Premature babies support group

i was asking question about the kk bill n cevical shortening etc months ago. God bless that I manage to keep my baby till term despite was dilate since week 31. I do have a history if premmie baby at week 33 though. So anyone bedresting now, pls preserve on.

Anyway thks to all the encouragement n advice esp from kkf n David. I do have a angelcare monitor at home, so if any mummies intend to buy or lend from me when ur baby is home, do pm me.

i was asking question about the kk bill n cevical shortening etc months ago. God bless that I manage to keep my baby till term despite was dilate since week 31. I do have a history if premmie baby at week 33 though. So anyone bedresting now, pls preserve on.

Anyway thks to all the encouragement n advice esp from kkf n David. I do have a angelcare monitor at home, so if any mummies intend to buy or lend from me when ur baby is home, do pm me.

Hi Lilac,

I'm using Angelcare Bebesounds Model # AC401...I bought mine from Amazon... I think what Singapore has are older models, newer models can be bought from US directly. But must buy the adaptor and cannot use the one that comes with it...
Only 2 episodes of the alarm going off since the day we used it. These 2 accounts were cos she was stretching staying on for one position and she paused her breathing...Duhzzz...
It was scary, with me and hubby rushing to the room like mad, and startled her and she breathed again...Duhzzzz
since 2-3 months ago, we took off the movement pad and only use the sound function liao...cos she is a big girl now...

The sound function is still very useful, we still put her alone in the room, feeling safe...

Hi Kai,

Glad to hear that u managed to keep baby in u til term, very encouraging for us to know....

Hi Gingal,

We still need to be paranoid about hygiene. We can only be more relax after Danya ops.

Hi WH,

My wife Diana is almost 100% recover. Still left with her eye issue. Doc mention that they could take up to 1 year to be resolved. It is true, this episode changes my prospective of life. I am living my life to the fullest everyday, may it be a good or bad experience, just enjoy every moment.

Hi Lilac,

Warrior Nate is finally cycling far far away from CPAP. Cheers and Well Done. The term Apnea means stop breathing. The lungs muscles are controlled by our brain. For our young warriors, the controlling is still under tuning and sometime, they may forget. To make them remember, Doc will give them caffeine. Just like what I am doing now, typing, drinking coffee, enjoy my night shift and waiting to change diaper and make milk. Ha Ha.

The common challenge for our warrior which cause Desat are A & B. A - Apnea: Interruption in breathing that lasts 15 seconds or more, B - Bradycardia: Slow heart rate. Both can be mitigate using drugs.

Hi Kai,

Well done. Jia Yu.

gingal, thanks for the information on Angelcare. Will look around on Amazon to check out the models. So can safely say that Angelcare works pretty much like what KK uses to monitor the baby's breathing, I reckon?

David, thanks so much for the explanation on Apnea and desat. You are really very knowledgeable lor. Are you using any monitor at home to monitor Danya? It seems like you are really enjoying taking care of Danya. I can sense your joyfulness =)

Just over the weekend, Nate passed his cycling test and has been transfered to the step-down NICU!!!! We were extremely elated cos' the nurses had told us that there probably will be no transfer during weekends. But God is good. When we visited Nate in the afternoon, he was being prepared to be transfered! Happy, happy. So far so good. Nurse mentioned that if he continues to be stable for the next few days and if he tolerates the 2 hourly feed, he will be transfered to the SCN!! Yay!!! Praise the Lord! He is currently 1.35 kg. We are really praying that he will put on weight speedily so that he can come home soon.

Hi Jenifur,

How's baby Jed? hope the clothes fit. Remember to take some fotos yah?

Hi David,
it took me 4mths inorder to read papers again. my eyesight were badly damaged then. at the moment i shld said olredi recover closed to 90%. if i'm too stress or tired then can feel my spec are tight, meaning my eyeballs are swollen again.

Hi gingal,
wah. didnt know got this kind of BB equipment. am using normal monitor liked walkie-talkie... only echo if baby cries. for 1st few mth... i did what most mom do... manual work-put the finger over her nose to feel her breathing... ke kee..

Hi lilac,
Well done, mommy! Jia You or Jia weight, Nate!

Oh, just an update, brought BB to KKH massage class... in the hope of baby can sleep longer at nite.

in the class, my baby is the "oldest" the rest are only closed to 2mths nia...

and seems liked she enjoyes the class... will let u know if this works. two more lesson to go!

<font face="Comic Sans Ms"><font color="0000ff">Xbliss</font>

Thanks for recommending drypers newborn. Have been using &amp; no leaking incident anymore. Though i wish they can improve on e tape. Is so noisy when I try to remove, always startled baby Jed.

Baby Jed weighs about 2.2kg last wk.

<font color="aa00aa">Lilac</font>

Congratulation!!! God is good ya. You can be sure that Baby Nate will be home soon.

I didn't go meet WH, DH went instead as I dun "trust" him to care for baby Jed.

