Any mtb/moms staying at Woodlands area?

<font color="aa00aa">juzyounme,
i think the cc wendy mentioned is Globalkids.
i nearly work there but after getting the job i decided not to cos i'm too lazy to work 5 days a week even though every day is half day...hehe.

it is set up by a malay muslim organisation called Jamiyah so the food there is guarantee halal and can request for vegan also.
personally i think that cc is quite good.
caring teachers plus not bad environment.
surprisingly, lots of non-Muslim parents place their kids there.
got few expats also.
maybe u can go down and take a look.
or ask them if u can sit on for awhile.
they are very accomodating.
HTH</font>

hi lynzi and juzyounme
Yes! Global Kids is the one! I also nearly put my girl there becos it is so near to my place and sooooooo reasonable fee. No cc can beat that. I talked to the principal before. Nice lady. I popped by recently with my girl. Was surprised to see so many non-Muslim kids there.

Hi clovy
I will be bringing my girl to Admiral Garden. Brought my girl down last year too despite she was just a few months old. This time will be different lor becos she can walk and join in the fun.

clovy... to me it is stressful, my parents are overprotective. due to this i have lack of friends in the end during my school days. they expect lot. so as the only child i have to give all the best results for my parents. as the only child I have to live up to my parents dreams even though you have other dreams of your own... it is basically self sacrificing... it can be quite tough sometimes... but it teaches me to be independent and i must say that i am glad i got married and have my own house... if not stress stress stress....

Hi mommies!

I missed such a lively conversation today! Busy at school la... tsk!

<font color="0000ff">#2</font>
I am also praying VVVV hard for #2. i got pregnant last feb but it was an ectopic pregnancy (stuck in left fallopian tube) so had to be removed via surgery early march. very depressing, very sad, very shocking since #1 pregnancy so uneventful and smooth sailing.

haven't really tried again since then. but def want #2 if God so wills it. I love kids la
my son really makes my day with his funny antics!

<font color="0000ff">new mommies</font>
welcome to all the new mommies!!
kao_welcome.gif

<font color="0000ff">survivor mommies</font>
to all the mommies who had a bad growing up experience... i say heads up and kudos to you for making it this far!! i say u all are survivors! must learn from all your experiences

<font color="0000ff">lynzi</font>,
what kueh u making? bagus nye.. so hardworking! i've never baked since i got married. terrible eh? my excuse: oven spoilt! but really, it's because i don't like baking la. heheh
i don't even cook often at home. my mom packs my dinner for me everyday. really no time cos i work 7 to 7 in school almost everyday. no life hor? terrible!

<font color="0000ff">db</font>,
how did u find LV at vista point? i never got a chance to visit them. wanted to do so last sept school hols but the p said got new students so not a good time as she'd be busy settling them in. then last 2 days she emailed me to re-schedule but i already registered with LSH liao. i hope i made the right decision...

<font color="0000ff">baby clinic</font>
I personally LOVE baby bear clinic at woodlands st 82. been going there since adil was 2 months old. the doc always spend a looonggggg time explaining stuff to me which i really appreciate. he's very experienced (i feel only la) and always prescribes the right stuff for my son so far. i just like it there la. i oso like it because it's called baby BEAR! *LOL* cos my son, when he was born, reminded me of pooh bear! really!! (prob due to his mommy's obsession with pooh during preggy..? hehe) so much so that i'm now really called mamaBear by my fren's children. heheh. so baby BEAR clinic just seem so apt... no?

aiyah... lame la me hor?

hehehe

i'm so happy with this thread. really interesting discussions... so lively too!!

Hi IvyC

My girl's PD is Dr Angelin Tan. And yep....seems like nobody really likes her lor. But, she is ok with me leh. Brought my girl to see her a couple of weeks ago for the MMR and vacc against chicken pox, she is good leh...still ask me whether i can remember the steps for fever management. My girl hor...did not cry after the two jabs. Not even a single tear!!!! I was the panicky one becos i have a fear for needles.

hi grace,
welcome to woodlands mummies thread.

