A fresh new thread to locate SAHM of yr2006?

CG, Cheri, Lin
the overeating problem so far is a good problem to have. im glad i have this problem. though it doesnt help cy to eat more (he doesnt really care how much meimei eats or that meimei wants his food), it gives me great pleasure to have that fuzzy feeling when i see she eats. i never knew seeing your child eat pleasantly can be such wonderful feeling, i never knew meal times could be pleasurable
...kakakaka...

Lin
wha'ts frisocrem like?maybe coz it's very dense type of cereal?Im stopping ch on cereal soon coz it;s highly processed. will give her more carbo from the root plants lke sweet potato, pumpkin etc...(ahh...meal planning..it feels so so so so gooooooddddd!!!!)

o yes, CY's PD used to tell us that cereal of all sorts have lotsda oil. it is needed in the manufacturing process so that they dun clump together...that is also partially why bb cereal is so fattening...(he told us that trying to reassure us it's ok to put more oil into cys food then...)

Mother's Day is on 10th May

YY
How about trying organic cereals?
Milk formula is also high processed product, guess no choice, right?
U can try to add some drops of olive oil, as it contains high omega3

CG
shes on organic cereal...but since there are good alternatives like rice and root veggie and she isnt picking on those, i;ll take something more natural..hahahahaha.....far cry from what i would have said for cy hor...for him ah, anything goes lah...

CY
eh not fair.. i oso wan a gd eater...
frisocrem ah.. looks more like milk powder w vanilla fragrance..
kate likes it thick and sticky.. but recently after 3 mouth dunwan liao

haiz talk abt processed food..
this afternoon prepared avo for her but she wld only eat it after i mixed it w the heinz jar egg custard..
i know those jar food not the best choice but i reckon at least she finished her avo..

so ch's sweet potato, pumpkin all organic one?

yah maybe i'll oso let kate go organic.. since can last longer..
else i everytime throw away after 3 days or so..

CG,

If you happen to see it somewhere, let me know. so i can direct my sis exactly where to get. or she will be clueless where????

she still a lady...unlike we mummies will zoom in for children books and such.

CG
For rollerblading, is it poss to bypass classes and let them learn them on their own? Where r u planning to let her learn? Shan the last few weeks has been telling me she knows how to rollerblade, I am clueless where she learnt it from.
Any recommendations where to get the blades and the relevant gears like guards & headgear and how much? I saw some in Shanghai, but super exp for Shanghai standard I felt, 120-ish for blades alone.

Lin,
Yet to cfm meeting cos also not sure wat the program for tat day.

YY
1st time u post about u have a food lover over there.Gd for u as K isn't having a gd appetite recently.

Aishite
We plan to enrol her in July/Aug, after her birthday.
Her lessons will be conducted every Sat 5pm at East Coast.
We prefer to let her learn in the environment where she can socialise with other peers, learn the basic rules and regulations, having regular sport activity for her etc.
This is the link: http://www.skate-with-us.com/programmes.htm
Btw, they have inline skating program too!

Cutie
Sure, will keep a lookout!

<font color="ff6000">Spore Flyer</font>
It was a SURPRISE!
At 6pm, G suddenly decided to bring us to the Spore Flyer.
Quite worth the value to sign up as members for the Friends of Spore Flyer, 2 adults w 2 kids at $128 unlimited rides for one year if pay by DBS/POSB credit cards.
If you bring along your friends, they are entitled with 20% discount off.
In the beginning of the ride, Sha kept asking G to carry her, dared not to come down and walked.
After 15mins, she finally came down, walked happily and took so many pics!
She even asked G to bring her there again!

Zoe
wow ur dog must be v healthy.. eat home cooked vege

my dogs poor thing everyday eat canned food.. but they like fruits

CG
tats so nice

yah we oso been thinking of bringing cay to spore flyer

Garfield, Cheri
jurong east mrt there now got pasar malam and kiddy rides.. til 16 may

cay had fun on the rotating swing and train ride..
oso got many kiddos chinese activity books..