I was warded as Dr. Wong thought I needed a break as she's worried tt I might be coming down w depression. Plus there will be nurses to help me w baby Jed while I slowly get used to caring for him.

<font color="0000ff">zola</font>

How are you doing with baby Joya? I was v stressed when left alone w baby Jed, kept worrying &amp; checking on him. But now I'm slightly more relaxed le. Just like wat my CG leader said, Let Go &amp; Let God. That's only so much we can do. Plus our lil warriors have come so far so we can be assured tat they will not let us down

<font color="aa00aa">David</font>

Can I check if Danya is on any supplement to prepare her for e op?

Baby Jed will need to go for op to repair his cleft. Though e date are not even firm up yet but gan cheong mummy just wana make sure we beef him up prior that.

<font color="0000ff">WH</font>

Thank you for blessing Baby Jed w e clothes. Most of them fit him. You can view a pic of him wearing one of the rompers here

Pls do update me on the class. I wld prob wana sign up if it's beneficial for our lil ones.</font>

Nate has just been transfered to the SCN today! Yay, praise the Lord. We are extremely thankful. Doctor is very happy with his progress and mentioned that he should be discharged within a month's time (seems very long to me....) But she cautioned us about infections though.... Am praying that Nate will be protected against any infections while in SCN. Need to start cleaning the house and buying stuff in preparations for his coming home =)

jenifur,
hahaha.. yar i so used to drypers that i forgot about the "ziap ziap" tape! hahahaha.. i always have to remove it realllly slowly when bryan is sleeping.. such a pain right?! but i think it's good and cheap. in long run, you will get so used to it that u will be so skilful with the tape!

Hi Jenifur,

baby Jed looks cute in the rompers, those are one of my fav rompers, if not wrong it fm Zara, am keeping the green one as memento....btw His cheeks are so chubby, and he got bright eyes, very alert.. doesnt look liked newborn... glad that the clothes fit well.

Oh dear, Jenifur. Must take care of yrself... guess most of us are stress out when handling a premature baby. My doc was also worry for me, as i've high blood, plus kidney &amp; liver failing and still need to nurse my lil one... my family were also worried that i'll go into depression. If all get too stress out ...take 5! and hv someone to look after baby for awhile... must learnt to trust, else it very stressful for u mentally and physcially....

topic: Diapers on the Cheap
dated 30 mar 2009

Diapers (Newborn)

MamyPoko (28s +2)
$10.50 @
Carrefour (Suntec),Carrefour [Plaza Singapura (P.S)],Cold Storage [Katong Plaza (K.P)]
Giant [Marine Parade (M.P)]
Giant [VivoCity (V.C)]
Sheng Siong [Ang Mo Kio[AMK)]
Sheng Siong [Katong (K)]
Shop ‘N Save [Clementi (C)] - $10.50
Shop ‘N Save [Geylang (G)]
Shop ‘N Save [Sin Ming (S.M)]

$11.00 @
Cold Storage [Centrepoint (C.P)]
Cold Storage [Parkway Parade (P.P)
Cold Storage Online
Marketplace [Paragon (P)] - $11.00

Media –Ya (Liang Court) - $11.90

NTUC Fairprice [Marine Parade (M.P)] - $ 17.80 (52 sheets)
NTUC Fairprice [Woodlands (W)] - $ 17.80 (52 sheets)

Cheapest: Carrefour S, Carrefour PS, Cold Storage KM, Giant MP, Giant VC, Sheng Siong AMK, Sheng Siong K, Shop ‘N Save C, Shop ‘N Save G, Shop ‘N Save SM. All at $10.50
Most expensive: Media- Ya, $11.90
Price difference between most expensive and cheapest: $1.40 per pack. Amounts to $168 a year!

Drypers (28s)
Carrefour (P.S) - $7.80
Cold Storage (C.C) – $8.20
Cold Storage (C.P) – $8.20
Cold Storage (P.P) - $8.20
Giant (P.P) - $7.85
Marketplace (P) – $8.20
Mustafa - $7.80
Media –Ya - $8.05
NTUC Fairprice (M.P) - $7.80
Shop ‘N Save(C) - $7.80
Shop ‘N Save(G) - $7.80
Shop ‘N Save(S.M) - $7.80
Sheng Siong (K) - $7.80

Cheapest: Carrefour PS, Mustafa, NTUC Fairprice, Shop ‘N Save C, Shop ‘N Save G, Shop ‘N Save SM, Sheng Siong K. All at $7.80
Most expensive: Cold Storage CC, Cold Storage CP, Cold Storage PP, Marketplace P. All at $8.20
Price difference between most expensive and cheapest: $.040 per pack. Amounts to $53 a year.

