(2012/10) Oct 2012

<font color="0000ff">Dam.. I suddenly have a v strong nausea feeling.. Abit giddy and moody too.. Think MS gona hit my bad later..</font>

kanelmo:
Japan Home sells quite nice puzzles. I found some nice ones at daiso too.. and the usual toysrus and mothercare, but its mostly melissa &amp; doug there so have to pay more. Popular also sells puzzles but i feel they are a bit low on creativity in designing the puzzles and pictures.

another way to make an old puzzle fun for your kid is to toss in the pieces from 2 or 3 puzzles and him/her sort them out and put.. :p

Hi mummies..I survived yesterday..v emo n cried so much, a gal fren visited me and felt beta someone is around listen and care..slept from 6pm till 8am this morn!!!! Feeling so hungry in the wee hours but just force myself sleep so will not feel nausea and vomit..today is another day of challenge..just so moody..n see the sink will feel like vomiting..hope to find some support in this forum, being struck by terrible MS is very very depressing

I will not be doing Oscar etc tests, did not do for no.1 also..just find it v painful if have to make hard decisions..just leave it to fate..

My hubby just told me he'll need to travel every 2 weeks until at least June!!!!!!!! so i'll b alone with my toddler n preggie! hope this pregnancy goes smoothly like #1, then things will be ok..

<font color="0000ff">pibymummy:</font> <font color="aa00aa">You will survive thru this.. Jia you.. Today I oso feel moody n nausea too.. Feel like vomiting.. Hope can endure thru the day in office.. I feel persist I think I need to go take MC later n go hm to my bed lao.. Y do we need to go thru the MS!!</font>

hi pibymummy, i found this online:

At least one fourth of all pregnancies do not involve morning sickness. Approximately 50 to 75 % of pregnant women experience a period in early pregnancy with nausea, and about 30% also experience vomiting.

Some studies have shown that you are more likely to have morning sickness if:

• You have a history of migraines.
• You had nausea and vomiting in a prior pregnancy.
• You have a medical history of negative side effects of nausea and vomiting from trying birth control pills. Some women have this response to higher estrogen levels.
• You tend to have motion sickness.
• If your mother or sisters have had morning sickness, there are studies to suggest that there is higher chance you will, due to a genetic predisposition.
• One study found that you are 50% more likely to have morning sickness with severe nausea and vomiting if your baby is a girl.
• You have twins or other multiples. There are higher levels of pregnancy hormones in your system when carrying twins, which also can make it so the symptoms are worse than average in some women. But it is not universal, some mothers of twins have no nausea or vomiting at all.

So far i only throw up water when i brush teeth in morning, but who knows i may be late in getting MS. my fren had a girl and her MS was non existent.. so the above not true all the time ;)

Hi pibymummy,

U are not alone!
I'm also having bad bad MS. Can happened any part of the day.
Din't have MS for #1. #2, MS, giddy and tirdness.

I am a SAHM and still need to 24/7 take care of my toddler. Tired man!

ya babyjo! i always tell my hubby he can fall sick i cant! i dun get MC to rest lor! and strangely ever since i became SAHM i tend to have mild cold that last long but not full blown. Wen i was working i'd get very sick w flu but with rest recover quickly. it's torture to have to look after toddler when ur sick. really torture.

<font color="0000ff">skinney:</font> <font color="aa00aa">So like that all of us who suffering fm MS have higher IQ babies..

Like tt lets eat stuffs tt can trigger the MS too.. To help boost bb IQ.. Haha</font>

Thanks ladies for yr support and care...I suffered v v badly in my first pregnancy, so much so I even had phobia of delivery, I opted for csect, and somemore GA. Thought 2nd pregnancy will be beta but sadly, it remains..I dun even Wana rem was it more or less serious..2yrs have passed but still feel e scary experience all dejavu and coming back all again

<font color="0000ff">Anyone had confinement catering service before? Any recommendation? I thinking of maybe getting for 2wks after my CL leave.. Cos I heard before need to bu for at least 2 mths to recover.. But dun think I can endure for 2 mths.. So thgt maybe do for 1.5mth If I can..</font>

My 17mth baby boy is always wanting me carry but I simply hv no strength, feel v sad tt he might b deprived of motherly touch, try to make it up to him by hugging him more..sometimes I have a realli silly thought, if I show too much outwardly love to no.1, could it be that. No.2 knows and is jealous so all e MS??

Morning everybody... This thread is very-very long. Mostly I am too tired to post after reading.

Can we drink brewed red date and longan tea? I saw some mommies drink it. Yesterday night tried but feel a bit pain in my lower abdominal this morning. And I read somewhere from internet the best time to drink is 34 weeks and above.
So is it save to drink it now?

Sidetrack, when I stayed in TMC, they had e best soup ever..it was e only thing I looked forward to..really soothe e MS and taste so delicious..my food now is plain bread with h2o (the carbonated drink)

Mei ziang, I took it and puked all out..it did taste nice nonetheless..think it's ok for us take if u can stomach it..especially when it's piping hot and u drink from the teaspoon...

