PCOS patient and trying to conceive, pls share experience here.

Hi Ah Kat,

Hugs!
kao_love.gif

Dun be too upset. I know how it feels coz I was like tat last week also but today feel little better. If u stress yrself, v hard to get preggy also.

Yeah, y dun u c yr gynae and at least find out whats wrong. For me, now starting 2nd cycle of Clomid and nvr pin high hopes, still tinkg of gg states with hubby during March. If really bingo this cycle, then cant go liao.

Tweetie, so yr AF reported liao?? Neber so look forward to AF before, but looks like it decided to MIA cause until today also no sight.

On top of that, super unhappy at work nowadays..really sucks...looking forward to weekend then next Monday to see gynae.

ah Kat

Hi ah kat,

My AF reported and had v bad menstrual cramp n nausea symptoms but flow not a lot. Dr gave me 2 days MC for that. I nvr had such bad cramps in my life at all, so no choice, gotta go GP to get painkillers. It might not be a gd sign and I m extremely tired this time round and body bloat up again esp my tummy n face n breast. Hope it will subside soon, else i wud tot that i put on weight but no app to eat for past 1 wk, oso dunno hw the weight went on also.

Gynae prescribe me the same dose 50mg 2X a day. He say try for another round, mayb body needs time to adjust to it. If no work, then increase to 50mg 3X a day.

Yes, it really sucks and I m super unhappy and depressed as well. N nw like u, i juz look fwd to the weekend where i can juz stay hm n hv a gd rest!

hey siew lei
so fast going back to work already? u mean your 3months maternity leave is over? time really flies! your little ning xuan is really cute, first few mths are usually very tedious according to most friends, so jia you!
catz u must be counting down soon
hey tweetie and ah kat
dun be disheartened, i was in your shoes months back and strike unexpectedly. was planning for a trip to r&r and it happened b4 i booked the trip!
hey ruggles
how's little keiran doing? im starting to feel a bit worried wats waiting ahead of me...

Hi Tweetie,

Hope u feeling better now..I am worst as AF not here yet...it's driving me crazy as already abt 60 days!!!
For me, I didnt even get breast pain but some bloatness...no mood for anything and had been in a bad mood.
No choice but have to wait till Mon to see gynae for a scan...

Btw, my clomid dosage quite low comparing to u. 50mg 1X a day only leh..strange...

ah_kat

Hi thewife,
Kieran is a very good boy. Except for the "must-have-somebody-with-him-all-the-time" syndrome. Dunno if it is a passing phase or because he is taken care of by grandparents who NEVER leave him alone at any point in the day. He cries/whines the moment we stand up and try to walk away. He is happy even if we are just sitting in front of him and not even playing with him.. urgh..
He still doesn't sleep through the night. Still wakes up every 3-4hrs for some suckling. Tried the crying thing but he cried for 1.5hrs!!! so i guess it was easier to just let him suckle and then go back to sleep.. haha.. but i'm still very thankful as Kieran has been an easy baby to take care of so far.

thewife, yeah countdown but hoping that my new place will be ready before baby arrives :p not really prepared for baby - have done some laundry and stuff but nowhere as prepared as with Timothy. Haha
Terrible hor?

ruggles, oh I think K's totally normal lah. But MUST get him used to playing by himself if not you will die man... Sleep training not gg too well huh? 1.5hrs is kinda long but that's what Timo did too.

Hi thewife,

Yeah, now looking fwd to the new cycle. If this round dun work, then i'll prob go states with hubbuy for a hols in March.

Ah Kat,

Better go and c wat gynae says. Yest, my TCM recommended me to go for a detailed scan with Dr Fong Chuan Wee. I m hesitant whether to go or not coz the idea of changing gynae has been lingering my mind for sometime as I felt that my gynae is not specialised in infertility. Any suggestion?

Hi tweetie,

Went to see gynae yesterday and did a scan - shown only slight thickening of wall - hence not likely AF will report so soon. Doc told me to induce and try again next cycle by increase the clomid & metaformin dosage to maximum - and do charting / testing w OPK faithfully from day 12.
If still no ovaluation by then - can conclude clomid not working for me..