Huggies Ultra (24s)

Giant (P.P) - $9.07
Sheng Siong (K) - $9.50

Cheapest: Giant. Priced at $9.07
Most expensive: Sheng Siong (K). Priced at $9.50
Price difference between most expensive and cheapest: $0.43 per pack. Amounts to $62 a year

Huggies Dry Comfort (24s)

Carrefour(P.S) - $7.70
Cold Storage (C.P) – 8.15
Cold Storage (P.P) - $8.15
Cold Storage Online - $8.15
Giant - $6.90
Shop ‘N Save(S.M) - $7.75
Tierneys - $8.80

Cheapest: Giant. Priced at $6.90
Most expensive: Tierneys (K). Priced at $8.80
Price difference between most expensive and cheapest: $1.10 per pack. Amounts to $273.60 a year!

Pampers New Baby
Carrefour (P.S) - - $15.50 (36S)
Cold Storage (C.P) – $17.00 (36s)
Cold Storage (P.P) - $17.00 (36s)
Cold Storage (Siglap)- $16.50 (36s)
Cold Storage Online – $17.00 (36s)
Giant (P.P) - $17.95 (36s)
Marketplace (P) – $17.00 (36s)
Mustafa - $18.10 (36s)
NTUC Fairprice (M.P)- $ 15.50 (36s)
NTUC Fairprice Online - $15.50 (36s)
Shop ‘N Save (S.M) - $16.50 (36s)

Cheapest: Carrefour PS, NTUC Fairprice MP, NTUC Online. Priced at $15.50
Most expensive 36 Sheets: Mustafa. Priced at $18.10
Price difference between most expensive and cheapest 36 sheets: $2.60 per pack. Amounts to $280 a year!

Nepia
Media –Ya - $18.25 (60s)

Sealer (48s)
Giant (M.P) - $11.01
Giant (V.C) - $11.01

wahhhh WH

u in marketing line? heee.. i stick to drypers all the way for value and durability. it's small cutting is good for my boy too. jus tat the tape is indeed noisy, have to train my small motor skills to use it when bb asleep.

i spent some time researching diapers in the early days too. Come to a point now i just grab when i see promotion for drypers and mamy poko pants! lazy me!

<font face="Comic Sans Ms">Brought Baby Jed for his hearing test &amp; PD review today. Thank God he managed to pass the hearing test after several attempts. Tis lil bugger refuse to co-operate, whole test took almost 1hr.

PD said his growth is satisfactory. He now weighs 2.6kg &amp; 47cm long. Brought him back to NICU &amp; the nurses said Jed's so chubby *hee*, Mummy fed him well. I've nv felt so proud in my whole life tt Jed is on TBF. I mean I'm proud when I get +ve comments bout TBF-ing my 2 elder children but with Jed is a totally different feeling.

Jed will have to follow up with an eye specialist for check up. PD recommend Pauline Cheong @ Gleneagles. Any other baby here is with her? Or any other recommendation?

<font color="0000ff">Lilac</font>

Wow.. u mus be in cloud 9 now..2 gd news in a row. Lil Nate, God is so good &amp; faithful ya. 1 mth will be gone before u know it ya so start preparing for his arrival. Waiting to near more gd news from Nate ya.

<font color="aa00aa">zola</font>

I don't have a blog.. used to hv 1 for my gal but got lazy.. Mayb I should try to continue the blog again.

How's lil Joya doing @ home?

<font color="0000ff">WH</font>

Baby Jed *blush* *blush* cuz auntie praise him

Thanks.. I'm trying to learn how to let go but v difficult. I had to wake up to help clean Baby Jed. As DH forgot to add e Thick &amp; Easy powder to Jed's EBM. End up baby Jed vomit out half of his feed.

Thanks for your list.. I heard that diapers are cheaper @ CK too. Not sure how true.

<font color="aa00aa">xbliss</font>

Really hate tt tape but no choice as it's e only one tt fits Jed so far. Must train my small motor skill like you

Hi Lilac,

We are using Angelcare model AC301, current version in Singapore. Price S$299, Mothercare. Too sensitive and can pick up wrong signal especially when you have a fan around.

Hi WH,

Don't strain your eye. If not, can get cross eyes like our warrior. Ha Ha.

Hi Jenifur,

Danya on Multi-Vit &amp; Iron drop. Doc want us to pump up Danya's weight. They can actually ops on her as her weight already cross 2.5kg 1.5 weeks ago. When Doc perform the emergency ops on Danya in the earlier days, she was only 650gram during that time.

Xbliss,
ke keee. mi not in marketing lah, am in IT industry. just being KS in diapers price. .. tried drypers dont liked. coz the tape loh. my bb moved alot during chg so cant get the right position very time the 1st time so always need to tape &amp; re-tape several time to get it right &amp; comfortable for her. if used drypers, cant retape so many times...used mamy poko during 1st few mth. now switch to huggies ultra.. thinner coz my mom plc kinda warm.

Hi jenifur,
The diaper list is dated Mar, may not be updated as well. BTW, What is Thick &amp; Easy powder?

Hi David,
Yah. olreadi @_@.. coz not enuff sleep.
Doc give my girl Bonnisan (herb),
http://www.himalayahealthcare.com/products/bonnisan.htm

hope this is will increase her milk intake and help weight gain.
According to their research will only see results from 2-4weeks time.