Lin
She loves fruit and vege so those used to be her snacks. Now she gets home cooked food everyday. Ha. It's not difficult and a lot healthier. Felt sorry she had to eat dried food everyday. Must taste awful. The brand she eats isn't cheap anyway and have to lug it home, need to get from vet. Freeze and microwave when needed.

cheri

haha ya so pai seh that dat abt the merlion incident...

that was the 1st time he ever vomited outside.

incidentally, i spoke to a mummy in church n she told me her son has super sensitive taste buds/throats/whatever-u-call-that as he's prone to throwing up when the texture, taste is not to his liking...

Kai eats ice cream... he eats Haggen Dazs and Yami Yogurt.
But he will eat very slowly.
Dip his spoon and lick off whatever that clings to the spoon.
Last week i bought him soft serve from Ikea.
Same. Licking so slowly...

aishite

120rmb? that's very reasonable.
For good ones... can cost up to 100plus, excluding safety gear.
The helmet is abt 30plu.
But we bot Ning one set last yr from Toys R Us at a steal.
Not sure if she was keen so let her try try nia.
It's 40plus, with head gear, knee pads, elbow pads and palm guard.

We only let her try out on her own. No lessons at all cos it's for leisure nia, just like cycling la.
She is ok and is able to blade quite well now.
But of cos the blades are not that fantastic la... very plastic...
The size is adjustable.

Lin
so far all i gave her organic. haha...she likes her avocado too. eh not sure if she likes it lah, but she finishes half each time with cereal...so i reckon she's ok with it...

cat
ehehehe...the other time kai oso did mini merlion eating satay leh...hahah...kai and his merlion's episodes!

cy hor eats as slow as kai lah, some times i get upset just dun understand how a person can hold a bit of food in his hands for all eternity. ice cream ah, pathetic coz he's afraid of the cold...

Wow...too many posts to read...cannot catch up. G1 caught some viral thingy in school and one after another of us fell sick again. Haiz!!! The most jialat thing is when the 2 kiddos and DH are all sick together... very tiring. After G1 recovered, we brought him for a pony ride at Pasir Ris Park yesterday and he enjoyed himself so much. We were so scared that he will not want to sit on the pony alone but he told us that he can do it coz he is a big boy now...ha!ha!

CG - Can't really add any comments about maids but IMHO it really depends on the maid. I have 3 cousins who each has a maid at home. Out of the 3 maids, 1 is like a "God sent"...she can do housework, cook and take care of her kiddos. The 2nd one can cook and do housework but when it comes to kids...hopeless. The 3rd one doesn't seem to like kids. So, they see their maids' strenght and play by ear. But I know that my cousins' all have a check-list for their maid in Indonesian language for packing the diaper bag, cooking, etc. It helps! Taking about FM, G1 also recognizes his FM brand. He will take it himself and when he take it before him, he will show us his "angry face". Regarding Spore Flyer, was it nice? Never been up there before.

Lin - Wow...rebonded hair some more? That's amazing that Cay can think that the maid went to office and have not return. So, is your maid coming back? Oh dear, 1 min of shower? Did she showered again? Har, Kate doesn't like Frisco already? So, what is she into now?

Cheri - N is such a caring girl. She is very observant too. For G1, if I open a vidz clip for him and the 1st impression does not catch his attention, he will be bo chap all the way.

garfield - That's so smart of K. She knows that her teacher went back to myanmar.

CY - That's great news about CH. At least her appetite is better. I wish G2 loves rice porridge too. Wow 2 soup spoons? Amazing!!! Thankfully, G2's appetite is also better than G1's. BTW, has your CY's appetite increased?

dsii - Curves? Wah...you slim down again ah? So envious!!! Ha!Ha! Your MIL's maid want to catch's who's eyes in the hospital? 6 years is a long time and there's a bond liao.

dsii
aiyoh, dun be shy..there are different kinda curves..kakakaka....there are the mountainous regions curve (think route 101), then the roundabout curve (think singapore roads), sharp curves (think genting)...

buahahahahahhahahaaaaa...

JP
CH also down with fever..poor girl, mummy karang kabok coz dunno what to do, never dealt weith fever before...but hopefully wont flare up again tonight...

cat
that is spitting??????wow, you are made of sterner stuff than i thought man!!! to me that is merlion liaoz...anything more than what a piece of tissue can handle is merlion to me....

garfield, jp, cy
oh dear.. so many sick.. take care ya

jp
wow g1 is one confident big boy now ya

kate ah.. not really into anything now.. luckily fruits she still likes.. but oso not much..

cy
eh u nvr dealt w fever before?

dsii
kekekee yah yah dun be modest

Lin
CY never had fever...but after this time, he pass to sis, sis might pass back to him...so hb and i paranoid he will come down with fever too...haiz...it's the flu bug most likely...

