I managed to teach my ASD boy to speak, after 7 years of trying speech therapy in vain

seraph929

When he was 3.5 years old, my son was diagnosed with ASD. To support him and cope with his loads of therapies, I left my job and started to work with him. he used to speak when he was 1 year old, but completely went silent when he was 2.5.

ST, OT, group play, ABA, we tried everything, but nothing really improved him much. After 2 years of running around the world to get help for him, I found nothing really worked for him. then I decided to help him by myself, I learned special needs education, first a normal diploma, then an executive advanced diploma, which equals to a bachelor degree; to help him speak, I even learned phonetics and speech training from a British trainer and got a professional coach license!

I have my Master's degree in Biochemical Engineering, worked 10 years in the industry; but to help my son, I totally changed my direction and learned another 3.5 years on special needs education.

My learning on special needs education and teaching to him was very effective, he could decode most words, he could read books aloud and accurately, but he still did not talk - even though we were doing at least 2 times ST a week for the past 7 years!

A miracle happened, in an unexpected event.

In 2020, when we had a long lockdown at home, nobody could go anywhere, maids could not come to the house, so I was very busy with housework and could not teach him as before. Having heart pain to see him wondering in house aimlessly, I started to teach him singing when I was doing house work or cooking - surprisingly, he started singing with me!!!