IVF with KKH (Tan HH)

:( :(
@hi_mei : thanks for asking. For me, earliest i can do FET is in July / Aug. :( cause my case went complicated. until now still waiting for BHCG to drop. It's been 12 weeks liao.
I am sorry to hear that. How are u coping? Did Dr Tan explain why the HCG is still ard? Just wondering,if u do d n c will the HCG drop immediately... Then dun need to worry so much....

@Hlixian, have u confirmed to do IVF or still researching? Dr Tan will patiently explain / answer your questions, but for me, he kinda expect me to google things myself sometimes..... dunno if good or bad.

I confirm doing IVF. Previous pte gynae already recommended me to do IVF. Its the only route for me if I want a baby.

I am sorry to hear that. How are u coping? Did Dr Tan explain why the HCG is still ard? Just wondering,if u do d n c will the HCG drop immediately... Then dun need to worry so much....

Dr Tan explained, and I did some research online, it is considered "normal" for my situation. Quite bo pian liao. Cause it is a "Pregnancy of Unknown Location (PUL)". We already waited / observe for 1 month to make sure cause we also didn't want to do the treatment for PUL. The treatment is to jab a chemo drug to kill growing cells. And like chemo drug, must wait a while before can try again.
Very sad la, cause I am an impatient person. So it's like... want to miscarry then do it quickly. but not my fate. Hahaha.

I confirm doing IVF. Previous pte gynae already recommended me to do IVF. Its the only route for me if I want a baby.
then should be quite fast. cause he will leave it to KKIVF nurses to explain the procedures in KKIVF, so he will probably just refer your case to them to make arrangements. He will likely ask when you wanna do your IVF. If you have all your latest records like ultrasound, sperm analysis, etc, he will just ask nurse Felicia / Grace to photocopy for their records. It was the same for me. Otherwise he will ask you to do their required tests.

Unless u are the super career woman type, I think most of us here just want a healthy baby more than anything else. So heck the promotions etc.
Side note, I'm seeing Dr Tan for the first time tmr. Anything to take note / bring along?
@Hlixian.. Remember to bring your past medical reports along.. Very helpful and can save you abit cos some of the tests dunida do again if still valid.. Hb's SA too.. Must bring.. and ask him as much questions as you might have doubts with.. i asked him about 10 questions on our 2nd visit when cnfmg to proceed with IVF.. he answered all of them patiently and explained till we both understand.. when you planning to start? i'm going for Jun cycle.. we might just be cycle buddy..
Thanks circles, baby sparkles and Rachel for yr advice. Ya i kinda decided that mb I won't take the NPL route but I will ask to step down from my current management role. Too stressful and too much responsibilities. At least there is still money coming in tho with lower pay. i am about to utilise my last co-funding for the next cycle. If fail again need to pay full amt.... :( So need to save up because I think my hb is not happy our $$ is flying away cuz of baby making. Even for the d n c I just did, he asked whether can just wait for natural miscarriage cuz the d n c costs 2000 plus... Haiz luckily discovered my company got insurance coverage for that.

Regarding companies... Many of them are not v pro family I feel. When I was younger and all my friends applying for first job, some of them were asked outright, "do u have a bf?", "u intend to marry and have kids?" My friend replied no to all and got the job. If it is an SME I can understand cuz they are really surviving by the hook, but bigger coporate firms should be more understanding. As if the 10-12h work days are not enough....
Ya @hi_mei.. stepping down and getting pay cut might be another option for you.. no harm going for it..

then should be quite fast. cause he will leave it to KKIVF nurses to explain the procedures in KKIVF, so he will probably just refer your case to them to make arrangements. He will likely ask when you wanna do your IVF. If you have all your latest records like ultrasound, sperm analysis, etc, he will just ask nurse Felicia / Grace to photocopy for their records. It was the same for me. Otherwise he will ask you to do their required tests.
Thanks for the info. Ya.. gonna bring all the medical reports along. Hopefully I don't have to do new BT. Super scared of needles. Seriously wonder how I'm going to survive the daily jabs. o_O

Oh.. The other asst is Grace ar?.. i prefer felicia leh.. grace abit unfriendly..