I am staying at wld ring rd. Want to short intro yourself?

Sigh...tory is running a fever. Still thinking if I shld send her for an x-ray...In april she was diagnosed for peuemonia (spell??) when she got x-ray done. Review in May showed the spot in lung not fully cleared yet. Then in Aug, she complain of chest pain when the cough strikes, I didnt send her for xray. Now again... I thinking to send for another x-ray but hb is worried abt having too much un-necessarily cos if send again will be 3x in 5mths...

Hi famela
On the contary, I dislike the Baby Bear's clinic. :p Been there once and the doctor's service and attitude to me sucks. Maybe really not fated bah.

kekeke....me watching telly now...very uncommon cos mostly I knock out when the kids sleep. ekekeke...The program was abt a mass meet up for parents who wished to match-make their children. kekeke....I wonder if I will do that next time. hahaha...

tks for the warm welcome, I am a SAHM with 3yr old gal &amp; 2yr old boy, used to work but quit after my 2nd baby
doing a bit of odd job --4hrs a week,for my entertainment only, heehee

<font color="119911">aiyoh, i went out just now because I was very late, meeting my husband so I didn't say bye bye =(

clovy, black friday sale is a day after Thanksgiving in USA, the biggest sale of the year that everyone is eyeing at, all stores will open exactly at the 12midnight and all prices slashed by more than half, i was told a branded jeans will go at USD15 each! I'll be at LA by that time, will drive to dessert hill, this factory outlet has got gucci.. hubby said I can bring an empty luggage this time round, I did this during my trip to Bangkok 2 years back.</font>

<font color="aa00aa">famela,
yah teaching can be very hectic, time and energy consuming.
for the kueh, u can see the malay mums thread, i have put up a list there.
orders will close on 15th.

grace,
welcome!!!

diana,
gucci factory outlet????
gosh...so tempting...
when i was in US, i was eyeing more on coach and kate spade.
for gucci, the other time me and girlfrens went to europe and bought froma factory outlet there...hehehe...</font>

pd clinic,
I tried those highly recommended in wd/ys area.
none i am comfy with. so i still go back to my kid originial pd at kinderclinic. at least i have a peace of mind as the med prescribed will work for my kid.

Kindermusik,
my kid still with the prog and she still enjoys it as much as she did when she was 8m old, for mummies who wants to enrol their child, i copy part of the latest newsletter for your perusal.

More New Partners Coming Onboard
We welcome the following new partners to our Kindermusik community

Kindermusik with Doreen
(for Young Child age 5yrs ~ 7yrs only)
Blk 112 Bishan St 12
#02-02 S(570112)
Tel: 8113 5336
Email: [email protected]
Attn: Ms Doreen Leong

Kindermusik with Justsze
Blk 439 Ang Mo Kio Ave 10
#16-1317 S(560439)
Tel: 9650 4182
Attn: Mr Justin Goh / Ms Huey Sze

Kindermusik @ OzWorks
Ozworks Therapy,
583 Orchard Road , #10-03, The Forum S(238884)
Tel: 68364560
Attn : Mr Sudev

Have your child (4.5 years old and above) learn to appreciate and love music in a cozy home environment, the Kindermusik way!
Qualified, experienced and an engaging educator, Doreen Leong has started conducting Kindermusik for the Young Child Programme (4.5 - 7 yrs old) at her home in Bishan. Since Jul 2008, she has two classes of 6 to 8 children in each class.
Ms Doreen, a licensed Kindermusik educator since 1999, has been teaching Kindermusik for the last 8 years. She is also an experienced piano teacher and is trained in the Orff methodology. She finds it truly a joy to work with children and parents.
Doreen warmly invites you and your family to join her in this fun, expressive and creative musical journey.
To register your child for the Kindermusik for the Young Child Programme with Doreen,
please contact her at 811-35336 or email [email protected]