CG
Tks!

Cat
It's S$120-ish, RMB500. Ya, I am tempted to go the Toys R Us route....and the fact it's adjustable, tat's v good for me oledi. The S$120-ish in Shanghai, is also plastic, not the fast rolling kind. They also sell fast rolling kind in shanghai, lagi super exp, think S$160-ish.

My fren got a good pair from East Coast for her 3 yo, S$200-ish, too exp for me lah

aishite

haha ya i am on the stingy la cos i am not sure how passionate they are abt such things...
so better try out the cheaper alternative and if they are into it then i will consider upgrading.
must earn it la!

plus kids feet grow so fast... wat if buy liao dun use then wanna use too small?
Now she uses her helmet when she goes cycling.

I'm pro-helmet.
I make them wear their helmets when they go cycling.
Of cos they dun zoom abt at hi speed but good to be on the cautious.

Few weeks back, he fell fr his bike.
It was down slope and we seldom take that route.
He made a wrong turn and when he realised, he turn too fast, too sharp thus losing control of the bike...

I am thankful he wore his helmet, although he suffered nose bleed etc but i think his helmet might have cushioned him in a way. His forehead did not suffer a more massive bump than I wld have expected...

CY
well... kds... when they eat more, surely will shit more.
Ning shit at least 10 times in a day when she was an infant.
She was drinking soooooo much.
Not just a bit bit type of shit...

oh... haha ok ok when it comes to their not eating or not taking well to the food... or vomiting...
I try not to make a fuss.
Eating well? Good.
Don't eat... try la?
See... aeroplane flying... flying into ur mouth...

Yikes!! Vomit! Vomit! So sayang all the food comes out...
but hey... nvr mind la... at least the stomach got stretched.
Preparing for next round of eating?

After dinner with cheri... I went to get him a Pandan chiffon so that he won't be too hungry.
He ate up the whole piece. At least that's some food...

So far, Kai is better with his food.
More willing to take a variety of food.
I will remove his dislikes then re-intro again but i will give him his fav then 'accidentally' add some of the food i want him to eat tog...

so far... quite reasonable.
Hmm... if 2 spoons of uncooked rice... cooked liao is quite a lot hor?
not sure if he has the stomach for it.

cy
haha u really sound so so delighted to hv a good eater in ur home now! but maybe in front of cy, try not to compare. Not sure if that will hv adverse effects on him. Gloat secretly or tell us here! hahaha

wow, no fever b4? that's quite amazing! Even though he doesn't go to sch, but i would hv thot most kids would hv got it somehow.

re singapore flyer
i'm curious what do the kids like abt it? brot N for a flyer ride in Taipei b4 but honestly we found it quite boring. She oso kinda lost interest after a while of the oohing &amp; aahing over the view haha. I'd much rather spend the family package money for flyer on a package for the zoo! So much to offer!

Cheri
keke if hb has to choose between these two think he'll go for flyer...
reason?... cos got aircon and no need to walk

but personally i like gg to the zoo.. pre-kiddos days..
we wld go to the zoo on my bday

lin
hehe ya but if air/con, i'll prefer malls then. At least more things to see lol.

why pre-kiddo days only? i'm sure Cay would love the zoo as u hv pets in ur home! so ur hb will go wif u to the zoo on ur bds? heheh maybe u must psycho him again.

Cheri
dunno leh cay like not v into zoo animals..
hes more fascinated w sea creatures tats y brot him to underwater world..
malls ah.. we go almost everyday

Apologies girls....me reading the posts backwards whenever have time...

elmo, Lin and CY - Wow...your babies are standing up, cruising and stand unsupported? Really fast! Maybe can walk before 1 year old. BTW, elmo, loves K's photo of him pulling the ABC chart...so cute!

CY - Did CH had a nightmare about kena punishment? Is that why he stood at the punishment corner? Do take care if its sleep walking, ya?!