@Hlixian.. Remember to bring your past medical reports along.. Very helpful and can save you abit cos some of the tests dunida do again if still valid.. Hb's SA too.. Must bring.. and ask him as much questions as you might have doubts with.. i asked him about 10 questions on our 2nd visit when cnfmg to proceed with IVF.. he answered all of them patiently and explained till we both understand.. when you planning to start? i'm going for Jun cycle.. we might just be cycle buddy..

Ya @hi_mei.. stepping down and getting pay cut might be another option for you.. no harm going for it..

I'm planning to start in June. Actually tmr is my AF day 2. Can start immediately? hahah...

Thanks for the info. Ya.. gonna bring all the medical reports along. Hopefully I don't have to do new BT. Super scared of needles. Seriously wonder how I'm going to survive the daily jabs. o_O
dont worry.. i oso.. lol.. i wonder how can i go thru.. just think positive ba.. somemore my hb scared of needles.. i hvta be "brave" when he's injecting me so he wont be scared.. lol..

rach: Your hub gonna help u with the jabs? My hub also scared. Ask me to do it myself.
Yeah... cycle buddy. Hope can start in June.

rach: Your hub gonna help u with the jabs? My hub also scared. Ask me to do it myself.
Yeah... cycle buddy. Hope can start in June.
Yup.. I want home to participate in the whole process.. So requested he jab me.. Lol..
I'm going for my briefing session on 22 May 9:45am..

I'm one of those who've decided to "fire" my boss to focus on this TTC journey.
No more guilt taking leave for medical appointments or having co-workers probe around why you need to be on leave on certain dates.
Just had a lap surgery in April,now still recovering.Scheduled for IVF briefing in KKH end of this week.
Im not getting any younger and both hubby n i have stressful jobs that require us to travel for work.The stars really need to align if we ever get to be together
during my ovulation periods.Even then,he must be not so tired,stressed and not looking at his blackberry for emails every few minutes.It's really tough.
Well,one of us has to make a sacrifice.You can always go back to work after 40 but you cant always have a baby after 40
(unless you r super lucky like some celebrities)

No more guilt taking leave for medical appointments or having co-workers probe around why you need to be on leave on certain dates.
Just had a lap surgery in April,now still recovering.Scheduled for IVF briefing in KKH end of this week.
Im not getting any younger and both hubby n i have stressful jobs that require us to travel for work.The stars really need to align if we ever get to be together
during my ovulation periods.Even then,he must be not so tired,stressed and not looking at his blackberry for emails every few minutes.It's really tough.
Well,one of us has to make a sacrifice.You can always go back to work after 40 but you cant always have a baby after 40
Same for me. I decided to quit work to focus on ttc.

Hi MichNg,

Do you know if we have to repeat the bloodtests/SA in KKH if they were done at Glen E 6 months ago when I did my IUI?

Some tests need to repeat after 6 months but I cannot recall which. Try asking this on the IVF/icsi support group forum. Cos there are some sisters who are more experienced.

good.. then we'll be in tww,

baby_sparkles im not joining u in 2ww :( my embryo did not make it this morning. can u imagine in the ward changed and getting ready for procedure, my hubby receive a call fm the embryologist den pass it to me. she said my only day 6 embryo that they thaw this morning stopped growing. and they spoke to doctor they decide not to proceed. so lost till the doctor some to talk to us... so sad.

going thru fet is already a challenge. i start natural fet with lining too thin till ovulation. den abort. den now medicated fet lining got but embryo never survive. sad... need to start all over again... :'(

Some tests need to repeat after 6 months but I cannot recall which. Try asking this on the IVF/icsi support group forum. Cos there are some sisters who are more experienced.
Hi storkeblesding and michng. Need to repeat tests ezample hep B, C, Hiv, syphillis that are older than 6 mths. My tests expired and they do not allow me to proceed ER unless i do the tests again. And did repeat.

baby_sparkles im not joining u in 2ww :( my embryo did not make it this morning. can u imagine in the ward changed and getting ready for procedure, my hubby receive a call fm the embryologist den pass it to me. she said my only day 6 embryo that they thaw this morning stopped growing. and they spoke to doctor they decide not to proceed. so lost till the doctor some to talk to us... so sad.

going thru fet is already a challenge. i start natural fet with lining too thin till ovulation. den abort. den now medicated fet lining got but embryo never survive. sad... need to start all over again... :'(
Hi baby dusty. I can imagine the saddness. Im now starting to worry abt my ET tomorrow. Dun even know got embryo for transfer or not. Argg.