provides an intimate and personal musical learning experience for young children in a home environment in the northern part of Singapore.
Who will teach my child?
Justin Goh has been teaching Music and English in Secondary Schools since 2001. He also conducts workshops for Primary School Music teachers regularly, and is part of the team that developed the Primary School music textbook in 2007 when he was attached to the Curriculum Planning and Development Division (CPDD) at MOE. Apart from his BA w Dip Ed (Merit), from NTU/NIE, Justin holds an Trinity College teaching diploma for piano. He played the clarinet in the Singapore National Youth Orchestra for 6 years.
Huey Sze, wife and business partner of Justin, holds a BS with Honours (NUS) in Chemistry. She worked as a Forensic Scientist in Health Sciences Authority (HSA) for some years but had to leave her high-flying career to devote her time to her three lovely boys, Joshua and Caleb (3.5 yrs), and Amos (16 months). She completed Grade 8 piano with Distinction at the age of 14. Working with Kindermusik allows her to pursue her passion with music while being a stay-at-home mom.
In addition to their Kindermusik classes, Justin and Huey Sze also offer piano lessons to adults and children.
Kindermusik with Justsze can be contacted at :
6455 5696 / 9650 4182 / 96504179
Or
Email to : [email protected]

OzWorks Therapy Consultancy and Practice is founded by 4 Australian-trained Occupational Therapists with over 30 years of combined clinical experience. The centre provides personalized Occupational Therapy programs for children of all ages with Developmental Delay, Autism Spectrum Disorder (ASD), Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD), Cerebral Palsy, learning disabilities and handwriting difficulties.
Our therapists also provide Sensory Integration Therapy and Sound Therapy Programs. OzWorks is committed to equipping and working alongside the children, their parents, and schools to optimise the child's total development and learning potential.
Epitomizing passion and professionalism, and working in partnership with other specialists, we aim to provide a level of unprecedented and rehabilitative care for all our clients in Singapore and the Asia-Pacific region.
Ozworks Therapy is located at:
583 Orchard Road
The Forum, #10-03,
Singapore 238884
Tel: 6836 4560 Fax: 6836 1659

NEW CLASSES AT THE STUDIO
Curriculum
Commencing Date
Day
Time

3yrs to 5yrs
Hello Weather
8 th Sept
Monday
3.30pm

Newborn to 18mths
Rhythm of My Day
26 th Sept
Friday
9.30am

Newborn to 18mths
Rhythm of My Day
29 th Sept
Monday
9.30am

Newborn to 18mths
Rhythm of My Day
3 rd Oct
Friday
3pm

18mths to 3yrs
Zoo Train
11 th Sept
Thursday
9.30am

Limited vacancies, please call our Tanglin Mall Studio for more information
Tel : 6467 1789 Or email : [email protected]

famela, i went to kinderland at woodlands mart, it is kind of dim the lighting and when the person brought me to a classroom, the classroom is full of students and there is only 1 teacher. i ask her how many students. she told me 22. she said got two teachers... but after waiting for awhile the second teacher did not appear... so i was just wondering if the second teacher existed or not... and the place got some kind of smell in the air which I dun like... just like the childcare downstairs my blk... hahhahaha... i like vista point because the lighting is bright. once you go inside the childcare you can see everything... it is open concept. the place is clean and has no smell (something that i am very particular about) and my gal seems relax in the place compared to kinderland... the teachers are energetic and look fresh. the core curriculum is good too... but they also have core curriculum in the afternoon, so will be sending her full day. they also have their own playground but they seldom bring the kids down for now because of HFMD. just a precautions. now the centre is also disinfecting the place daily to ensure and as a preventive measures of HFMD. I saw the cleaning auntie doing the cleaning... my hubby and I like the place and so is my gal... so we register with them... i mean if eventually it is not good can always change to another centre...

whatever choice you make, you can always review it later when your child goes to the school. now we may like it, later on it may not match our standard... it is not like once we make this choice we will stuck with it... so dun worry too much ok...