Am so lost and unhappy now. Hubby away and no one to discuss..what shld I do?? This will be my last round of clomid & really worried that if it does not work then my options will be limited.
Any sharing here?

by the way, tink u better see a gynae for detailed scan as tink it is impt to know what is happening inside u. Maybe u can use both TCM and western doc??

ah_kat

ah_kat

hi ladies - sorry, have been kind of busy, trying to get some baby stuffs too before he arrives in May. so haven't been logging on here.

ah_kat - don't give up. there're still other options. i was also told in the first month that clomid didn't work for me, at that time, the gynae advised me to go for Ovarian Drilling (you can consider it a minor key-hole surgery). I wasn't too keen on that, so did some research on other alternatives. I almost went to a TCM physician (which the internet shows quite a good record of dealing with PCOS), but decided to get a second opinion from another gynae first.

I totally understand how you feel, my hubby was away as well at the time when I was first diagnosed with PCOS and I felt really helpless as well. But don't give up and don't feel discouraged ok? *hugs*

Hi Ah Kat,

Dont be upset coz right nw, u hv another coming battle ahead of you. So gotta be strong and get prepared for that. Yeah, tink u got no other alternative now and to try by inducing AF and increase Clomid. Being 2 stress will not be good also. U got gd friends to confide in? Sometimes, it really helps to go out for walks n hv a drink with friends. Btw, who is yr gynae?

Yeah, I m gg to seek 2nd opinion but dunno to go to Dr Fong Chuan Wee (which my sinseh rec) or go to Dr Fong Yang coz he seems so popular among those hvg prob TTCing.

I m in confused state of mind who to see also coz i tot of seeing Dr Fong Yang who specialise in infertility which I tink is wat i need but I hvn heard of Dr Fong Chuan Wee, so no idea who is he also. So now scatching head who to go to?

hey catz,
when's the baby coming? got a name yet?
Wow, it's really fast, all you gals are going to give birth soon.. !!!!! make sure all of you post pictures!

Hi Jam - doc also suggested Ovarian Drilling if this last round of clomid is not working. So in the end how did u conceive?

I think I will go ahead to induce menses since scan already shown that chances of AF coming on its own will be long long time later. But really not sure abt taking the increased dosage of clomid as this will be my last round if I go ahead.

Hi Tweetie: Why not try the infertility one? Since this is what u need? A famous one might not be what u need ultimately.

Hey ruggles, baby's EDD is 18th Feb, right smack on CNY
Hope she stays in for longer 'cos 1) she's too small and 2) I wanna move into my new place first! Hahaha..

Hi Ah Kat,

Hmm... after some discussion with HB, decided to go c Dr FCW instead since its recommended by sinseh. Let's c if they can combine their mtds and treat me. I tot of at least giving it a try, if it doesn't work out, I still can change gynae.

hi ah_kat - in the end, i went to another gynae whom I know from the internet has done ovarian drilling before to get a 2nd opinion. surprisingly, he advised me to try clomid for 6 months first and consider drilling again only if don't succeed. in the end, i conceived with my 2nd round of clomid (actually, he was quite sure clomid didn't work for me in the 2nd month as well and wanted to increase my dosage for 3rd month, but God just gave us a miracle!).

tweetie - not sure if I remember correctly. but Dr FCW is the one who works with the TCM sinseh closely to combine western and TCM together. another gal on this thread used to visit Dr Fong Yang I think but she managed to conceive naturally in the end.

I'm also a PCOS patient. Did anyone know that any chinese medicine can treat or help PCOS problem?

I'm currently taking metformin 2 tables 3 times a day. Did anyone here also take same dosage as me?

hey ruggles
so do u still get enough sleep at nite? how's coping with work? lucky you, hope my bb will be good girl too.
hey catz
its natural that we'll not be so ganjiong when it comes to 2nd one.
ya tweetie
go ahead and plan for your us trip, u never know wats gonna happen there
in the meanwhile eat more bu, if you are the skinny type.