Jenifur, glad to know that Jed passed his hearing test!! Good job, mummy, in feeding him =) By the way, are you bottle-feeding him or latching him on?

David, thanks for letting me know which model you are using. Could you elaborate more on the wrong signal due to the fan? Does it mean that when baby is not breathing, the alarm will not go off because the fan is causing movements?

Nate is currently 1.4kg. Doing well. Doctors planning to stop caffine on him. Hope he does not desat after that.... I am really looking forward to having him home with. A little concern too because don't know if I can cope. Plus HB will be away during the expected discharge date. So need to prepare all the things necessary now. Any advise on what else I need to get? I have prepared the usual stuff for a term baby but how about a premature one? Getting a baby monitor, a humidifier, what else?

Hi jenifur,
glad to know that Jed passed his hearing test!! Joya sleep,eat,sleep at home. Hope that Joya will passed her hearing test too.

Joya will have to follow up with an eye specialist for check up too on 21.08.2009. PD recommend Pauline Cheong @ Gleneagles. Would like to know recommendation too.

When is your Jed eye check up? Maybe I can see you there?

Hi lilac,
Sorry cant remember if Baby nate from KKH. Usually they have classes to prepare parents in bb home coming, you must learnt to bath bb before bring bb home, and CPR first aid course ...get the nurses to show u.

Some items i can think of:
1) BB thermometer
2) SCN tel number/ nurse &amp; doc tel
3) get extra pair of helping hands- mother, auntie sister, etc
4) Basic stuff: clothes, diaper, wet wipes, bottom cream, shower gel (both i bght the organic ones), cot, blanket, towel, green-bean pillow (made by my mom), pacifier, bott Sterilizer etc
5) any blank bk- i record my bb milk intake n sleeping habit(useful when doc visit)
6) car seat
7) small nite light
8) Some good baby books from newborn to age 2.
9) think of a good sleeping habit which u want to create n bb will follow. my baby know it nite time when we on her fav music, soft nite light, baby projector. then everynite in the order. we will sponge her, message then change, milk and sleep.

another book to recommend:
Secrets of the Baby Whisperer: How to Calm, Connect, and Communicate with Your Baby

http://www.amazon.com/Secrets-Baby-Whisperer-Connect-Communicate/dp/0345440900

I have scan some pages of the book, on how to decode baby cries etc. If you interest email me. too big too share here.

you are looking the baby yrself or taking to caregiver. if so, they may also need one set of what u used at home.

on the day of dischrg:
bring a set of clothes (pre-washed w/o bb detergent)
pacifier (just in case)
blanket
mitten &amp; socks, hat
Gee, didn’t know my list is so long… :p

WH n Mummies,

If you all interested in Sealer Pampers, i can get for you all cheaper but pick up from my place. Sealer and EQ are same company, Sealer is US sizing and manufactured premium style close to huggies etccc.. EQ more economical like drypers style. I am using sealer for day time. It is very soft and comfy nt like some pampers very stiff n plasticky type. I get cheaper cause i buy in cartons.

1 bag of sealer 48 pcs @ $9.80.

hi mummies &amp; daddy

here's our updated table:
adeline lee, have added in ur boy's name...i assume u r the adeline lee in the table, rite?
luana, have added in ur gal's name as well...

do let me know if i have missed out anyone...cos i scroll thru the posts here....