Cheri - Love the crab shells art! Fantastic!!! Today G1 wanted to do finger print art. So, we finger printed an apple tree, bees, butterflies and catepillar...ha!ha! Helped him a little to get it right..he wanted to show his Papa.

Lin - Love the fantastic artwork you did with Cay...love his smile. He is sooooooooo happy, ya?

cat
two spoonful uncooked rice ...yah ok lah, i dunno how much they are supposed to eat at 7mths actually...the sources all say until they dun wanna eat...but....

you are cool with food lah...i tend to kee siao when he refuses his food...my mind just kept going to the weighing scale and PD office...

JP
no leh, ch still cannot stand unsupported yet...she lieks to crawl a lot, most likely wal;k late and crawl lots like her korkor...

Lin
thanks! cy loves hammerheads!!

Cat
Oh dear! Thank God that K is alright from his bike fall.
I better go and get a helmet for her then, since she can cycle very fast now.

Lin
Sha also loves to go Underwater World!
So far Sha only encountered 3x fever.

JP
Sha even asked G how to build Spore Flyer... haha!

cy

cos everything i take with a pinch of salt...
cos since Ning's time... everything so UN-TEXTBOOK...
whatever that's recc I tried but to no avail..
went parent craft at Thomson to learn how to care for her massage her etc so that she wun scream her lungs out n scream our wits off... still cannot le...

just ab everything la...

so when Kai is not eating... I thot... well... it's only a guide so i went with my heart...
i'm sure if i had appeared kan cheong and asked pd a few more times why so small huh??
surely he wld hv been at feeding clinics liao!!

when pd muttered he's a bit small... i cooly said oh ya, just like cheche is a screamer he's a sweetie... just like cheche is chubby he is small...
but he is playing, his eyes are bright, he turns his head when i call his name...
he giggles he laughs... nothing wrong with him, ya?

so i think pd also nvr really pursue??

Can any kiddo here can cycle with a 2 wheeler? If so, can share how to go about training them to do so?

Haha, you can see I am obviously quite "free" this period, so am trying to design some activities for her. Tat day I cycled with her, she sat in front of me...and she enjoyed it a lot, cos no need for any leg work from her end :) Surprisingly, it was a lot easier than I thought, cos i thought these cycling of kids thingie are better done by the fathers, but it was really v v manageable.

Girls...talking about pancakes and such, does anyone has a pandan kaya waffle recipe like those found at Prima Deli? I searched the internet but cannot find any. I thought I hit jackpot when I saw this recipe at Viet World Kitchen blog (recipe below) but G1 took one bite and told me its NOT THE SAME! Haiz!

Pandan Waffle

1 scant cup bleached, all-purpose flour
7 to 8 tablespoons sugar
1 1/2 teaspoons cornstarch
Scant ½ teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon baking soda plus 1/2 teaspoon cream of tartar, or 1 teaspoon baking powder
1 egg, separated
1 cup coconut milk, Chaokoh or Mae Ploy brand preferred
2 tablespoons unsalted butter, melted and cooled
1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla or pandan (la dua) extract

1. Heat the waffle iron and have an electric mixer handy. In a bowl, whisk together the flour, sugar, cornstarch, salt, soda and cream of tartar (or baking powder). Use the whisk to combine the egg yolk, coconut milk, butter, and extract of choice.

2. Add the liquid ingredients to the dry ingredients and use a rubber spatula to gently stir. Switch to a folding motion toward the end to incorporate all the flour. If the resulting batter looks lumpy, that's okay. Expect the batter to be thick. Avoid over-stirring, lest the batter becomes over worked and yields a chewy, tough waffle. Set aside momentarily

3. Use the electric mixer to beat the egg white for about 1 minute, or until it holds a 1 ½-inch peak. (See photo.) It will look solid white. Use the rubber spatula to gently fold in the egg white.

4. Spread a decent amount of batter onto the waffle iron, stopping short of the far outer edges since the batter will spread once the top is lowered. (I often don't fill up all the holes and let gravity distribute the waffle.) Cook the waffle until golden brown, 3 to 5 minutes. Darker waffles will be crisper (and stay crisper) than lighter ones. Aim for medium-brown, not light tan.

