Advice Needed: Any Mummy who put baby in infant care centre ?

juju78, same here! My boy will eh eh eh, no tears but eyes very red (tears flowing soon). We quickly kiss kiss & bye bye, make it short & sweet.

Ytd very funny, when we pick him up, he keep smiling to the caregiver when we about to leave... There were few times, he bian zui when we passes him to the caregiver, then evening, he bian zui when the caregiver passes him to us, haha!

juju78,cos my mil no experience in taking care bb.the way i see my mil take care,i think everyday when i return home,im very depressed.haha..

pastries, yes, my bb just went IFC hmnn about 2 months liao..he now coming to 9 months soon..yes, after recover then fall sick again. haha, i think ur boi boi so cute, bian zui.just now, i drop my bb off, he busy playing tat he doesnt want to see me or say bye bye..

now my bb got phelgm.any other things we can do beside giving meds?

Janiemin, my boy v sensitive about his environment. He will frown & cry when on the way to the PD clinic (just few blocks from where we stayed). We noticed it a few times...

Re: Phelgm
When my boy is having cough with phelgm, after weeks of taking western med still alot of phelgm, I went to this Chinese Physician at Kembangan - Yu Guo Chinese Physician
http://yuguochinesephysician.blogspot.com/ for bb massage. We are also given chinese med yao bao and a belly wrap to wrap around the belly button. No oral med at all. The Chinese Physician asked us to go consecutively 3 days for the massage, and we used the yao bao for 5 days. My boy fully recovered after it.

Also, we stopped fruits serving because it will cause phelgm. The physician also advised us to go slow on solid because afraid that he cannot digest well yet (only 7 mth old then) and indigestion will cause phelgm.

You can also use ru yi oil on his chest & back. We diluted the FM to make it less heaty. Not easy to care for bb when they sick, esp when they got phelgm.

Pastries,

Thks. My boi better now. Over the weekends, he got fever and throat infection and lost his voice..can see he's reali painful cos' he will cry and point to his mouth..poor thing. All i could do is to give him lots of hugs and attention.

Reali heart pain to see him taking so many medicine..but he "guai guai" open his mouth let me feed the medicine. Maybe he knows the medicine helped to relieve his pain..Yes, when coughing, cannot eat fruits else will cause more phlegm. I also brought my boi to see chinese physician for his cough. It helps but he always vomit out the medicine after awhile. Maybe it taste awful.

annette,

Ur teat should be latex if it is yellow colour. The silicon teat is transparent colour. Initially I also use the latex teat but find that it is too soft and after sterilised a few times, become too soft not so lasting. I quickly switched to the silicon type after that.

Looks like u reali have a tough decision to make between ifc and nanny now. If I'not wrong, taking care for nite is around $850 to $900. If occasionally take care for nite on weekdays, add abit more. My colleague just add $10 for the 1 weekday nite.

juju78,
yes, my boi in whispering hearts. Urs also?

pastries:just check out fr agent,abt900 a mth if look after for nighttime too.dod lina told u she will call u once she know when the ifc open?

Re:bb sick n sick
aiyo really have no idea what to comment on this.if M sick ,i really dun know wat to do.Guess i better look for a nanny asap,if really no choice then ifc.Everyone take care n hope all bbies recover well soon for the coming new year ye
M damn cranky yest nite again also dun know y,keep puking alot of milk think is growth spurt but not sure also,so tired now whole nite din sleep well.

RE:pneumococon
M due for 1st jab next mon,usually would bb get fever from tt jab?really hope nope.

Pastries,
haha.nowadays bb is getting cleverer.wah,the TCM still got blog somemore.I was told by my mum to stop serving fruits as well which i did.currently,hes on antibiotics liao,last resort after seeing dr.so if still no recover, then i bring him see TCM.

snowyee11,
tink my bb oso used to eat meds liao, now automatic open his mouth when the syringe is near his mouth.where u bring ur bb see TCM?anyplc nearer to our hse and good good one?

annette,
my bb got fever 2 days after pneumococcal jab.tink tat jab seems to be quite "deadly"..meaning most bb develop fever after taking that.

juju78:
Wa, so co-incidence our bb in the same ifc.
My boi promoting to cc soon another few more mths..but I'm shifting to any cc near mil place.

annette:
Mine do not have fever but aft the pneu jab 3 weeks later had fever but I think probably not becos' of jab.

janiemin:
Haha, seems like our boi boi are immune to taking medi liao hor..my boi also on antibiotics now. Previously I brought him to the TCM - Funan at bukit batok street Blk 152 St 11. Tel: 68961618. You may look for the female TCM Dr Su. She specialise in children and women illness. Tat time my boi cough stop after taking the medicine but he will vomit out sometimes so I stop after that when he's not coughing anymore.

snowyee11,
another coincidence? my gal is hving her last day @ whispering hearts today

not sure if i'm too sensitive or wat. seems dat after i infm dat of my gal's withdrawal, my gal seems to come hm wif more problems & less attn frm them.

snowyee11,
thanks.seems like my bb no more cough but still got phelgm.today last day of antibiotics, will see how.