<table border=1><tr><td>Nick</TD><TD>Baby's Name</TD><TD>Baby's DOB</TD><TD>Gender</TD><TD>Birth Weight</TD><TD>Week</TD><TD>Length of Stay </TD></TR><TR><TD>kkf's mom</TD><TD>KKF</TD><TD>15-Nov-78</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>1000g+</TD><TD>27</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>chloegal</TD><TD>Edric</TD><TD>2-Jan-05</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>775g</TD><TD>25</TD><TD>NICU-3mths, SCN-1mth </TD></TR><TR><TD>mich</TD><TD>Dylan &amp; Evans</TD><TD>31-Jan-05</TD><TD>Boy&amp;Boy</TD><TD>600g&amp;720g</TD><TD>25</TD><TD>NICU&amp;SCN-3.5mths </TD></TR><TR><TD>precious_one</TD><TD>Angel</TD><TD>6-Feb-05</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>710g</TD><TD>24</TD><TD>NICU-5mths 28 days </TD></TR><TR><TD>yvonne (voncm)</TD><TD></TD><TD>24-Aug-05</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>1480g</TD><TD>29</TD><TD>NICU-8wks, SCN-3wks </TD></TR><TR><TD>kkf</TD><TD>Dash</TD><TD>15-Oct-05</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>1140g</TD><TD>27</TD><TD>NICU+SCN-2mths 3 days </TD></TR><TR><TD>adeline lee</TD><TD>Kayton Soh</TD><TD>16-Feb-06</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>815g</TD><TD>29</TD><TD>NICU-59days </TD></TR><TR><TD>disneymickey</TD><TD>Wen Shin</TD><TD>25-Feb-06</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>1450g</TD><TD>34</TD><TD>NICU-2.5wks, SCN-0.5wk </TD></TR><TR><TD>naddy (telly)</TD><TD></TD><TD>16-Mar-06</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>1136g</TD><TD>34</TD><TD>NICU-2wks, SCN-4wks </TD></TR><TR><TD>stressed</TD><TD></TD><TD>31-May-06</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>1890g</TD><TD>33</TD><TD>NICU-13days </TD></TR><TR><TD>costa</TD><TD>Bernard</TD><TD>22-Jun-06</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>750g</TD><TD>24</TD><TD>NICU-14wks, SCN-8wks </TD></TR><TR><TD>luana</TD><TD>Erica</TD><TD>18-Jul-06</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>1164g</TD><TD>27</TD><TD>NICU-27days, SCN-53days </TD></TR><TR><TD>cheaky</TD><TD></TD><TD>5-Aug-06</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>1900g</TD><TD>32</TD><TD>2wks </TD></TR><TR><TD>jane (neoah)</TD><TD>Toon Siang</TD><TD>12-Aug-06</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>985g</TD><TD>26</TD><TD>NICU-2mths, SCN-1mth </TD></TR><TR><TD>jacelyn tey</TD><TD>Terry &amp; Bryan</TD><TD>14-Aug-06</TD><TD>Boy&amp;Boy</TD><TD>1510g&amp;1190g</TD><TD>30</TD><TD>57 days </TD></TR><TR><TD>mummylian</TD><TD>Ezanne</TD><TD>7-Sep-06</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>1034g</TD><TD>27</TD><TD>NICU-38days SCN-20days </TD></TR><TR><TD>chloegal</TD><TD>Chloe</TD><TD>21-Sep-06</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>2000g</TD><TD>34</TD><TD>SCN- 5 days </TD></TR><TR><TD>puppyduppy</TD><TD></TD><TD>16-Oct-06</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>1140g</TD><TD>29</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>bloom</TD><TD>Kathleen</TD><TD>15-Nov-06</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>1810g</TD><TD>34</TD><TD>SCN-22days </TD></TR><TR><TD>nana</TD><TD>Ryan</TD><TD>13-Dec-06</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>2185g</TD><TD>33</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>myfab</TD><TD></TD><TD>14-Dec-06</TD><TD>Girl&amp;Girl</TD><TD>1118g &amp; 780g</TD><TD>29</TD><TD>3mths&amp;4mths </TD></TR><TR><TD>lindah</TD><TD>Hami</TD><TD>4-Feb-07</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>680g</TD><TD>24</TD><TD>5mths 18 days </TD></TR><TR><TD>didi</TD><TD>D&amp;D</TD><TD>18-Feb-07</TD><TD>Boy&amp;Boy</TD><TD>1520g &amp; 1610g</TD><TD>30</TD><TD>4.5wks&amp;9wks </TD></TR><TR><TD>RR (irin)</TD><TD>Reyden &amp; Reyes</TD><TD>2-Mar-07</TD><TD>Boy&amp; Girl</TD><TD>2420g &amp; 1950g</TD><TD>34</TD><TD>SCN-5days, 9days </TD></TR><TR><TD>amy</TD><TD></TD><TD>15-Apr-07</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>641g</TD><TD>27</TD><TD>80 days </TD></TR><TR><TD>lili</TD><TD></TD><TD>30-Apr-07</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>1400g</TD><TD>30</TD><TD>6 weeks </TD></TR><TR><TD>flora</TD><TD></TD><TD>18-May-07</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>2334g</TD><TD>33</TD><TD>SCN-2 weeks </TD></TR><TR><TD>daec</TD><TD>Nada</TD><TD>18-May-07</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>1015g</TD><TD>32</TD><TD>48days </TD></TR><TR><TD>picky</TD><TD></TD><TD>1-Aug-07</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>850g</TD><TD>26</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>tree ice</TD><TD>Craydon</TD><TD>3-Oct-07</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>1500g</TD><TD>34</TD><TD>SCN-21 days </TD></TR><TR><TD>jewel</TD><TD></TD><TD>9-Oct-07</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD></TD><TD>30</TD><TD>45 days </TD></TR><TR><TD>xbliss</TD><TD>Bryan</TD><TD>12-Oct-07</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>925g</TD><TD>27</TD><TD>NICU-1mth SCN-1mth </TD></TR><TR><TD>xiaowanzi</TD><TD></TD><TD>31-Oct-07</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>635g</TD><TD>26</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>cookiemz</TD><TD></TD><TD>14-Nov-07</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>2260g</TD><TD>33</TD><TD>SCN-8 days </TD></TR><TR><TD>fairylander</TD><TD>Catharina</TD><TD>15-Nov-07</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>1628g</TD><TD>36</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>strawberry</TD><TD>Jayvier Lim</TD><TD>16-Dec-07</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>1239g</TD><TD>27</TD><TD>NICU-52days </TD></TR><TR><TD>mimeole</TD><TD>Arvin</TD><TD>28-Dec-07</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>1520g</TD><TD>31</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>sweet_rose</TD><TD></TD><TD>8-Jan-08</TD><TD>Boy&amp;Boy</TD><TD>2100g &amp; 2100g</TD><TD>36</TD><TD>SCN-1 day </TD></TR><TR><TD>smiggleprincess</TD><TD>Kayden Liu</TD><TD>8-Apr-08</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>810g</TD><TD>24</TD><TD>NICU-4mths </TD></TR><TR><TD>shelllow</TD><TD>Paige</TD><TD>2-Jul-08</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>1180g</TD><TD>28</TD><TD>NICU-34days SCN-30days </TD></TR><TR><TD>yan(bless)</TD><TD>Yi Lin</TD><TD>12-Aug-08</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>812g</TD><TD>26</TD><TD>NICU-40days SCN-46days </TD></TR><TR><TD>bbgal</TD><TD>Zyon &amp; Kegan</TD><TD>21-Dec-08</TD><TD>Boy&amp;Boy</TD><TD>1055g &amp;1010g</TD><TD>26</TD><TD>NICU-48days SCN-17days </TD></TR><TR><TD>gingal</TD><TD>Jerlynn</TD><TD>1-Jan-09</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>1355g</TD><TD>29</TD><TD>NICU-6days SCN-5wks </TD></TR><TR><TD>kkf</TD><TD>Violet</TD><TD>19-Jan-09</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>2778g</TD><TD>34</TD><TD>SCN-5days </TD></TR><TR><TD>jas</TD><TD>Issac &amp; Xavier</TD><TD>23-Jan-09</TD><TD>Boy&amp;Boy</TD><TD>938g&amp; 650g</TD><TD>25</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>afcai</TD><TD>Hao Xuan</TD><TD>28-Jan-09</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>1720g</TD><TD>31</TD><TD>NICU-1day SCN-30days </TD></TR><TR><TD>david wong</TD><TD>Danya </TD><TD>26-Feb-09</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>590g</TD><TD>26</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>maykel</TD><TD>Channah &amp; Charlot</TD><TD>3-Mar-09</TD><TD>Girl&amp;Girl</TD><TD>1460g &amp;1000g</TD><TD>31</TD><TD>NICU/SCN-35days &amp; 48days </TD></TR><TR><TD>mummywannabe</TD><TD></TD><TD>1-May-09</TD><TD>Boy&amp;Boy&amp;Boy</TD><TD>970g&amp; 770g&amp; 770g</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>jenifur</TD><TD>Jedidiah</TD><TD>3-Jul-09</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>1510g</TD><TD>30</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>irenelovej</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>1600g</TD><TD>34</TD><TD>NICU-3wks </TD></TR><TR><TD>geraldine</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>Boy&amp;Girl</TD><TD>1500g &amp; 1700g</TD><TD>31</TD><TD>NICU-6wks </TD></TR><TR><TD>pinety</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>1300g</TD><TD>31</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

