(2006/05) May 2006 MTB

Cheri,

Ya, am keeping my fingers crossed too. coz i noticed that the children in the class seem to know a lot of things.

For ie when the teacher sings song about animals, they can go and take the correct animal from the toys to show the teacher.

hence, hoping that boy can stay n learn something rather than at home but if he continues crying...then...ahemmmm....

joyce,
i think you will join me very soon...(mother of a drop out kid).
yes, sch will allow you to learn a lot of things.
But when you see them getting skinnier, having eye bags from the lack of slp and crying, and getting SICK, we had to pull them out.

Intention now is to home school him on weekends and weekdays allow him to watch dvds and linger ard at home. No choice but i think he is a much happier rascal.

Ivy,

Ya, will wait n see if he continues to cry at nite then will stop the lessons

Btw, they really get sick easily from CC, he now coughing abit liaoz.

ya, cry at nite is so scary and poor thing.
Sick from CC is expected...just that its too near CNY, better dun fall sick.
my mum feel that the more he cry, the worst his cough.
So end of the day, waste $$$ for a healthy and happy son..sigh.

joyce,
you can call the school and check on his status?

the cc that X went to, the teachers are really good. Will call me or entertain my calls to check on him. Too bad that he is weak, too easy kena virus, else its a good sch.

lhjyc
dun worry, kids r v smart, they will learn all these things in time once they r ready (picking up the rt toy, rt alphabet etc). i dun intend to send my ger too young oso cos she's the more cautious, slow to warm up type. I feel no point stressing her, hopefully when she's older & i can reason more wif her, it'll be easier. Someone told me it's not the age but the character that determines how severe the separation anxiety is, if ur child is more clingy type, no matter how young u start him, it's still the same. I tend to agree wif this theory hahah

thought to pop by to say hihi...

our kids really grow up fast. Thinking of sending my gal for one week once playgroup.
If possible, my pd was advicing me not to send the kids too early to childcare.It might be just too young for them to handle the anxiety causing unnecessary stress.
Can share share what mummies feed for lunch or dinenr. Think my gal's diet very boring..

anyone care to share?

firefly
is there once a week playgroup? is it drop off type? i'm thinking of starting my ger on twice a week playgroup when she's 2 perhaps then if she adapts well, slowly increast to 5 days. Still looking ard for good ones near my place. Yet to do my homework haha

gabby, ivy & lhjyc
do u think u can share how ur child's temperament or character is b4 they went playgroup? as in stuff like, r they the slow to warm up type when it comes to new situations, new environments, new pp? do they allow other pp who r not as close to carry them easily or they will stick to u more? i've had frens whose kids adapt v well rite from the start so i'm still curious abt the above theory i mentioned in previous post haha

firefly again

my ger is a super fussy eater, i wun say she has bad appetite cos if u prepare sthg that she likes, she can take quite a bit but if she doesn't, she'll spit it out & take not more than 3 spoonfuls...jia lat rite?

she hates rice, porridge & most noodles now (mee sua, macaroni, pasta, kway teow). Sometimes i try to use unsalted butter & a bit of onion & garlic to do fried rice for her but she'll just take a bit..still better than nothing. But amazingly, she's on the heavy side, maybe cos her few fave foods r quite nutritious stuff...she loves cheese, hard boiled eggs, fruits, baby bites, vegetables, yogurt. Other food that i prepare for her: homemade tomato paste meatballs, fish fillets, steamed chicken drumstick, steamed eggs wif minced pork & mushroom etc.

Hi Ivy,

Ha! he MIA-ed today got running nose and cough. hate to think about next monday where he have to start again

Hi Cheri,

Actually i have been sending R to weekend classes. He adapts well there maybe its becoz I or my hub will be w him during lessons. For eg, he is ok @ the CC if i accompany him. But if left alone with the teachers, thats when he cant take it. Was reading the communication book last nite, the teacher says he is adapting (ie crying n screaming lesser)...

Hi firefly,

Yup, yestd my doc also say my boy too young to send to CC and warned me that he will be sick on an average of once every 2 weeks! faintz...

Now contemplating whether to continue or stop. but one thing, my mil say after going to CC, he sings nonstop now..prior to going, he does sings but not like nonstop la..

my son is a complete opposite. i was apprehensive about him having separation anxiety because he is very sticky to me and his grandma. he lets other people carry him but only if he sees them regularly.

his grandma brought him to check out a playgroup centre and he was inside playing for a while. 2 days later,he dragged her and signalled that he wanted to go to the playgroup centre. the teacher was nice and let him in. he went in and did not even glance at grandma. the teacher closed the door, asking his grandma to remain outside and not to worry.

he did not look for grandma and he did not cry! teacher told her he even imitated her words and recite words with other students in the class!

looks like he is ready for playgroup. such a playful boy!

anastasia,
you staying in sengkang rite? Where is this playgroup that your son is so interested in? share with me?

cheri,
most of the mummies here will say that my son is a independent and active and sociable baby. I think he can adapt well into the cc if i try harder. But i cant bring myself to do it cos he keep falling sick. Soft hearted mummy hence pull him out of the cc.