Annette,
yes, pray bb will not get fever.

juju78,
wat u mean by more problems?ur girl oso goin to cc ah?

juju78,
Oh ur gal withdrawing? U found a nanny to take care instead? Oh dear, I also inform them I withdrawing soon..later they give me problems..

erm... jus be more attentive when u drop off & pick up ur bb la. dun wanna say too much here. hb say i'm too sensitive.

juju78/snowyee11/pastries: y u both withdrawing ur bb fr whispering heart? juju ur bb ok?im urgently looking for nanny sian hope can start jan at least can enjoy1 mth leave b4 work.If really really no choice then be put at clementi ifc

annette,

I'm only withdrawing in any 2 more mths cos' my boi turning 18mths then. I'm shifting him to another Childcare.

So u taking 4mths maternity leave straight?

Snowyee11, Glad that your boy is feeling better. My boy also guai guai opened his mouth when we feed med leh.. haha, really immune to it liao. The Chinese Physician at Bt Batok good?

Janiemin, hope yr bb no more phelgm soon!

Annette, my boy got fever after jab lor.. He took 6-in-1 together with the pneumoccocal. I am withdrawing because now my estate got new IFC le mah, much more convenient then go Pasir Panjang right? Also, I have some issues with the way the current IFC is being run..

Juju78, oh, u r also withdrawing yr gal from the current IFC.. U switching to nanny or another IFC? I haven't inform my current IFC that I am withdrawing, but I already fear what u experiencing now!! btw, yrs need give how long notice??

snowyee11,
ha,lets pray hard no more meds for our bb liao.

Pastries,
i think no more phelgm liao cos i din hear the "phelgm" sound.

annette,
hope u can find a nanny soon.yes better to relax a bit before going to work.and once working, like not enuf sleep cos at times bb still wakes up at nite..

Happy New Year 2010!!

pastries,

The chinese Physician at Bukit Batok I find not bad cos' that time I also cough for 1 month and finish the western medicine still coughing. So I visit this chinese physician. after taking a few packets of medicine, my cough stopped liao. I tried before then I dare to bring my boy to see this chinese physician. Maybe I can also try the chinese physician you recommend cos' my boy also vomit out the chinese medicine as u mention urs only need to wrap the yaobao around belly.

Janiemin, Good to hear yr bb got no phelgm liao.

Snowyee11, this Chinese Physician is v v popular with bb & small kids. I get to know it on this forum wan. So many bbs & small kids there. But abit far lor, at Kembagan. Somemore, I don't really like the environment there, because the message room got no divider for each bed, so is v chaotic & noisy. Imagine bbs crying, small kids couging surrounding you. But the effect is really good!!

If you want to go, you must go early, if not will be very crowded.

That's y I am interested in the Bukit Batok Chinese Physician you mentioned. My boy v funny wan, whatever thing u feeding him, if by spoon, he sure open his mouth and eat!! If by syringe, then he sure spit it out, even is the same med!

Pastries,

I see, yes I think I heard this chinese physician you mentioned before from the forum.

The chinese physician at Bukit Batok also from this forum. It's just happen that my colleague's daughter seeing this doctor said not bad, that's why I dare to try..

Ya, my boy also..dun like the syringe. Like the medicine to be taken with the spoon.

snowyee11/pastries/janiemin: ya i took 4mths ml 1 shot with 2009 6days childcare leave n 2008 annual leave so be returning on 1st march 2010
Went see my frd's mum with M last thur, M ok w the nanny BUT HAIZ tt 21mth geri very worried, she super frdly ,grab hold of her own sis n M n kiss the whole face inclusive of the lip wo, quite worry she pressonto tt soft part of M's head, when will tt harden?mum told me abt1 yr wo

annette,

Wa, ur company allowed you to take 4mths straight? That time I only got 3 mths so I took around 2months plus, remaining I took as flex as I reserved for my boi's vaccination.
M is referring to your boi rite? Was trying to figure out who is M from your reply..Or the 21mth ger never go childcare? Seems she is quite friendly. Your friend mum must tell her not to do it lor if everytime like that. Yes I think the soft part of the bb head will be harder when around 1 year old.

