(2012/06) Jun 2012

Nattan
Not considering nannies cos dunno what they will do when baby is left alone with them. In IFC, at least many teachers around.

Petrina
Thanks for your advice. I think I'll go with your suggestion..maid look after baby with MIL watching over. And will lay the ground rules very clearly before i return to work.

Fleur
My main concern is sometimes old folks have their own beliefs. My MIL scared me when she suggested to let baby drink "Dong Cong Cao" after he is born. But we know that certain foods/drinks is harmful to baby when their digestive system is not fully developed. Even honey water can be poisonous to them. So i shrudder to think what she'll feed my son when I am not at home. And not so nice for me to tell her off..so will let hubs do the 'coaching'. Ya..I will seriously contemplate installing a webcam at home.

Sapphire
I was considering to leave baby at IFC end of the year or early next year..but many popular centers are already fully booked...faintz. Now i just have to adopt the first solution and pray that my company can allow me to work flexible days/ hours. Your #1 has good immune system..seems like most IFC now allocate 1 teacher to 3 babies...so more attention can be given. I wonder what happens if all babies cry at the same time?

Tanny: I agree with fluerfluer that it's easier to get MC from GP as compared to Gynae. Coz when I asked my gynea if it's ok to give me MC for the last 2 weeks before EDD, she said that she can only give MC prior to pregnancy if there is a likelihood of complication in giving birth. Which means I have to work till I give birth unless I take ML which I dun want to.

Oh manz.. i'm having menses cramp pain. haven't eaten since my 9am breakfast..
baby is so rough inside. i think she's trying to turn my insides out!
i'm gonna faint of pain! definitely not real contractions but it hurts..

Cassandra: what type u looking for? when i self-teach my boy, i bought those baby enstein dvds. made some flashcards. *start once he can sit properly on ikea baby chair*
mostly i sang n dance to him. Visuals r very impt to babies. repetition works. so dun worry abt the limited songs u remember from your childhood.
Try Youtube for nursery rhymes. After u memorize the songs, sing to your baby.
websites i google and get some worksheets printed.
mostly the alphabets dotted tracing type. can start ard 1yo for writing.

Petrina, no particular type because I have no clue at all. Guess I would need to research more on child development to determine what is suitable at which phase.

Children enrichment
so far for #1 who is 2 years 10 months old, no enrichment yet.. only daily childcare and he's been learning a lot there in both English and Chinese.. They dun emphasize a lot on academic stuff at childcare at this stage.. eg: they teach numbers 1-5 this year, slowly introducing letters and phonics sounds...

but indeed my son already knows his letters and phonics and number 1-100... but I am sure from 4 years onwards they will teach a lot more stuff..

i plan to send my boy for piano class maybe next year, and "I can read" for English to build a strong foundation.. the most 2 enrichment at one go.. so maybe around 5-6 switch to chinese and swimming.. try to budget no more than 350 a month, since his childcare is already about 550 a month liao...

Cassandra: babies r very visual n colors from NB-6mths. since their eyesight is very limited to nearby stuffs only, i'll suggest singing right from birth each time u bf.
My boy was able to sing most songs the moment he get his speech going ard 1.5yrs, before he entered N1, he already knew most of it.
Taught him colors. don't expect them to respond till at least 1yo though.
repeat each session for a week before progressing to new item. eg: teach rainbow colors solely for a week. then following wk teach #s 1-10 for a wk. then abcs for a wk. split 26 characters into grps of 5.
by 4mths, you can buy board books and read to baby aloud while pointing the word. watch your baby's eyes and make sure he/she looks at the word u r pointing at.
repeat the same book for at least 3-5days b4 switching story.

Charmaine
started my boy at 19 months for CC.. consider quite early and he did fall sick frequently during the first 2 months but after that he's able to cope well and i think it's a good choice to let him socialize with other kids, since he's not the sociable type from beginning..

and agree with Petrina, i think parents are still best teachers for our little ones.. start introducing music, songs, stories early as nowadays kids are super smart, they can pick up things way faster than we could imagine..

Felicia and Petrina,

Thanks for the information.

