enough for me so I'm really hoping to avoid going down the IVF route cos I heard it's much tougher than IUI. Also, if you are planning for more kids, do consider that the path you choose now would most probably determine the path you would have to take for your second or third child. Would you prefer having to go through 2-4 IUI cycles to conceive or 1-2 cycles of IVF to conceive?

Sorry but can't remember what are the fertility issues you're facing?

Did your doc advise you?

Fr my experience, if go NUH, and your conditions are considered ok/good, they will want to monitor u on IUI before putting you up for ivf

Well...I'm suffering from PCOS. Other than that, age is another factor. That's about it. DH morphology slightly low but good quantity.
Dr was also quite disappointed it didn't work Cos the figures were good.
Just worried about having to start on Gonal F...

I think just one cycle of IUI is totally insufficient to tell if IUI works for you. My doctor has been telling me that perhaps I should step up to IVF if this cycle fails (10 dpiui today) now that I have been through 2 rounds of IUI but I feel that even 2 rounds of IUI is too premature to give up on the program. What if I manage to conceive on my next IUI attempt? Or even on my 4th IUI attempt if that's what it takes? IUI is tough enough for me so I'm really hoping to avoid going down the IVF route cos I heard it's much tougher than IUI. Also, if you are planning for more kids, do consider that the path you choose now would most probably determine the path you would have to take for your second or third child. Would you prefer having to go through 2-4 IUI cycles to conceive or 1-2 cycles of IVF to conceive?

Dr wants to put me on Gonal F. Meaning I might have to jab daily for 4-7days... Which is similar to Ivf.
Seriously I want more than 1 child...
Sigh... I really don't know.

Well...I'm suffering from PCOS. Other than that, age is another factor. That's about it. DH morphology slightly low but good quantity.
Dr was also quite disappointed it didn't work Cos the figures were good.
Just worried about having to start on Gonal F...
I have PCOS too.. But will have dominant follicles when on medication/injection.. So doc recommended pressing on w IUI.. Think yrs shd be like me?

The 5-day injections for IUI can't be compared to everything that's needed to be done for ivf..

Couldn't agree more on this. I have PCOS too btw, and am around your age too. Though I also have hypo-thyroid on top of my PCOS :confused:

Dr wants to put me on Gonal F. Meaning I might have to jab daily for 4-7days... Which is similar to Ivf.
Seriously I want more than 1 child...
Sigh... I really don't know.

The needle for Gonal F is very fine, you barely feel it. I had daily injections this cycle too (which didn't work to stimulate the production of more eggs for me :confused:) The needles for some injections for IVF are quite a bit thicker so it's a lot more painful. They need to stimulate your ovaries a lot harder for IVF so sometimes you might need 2 injections a day and also, I believe you need to do daily injections for a total of 2 weeks.

I heard from my friend who went through 3 IVFs that the daily injections are a bitch but what's even worse is the egg extraction procedure. After that you feel like you are carrying 2 big watermelons in your tummy. I hear liao I damn scared sia :eek::eek::eek::confused:

P.S: Not trying to scare you but I do feel we all have the right to know what we are in for.

Hi veraine and belpzz
Thank for the info and encouragement. I had 3 follicles on the 1st try. So I thought they were nice number... I fear jabs. But having heard about Ivf kind of jabs, I know this might be easier...
DH suggested to go ahead with this round and he seems to have confidence in this Dr...
Dr said I read too much. I reckoned I asked too much... Lol... ya, we need to know what to expect.
Going back for review on CD6. And my 2nd journey/ordeal starts.
Looks like I'm in for my 2nd SOIUI.
Staying positive... God bless!

Hi veraine and belpzz
Thank for the info and encouragement. I had 3 follicles on the 1st try. So I thought they were nice number... I fear jabs. But having heard about Ivf kind of jabs, I know this might be easier...
DH suggested to go ahead with this round and he seems to have confidence in this Dr...
Dr said I read too much. I reckoned I asked too much... Lol... ya, we need to know what to expect.

Good luck! Sending you lots of positive vibes! May IUI #2 be the one in which you will receive your life changing miracle! :)

bb.jpg

Hi veraine and belpzz
Not an ordeal! :)

All the best!

wa... 4K for IUI is very expensive...
if i were u, i will just opt for ivf.. if 10k after subsidy, can deduct 6K from your medisave, so you only pay 4K which is same as iui lei...

Yup....it's very ex..It's 10k Cash after 6k subsidy vs 4k Cash.
minus 6k gov subsidy + 6K medisave, you still need to top up 10K cash!
wa...why your ivf so exp??

in this case mind as well do in JB? IVF arnd RM18K.. after conversion is only SGD6700..

minus 6k gov subsidy + 6K medisave, you still need to top up 10K cash!
wa...why your ivf so exp??

in this case mind as well do in JB? IVF arnd RM18K.. after conversion is only SGD6700..

Because it's private. Therefore can only have 6 k subsidy.
Ivf is 10k - 6k subsidy = 4k cash + meds/scans/jabs/consul of est 5-6k...
Therefore total is about 10k cash.
6k medisave only applicable if u go Nuh/Sgh/kkivf.
And no Thanks to JB. The time and leave DH needs to Take, we don't think it's justified.
That's y we would either do another round of iui, Which we are going to, with the same Dr.
If we are going to go Ivf, we will go to either of the above 3 govt hosp.

but the number of leave (even is unpaid) will still be cheaper as compared want to pay 10K...
then again if you go to gov hospital, should be much lesser than 10K

for my IUI in JB, so far i only took half day off... and IUI + medications i paid SGD700..