annette,
partly due to work reasons. will be leaving tuas soon & i stay in amk. so withdrawing frm whispering hearts is a logical choice.

pastries,
whispering hearts need 1 month notice. wef frm 1st day of the mth, last day will be end of the mth.

noscon:noidea wo.instead do u knowany gd nanny in bt panjang area:p?

snowyee11: coz mine education line ma, 1 shot 4 mths easier for timetabling if not the student be having diff cher too in a sem not too gd too.ya bb named Matthias, in short M:p im having big headache lor not sure if worry too much,now is tt 21mth ,in few mth tt currently 5mth bb be learning to crawl n walk too then M's turn, really wonder how 2 adults manage wo

juju78:eek:icc

Annette, wow, 4 mths straight. I still have 23 days of ML left, must clear before 04th May this year. That 21M girl v friendly ya, but from another angle, it is good for yr bb, at least he gets to mingle with a 5 mth old bb and a toddler. Just tell the nanny nicely to take note lor. Ya, the soft part will close up around 1 yr. Oh annette, Lina emailed me to confirm that Feb sure no problem.

juju78: oic. Then I must quickly inform my current IFC liao.

Noscon: You can go to MCYS website to search for IFC around that area. I know of a mummy place her bb in bt panjang area IFC, let me ask her and let u know.

*Some Doubts*
Hey, I have some doubts, thought of checking with Mummies here. After my boy started on solid, my current IFC told me they don't record each meal time liao, they just provide a meal plan beginning of each month. We just need to take that as reference. They will only wrote the last milk feed on the communication book. Then if bb refuses to eat or drink, then they will inform us.

The current meal plan is
Breakfast: cereal
Lunch: Porridge
Snack: Fruits
Last milk feed around 4pm.

My boy 1st milk drink is always around 7+ am (210ml). Lately I noticed they wrote porridge lunch at 11.30 am, follow by fruit snacks (2 hrs later) and then 4pm is the next milk feed. Then today I asked the caregiver did they give him breakfast cereal, she said yes. But I am wondering how they squeeze in the breakfast leh, since my boy already had his milk at 7+am. Then lunch is at 11.30 am?? Then from 11.30 to 4.30 is only fruits and last milk feed.. abit strange right?? Today if get to meet the principal, I will clarify with her again.

What do you all think?? Am I too suspicious?? When at home, his feeding schedule is:
7+ am: milk 210ml
10.30 am: breakfast cereal (4 tbsp)
1.30 pm: porridge (5 tbsp)
4.30 pm: milk 210ml
8.00 pm: milk 210ml

snowyee11,
haiz..tink i heard got phelgm sound in my bb again..i cant seem to find the add ur posted..oni saw pastries TCM.can give again, at bukit batok where? tink I got some meds leftover, after finish still phelgm then go see TCM.oh tat time urs oni 3 mths maternity leave..haha, can try for another one then got 4 mths liao..kekeke..

Annette,
shiok to take so long leave right..I took oni 11 weeks, then the rest of maternity leave i took as and when..

noscon,
unsure if there's any good IFC in bukit panjang.happened that most of us stay and put our bb in the west side.

juju78,
wah,u work in tuas and stay in AMK.yap,logical to withdraw lah so far away..when my bb turns into 18 mths will consider other CC even though my current one has CC.travelling time too long.

pastries,
double chk wif them again. i have a feeling they are jus telling u frm their own timetable

u chking wif ibite on the bt panjang ifc? she's taking her gal out too. cos a bit inconvenient if raining.

janiemin,
ya, am taking the chance to have a break frm work & to build up her health too.

Janiemin/pastries: as explained above lor,instead my boss wan us take 1 shot but again gd for me coz i have all this caretaker problem to solve.