Shortness at birth doubles risk of suicide attempt

Thu, Jan 17, 2008
AFP

PARIS - MALE babies born shorter than average were more than twice as likely to attempt suicide as adults, especially by violent means, according to a study released on Thursday.

Even among men of normal height who began life as newborns less than 47 centimetres long, the link with suicide remained almost as strong, said the study, published in the British Journal of Epidemiology and Community Health.

Weight at birth was also factor in the likelihood that a man would at some point try to take his own life, even more so when combined with below-average length.

Men who weighed under 2500 grammes but who reached normal height were more than 2.5 times as likely to make a violent suicide attempt.

And premature babies - both small and underweight - were, as adults, more than four times as likely to attempt violent suicide than persons born after 38 to 40 weeks of pregnancy.

Violent suicides attempts were defined as those involving hanging, the use of a firearm or knives, jumping from a height or in front of vehicles, and drowning.

The study, led by Dr Ellenor Mittendorfer Rutz of the Karolinska Institute in Stockholm, also found that height was a factor in suicide attempts independent of birth weight or size.

Short men, even if normal height when babies, were more than half again as likely to try to do themselves in. More generally, the taller a man was, the less likely he was to attempt suicide.

The study is based on national registration data in Sweden covering nearly 320,000 males born between 1973 and 1980.

Serotonin
The researchers speculated that the brain chemical serotonin may account for their findings.

Serotonin is critical for brain development, and low levels have been linked to aggressive, impulsive and suicidal behaviour. Several anti-depressant drugs regulate serotonin levels.

'Children born preterm show damage in various parts of the brain,' including one - the prefrontal cortex - that is thought to be the site of changes in the serotonin metabolism of those who commit suicide, the authors conclude.

The study also said serotonin levels may be affected by other factors restricting growth in the womb, such as maternal drug and alcohol abuse, or malnutrition. -- AFP

hi Ivy,

i stay in sengkang but the playgroup is near to my mum's place in amk. she takes care of him in the day so i have to look for a playgroup in amk.

ivy
haah so that kinda debunks my theory that indep & less clingy kids will adapt easily to pg or cc no matter wat age they r at. ya, it's really tough when they fall sick so often...if i'm u, i will oso probably postpone till he's older & hopefully hv more immunity then.

anastacia
waa reading ur post is so uplifting, it gives me a ray of hope for my ger hahha...has ur boy ever attended any other classes at all b4 that (any accompanied prog?)...if he has not, maybe cos it's so interesting & new to him, kids coming tog wif an adult to play, sing, listen to stories etc...

lhjyc
good to hear that he's crying less now..so r u going to continue again?

Cheri,

This week is the last week of trial will see if he can tahan...if not then may discontinue the lessons...keeping my fingers crossed.

Any mummies know where i can get nice shorts for boys? diff to find lei..need to get new ones for CNY

hi Cheri,

my boy has not attended any other class before, not even trial class. it is a good sign and i have decided to register him to start in March. previously, i wanted to wait until after May, when i thought he will be more independent. looks like his 'wings' are stronger than i thought.

Ivy,

R still crying when dropping off and fetching him. But teacher say he is adapting well so...still trying.

Thanks...dun dun really like kiddy palace clothes lei... last time used to shop @ Gymboree..but hor..keke hub say must try to save liao...expenses are increasing!!! so..looking for other alternatives lor.

Btw, where is ON?

Ivy

If you are buying online SMS me then I join okay!! hahaha. Love to shop online but too lazy to actually go thr and follow the process.

Ya...ivy if u buying online let me know : )

Hi Qoosan,

R is attending the outlet @ ten mile junction. Teacher quite good but found there super noisy! coz its open concept...but no choice..its near my place

SS1,

gathering was cancelled...too many toddlers sick lately...haiz...

wat u been busy?? din 'see' u for soooo long.....

Hi Pooh,

Good la, postpone then hopefully I can join next time, wanna see her new place, sure nice nice one!

Been busy adjusting to my boy's new schedule. He started nursery and it's new place. U know lah...gotta pacify him a bit for now. Also started new term of my enrichment classes, so trying to fit the schedule to the routine.

I haven't had time to look at the homebased program, and the playgroup teacher that I was going to partner has started teaching at another kindergarten for now, too bored at home. So may take a while before kickstarting the program.

I think Cheri and I were talking about having gathering at each other's place and do some activities for the kids. After that no response, u wanna join?

HI Mummies

Brought Kaelyn to the Pd today. Pd said Gotta stop her from all the classes. If she continues going to the classes, she'll catch one bug after another. In long run, she'll might probably develop into asthma in further. Haiz.. Got lectured by the PD haiz...He kept saying that Kaelyn is too young to go for classes and she's young no immunity, it is mummy's fault la, etc... Cham.... Old grandpa lecturing mummy. So my final decision. Withdraw her out from all classes and let her build her her immunity first.