<font color="aa00aa">MORNING MUMMIES!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

seems i'm super early today...hahaha...
had a late nite yesterday but this morning cannot seem so to wake up later.

lachesiz,
the bishan one only doing programmes for 4 yrs onwards is it?
btw, thanks for posting the info here.
really useful!</font>

Hi clovy,diana,lynzi,daisy,wendy,
guess wat, after much much considerations, i think i am not ready for baby#2. <font color="808080">sad to say this</font>..
Think im still not mature enough to handle things and etc. my temper wise is anything i need to consider properly.
My hubby is asking if i really really deep from my heart if i wan a 2ns bb and im stuck, hesitating. i guess im not ready at all!

I dun wan to force myself to comply, i think i will see and leave it till i feel i am really very ready for the 2nd bb.

nowadays, pple seems dun celebrate Mid-Atumn festival hor?? my hubb,me &amp; my boi went down strolling with his latern,but see no pple only one or two family, no mood this year.?.
hmm..

<font color="119911">bee, don't force yourself, take it easy...when you think is the right time to have #2...you have my support..hehe</font>

.... hiyo to all mummies here...

can i join in this thread???

i'm yvonne ... also staying at woodlands st 41..
blk 425...

.... young mummy.. 26 yrs old ...
but wif five kids...
mmmmmm...

hope to get more information by joining this thread...

and most important... to make more frens...

cheerios to frenship !!!!

.... hiyo to all mummies here...

can i join in this thread???

i'm yvonne ... also staying at woodlands st 41..
blk 425...

.... young mummy.. 26 yrs old ...
but wif five kids...
mmmmmm...

hope to get more information by joining this thread...

and most important... to make more frens...

cheerios to frenship !!!!

<font color="ff6000">Hi Woodlands Mommies,</font>
Pop by to say HELLO n need some answers.

Any mommies here put their children into this CC called Bumble Bee Child Care at Blk 369? Good?

i think it is non-aircon. My DH wanted to put my younger DD into a non-aircon CC as virus wont spread so easily.

Tq tq diana really, very sweet and nice of you.

yes, i will wait for the rite and ready time before proceeding for bb#2.

isit..haha, happy to hear that. my side no happening, sian..

kao_welcome.gif
meilian &amp; VQ

hello, meilian, I am soooo glad to know you cos I stay in woodlands st 41 too! Solute to u!!! not easy to manage 5 kids nowadays..

VQ, welcome, well ventilated non-aircon place is good for children (also adults), a lots my frens's children get sick frequently after they put kids into the aircon and enclosed enviroment.

bee, having #2 to me means joy and trouble are doubled
1713936.gif

For the rest of mummies, I need sometime to catch up with all of you

Just came back from my church, we celebrated mid-autumn festival there, quite fun bud have to cbe home , my children are cranky cos they need sleep...

\purplewelcome all new mummies....

Think we really need one day to meet up with all the new mummies... seems like this few mths a lot of new mummies and also a lot havent meet before.......

I will try to make an arrangement to meet up in October... So sorry not able to organise earlier as I will be out of town from 26 Sep - 9 Oct....

Ok why dun we fix it to meet on 18 Oct???

Can you all organsie and see how is it....

Sherhino maybe can u see whether your MPH is available on 18 Oct???

hi.. mummies,,

I live at Woodlands drive 75.... Working mummies with one boy aged 4 and one girl aged 6mths.. closed factory.

By the way, Any one of your kids drinks Friso 1 or Friso 2

Erm... abit lost here... but suppose to do an update on Chinese Enrichment Lesson......

Linda,
There is a Chinese Poem Class in Woodland CC for kids from 3 to 5yrs. Class will start on 26/09 (Fri) from 8pm to 930pm. U may wanna join it?

Chinese Phonics Lesson at Wdld Dr 75
Previously mentioned that there are 2 classes at Wdld RC there.

<u>Chinese Drama Lesson</u>
The teacher will not be starting any class liao...

<u>Chinese Phonic Lesson</u>
Due to no interest from mummy, the class for N1 and N2 cant be started. Was told unless i can find at least 5 children interested....

So, had to wait till later part of the yr whereby there will be classes planned for kids going to K1.