Kim chi ger, u cfm will have embryos and prob have frozen babies too! It is a v high no of eggs extracted.

MichNg, hope ur readings can go down soon...

Babydusty, sorry to hear abt what happened. It's ok, don't give up, try again. With a fresh cycle u can put in 2 embryos and will give u higher chance! Hope u strike next round! :)

Rachelt, u can do the injection one. It sounds scary but the needle is v thin, and if u do it properly, the pain is zero. I was v scared the first time i had to inject myself. Hesitated 3 times, before poking it in. But u will get braver and be used to it. Best of luck :)

Dont be sad @babydusty and dont give up..

Yupz I understand. Now I heard from my friends at work got colleagues gossiping abt me cuz I took a lot of leave. 3 wks HL for ivf, then 1 wk for threatened miscarriage and now another wk for my d n c.. Sian. But anyway those ppl are not my friends so why care.

@happy_mtb.. Me! Me! *raise hands high up*
Dont be sad or disappointed.. Take it as a blessing.. Maybe your body need a little more time before the session starts :)
Hi hi cycling buddy!!

I started Nor E today... Got to take for 21 days... Then menses will come and that's when I will start stim... Looking at the calendar it should be early June to start injection... I'm on the short cycle.... Hope I will get more usable eggs this time.... Keeping fingers crossed!!!

Hi hi cycling buddy!!

I started Nor E today... Got to take for 21 days... Then menses will come and that's when I will start stim... Looking at the calendar it should be early June to start injection... I'm on the short cycle.... Hope I will get more usable eggs this time.... Keeping fingers crossed!!!
@happy_mtb.. I'm also on short cycle.. my af for june should come in the first week.. 4 or 5 jun.. unless we miraculously bfp naturally.. so we should be abt the same timing.. this is my first ivf.. very excited.. @Hlixian oso should be in the same cycle as us.. she's seeing THH for the first time tmr.. that makes 3 of us for June cycle..

Baby dusty so sorry to hear that ... U had one embryo left in freezer ? I tot doc will advise to start fresh instead of thawing just one embryo. Is ur doc prof wong from nuh?

Take ur time to bu n try again when u r ready ok??
Hugsss

yup one in freezer. mayb coz it survive day 6 to frozen thats y its a go. what doc explain to me usually they unthaw to room temperature, the cells should remain the same or grow more. but mine were just dying so if i were to go ahead its a risk it may not even survive in womb. so thats it.

so total cost this time is 1.3K for only scanning and unthawing without transfer. Plus 1k when i did my natural fet and abort. 2.3k gone which have not include medicines which i pay cash just to know egg transfer not done is really a disappointing...

im under nuh subsidy so i see any doctor, usually dr lim attends to my fet case.

just waiting for mensus to come normally and go to my next appt and discuss for the next new ivf fresh cycle again...

today is Day 12 post menses and i am still waiting for my ovulation to come..and currently on natural FET. any idea how many days after ovulation will they do the transfer??
What will happen if i ovulate on sunday or P.H?
Think it is better u check with the KKH nurse.. Can call them up. All the best!

Yea. Not as scary as i thought but there is alot of uncertainities. Hope to bfp this round. I got two frozen, one under observation. Not sure of the grade. The two transferred are grade 4. So excited now. Counting down to BT...
Grade 4 is v gd! All the best babe... :) come back to bless us with baby dust!

Hello All,
It has been a very long while since I last posted.
Been trying since 2010 and only succeeded in my 3rd fresh IVF cycle under Dr Foong of Gleneagles last year. Delivered my baby girl in April who will be turning one month tomorrow.
Will be returning 100 eggs at the temple at Sengkang (beside the Buddhist temple and another Hindu temple) tomorrow morning. Previously took 2 red eggs from this temple from a couple who returned Zhu Sheng Niang Niang's blessings so it's my turn to return blessings and I hope to be able to help other couples.
Good luck and baby dust to all.