Thanks Sam for ur input for my sis's consideration...
She is still very frustrated over the matter, though she is a SAHM, esp. with her girl's PSLE coming soon...

She has always been a strict mum and taught her children well, and I have always praise her and see her as a model mum for myself to follow..really fed-up with that Indian Teacher on the way she related to the matter after the mistake...

Haizzzz, hope she pick herself up soon...

Hi lilac,

had email you the BB whisperer note. Have fun indecoing the bb cries.

Sigh!! very sad. my baby doesnt liked latching on. been trying since she was in hospt and after dischrg. it always a tug N war flight with her.... she will scream and the top of her lungs!! Even the nurse mgr who came and "help" me also advice me to take it easy with my BB... in the end she only get 4mths EBM via bottle nia.

Hi Sam,
thanks for the info. At the moment dont think will buy coz just got two big bags of mamy poko fm relative who bb no longer can fit. so trying to used them up 1st. by then BB may grow into another stage then will decide who size to buy again. but will keep your lobang handy.
thank u... 10Q.

WH, thanks for emailing me the information. Will take my time to read it. 4 mths of breast milk also good!! Well done. Just realized that our baby is born at around the same gestational week. Nate was a 28 weekers and weighs 1.035 kg.

Doctors did an eye review again today and found out that Nate has ROP Stage 1. A little disheartened... but the doctors did say that it is not a big cause for concenrs - just need to monitor. Nate is currently 1.5 kg. Hoping that he will gain weight really fast so that he can discharged soon. Hiaz, missed him so much.