Pastries/other mom:pastries,when i see their feeding schedule they start juice n porridge ard4mth wo, i thought shd be ard6mth then start?ya their lunch very early wo,im guessing they r sharing their staffs from infant section with childcare section,hence infant section need start early follow by childcare section, if so its bad!!!just found out they also opening a new branch at my frd's blk (nanny to be for my bb if decided), how they get so many new staffs when so many of their branches open at same time?

pastries,
hw come ur IFC din write the amt? im always concern abt hw much my bb eat/drink tat day..what i know fm my ifc when i look at the schedule. my bb drink milk at ~6.30am, at ard 8-8.30,they will give him 5 scps of cereal.so maybe for urs, its abt the same.2 hrs later..

annette,
infant & childcare side supposed to have their own staff. no sharing. cos diff qualifications. plus, reduce chances of inter-spread of diseases like hfmd

juju78,

so u are not working anymore? u also May 09 mummies right? i seldom post there because feel abit strange. ya, am thinking of checking with ibite, she told me before but i forgotten le.

i oso got the same feeling as you. But i want to make sure i am not overly sensitive. Because i had a issue with the principal before and her attiture changed after that incident. One thing i don't like is i feel the whole place is very secretive, we cannot peek at the window because it is bungalow setting and the main gate & door is always locked during the day. I hardly get to meet other parents oso, due to the timing.. Then when the caregiver want to give me her hp no., she is so afraid of letting the princial see it. wah biang.. Can tell the caregiver there v afraid of that principal lor..

Janiemin, i got copied down the bt batok TCM contact, here it is:
TCM - Funan at bukit batok street Blk 152 St 11. Tel: 68961618. You may look for the female TCM Dr Su.
Hahaha, word by word copied from Snowyee11, because i afraid when i want to find it, cannot find liao.

Hmm, from what u said, maybe my bb really can eat the bf cereal 2 hrs after the morn milk feed. Ya lor, i oso dun like it when they dun indicate on book le, only indicate last milk feed. Then dunnoe why on some days they will indicate porridge lunch + last milk feed, like no consistency.

Anette, u r talking abt Blk 339 IFC huh? I didn't enquire abt the exact feeding time wor. haha! this time round i abit lax because i think almost IFC are the same, just that this one near my house. Normally 4 mth can start cereal though is best to wait till 6 mth. As for porridge, can start 7 mth. We can request the IFC to hold on starting solid wan, so is ok. Actually is afraid bb will get allergy that's why recommended to start at 6 mth.

juju78 is right, IFC & CC suppose to have seperate staff. But... my current IFC will pull some CC staff over during morn & even peak hr!!! This issue i oso unhappy right from the start, but just closed one eye.

Noscon: aft i ask le, i let u know. :)

pastries,
soon... why feel strange posting in may09 mummies?
after i had an argument wif the principal, i dun talk to her anymore. even get bk deposit, i get ifc teacher to ask her.
same! whispering hearts also cannot peep! only sat when they open windows to air the ifc area then can look in.
if ur bb had cereal 2 hrs after 1st milk, still can take in porridge at 11am? so good appetite ah?

juju78, seems like both of us have some issues with our bb IFC. Then our bb oso behaved the same way recently, whine & cry when droping them at IFC. My boy is still crying now when we drop him at IFC every morning.

I dun know leh, appetite so good, can take milk, bf cereal followed by porridge all at only 2 hrs interval.. But lately he hungry easily, and will cry for more if the cereal is not enf..

Oh, i feel abit strange lah, cos i seldom post, so everytime i post, is like abit intruding to the forum. haha!

pastries..which are the 2 new IFC at clementi? BTW when will it open? i am still tinking if it's wise to leave to a nanny or at IFC.

pastries,
mine din cry. she jus whine cos mummy gg off. now, whenever i'm out of her radar or when i change & pick up my bag, she will start to whine then cry. must carry lor then will stop.
now ok when dropping her off, jus dat she will try to cling to me instead of letting the teacher carry over. haha!
maybe ur boy having growth spurt now. ard 9mths hv a growth spurt. i think my gal too, start to wake up a few times at nite to latch. think i will either give her cereal or jar food in the evening, hope she dun wake up so often!
aiyah, dun worry la. jus post when u r free la...

anise,
my personal preference is IFC, more eyes to see, & got qualification.
so far, i dun like wat i hear abt some nannies & of cos maids

my gal will be in ifc next wk lor, dunno y feel very anxious......maybe scare the caregiver dun do a gd job.

like Annette, i oso took 4 mths straight n plus my 10days annual leave, in total i rested for 4 n a half mths! Shiok at first lah, but still feel very bored, can't seems to sit still at hm.

juju78... hmm ya true dat more eyes and i doubt they dare to do anythin to the baby.. However one bad pt abt this is that bb will tend to fall ill easily.. haiz.. lost...

janiemin,

The TCM address Pastries posted is correct. Aiyo, dun think i wan another bb now, 1 already headache for me..nw i busy chasing after him since he's started walking..can walk faster then me now.