<font color="0000ff">piby:</font> <font color="aa00aa">Maybe you can hug yr #1 and put him on yr lap when u are sitting on the sofa.. Or lie on the bed together and play some toys or read a story book to him.. Dan like tt you need not carry him so much.. You get to rest n bond wif him..</font>

Letting go of my ultra beloved 1 yr old STOKKE Xplory Blue, 2010 version a.k.a latest model

Perfect for a boy. Imagine your 3-mth old baby at the same height with you are dinner table. Or your 9-mth old able to see the noodle chef at Ding Tai Fung open kitchen.

Mothercare price $2,209

Selling my love for $1,600

Serious buyers only. Interested parties, pls SMS Winnie @9005 8165

It's a used item, do expect normal scratches.
6812852.jpg

piby: Thank you. Will try again tomorrow morning. Still confuse to decide between TMC and Mount Alvernia. May I know why do you choose TMC, beside their soup?

<font color="aa00aa">Morning mommies

No wonder im feeling so sian now. hit by MS again during my 9-10week. peak of MS... Zzz...so sian!! Tired + nausea + giddy + vomit. haiz... 1 shot come..</font>

May: My mum insisted that I take confinement food for 40 days (instead of the usual 28 or 30 days) so I did that for no. 1. That's why I took such a long time to lose the baby weight
Wil probably do the same for no. 2. Thankfully my CL's cooking was not bad.

mei ziang: My gynae is based in TMC so I naturally delivered in TMC. They are a women and children specialist hospital so I also thought it would be a good place to deliver. They have added some new delivery suites but I am not sure if they have refurbished the holding area for mums waiting to deliver. The area is very spartan and quite old. I spent almost 15 hours in the holding area because my dilation was sooooo slow. Was trying to stall and wait in my room for as long as I could but finally caved and asked for an epidural which meant I had to be monitored in the labour ward. But I liked my room at TMC and the nurses were fantastic too.

<font color="0000ff">Ming:</font> <font color="aa00aa">So you engage yr CL for 40days huh.. I still hv not decide is to extend my CL for 2wks more.. Must see how when she is at my place.. If gd maybe extend her.. If no gd.. Will just opp for the confinement catering for lunch n dinner for another 2 wks.. </font>

<font color="0000ff">GNL:</font> <font color="aa00aa">You are not alone.. Me oso v sianz now.. Maybe later got take half day MC n go hm rest..</font>

Thks may..hope I can have energy to put him on my lap...he run realli like to be cuddled nowadays I dunno y...

Mei ziang, TMC was a natural choice although my gynae cld deliver in mt a also, cos she told me its easier for her get access to me in TMC. I dun really like to stay in hospital per se, so since TMC mostly for childbirth n children I just went for it..n after staying ter 3x (2x drip and 1x csect delivery) I still tink TMC is great in terms of service attitude, professionalism and of cos the food..

<font color="aa00aa">May, thanks &amp; glad to know im not alone. u gg hm rest ah.. so nice.. i need to save my leaves... used almost half of my MC le.. so need 2 save abit 2. only can bear with it till end of the day. u jiayou ok!! go hm lie down n rest.</font>

<font color="0000ff">piby:</font> <font color="aa00aa">Think he just miss you and the activities with you.. Play, read or sing to him more bah.. Change the activities wif him to somethg which you can sit or lie dwn wif him.. At least he get to hv time wif you.. Dan leave all the run n hyper activities to yr hubby.. So both entertain him separately.. Like tt can oso reduce the chance of him getting jealousy too..</font>

Morning mummies... I'm waiting for my checkup now... 2nd tri is 13wk or 14th? Till now I also a bit blur..

Childcare options: that's been a major qn HB n I hv been thinking thur.. My no 1 was at infant care since 3mths n then move on to playgroup n childcare.
We did went thur several options of maid vs nanny vs infantcare n finally choose infantcare.
Now no 2, again we hv the same headache...

<font color="0000ff">GNL:</font> <font color="aa00aa">I still can afford to take MC.. After today left with 6 days and AL 8 days to clear by FY end which is end of Jun.. Lucky last yr nvr go holiday.. Tts y still hv extra 8days of AL..</font>

May: I am a lazy mummy so I hired my CL for 2 months. Would have liked to keep her longer but she couldn't stay on.

LilKMum: According to my gynae, 1st tri ends at 12 weeks.

<font color="0000ff">ming:</font> <font color="aa00aa">Would like to hired for 2 mths too.. But v siong to pay $4400 to my CL.. tts y thinking of getting the catering.. Wana save more $ so as can keep for bb other expenses..</font>

my sis also told me best to eat confinement food for 40 days. My plan is to ask mil to cook after Cl leaves.
Thanks for all the suggestions. I am considering nanny too. A colleague's wife is currently doing that. She's really nice. When the baby's parents fell sick she offered to take care of baby overnight so parents can rest.
Infant care so expensive. The one nearest to my place charges 1600 for full day excluding initial deposit, registration fees! I told hubby he has to pay for it since we stay in the east in the hope my mil can help. Since she can't help, he pays for the extra expenses. What a headache.