Hi jam,
So lucky you!How envy!
I am sure clomid did not work for me as I had taken 2 cycles liao and still no AF after 60 over days. I am praying for my 3rd cycle to work...but for now, am inducing my AF 1st before I can start cycle 3 clomid ( as it will be my last cycle with increase to max dosage).
sigh...

hi kikiyo - I am on metaformin since my miscarriage, doc just increase the dosage from 1/2 tablet to 1 tablet 3X a day. Do u happened to know what is the max dosage to take?

ah_kat

thewife,
where got sleep?? aiyo... i think i will NEVER get enough sleep for the next 5 yrs at least arh!! haha.. kieran still wakes up 1-2x every single night. when it is good, he will just suckle and go back to sleep, once in a while he will wake up and want to play.. argh!! plus now he can creep le, so he will come to us even when we dowan to play with him!

work is fine. just that it's like quite crazy to be pumping at breaks and all that. I think it was a little too hectic so i couldnt get any letdown last week. so now i dun pump so much in school anymore. but i will rush home to feed him whenever i can.

so how are you? due when?

Hi thewife,

How r u? Yeah, due when?

Tats wat my HB says and keeps persuading me to go,but still hvn given him a firm answer. I tink I m concerned abt the future cost if I hv to go IVF, so still pondering.... Mayb i will juz go lor.

Kikiyo, u interested to c TCM, I can PM u the contact. She is in hougang one.

Ah Kat, so is yr hubby back? Better wait for him and plan the schedule where he is ard, else will miss the window again. Btw, I gg to Dr FCW later, so c wat he knows. Intend not to tell him anything, let him do his own diagnosis.

Ruggles, how old is yr boy now? Seems so fast lei!

Hi Ah Kat,

You take 3 table per day ah...then better then me loh...I heard from my gynae the max is 8 tables per day.So I think my PCOS problem very serious lor...

Hi Tweetie,

You mean TCM can treat PCOS problem ? They understand wat is PCOS ? Do i need to tell the TCM tat i got PCOS problem ? Please PM me the TCm infor can ? Thanks.

hi ah_kat, dun worry, i'm sure a miracle will happen to you too! just like it has happened to so many of us on this forum.

kikiyo, when I was deciding on whether to go for TCM, i did a bit of research on the internet. PCOS is a recognised problem in TCM. and i think a few of the ladies on this forum (including the new mummy siew lei) managed to conceive thru TCM.

Hi Tweetie,

no hubby still not back yet...but I started on my inducing AF pill liao - tink will hold the last round of clomid for the moment - too stress liao.

So, can anyone give me some recomm on TCM? Alternative, can I just walk into Tong Ji or Yu Ren Seng to ask for one doc?

Hi Jam,

Thanks for your infor.Can i ask you a question,can we take western medicine like metformin togerther wif chinese medicine? You also see TCM now ?

Hi kikiyo, ah kat,

I believe TCM helps to tiao the body and yes, my sinseh said can eat both western n chinese med but hv to hv an interval of at least 5 hrs. My sinseh believe chances will be much higher when treatment is combined. But sad to say, I hvn suceeded at all.

The TCM I am seeing is rec by Siew Lei and I tink she is a living e.g. of combined treatment lor.

Sinseh address is:-
Physician Tan S L
Teck Chua Medical Hall
Blk 322, Hougang Ave 5, #01-84, Spore 530322
Tel: 6281 0373
Opening Hr: tue n thur (6 - 9), sat (2-5)

For me, I just went to a new gynae rec by my sinseh and starting Metformin today and he doesnt want me to continue clomid for 3 cycle lei, dunno y. This new gynae say to try Metformin alone to c if it works or not. If not, then leave the excess 3 cycles for SO IUI.

Sigh, sometimes as the journey gets tougher, it becomes v depressing.

Another qn to ask: Hv anyone of u out there actually told yr in laws abt this problem? I tink i m v stressed abt keeping it so secret and my HB doesnt know how to tell his father abt it. He feels telling oso no use, coz they cant help. But I feel at least, they can stop hinting coz its not we dun want or rather can't hv.

