PCOS patient and trying to conceive, pls share experience here.

Hi Kikiyo and Tweetie

Another highly recommended physician is Dr. Chen Qiu Mei (hanyu pinyin) at Tong Chai Hospital (Tong Ji Yi Yuan). She has been specialising in infertiliy for 20+ yrs and she has many many patients. Be prepared to wait. ;-)

We went to see her in Nov 06 and we hv just conceived... keeping fingers and toes crossed that all will go well. I have tried other TCM before and I think she is the most experienced by far. Do give it a shot. Gd luck!

Hi Kikiyo,

My AF juz came on Sat after eating the inducing medication for one week...now waiting for it to clear to start TTC...but decided that will not be doing any charting / OPK for this cycle..taking a break..

Yeah, am looking around for good TCM..havent decided who to see yet as I am rather scared of taking TCM one..am looking at Yu Ren Sen as I heard their TCM no need to brew one..any recomm here for doc at TCM?

dawn,
yeah.. cos in the morning we just take kieran out in his PJs mah.. hehe.. he no need to brush teeth or change clothes, so it is a pick up and go thing.. heh.. then must always pack things properly at night so in the morning just take and go.

ah_kat, have heard about Dr. Xia Rong from Paragon Yu Ren Sheng. she quite famous in fertility area but is from china, oni comes to singapore for about 5 days every month.

ruggles....that is cute...haha machiam he like an object, just take and go!
school starting to get hectic hor?

hi ah_kat, when i was considering TCM, my colleagues recommended Dr He Qiu Lian from Chinatown Yu Ren Shang. but i never went to see her so not sure if she's good or not.

hey all
havent post for quite a while. Im due on 9-10Mar, but Im hoping to deliver anytime after CNY, as long as she is healthy and around 3kg. Im hoping time to fly faster..hehe.

Hey ruggles,
i saw Keiran's photo in Babysupplies...hehe..i can recognise his face, so handsome. I hope my girl can be like him, guai guai, dun throw tantrums.

Hey girls,
if you want to consider TCM, can approach medical hall and take some bu. For my case, i took Paosheng and I happened to conceive after tat. what exactly helped me is still a mystery, cos I ovulated super late and was about to induce mense to start a new cycle.

heehee.. thewife,
now he very good at throwing tantrums liao.. he will whine and cry when nobody plays with him or when he dowan to sit in the car seat..

hi ladies, was gg to post but couldn't find the thread.. brain dead already.. haha

Baby Bethany arrived via emergency c-sect last Saturday.. so she's a Jan babe, just like her big brother. Was quite frightening at the speed I was wheeled into the OT.. from a normal CTG, turned into a mere 2 hr wait for the c-sect. Got pd on standby in the OT even.. 'cos baby's heart wasn't doing too well... I was in labour and didn't really realise (thought it was tummyache!). Well, turns out I was 2 cm and dilating further plus the contractions were giving baby distress. Anyway, c-sect is horrible.. I'm lurching like Frankenstein but getting better by the day. Baby Bethany is tiny tiny tiny. Trying to fatten her up but she's a real sleepyhead at times

Here's her photo as requested... she looks nothing like Timo!
675913.jpg

hey catz,
congrats!! yeah, went backwards to look at that photo of Tim that you posted. hehe.. dun look like. but she's really pretty. a bit ang moh looking? pretty!

hey ruggles, thanks
Yah she's a bit angmo looking, thanks to hubby's unusual looks I guess. Timo is still avoiding her.. everything she does elicits 'eeyur' and 'goodness' from him.

catz,
hehe.. maybe it's the now-i-have-to-share-mummy thingy.. my nephew was like that (actually he still is lah). Now he will be jealous of his sis but still will not let anyone take her away. have to slowly teach him to be a big caring brother lor.. he will learn to love her once he realises that his little sis looks up to him and he has someone to 'boss' around.

eww.. csect huh...? urgh.. rest well yah..

haven't posted here in awhile..

catz - congrats on ur princess!! very pretty.. c-sect really so tough ah? my gynae has been hinting for my to be prepared for a c-sect as my pelvic bone may be too small.. scared

catz - congrats!!! i haven't seen many babies with double eyelids once they are born! really pretty girl! =)

ruggles, yah lor, sian man.. c-sect SUCKS. makes it all the worse to deal with a jealous toddler too 'cos i'm forbidden to carry him for a month. he's so frustrated, as am i when i see how upset he is. he's not being a spoiled brat.. it's just that he feels his whole world has gone topsy turvy.. so poor thing

jam, caitlyn, qingqing, thanks for all the compliments
she looks different everyday though. when she was put on my chest in the OT, I was thinking alamak.. so pai kua..teehee..

caitlyn, I pray that you don't hv to hv a c-sect unless absolutely necessary!!! just saw my wound today.. wah lau, so disgusting.