Gathering
Are we fixed on the gathering? Tomorrow I will be out whole day to run errands and see gynae, before my csec.

Hmmm what kind of songs for NB? My baby has been listening to mozart when I'm working and u favourite pop songs when I travel to work.

Nursery songs for NB ar. Or should I just be kiasu, Nursey songs in the day and morzart in the evening?

Gathering is on. 6Pm I'll be there. Some mommies will reach at 7. We'll eat n wait at the same time..

Jolene: nursery rhymes are good for teaching sounds and words. Mozart good for brain development. I say play whatever you can tahan coz there are only so many times you can listen to mary had a little lamb.

This is what i did for my son in terms of learning. Just sharing what worked for him.

for enrichment, start with red and black patterns at birth. I would play a vcd that had nursery rhymes, but i didn't let him watch.
I sang to my son.
Then at six months, i played wink and learn chinese dvd. They will break up the characters by using different colours and they learn how the words sound, plus hear short sentences.
My husband showed him some youtube videos. Google gigglebellies. Very colourful and catchy songs, but limit the time spent on watching these.

At 10 or 11 months i started gug twice weekly classes. He would sit there and absorb the songs and lessons. They learn zoophonics which has wacky animals, sounds ands actions. I would repeat them at home. My son started speaking late, but he knew the sounds and actions.

Around 18 months, my fil started putting up words, colours, days of the week etc around the house, so he would go there to look and see. Fil would spell out 3 letter words such as c-a-r car.

All along i had lots of books lying aroubd and i would read to him. As i speak to him in mandarin, i woukd translate the english books and read aloud in mandarin. Sometimes i would read the english aloud too, so he learnt to translate and understand both languages. It is very impt not to mix the languages though. I would speak each complete line in standard english or mandarin. In addition, i would be in character so as to be more entertaining.

We had given him foam letters to play, and he would arrange them in alphabetical order.

We also gave him a netbook, so he was constantly typing, initially random letters, then he progressed to a to z, then our names, and eventually lyrics.

When he was 2 he still refused to partcipate in gug lessons, and i had mentioned that i finally decided to take him out and searched for a place that allowed more indivual space instead of strict routine. So happened chiktern house had available slot, so i put him there for 3 and half hours each day. This was after much tears and quarrels.

Brought him to sci centre and after that he was obsessed with dinos. Bought lots of dino books, went through with him. He also went to youtube himself to search for more dino abc songs etc to learn on his own.

He finally now has vocab explosion. I also think the teacher would constantly tell the children what they are experiencing. Talks a lot in sch, got to perform, and now he loves singing. I would read eng and chi books borrowed regularly from sch. He didn't pay attention in chinese class until recently. Now singing chinese songs all day long.

He writes all day long though it is like chicken scratches. I think the iphone abc tracing apps worked.

He recently shocked me by reading books aloud on his own, with a little guidance. Started with scholastic early readers and recently i found my primary supplementary story books, and he could read the pri 1 books aloud. I really believe the zoophonis and word blending helped a lot.

Just want to say this is not hothousing. It is just to provide him with a conducive environment. Plus me tv addict switched the tv off, coz he is already addicted to ipad, i don't want too much of these.

Oh yes, playing is very impt. He plays with ikea soccer balls, sometimes we kick soccer ball at the void deck. His sch allowed and taught him how to climb up the stairs to the slide and other games at the outdoor playground. He and his classmates like to chase each other around. Socialising skills, team work, all those soft skills are very impt and i'm very happy his sch teaches these.

My other friends focus on art work, but since i don't like dealin with messy painting, i don't do that at home. He does that in sch.

Others prefer to bring their kids outdoors such as gardens and parks, but my mum refused to let me bring him to bird park and zoo until he turned 2. Coz the shit there carry a lot of germs. My friend's daughter came down with weird virus from 3rd world country after going to the bird park when she was very young. Now quite sickly

Oh yes, my mum also forbade me from bringing my son out until 4 months. Except see pd for vacination. He is generally healthy. Only first few months at sch kept getting runny nose.