Hi ruggles,

Tats fast!

I also have PCOS and tried several rounds of clomid but didn't help me. Doctor increased dosage each time till he finally decided to stop it cos i got the bad symptons of having headache, bad temper, etc.

Maybe you all can consider him. His name is Dr Foong - Tel: 6479 7267 and his website is http://www.ogpartners.com/lcfoong_writeup.htm
-it's good to read up on the doctor before you go

Hi Tweetie,

Thanks a lot for your infor.

May i know that how long you have been seeing TCM ? How is the treatment? They will give the medicine to eat ha ? How is the charges hah ?

During your TCM you din take metformin meh ? So this is the first time you taking metformin ?

Hi kikiyo, I didn't see a TCM physician in the end.

Hi Tweetie, I can understand how you feel. And i felt like bursting into tears everytime someone asked my turn would be. I didn't tell my in-laws, in case they started asking the whole world about how to cure the problem. But I did tell some of my colleagues that I have hormonal imbalance and need to "tiao" or regulate my body first. Think that helped to shut their mouths for the time being...

Any PCOS mummies here having your monthly cycle normal after giving birth. Or are things still as bad as before.

Can share your after birth condition for PCOS moms

Hi Tweetie,

Thanks for the contact, will discuss with Hubby when he is back tomorrow!! Finally!
Normally doc will asked u to try metaformin before giving you clomid...it's ok lah, since u already change gynae - wait and see and have some faith in him lor

precious moment, hmm.. my period is still haywire after birth lor.. but for my mom who also had PCOS, she became as regular as clockwork. So it depends on whether your hormones settle down. For me, I breastfed for 10 months so maybe that's why my cycle all whacky.

hello everyone!

haven't been coming to this thread for the longest time, how's everyone? hope you're well.

my update: still no success with #2 yet. already had 6 rounds of clomid, but gynae says i can have max 12 rounds of it.

i've also given up testing daily for ovulation - it was stressing me out!

hi cody,
Sorry, how come yr gynae allow u to try 12 rounds of clomid? So far, this is the 1st case leh...dont mean to be rude, but u sure ok??

ah_kat

eh catz,
when did your menses return that time? Kieran is 8 mths old liao and I still haven't gotten any menses.. (no hassle.. yeah.. want #2.. no yeah.. )

hey cody,
long time no see.. max 12 rounds? is it becos you using the 50mg dosage? donch so stress k.. come here more often and we can start our nonsense again.. heh..

Hi kat,

I also used to had clomid more then 6 mth last time. My gynae started me at one tablet per day and slowly increase me till 4 tables per day.I only got respond on 4 tablets and did ovulate but not success. and i stop few month again then try to take clomid again. This round is my 2nd cycle on clomid liao,but this 2 round very strenght i no respond to the clomid with my normal dosage of 4 clomid. My follicle not manage to growth till the muture size leh...aiyo..really scare i can not respond to clomid and dun know wat method to use liao.

ruggles, i think i only got it 2 months after stopping bfeeding.. or maybe longer.. can't remember but i remember it was haywire.

Hi Kikiyo,

Strange, but my gynae was telling me that the max is 3 tablets for clomid, if still no response then believe clomid is not suitable for me...

How come so many differnt schools of thoughts?

I agree with u...so stressed...tink I am taking a break from this whole thing after AF report.

ah kat,

ya lor...My gynae was telling me the max is 4 tablets of clomid. If no respond then have to consider other method liao...
I think i must consider to have both chinese and western treatment together see can work or not..

kat, may i know how many cycle you have taken the clomid liao?

Hi Kikiyo, this is my 2nd cycle and AF had been missing for 60 over days liao. Am taking medicine to induce it at the moment and will prob be seeing Chinese Sinseh after that (more to "tiao" the body).

Hi kikiyo n ah kat,

I was told max is 6 cycles regardless of the amt of dosage involved. I m in my 2nd cycle now and started metformin last week.

My gynae has intention to keep my last 3 cycles for IUI or SO IUI which I agreed that is the best option in order not to waste time n chances.