OK gotta go and wake my sleepy princess up if not my boobs will burst.

caitlyn, I really hope

hey catz,
guess what! i bot the same attire for my girl too! so sweet rite! if there is a chance, take photo of both timo and her together,wana see!

thewife, yeah I like Fox stuff but not their strappy slutwear for girls
Timo doesn't wanna go near her.. su sah lah.

Catz, she indeed has the Eurasian look...looks like she going to be sweet and gentle beauty when she grows up! It must be difficult handling both Tim and ur princess together! hope that he will grow to love his little sister!

catz - wah.. u really scaring me!!! e possibility i c-sect is quite high at e moment.. sighz.. think ur timo is gg thru a phase.. am sure he'll grow to luff his mei mei..

dawn, thanks
Hmm.. think she really gets the mixed blood look from my husband, which scares me slightly 'cos my MIL is super ugly :p Timo is getting better slowly but he's still keeping a big distance from his little sister.

caitlyn, don't panic lah.. emergency c-sect more kan cheong.. plus mine was a preemie so that's why so drama. yours won't be so bad lah.. will keep my fingers crossed tt you can go natural okie?

picture of my 2 terrors.. hv to resize.. will post when can

I am new to this tread. I had a lap in mar 06 for endo, then took a jab to prevent endo from coming back. so was in menopausal state for 4 months. Menses came in july and we've been ttc-ing since then. recently went to see gynae and he said i may have pcos so he put me on medication to induce ovulation.

Siew Lei,
I read from the thread that you went to see dr charles lim. I went to see him last sat. Can you share about your experiences with him? He told me to take clomid and gave me 2 injections to help me with the cervical mucus.

Hi tub,

I shared the same experience with you.. when on lap in apr'06 for endo.. and took 3 jap to prevent endo from coming back. Mense only came in Nov'06.. but since then, i tried to gauge by O timing using test strips.

For the past few months, i do not have positive readings. Does that means I have PCOS? what are the symptoms of PCOS, beside not ovulating?

I am trying for my 2nd one.. do not have problem with my 1st one.. not sure what happen this time round?? since.. getting stress as i do not wan too big a gap.

Hi Yin,
I just started testing for O using test strips. Today is my second day of testing. Still no positive result... the test line is still not darker than the control line. (i hope i'm reading it right though... or else i would be missing the right time ;p)

u may want to see a fertility specialist regarding your condition. i think they may be able to detect pcos via scanning. http://www.ovarian-cysts-pcos.com/pcos.html

Yin, not ovulating doesn't necessarily mean PCOS but it is one of the signs of PCOS.. maybe check with your gynae?

qingqing, think the link that tub posted is very helpful. Generally speaking, PCOS-ers have weight problems, are hairy, don't menstruate regularly but PCOS can only be verified by scanning and blood test.

I was diagnosed of PCOS and doc prescribed metformin for 2 mths. So after taking for 1 mth plus, found out tat i'm 6 wks pregnant.

Some pple were saying tat pregnant women with PCOS tends to have a higher chance of miscarriage. Izzit true? And anyone of u still continue taking metformin throughout the 1st trimester?

I have been quite troubled of this matter. So can anyone of u try to help mi on my queries as I'm a 1st time MTB and is very happy over my pregnancy after trying since beginning of 2004. Thx!

Hi Patrina, yes it is true that PCOS-ers have higher rate of m/c but don't let this get you down. Anyway, your doctor should be able to advise you if you need to take Duphaston to stabilise the pregnancy and whether or not to continue on the metformin.. so quickly go and see your doctor!

i just went for a check up today. sigh.. yes.. i hv PCOS.. doc prescribe me 100mg clomid..

Btw, anyone took both clomid and chinese herbs? i am currently taking the bai foong wan from EYS.. any problem taking both?

Thx Catz. As currently i'm in Phillipines and has been seeing a Phils gynae. But she never say anything leh and told mi i can stop taking the metformin after my 2nd app with her, tat is a few days ago after scanning bb.

She prescribe folic acid and multi vitamins for mi to take daily.

Will be coming Spore for CNY. So probably will get a gynae to follow up as i'm going to give birth in Spore.