A hectic day yesterday. Brought my girl to the Bishan Park after class. Saturday was also crazy. Went to Chinatown...my god! My legs are killing me now.

halo,
can i join this thread as well? I'm a mummy staying at Woodlands Ave 2, 2 kids at 2.5YO and 11 mths.

this is a good thread for woodlands mum to share things/experiences surronding our areas. Well, i browsed thro and found out some discussion abt childcare/infant care. As for me, when i planned to enrol my kid to CC few months ago, i have been survey thro almost all CC ard woodlands area. if u need some info or hav some info to share, we can 'talk' here.

As for clinic, i didn't go to the baby bear clinic although i have a fren highly recommended him. Angeline i've been there once but like most of the ppl here, dun find her good. Rather, i went to a GP in Woodlands who i found really good and cheap too.

talk again. nice meeting all here

Good morning mummies.

can i check if theres any coffee shop around drive 16?

We hv shifted to woodlands recently. ANd have been getting our meals from vista point and or causeway point. Food not that fantastic and its ex so wondering if theres any coffee shop around?

<font color="ff6000">Good morning Vivi, if you drive you can try the food at Blk 305 which is opposite Marsiling MRT. They got very nice chicken rice and the zi char there is also good. Eg Fish Steamboat and Fish head curry. Then at Blk 302 which is directly opposite Marsiling MRT got nice fried prawn mee, carrot cake, and fried chicken wings etc.</font>

Hi Vivianne,

How about trying coffee shop at drive 14, in between vista point and causeway point... quite crowded on weekends.

Morning,

Glad to join this thread.
I'm staying at woodlands drive 16, blk 58X, a working mum with a 10mth old baby boy.

ling and ivyc,

thanks for the recommendations.

Will check them out this weekend as I am staying at woodlands during the weekends

How do you celebrate your child 1 year old birthday?
I have yet to think where to hold the celebration. Don feel like doing it at home cos lazy to do cleaning. Hee..

IvyC (ivyc), I am glad you now have your darling son. So far I would go to GP when she falls sick.

Wow last nite up till 10pm there were still many kids already playing with lanterns and candles even at my flat void deck.

Wow db (dryperbaby) base on your experience, I guess it is natural for parents to pin all the hopes on the only child cos they invested all the money and time on the only child..Whereas for more than 1 children, the attention and financial is distributed abt the children so of course each children will not have the intense pressure compared to the only child. I think it makes sense lor. Its all typical human behavior.

Good luck to your ttc too, famela (famela)!! Mummies must share the good news once you confirm you are pregnant yor!! After all this sharing of views, I think I would like to have no. 2 too. But dunno when I shd go for it...Hmmm...let nature takes it course bah.. Will not purposely go and make bbs and make myself stress out. Would not even bother to count my fertile days...Just do it if we feel like it..heheheheee..

Linda (linda_thea), too many x-ray is harmful for an adult let alone a child! I will be surprise if your doc did not advice against it leh.

This is very nice leh, Diana Goh (ayoon). I mean the black friday sale. Too bad there is no such thing in Spore. Everything so expensive. Imagine the children's clothes can be as expensive as the adult's one leh..Children outgrow the clothes very fast and cloth material used is not as much as an adult too...so should be cheaper yar...Hahahaaa...

Ling (slquek), mai tu liao... Dun think so much just do it bah, heheheee..

Sure bee (didibee). As long as this is what you want. Then better dun try for #2 and stress yourself out. Just pour out your worries to share, we will be your listening ears. BTW, Vista Park also very very happening too. Many children there.

Welcome meilian (kiddies5), irenelovej (irenelovej) and jane (janelsy)!

I think the food at Marsiling is cheap and good. Esp the market those typical old kind not the air-conditioned foodcourt I liked. The area is considered the old woodlands. Unlike our side living near Vista Point. Hi jane (janelsy), I lived near Vista Point too.. I seldom vernture out cos eat home cooked food.

Hi Clovy,

Vista Park very happening on sat nite cos having event. But seems like burning festival. Walk with my son n hubby 1 round only. I'm sick of the food at Vista point too.