Any Mummy Who's Also a Teacher?

like dat also can... ok lah! Better than nothing!
Anyway is the info confirmed and where did you get it ah?

Hi ladies!!

Just stumbled on this thread!! Can I join??
I' ve been teaching in the same Pr sch for coming 11 years now!! Just gave birth in March to my 1st.

Sigh... so sad to realise my maternity leave ending soon
My leave ends 24 May and I gotta report back on the 25 and 26 MAy (that's the last 2 days of school!!

Thanks goodness I just read the email from my VP that my school has opted to have 26 May as the off day in lieu of Polling Day!! Yay!! So now I only gotta report back on Thurs!!

The other day, I popped back to school to settle my 3rd month extended leave and sort of enquired with my VP where I could pump my EBM. she suggested the Server Room??!!

Think I'm gonna make a sign to put outside so that whileI pump, the TA doesnt accidentally pop in!!

Hi all...

how u gals know ur school is given 1 day off in lieu?? all schools will be given 1 day off in lieu??

I think all sch will be given 1 day off in lieu of polling day. But which day and whether to give depends on the P.. I know of a sch that decides not to hv a day off...

yikes... dont think I fancy the idea of pumping in toilet!! The hygiene!! Some more my VP actually has 3 kids which she told me she BF each of them till 6-8 months old...

It seems that different schools are taking different days. My school is taking a day off on 16 May so that itdoubles up as marking day for teachers!!! Horrors!

My school offered the parent support room to express!!! Even worse! The students can walk pass the room and wonder wht in the world is happening.

Huh!!! Off in lieu means like a replacement for the Public holday what!!! how can they make it a marking day? Then where's the PH?? Hmmm....

Hi All Mummies

I am a teacher too but on leave and now unstationed in Vancouver with my husband. How's the work in school now?

I am still deciding to go back or not to go back to teach when my leave ended. It has been a good 2.5 year spent with my little boy who is now 31 months.

I also wan to join u all. I m a Pri sch tr too. My sch giving the day off on 16 too..
I m also TBF. So I have to pump in sch too. And I pump in the printing room.. No choice.. space constraint lei..

Alice

Hi Alice,
I'm gonna be doing that when I start school end May too... sigh... except mine is Server Room. So, how do you manage? You pump everyday at recess, free period or what?? How old is your baby?
Pardon my questions but I'm really uncertain how things will work out for me since I'm the only one in school who's Bfing right now.

Just hope to share your experience and any tips you might have...

Hi..
I normally pump during free period. As the room is use to store exam papers too so esp during exam period, wen my collegues see me carrying a big bag, those who know wat I will be doin will excuse themselves. If not, I will tell them I need the room for a short while lor. I am the onli one Bfing too. My bb aleady 10 mths liao..

Alice

I have a burning question:
For no pay leave to look after children, must it be taken as a stretch or can we take half a year, go back to work for a year and then go again for no pay leave??

hi teaching mummies,

I'm new to this thread. Currently 12 weeks pregnant but have signed up for NIE, which has been deferred to next june because of my pregnancy. so i'll be starting on contract teaching in end july... i'll be teaching Chinese primary level.

based on your experience, how will it be like? i'm just worried about teaching load, responsibilities etc. and because I'm due in mid-end Nov, I don't know whether I can take 3 months unpaid leave stretching into the new school year or not...

Hmmm...
Thanks for the hint Alice.

Scribbler
Since you are untrained, if your school is nice, it should not be much of a problem. They can saddle you with too much work/responsiblities.

The only problem is I am not so sure about unpaid leave. Why not call up the recruitment unit and ask?

i'm new to this thread. i'm teaching in a pri sch and just wondering when i'm gonna get the off in lieu. My P has yet to announce. Hope it won't be marking day coz we'll still be working on that day and not having an off in lieu is against MOM ruling.

Sometimes i wonder if it's worth it getting so worked up (major anger) on the pupils and leaving my 2 darlings at home who needs my love and attention.

what do u guys think?

hi mommies

I am also a pri sch teacher and my sch has not declared the off dayin lieu of polling day. They keep on delaying. Moreover we need to stay back till late night on 26 May.

Do your school have the family eating day on 26 May??

I'm also a pri sch tr. been on NPL since the end of my 3 mth maternity leave. will be going back to work in term 3. very sian now cos I've not been working for the past 7 mths. gonna miss my bb very much. the thought of going back to rowdy monsters and endless dept work really puts me off. anyway, need advice from mummies who pump when they teach. how often do u pump? i'm wondering if i will be able to pump during my free periods or will have to wait till lunch time (if I'm in am session). there also isn't a room where i can pump so may have to do it in the toilet. sigh....

I also work late yesterday nit. yes.my sch close at 5 for the Eat with your Family day.