5. To remove the waffle, I use a pair of bamboo chopsticks to pry and lift the waffle from the iron. Place the waffle (which will be slightly soft) onto a cooling rack, where it will crisp up. Break up the waffle and enjoy warm. They'll soften as they sit but may be reheated to a crisp in the toaster oven.

Note: I spread some kaya jam on it just like those at Prima Deli. But....sigh....G1 still said its NOT THE SAME!!!

Aishite
Good exercise for the mummies!
I also like to cycle together with her.
Too bad now my tummy is big, hence many times I ask my sister to do the task... haha!
Each time after 1 hr, my sister complains her leg are tired

CY - Don't worry...it seems that 2nd kid walks/talks faster wor.

CG - Wow...Sha is one amazing girl. An architect in the making? G1 only wants to strum his guitar and sings...haiz!

Cat - I wish I am as cool as you. I tend to get panicky when my kiddos are not well, not eating, not pooing, etc...

Aishite
Her ah yi spoilts her a lot! Everything she wants, her ah yi buys for her.... especially chocolates... haha! Becos her ah yi also loves to eat chocolates.

aishite - Wow..that's wonderful that you had a splendid time cycling with your girl. G1 is still using his tricycle. Might upgrade him after he turns 3.

CG - Wow..your sister is really superb. I am sure in no time, she will be so fit that you will not hear her complain about her tired feet. Maybe she will fight with for this task...ha!ha!

JP
Sha also loves guitar, now she wants a bigger guitar.
So my agreement with her is that she has to wait till the current guitar is spoilt, then I will buy another one.
A few of her classmates just changed their water bottles, and she also wants to change.
But same agreement as guitar.
And she just replied "ok, I will wait"

JP

guys are so charming with a guitar in arm!!!

eh... no la certain things I am not so kan cheong la but there are things I kan cheong over la.

Not pooing? nrvm lor less to clean up haha!

But i got really very very panicky when there is a cut or graze or fall or anything cos i hv an aversion for blood!
i get really panicky and worry worry worry and thin think thin k of the worst!!
i am this irrational fear of blood, death n all thing gory...
but i hv never ever displayed it in front of my kids...

Ning had a cut on her toes not so long ago.. the bottom of the glass door, or was it the lock... there was sthg sharp protruding and cut her when her foot went under.
When i heard the cry n saw the blood... my heart sank and and fingertips turned real cold.
But i just blocked out this fear and told her it's ok and went abt cleaning it in a very clinical way.

when she had her finger accident... i rushed to A&amp;E and she was crying whining and her finger was so swaddled... i cld see the huge bandage in bright red... i was sooooooo freaked out but i had to carry her n told her hush hush it's ok it's ok...

when she had her thigh scalded... i fanned her thigh, applied aloe vera and fanned and waited for hb..

CG - Sha too? Must get them together and they can entertain us...ha!ha! Same here, if its NOT spoil or broken, we will not get him a new replacement for anything. At least Sha is a sweetheart, just say OK, I will wait. G1 will show us his angry face and throw a small tantrum. We will just plonk him on his thinking chair (he loves Blue's Clues) and ask him to think about what we just told him...

Cat - Err..most of the guys I know who strum guitars and dance like Elvis are playboys...ha!ha! Aiyoh, if I ever see "blood" on my kids, my tears will flow. You are a strong Mummy!

JP

haha i always keep in mind that my hb cannot be ard all the time and there are bound to be emergencies...
and once we show our fear we will unsettle the kids even further...

so more like bo bian la...

cheri
eh! J playboy anot??
no la, when i was in my youth, i know many church guys who played guitar... like so nice la...

i've a non-practicing pianist a my priced catch... so nothing to complain abt la... plus i gt free gu-zhen music and jarring piano and make-believe violin plus his pseudo guitar... so yes yes, life is a blessing la, haha

JP, Cat
Agree and disagree at the same time :)
Agree cos when I was 17, I met this ACS boy who's like the handsomest guy in school with the fittest body...and yes, he coos to every gal with his guitar, playing songs like "Wonderful Tonight". Changed girlfriend every 2 mths, cos he got tired of kissing them. Then he came back from Germany, and went to church and changed...now stopped his playboy days totally

Disagree cos like Cat, my hub also is a musician...guitar, bass, keyboard, saxophone, everything...and he sang me down the aisle on our wedding day. V difficult to imagine him as a playboy though :)