Mei ziang, I read somewhere better don't drink longan tea if you are the heaty type.
My tcm asks me not to eat long an fruit. He didn't elaborate why though.

May: That's true. The cost is pretty high but I thought the extra sleep we got at night with the CL around was worth it. Told you I am lazy

Sing ling: Nannies may be cheaper but they usually take more than 1 kid to supplement their income so you need to see if the nanny can give enough attention to your baby. I have some friends who leave their baby with the nanny until 18 months before transferring to childcare. That is one option too I guess.

Speaking of confinement food, I remember feeling so sick of sesame oil after the 40 days of eating confinement food was up. Everything had to be cooked in sesame oil and we must have used 4 or 5 big bottles of the pagoda sesame oil during that time. No wonder I hardly lost any weight during confinement.

<font color="0000ff">GNL:</font> <font color="aa00aa">Ya.. Lucky no go holiday.. If not I have to save too..

Ok.. Gg off lao.. C u all later when I'm hm..</font>

<font color="0000ff">Piby :</font><font color="aa00aa"> Hopefully they did renovation for the holding area. Thank you</font>

<font color="0000ff">Sing Ling :</font><font color="aa00aa"> Really? My hubby doesn't really agree with Chinese Herbal, especially nowadays have a lot cases from China. Ok, will consider about it. Thank you, Sing Ling.</font>

ya lo,

lets tok about CL/nanny/mil.

my mum already spoke last night,
asking of our plans.
need for her to stay in a not.

but my wife's main consideration is:
she 20-30 yrs never touch baby in that raw state,... how will she be proficient as a CL.

but its 2200 vs FOC la
cost savings can be used to buy Cod fish every meal la.
best bird nest la.
quite significant.

<font color="0000ff">ming:</font> <font color="aa00aa">I understand tt wif CL u will be able to rest more. If can afford if cos I wan too. But I dun wana stress my hub on all e expenses fm nw till confinement. So tts y need to save lo. </font>

<font color="0000ff">SnU:</font> <font color="aa00aa">Ya. Tough decision on 2200 &amp; FOC. But if really scare dan get CL for a mth. Dan let yr mum get used to it n take over after e CL leave. Cos mummy after delivery will need ard 40 days to recover. </font>

Skinneybeenie: thanks for the article. whoohoo.. high iq and possiblity to be a girl? hehehe!!!

May: agreed with you. CL fee for this yr can be as high as 2.8k i heard. My mum will b doing for me and we will bao an ang bao to her.
i hope i can tc of 2 myself while she is busy cooking and etcs..

SNU: if your wife dun mind ur mil doing confinement for her then take this option. But you have a bao an ang bao to her as a token of appreciation.

SnU,

From my point of view, it's better to get a CL. Your mum will need time to adjust taking care of the newborn and your wife will need lots of rest. Wth a CL ard, your wife can take absolute rest and your mum can help out too so that she can continue taking care after the CL leaves. It will also be easier for u too

Thx Ming! So I can countdown 1more wk to end of 1st tri....

Finish my checkup, so happy to see my lil one! N we sort of know the gender le. Also did the NT scan + bloodtest= Oscar issit?

CL: actually even thou i had a CL for no1, but that doesn't mean good rest at nite. Ok, firstly where's the bb going to sleep ? For me, bb slept in the same room w us in bb cot while CL sleeps different room. Simple reason as I was on TBF so it's easier to BF bb at nite.
SnU: It's good that ur mum can help w confinement. But ur wife's consideration is not an invalid point. N one more major consideration is PND/PNblues which is super common. Mood swings is v common. My collegue who had her own mother doing her confinement was saying luckily it's own mother, not happy still can show face n argue. If mil, not nice to show face rite.

May, I did confinement 28 days n buay than le! Couldnt wait for confinement to end! I can't Tahan for 40 days de...

There are pros and cons with getting a CL. I know people who fired their CL after a few days while others liked their CL so much they offered the CL permanent employment as a nanny/ housekeeper. Sometimes it's the luck of the draw.

SnU: If your mum has not had much contact with babies in the last 20, 30 years, it may be a good thing to get a CL to show your mum, you and your wife what needs to be done to take care of a young baby.

May: True, need to watch the expenditure. Children are so small but their things cost so much. I found that we managed to save quite abit with No. 1 when close friends asked and we told them exactly what we needed for the baby. Better than ending up with 3 play gym sets and lots of infant clothes which babies outgrow in 2 months or so. We also saved up all our credit card points and exchanged them for vouchers which we spent at the childrens' department at Robinsons getting the bottle steriliser etc.

LilKMum: Good to hear the checkup went well. If you sort of know the gender at this stage, you should be carrying a boy? Congrats

Joanna: I personally try and stay away from citrus foods 'cos I think the acidity worsens my stomach acid levels and causes me to feel more pukey. Not sure if medically citrus foods should be avoided though.