Today is CD17 but still v dry, so tink will be O-ing late this cycle again. I tink 100mg Clomid doesnt work on me at all.

Hi Tweetie,
Try not to think so much lah...i know it is very difficult..for me as well - the inducing menses pill almost completed liao..will wait for AF to come then see how..think will stop clomid for one cycle as my gynae only allow me to take 3 cycles which means the next one that I am taking will be the last...Oh no...

U will O lah...maybe just late.Think positive!

Hi Ah Kat,

Last nite, I had traces of EWCM n tot of BD but my HB say he can't coz v tired. So I dunno if I hv missed the boat as I did the O strip yesterday noon, it indicates BFN.

Will try today and c can got BFP or not.

Sorry for MIA for quite sometimes again. I extremely busy at work.

Hi thewife,
No my 3 month is not over yet, cos work is rather demanding so i have to go back to work but will work like 3 days a week and take flexi 3rd month maternity leave.

Hi Ruggles,
You very lucky, your boy is a easy baby, mine is rather active quite difficult to take care and now has colic so really hope she will pass the 4th month stage soon. I heard usually colic will go away at that time.

I also like you now pumping my milk during work, 1 thing good is my superior is quite encouraging and my work place has nursing room. I try to pump it 3 times during work. I will breastfeed her directly during night also like twice.

Usually she will wake up like 1a.m + and 5a.m+ and I will breastfeed her. I have to wake up like 5:30a.m to prepare to go to work which I leave my house at 7a.m sharp. Life is rather challenging now both at home and at workplace.

hi siew lei,
he is easy in the sense that he doesnt really throw tantrums... however he is getting notti liao lah. now i can't get him to eat his food. always stops eating after 1-2 mouthfuls.. urgh.. the PD say he is not putting on enough weight, tho' everybody else says that he looks big for his age.

now i dun go crazy with pumping in sch anymore. i pump at about 4hr intervals, sometimes longer intervals. cos it is too stressful to keep thinking about pumping.

yes, kieran also still wakes up abt 2x every night. And I will usually feed him in the car on the way to my inlaws (i know that is not very safe but it saves some time)/ or feed him after i reach my inlaws. he sometimes will wake up at abt 5am but i usually don't feed him but just put him in between us and he will fall asleep again until we are ready to leave the house at about 615am. Including the nite time feeds, i usually manage to latch him about 4-5x in a 24h cycle still.

my hubby and i are the can get out of the house very fast type. so usually we wake at 545am, we are out of the house by 615 heh.. so kieran kinda follows this schedule. he will continue his sleeping when he reaches my in laws. but i really hate to wake him up in the morning when he is sleeping so soundly.. sigh.. what to do..

Hi I'm also ttcing for a long while and was told by TCM that I'm PCOS....very sad. Had tried clomid, metformin, charting....still no results after 7 years.....Thinking of trying SO-IUI, but not sure (1) which Gynea to see - Dr. Caroline Khi (TMC), Dr. Shiela Loh (KKH) or Dr. PC Wong (NUH)...(2) SO-IUI costs..., (3) and does SO-IUI program affect work, ie needs to take leaves from work...i'm already pass 36 yrs....can't wait anymore....worried....Can anyone advise me...?

siew lei, so fast u go back to work liow...peifu peiful! ruggles, u must be a superwoman can get out of the house within 1/2 hour with a young kid! unbelieveble!

baby_sarah, u r not alone. I can give u the details on SO-IUI. I tried to send u PM but think you have set your receive PM off....

Hi Kat & Tweetie,

I went to see gynea last friday and did a scan but my follicle doesn't grow to the mature size at my CD30 so doc said no need to wait and give me medicine to induce menses then re-start the new cycle again but i need to stop for one month for clomid first.My follicle always stop at the size of 11-12mm...
...very sad..
I arleady decided to see TCM at hougang DR Tan SL which recommend by Tweetie. I was thinking to have combine treatment see can make me ovulate or not.

Kat, so have you decided to see TCM ?
How is your progress now ?
We must "Jia You" together and have a good hope..