Hi Mums,

Danya's update. Last Friday, 3 appt in a day. Dietician is happy with Danya's weight gain. Cross 3kg but her weight is still consider lower 3 percentile. Must work toward 50 percentile. Pediatric surgeon has no plans to close Danya's STOMA yet. Aiming for 4 kg. Ultrasound scanning done by Cardiac Doc, Danya still has a 3mm hole in her heart chamber, will close up by herself in a year time.

Hi Mums,

Danya STOMA ops is due to Malrotation (Twisted Intestine) which is very dangerous. I came across a web which this parents lost this beautiful girl after 8 months. There is no immediate symptom but malrotation does have tell tale sign. Please see below link.

http://www.malrotation.net/

Hi Sam,

Where can I find a sample of sealer diaper?

Hi Lilac,

Angelcare has a "TIC" function that pick up the breathing movement of our warriors. If the fan is blowing toward the direction of the baby cot, Angelcare will pick up the wrong signal because the wind will also create vibration. ROP - If our warrior never get ROP, than he/she is consider very special leh. Danya has ROP2 but regress by itself as she grow. Nate is now 1.5kg, well done, out from incubator already?? Jia Yu.

Hi Nana-Kuchi,

Please update Danya's stay in KKH.
NICU - 75 Days
Step Down Unit - 3 Days
SCN - 57 Days

Hi WH,

I didn't know your GG born in advance leh. Yr 2009. WOW. Latch - Well, Danya is too impatience so she never like latching. So my beautiful and hard working Diana has to pump out for her. Sometime I wish I can be a SAHD to take care of Danya full time so Diana can rest more.

hi all! long time never post!

see that all our warriors are doing well! good job!
my two warriors here:
(ha! let me show off a bit!)
2826486.jpg
2826487.jpg

sorry a bit lost threads whose babies are still in hospital, anyway, may they do well and be home very soon!!!

Hospital say might discharge Josiah with oxygen support... sighs.. nightmare... well..please advise me on whats the cost i have to spend on home oxygen equimt n what are the items i need. i prefer rental, not buy la cause cannot afford to buy.

Updates..

1. Mattias (No.1)
a) 90ml - 120ml per 2.5 hourly
b) Multi-vit + Ferrum for supplements.
c) CA 19 days/4kg/51cm

2. Jeriel (No.3)
a) 120ml per 2 hourly
b) Multi-Vit + Ferrum for supplements.
c) CA 19 days/3.2kg/47cm

David, Nate just came out of the incubator yesterday =) can finally carry him as and when I like. Can see that you are a very loving husband.... so sweet towards Diana. I guess the whole incident have made all parties treasure each other more.

Sam, Mattias and Jeriel quite good weight! They must be quite chubby now? Sorry to hear about Josiah having to discharge with oxygen. Press on, ya? Hospital did say 'may', right? So maybe no need?

kkf, your two warriors are so cute? Studio shots, is it?

KKF,

U got the pics from the photoshoot liao ah?
I saw u also booked the session from albert...so nice leh ur pics... keke, i'm still waiting for Jerlynn's to be out..hope just as good!!! The photo session was a diaster, she was perspiring and cranky despite the 2 aircons on, but I "bio" the previews on the camera, like though she is difficult to handle, the pics also like not bad...

WOW!!! Violet is sitting by herself unsupported with 2 free hands? She is also CA 5 mths just like Jerlynn? My lil' girl still need to support with her hands if not she will topple over...

David,

Jiayou! I'm sure Danya will be ok...She should hit 4kg soon to close her STOMA, very fast de...
So fast, Danya went for her Cardiac appt liao? Jerlynn is already almost 8 mths old and they like no wish to see her yet, keep postponing her appt...she also has a tiny PDA not close yet before she was discharged...

Re: ROP
U mean all Premmies should have certain extents of ROP?

Sam,

Mattias and Jeriel good appetite wor, can drink alot...keke

Re: Angelcare Monitor

Hmmm, for my model I don't have such problems, cos everytime I lifted her up from her cot, despite having the fan on or near her Cot, the alarm will go off too...but it does pick up the sounds of the Fan and the "Woooh woooh" sounds abit irritating sometimes....

Sam, it is just temporary that josiah needs oxygen home, you can ask precious one for more advises i think. But I really do think your 3 sons are great warriors!!!wow, 3 sons!!!

lilac, yup photoshoot. you can bring nate for photoshoot when he is back! dun worry about rop, yah, all premiees have that.

gingal, you also brought jerlynn for photoshoot? same leh, violet was soooooooo cranky and crying and crying throughout. haha. so you see, albert took photos of my boy too cause my girl was most of the time crying. haha. didn't manage to catch both my boy and girl together cause violet was too cranky.

dun worry about the hole in heart, gingal, not serious, so they keep postphoning, the hole will close up by itself.