Sherri...

You're always welcome to my humble hse. Mayb we'll have a gathering after cny?

sorri mummies, maybe cos i hv not met any of u yet, sometimes i get v confused abt the nicks & names of mummies here hahah...sherri is ss1? who is pooh then? sorry blur me hahah

SS1
yes, i'm still keen on meeting up but currently tues-thurs mornings, my ger has class so can only meet outside these timings.

Ivy

just bought a pants for my boy from FOX..@ $29 actually not cheap lei..think if i get from gymboree might be cheaper..

remember to count me in if got spree...coz if i buy myself sure will overspend.

hi joyce,

Fox at $29 is a bit ex...shld wait for their sale. Gymboree got pretty good sales...but must wait...i'm a gymboree fan....always order from that site...keke

I'm also a bit hesitant about sending my gal for classes...a lot of kids down with veri veri bad cough...my gal just recovered from bronchitis after her HK trip...after i saw how she suffered, i really dun have the heart to bring her out for classes...and yeah...no more overseas trip for my gal for the time being....

Hi Ivy,

Thanks...sorry dun remember ur email. Can take my orders are as follows :-

Shirts (18 to 24 mths)
$8
http://www.oldnavy.com/browse/product.do?cid=26643&pid=533591&scid=533591002

2 for $12 (White and White Strip)
http://www.oldnavy.com/browse/product.do?cid=38111&pid=533564&scid=533564092

Pants (12 to 18 mths)

2 for $20 (Green Tree and Brown Plaid)

http://www.oldnavy.com/browse/product.do?cid=39490&pid=533412

How much i owe u altogether n how to transfer to u?

Ino,
Partially agreed that don't bring little one to oversea especially @ in difference season from our country.. mainly e weather, e humidity n the direction where the wind blows... easy to stir flu & cough..
eg. Adult with poor body constitution easy to kena flu after back to singapore from cold countries.

Ino,

I'm a gymboree fan too! Hee...if u buying, can let me lobang also. Coz if not i tend to overspend...

As for CC, i also have a heart to stop. Boy down w coughing, fever n vomitted since last friday. For 2 weeks of school, he has been sick most of the time. i have been taking leave to take care of him. At this rate, dunnoe how to continue le

Hey got a crazy idea. mabbe we can gang up to engage a teacher to teach our kids at least for those who are staying near each other. n we make the pact that if kid is sick, dun send to the school so that the others wont be sick...hiaz..just a crazy idea la...think i lack of sleep

lhjyc
oh dear, ya, it's always the hardest when our kids fall ill after attending sch, other things we can still tahan but seeing them suffer & us being helpless abt is worst.

re ur crazy idea
hahah nothing is impossible

Hi hi...

Just back from kk...boy fever rose to 40 and does not come down even after sponging...
rush down to kk and saw a big group all down w fever.think there really is some virus around...

lh_jyc,
is your boy better now?

My gal having block nose on/off and her phlegm dun seems to clear for more than 2 wks liao. Have been giving her scott emulsion(orange).Hope it'll help to boost up her immunity.

cheri,
are you going to JG's pinic @ botanica garden this wed?

joyce,
how is R now? Better? X's cough is still lingering around too..very sian.

i think with your this trip down KK, you prob 100% will withdraw R out of cc?

joyce or mummies,
jst fyi, for those whose kids gg to CC, can try sambucol immune syrups? I know abt this when i organise the luckyvitamin spree, a lot of mummies said vry effective.

Ivy,

U are right.. This morning, my fil went to inform the school that R is withdrawing. They all heartpain to see him sick la...

hiaz. think i will start to look for enrichment classes for him instead...

Hi littletot,

This virus veri strong, the moment the 4th hour comes, his fever will act again...n last nite he vomitted again

seriously, lucky got maid if not dunno how i can tahan...come aug, when my maid goes back dunno how i can take care of bb n work n do housework

qoosan,
yes, PD say too young to go cc...unless the parents really bo bian, else better dun send to cc...
thats y me getting a helper, hopefully a good one..that can help me look after x till he goes to N1..which is 3yrs old? sigh.

Fates,

my boy can say simple stuff like "drink, hi five, left leg, mummy where are u, mummy buy and some words, he can only say the ending like "ney" of money, ...he veri talkative but of coz his pronounication is not good la. n in front of strangers, he is like mute

However, his motor skills slower. he only started walking at 17 mths whereas talking was earlier
pple say if its really vis versa (ie talk or motor skills) lor

Ivy..ya boys are known to be 'slow'? Hee..

My J has been very talkative lately too! If I disappear from his sight, he will go "Meeeeee!" very loudly. Sticky to me ah!

Yaya joyce! Mummy buy! Pay nini (money), Go home, sit bus, take MRT, WOW (when he spots something fascinating), goodnight papa, goodnight nainai, and recently he learnt how to call 'ah gong'. You can imagine how happy my FIL is