Pastries/Janiemin/annette,
I think the feeding schedule is around the same.
I will give my boi milk when I wake him up at 6.45am

IFC feeding schedule
8.30am - 1 Bowl Cereal
11am - 1 bowl porridge
1pm - milk
around 3pm - snack
4.30pm - milk

When reached home I will give porridge around 6.30pm to 7pm.

My ifc still record the time but sometimes i think may not be accurate lah.

juju78,
wa u quarrel with the principal? Actually I seldom talk to her as I see her around. Don't find her friendly also. Mostly I communicate with the teachers.

annette,
so u are a teacher? Ya, take 4 months can rest more and more bonding time with ur bb.

Pastries/juju78
Mine also have the growth spurt around 9mths that time..Everytime, dun want teacher to carry and cry when the teacher carry him. Nw ah, dun bother to said bye bye to me, walk away to look for his friends inside liao..hahaha

snowyee,
haha... yea. in the 2nd mth my gal was thr, she said i still had to pay cash cos we din submit cda giro form. but, she din give me at all lor. argue back & forth, she keep insisting she gave me. then i was like, why shld i prefer to use cash when i can use cda? use brain la. then i got so emo, i made hb call her & settle. she guai guai & talk nice to hb! angry!

annette,

Oh forgot to mentioned, try not to give the cereal too early, I still think 4mths is too early..That time I give around 4mth plus, in the end my boi got diarrhoea. I think their digestive system not fully developed, so better to give later. Probably near to 6mths. IFC also give around 6mths. And they dun start by giving alot. Initially, they will give 1 or 2 scoops and slowly add on later once they are ready to take more.

juju78
Ic..1st 2 mths 1 also pay cash. Cos' she said need 1mth tp process or what. Ya hor, use CDA better just need to pay half the sch fees then the other half match by govt.

Actually sometimes I also quite pissed off with them like they did not use the diaper rash cream I provide and put the wrong things inside my boi's bag, but I try not to endure loh cos' I scared later they bully my boi. But so far, the teachers take care of my boi quite ok, so I just closed 1 eye sometimes for their little mistakes. Haha but u know I ask my boi which teacher bully him from the recent class photo he took, he point to me that teacher..BTW, did u took the class photo? What's ur ger's name? Mine is Pierre.

snowyee11,
first of all, she din even give me the form yet insist i was the one who din return it lor. dat's why i buay song. and the way she spoke like i owe her like dat.

ya, sometimes realli unhappy wif the way they handle things. put wrong clothes, then after i switch to bfree bottles, parts of bottle go missing, cereal container go missing. after i put in a set of spare clothes for my gal, they can change my gal into ifc spare clothes & tell my hb i din put in spare clothes. hello! nvr open eyes & see ah? haiz... anyway, over soon. dun wanna talk to them liao.
dat mdm kaur can say, hope my withdrawal frm ifc not due to rash decisions. wanted to say out unhappy things, but better dun la. later my gal kena.

class photo, nope. my gal had fever dat day. so both of us stayed home. my gal is jodie

anise, blk 339 & blk 375 is the new centre in Clementi. Nanny vs IFC, i still prefer IFC even though bb can get sick often. But when they start CC, they oso will get sick often, so it's inevitable. Like what Juju78 said, is part of growing up process. For Nanny care, u worried yr bb get exposed to tv whole day, then nanny's family member, how they behaved also u worried. At least IFC there are few caregivers and principal around to 'supervise'.

bluzcorner, will u be accompanying yr bb in IFC for 1st few days? I accompanied my bb during 1st & 2nd day (half day only). Don't worry, just observe the IFC, it should be ok.

juju78, snowyee11, janiemin, annette, i talked to the principal ytd, and yes, my boy had v good appetite, he can finished the cereal at 8+ am then the porridge at 11+am. Snowyee11, but he don't have the 1pm milk feed leh.

Re: Unhappy incidents with IFC
Seems like most mummies will encounter unhappy incident in IFC, but, ya lor, many a times i also closed one eye. Even nanny care or maid care, oso will experienced this wan. I don't like my current IFC principal abit of yaya attiture (because many expats' kids are there). Then one fine day, something trigger my bomb and I told her off, from that day onwards, i know i need to withdraw my boy liao, because the basic trust is not there. But i must said there are 2 teachers there v dote on my boy.. i sort of blame myself why i lost my temper that day, but is just many many factors contribute to it. Anyway, now my house estate got new IFC liao, more convenient for me lor.