Hi awl10, y not arrange & see whether they can spare u a place. Any pl where u can lock.
Alice

Hi Alice,
how many times a day do you manage to pump in school? 25May was my very first day back in sch... only managed to pump once during my free period after recess, and that was really because I was already leaking through my blouse despite wearing breast pads!! Hahaha!!

hi vannyk..I pump once everyday at sch. During my free period. Around 3pm on Mon Tue and Fri and 4.30 on wed and thurs. Ya.. wen I first went back to sch, can really feel the engorgement. But now not so cos already so long liao. My bb is 11mths yesterday..hehe..
Alice

Anyone konw if the Open Posting is out??
I think I may want to change school but I am now on maternity leave... thanks

yes it's out. but the info for the schools available is on intranet. i only have the notification in pdf form. u wan?

hi mommia

i was supposed to go for NIE enrolment this june/july but deferred cos of pregnancy; going to be allocated to contract teaching instead.

you?

hi i am also a teacher for abt 6 years alr but interrupted by having 2 babies and taking some no pay leave... i have tbf my 2 bbs and still doing so although i ve almost no milk alr... my elder son is 3+ and the younger one is 1+... so now they r depending on donated ebm as they cant drink other kind of milk will vomit and i think they also know what is the best for them so they only take bm... i rem when i first went back sch after my leave, i really must pump abt 3-4 times in school and after that when i reach home i feed direct... now its only twice a day and almost nothing comes out but i still pump... however, i m lucky that my sch actually has a nursing room cum prayer room so i m quite glad... initially before the nursing room was available i pump in the server room, then the sick bay until later when school welfare suggest to our P to ve a nursing room, our P agreed and even bought a bar fridge jus for bm. last time there were abt 3 of us bf, now i m the only one but i will persist until no more milk...

just saw this interesting thread. I am a teacher, currently on NLP.

Wa pokyhoky, your P so nice, even allowed a nursing room. Such Ps' are very rare nowadays. Cherish her

My P initially allowed the few of us to use the sick bay as the "pumping" room but she suddenly took it away for the teacher aids to sit in, leaving us only to hide in toilets and the science labs
. She is one lady who thinks that the children in her school are much more important than her own at home.

Nice to meet so many fellow teachers here. I'm a 1st time mum with a 4 month old girl. Currently on NPL till end of this year partly because I wanna continue to bf and can't imagine pumping in school - no time, so stressful and no suitable place. Salutes to mummies who can pump in school!

Happened to chance upon this thread and nice meeting all of you....

I have a 9-month baby boy and went back to teaching beginning of this year... many a times, did thought of npl and even be a sahm so that i can spend more time with my bb.... it's really an uphill struggle to cope with both work and baby and think many of you face the same challenge too... btw, i'm a primary school teacher... so you can imagine the amount of books to mark for EMS on top of the admin etc etc etc...

Anyone feeling blue as you are counting down to the end of the hols? I am as I will have to go back to school next week for workshops, preparations, meetings etc...

Hi Hosanna,
I am also teaching and currently 6mths preggy. I guess its normal to feel the blues. I do feel depressed sometimes at the thought of the workload. Take heart and Look forward to the next holiday!

Hi Hosanna,
You r not alone. I am oso feeling blue abt having to go back to work next week...June holiday are meant for students not teachers, in fact.

We all know that the job nature of a teacher is no longer confined to just teaching In fact, I feel like I am a admin clerk more than a teacher. And in school, the more capable u r, the more roles and tasks they will pile u...sometimes i just feel like being bochap so dat they will stop piling me with so much work.

To other trs out there,
anyone has the open posting listing? can email me at [email protected]. thks in advance.

Yap... i know all teachers feel the same way...

Can i check with you, anyone knows how can we ask for a transfer to the HQ? Where can we check for information? Any idea about the specialist track?

kris,
hi hi.
u intend to transfer school?
last week of school holiday liao..sianz man...must enjoy ourselves to the fullest man.

Hi I'm a mother of a 6.5 mths old baby girl. i was teaching in a JC, and just got posted to HQ this year. Hosanna, u can ask for transfer to HQ via APEX. But life in HQ's not all that good. Here's my take on life in HQ.

Regular hours (830am-6pm). But depending on which division you're in, some people actually work till 7pm or 8pm! And even have to bring work home to do.

For my division, the pace is slower and more leisurely. However, I don't get any sense of job specialisation, as there doesn't seem to be a main job, I'm involved in many different projects and there're many ad-hoc projects going on. This is unlike teaching where I'll can a sense of job satisfaction after a well-taught lesson.

Right now, comparing the two, I'm trying to get a posting back to school. Cuz i miss the school holidays!:p

btw, for breastfeeding mummies, in HQ, we can only pump in the handicapped toilet!

Fiona: heh.. I just changed school this yr.
This time just wanna look see. Hee.. I think I'm the only happy teacher-mummy here :p, I tell pple teaching is only my 'part time' job, my 'full time' job is a mother.

kris,
u just change school this yr? If I dun rem wrongly u r teaching in a good girls sch rite? or is this your previous sch?

Meixue,
Oh so life in HQ not that good huh? thot of switching to HQ so that I can go home at 6p.m sharp...so there's OT in some dept huh? hmm must consider liao leh.