Violet is also seeing cardio, and she saw them when she was 3 months too, cause her brother got history of hole in heart, so she needed to see just to make sure she doesn't have. she also has small holes seen from the scan, but no serious one, think will close up by themselves.

violet is 7 months old exactly, and is born 34 weeks. yah, she can sit without support now, but sometimes will topple over, esp when she is crying and cranky. She can crawl backwards too, but still learning to crawl forward with buttoks up.

david, danya will put on weight soon!!jiayou!

kkf,

i brought her for her shoot on National Day...dunno why they so cranky there hor? Jerlynn's 1st half was still ok, she still enjoy it, until we start changing her clothes, she feels so pek chek, and i kinda think she dun like the music played...haha, cos i dun like also, makes me sleepy, like u know when we go spa??? so when she is sleepy but we still stimulate her with changing clothes and taking poses, she gets real cranky...

so cute, crawling backwards...soon she can crawl forward liao...

abt the PDA, hope so that it's closed...doctor also say as long as putting on weight and growing fine, shld be ok.

ROP - Hmmmm nvr hear them mentioned abt jerlynn having ROP, will it be detected later stage? meaning now dun have but lateron will?

Just needed to rant here... or rather seek comfort. Visited Nate today and he seems to be doing fine. They are planning to increase his milk feeds and to every 3 hourly. Then the nurse asked me to wait for a while cos she want the doctor to talk to me. Immediately, I know that it is certainly not good news. And true enough, the doctor told me that Nate has hernia and will need to be operated on when he reaches the weight of 1.8kg. My heart just sank and I wanted to cry there and then but did not. The whole day went by without me thinking about Nate having to go for operation. The doctor did assure me that it is a minor operation and he should do well. But it just pains me to know that Nate, at such a young age has to go for an operation. I know it is no big deal but feel so hurt....Already, he has been through much poking, blood tests and so many other procedures. He probably will not remember. But I feel so painful for him... thinking about it just makes me cry even as I type this.

I just hope that Nate does not have any more issues coming up. What's with the ROP and hernia. How I wish I can go through the operation for him... sigh.

Hi Gingal,

Most of our warriors will have a certain degree of ROP. Once our warriors are out from mummies womb, due to survivor instinct, their brain will shut off most of the organs development and focus on sustaining the brain development. Once our warriors are put on ventilator or CPAP, there are a sudden influx of O2. It is very much like jumping start a stall engine. The vein behind the retina start to grow again but at a very fuzzy and wild pattern. If the fuzzy pattern reach ROP stage 4, the retina is about to be detached from the eye. ROP stage 5, blind. Steve Wonder is a preemie and during his time, DOC is not aware of this issue thus he is blind due to ROP. Nowadays, DOC will monitor the ROP development and it will never get pass stage 3. If they does worsen, laser surgery will stop the abnormal growth of the vein.

Hi Lilac,

Think on the positive note. Hernia is also very common. Is just a sewing up of the abdominal wall muscle. Some of our warriors here also went through the same ops. Very safe.

Remember, never bring your saddness when you are with Nate. He will feel you. Cheer Up, Stay Focus, Fight Strong, Fight Hard. Jia You.

Thanks David.... it is always an encouragement to see you post here. I am trying my very best to hold back my tears when I carried Nate today. I know hernia is very common and have heard that boys are more prone to hernia and plus he is premature. It is assuring to know that the ops is very safe. I really need to stay focus. Thanks.

hi lilac,
my boy had hernia op too. he came back for surgery 2 months after his discharge as the condition occurred after his discharge. We stayed 3 days in high dependency ward as he was still small in size then. The surgery went successfully, nowadays you can almost miss the scar if you don't look closely. Of cos for first time parents who experience such situations is very heartbreaking. after i handed him over to the surgeon, i ran to the toilet to cry. sigh sigh.. looking back, that was such a significant even, but today we think nothing of it anymore.
take heart.

Hi David,

thanks for explaining, yup, i know abt ROP but was just thinking that i rembr doctor saying J is not affected...but she also mentioned that just like her hearing etc, now it's normal but lateron stages we will not know... Hmmmm...so I was just thinking abt the possibilities of being detected later stage...

she sure is lucky for the moment cos maybe becos she was put on CPAP only for 6 days despite borned on the 29th week...i sure have to give my gynae his credits again for his prompt actions in giving me enough doses of "steriod jabs" for her lungs development and to forcefully admit me in hospital for strict bedrest...

i will check with doctor again to see how high are the chances of the ROP occuring at later stage in life...

lilac,

Stay strong, as what david has said, many of our warriors here also went through hernia...if it is for the better of Nate, just bite teeth with him and go through it with him...i'm sure he will grow up faster and healthier soon after the op! can't wait to hear good news of Nate soon, u won;t know, soon u will be bringing him home and posting "growing up" pics here to share with us..will be waiting with u!!!

lilac, dun worry, hernia is really a very minor operation. most of our warriors here went thru the operations before, my boy too! yes, it was very heart pain to see them suffering. My boy had went thru major surgery before (heart surgery to patch up hole), that one was really worrying cause he even needed to stay in children ICU for a week. I was sooooooooooo heart pain that time.
But everything will be over, our warriors will brave thru all these!