So any good gynae to recommend mi for our this kind of special case pregnancy?

hey yin,

i was actually on tcm until i went to see dr charles lim. he's not supportive of tcm cos he's not sure if it really augments the situation or will the medicine clash. but i guess no harm la... just let a tcm "da mai" and see what the diagnosis is. Most probably they'll say "shen xu". i know endo patients shouldn't take bai fonng wan... but i'm not too sure about pcos though. u may want to check with tcm.

Yin, i have checked with my gynae who says that PCOS patients shouldn't take baifengwan......so better not take.

patrina, metformin can still continue to take during pregnancy....read that it will help.

ya..think i will continue to take metformin for the time being until i get a gynae to follow up in Spore. Thx dawn

oh.. wah.. i din know abt that.. plus i am an endo patients..

my gynae was also not supportive of TCM in general.. so that y i din check with him.. :p

guess i will stop and see how it goes..

CONGRATULATION catz and your girl is really pretty.

Sorry for MIA for quite sometimes again, work is really heavy loaded and recently rather stress out, burst into tears for few times. I only get better this week.

The past few week after I have started work, my MIL comes during week days to help to look after my baby girl. I very scare she cannot handle so I usually try to rush back quickly. I stress out too when my MIL keeps complaining that my girl for being difficult and keep comparing my girl with her another granddaughter. The worst thing is she never appreciate that I try my best of giving full breastmilk to my baby girl and trying to pump out during office hour like 3 hour interval even I'm so busy. She complain that my breastmilk is not filling for my girl and want me to supplement with formula.

U know my girl weight at 5.3kg at 10wk and her doctor is saying she has a very good weight and want me to continue to give her total breastmilk. When she say that I burst into tear. Now my parent is helping to take care of my baby girl and I'm staying at my mum place during weekday so at night I can breastfeed her. I still meet my husband everyday to go to work. My parent dote my girl very much just that my mum is not in good health, really scare it will be too tiring of her to look after my little active and naughty girl. REally hope thing will get better soon

Hi Siew Lei.. thanks.. aiyoh, you sound so stressed out. Pretend to be deaf to your MIL's comments lah.. she really doesn't know any better. Your baby's weight gain is VERY GOOD!! If the doctor is happy, why should your MIL say anything negative? Hope your mum's health remains good. How about buying some tonics to 'bu' your mother? Glad that your parents can help out so that you're not so stressed by your MIL. Take care yah?

hi siew lei,
not sure if you saw my previous mail. any comments on dr charles mp lim? i've just started my consultation with him. he suggested clomid and giving me 2 jabs to improve my cervical mucus. Any advise?

Hi Catz,
Thanks I feel much better now. Ya I always buy tonic for my mum
You must take lot of tonic now okay

Hi tub,
Dr Charles is a nice doctor and he is always keen to help. I'm one of his successful client. He first give me metformin for my PCOS problem. I want to try naturally at first for taking combination of metformin and clomid but I fail 2 cycle so at the end I decided that I go for IUI and that cycle he gave me metformin, clomid and 3 injections then IUI and I conceived

He is a nice doctor and very patience on your query. You can trust him

siew lei,

what injections did u get before conceiving?
puregon?
where was it injected?

sorry i'm inquisitive.

Thanks Siew Lei,

That's really good to hear! I hope I can be successful like U! You've certainly given me a lot of hope!

Hi Cody,
Is okay

My injection is call Gonal F, the injection is at the tummy. This is to increase the follicle size to like 20mm so it can ovulate. It depends of individual how you response to the injection. That time Dr charles told me that if 3 injections also not responding then will need more luckily it response.

Hi Tub,
I also believe in staying healthy and eating balance diet during the preparation period.

I do exercise like attending yoga and pilates classes or swimming and eat food like brown rice and lot of green leafy vegetable and also taking some multivitamins which contain folic acid. I read an article that folic acid should be taken before you are pregnant. I also take chinese herb but be careful don't anyhow take must consult chinese physician on this.

Your partner should stay healthy too
Good Luck.

hi siew lei,
sounds like they were puregon jabs, was it painful?
i have 2 options now - to take puregon jabs or just stop all medication for awhile.

Thanks Siew Lei!

Hi Cody,
Yes a bit painful actually depend who jab it for you cos I don't dare to jab it myself. I call clinic doctor to do it for me.

I PM you my email address liao

oops siew lei, can you sms your email address to me instead? 97479289.

cos i have no access to my personal email from office. tks!