You mummies are already chatting abt enrichment classes & all! That is really fast. Haha

I have so many things to do at home. However, after I come home from work and settle down, i would be too tired to do anything. Any mummies same as me?

jolene: no prob! I think me a bit bad to my #2. I don't listen to classical music that much nowadays. Always listening to audio tapes instead of music.

Kadice: Coz now haven't give birth yet, once we give birth, would be fretting about bf, baby crying, sleeping etc. No time to think about all these.

petrina: I like 'My name is Peanuts, I'm an elephant' 'old macdonalds oh yee oh' version etc.

my strength is in languages. I'm not so good with science, so can't really develop that much.

For those who want to homeschool, there are a lot of resources available. Just google. Or you could go to any enrichment centres for a term, just to observe some of the activities and get ideas on what to do with your kid. For example, gug taught the concept of floating by using water and materials with different density.

Enrichment class

I sent my gal to JG when she was about 13 mths for 3 terms. I can't see the result I m oso not sure if she picked up anything fom the lessons. Recently she recited some songs she learnt from JG that shocked me. I was surprised to hear that.

I sent her to shicida after stop at JG. Also can't see the result yet. Probably can only see the result at later stage. But we were told by her cc teacher that she is a little advance than others in the same group in term of languages. So I'm not sure is it because I like to sing to her or the enrichment classes.

Sorry. I can't go back to the previous thread. Petrina, mind posting the meeting place again? I can't seem to find soup broth on the sg mall list, Raffles City right?

glass: my boy loves the wheels on the bus & Old macdonalds the best

then other nursery rhymes he prefers BARNEY's version. almost all the songs in barney shows he can sing.. weird thing, he doesn't like watching thomas the train? alot of my fren's boys r addicted to thomas..

Venue: Raffles City - #B1 THE SOUP SPOON/THE SOUP BROTH.
Near to Thai Express
Time: 6pm onwards
Date: 18 May 2012, *coming Friday*

Attendees:
Petrina
Nattan
Prettibride
Jul
Charmaine
Fleur
Loshita
Jolene

glass
wah.. that's a detailed list of what you've done! i'm impressed! i would be too tired from work to do all that w him! *guilty* to a certain extent, that's also y i send him to classes, so it's more structured and kinda compels me to act on smthg.. =/

ioshita
i wanted to send boy to JG.. but the timings dont' fit, so drop the idea.. i'm just sticking to his right brain training thingy and the music classes for now.. next yr will begin his berries lesson as well as swim class =)

it's friday!! can't wait to go home and rest! getting more and more tiring everyday! can't wait for delivery and just rest on bed! =P

Went to church yesterday becoz day of obligation (Ascension day).. And I went myself at night. People must be wondering why this heavily preggy woman went alone. hahaha..

Hubby has gone with #1 in the afternoon lah. We usually don't bring #1 out to go to church at night time as it's almost her sleeping time already. The mass starts at 8..

Btw!! Fox Kids got discount! Some more with DBS/POSB card if buy 3 items additional 15% off. I bought jackets for #1 and baby becomes very cheap, each only about $13. I even can't find that price in smh bulk purchase. Bought 1 T-Shirt for #1 too, becomes only about $5!!! Now very very tempted should I buy more.. hm..

haha can see how excited groovy is to snap good deals! the GSS coming.. time to guard the wallets...not! =))) hahah!

Groovy:
Yesterday i was still telling my hb that yesterday my mom & bro go church to pray! cause i forgot it was Ascension Thursday :p
Kenna scolding from mom for pontaning church on day of obligation..
Before I was preg, we used to bring #1 to 8pm mass for obligation days. but now i'm damn lazy.

Yesterday BH lasted for the entire day. Hope today will be an easier day for me.

morn mummies~

yest went robinsons to get my maternity cum bf pillow. u gals know robinsons now having sale? most items is 20+20% discount even for non-members. but selected brands la. they also at expo. i went to checkout bb-safe mattress, no discount or promo...guess will kiv that first.

so excited to meet u gals tonite~ i'll try to be there b4 7pm...but need to take bus, then change mrt..or maybe jus take cab down provided i can grab a cab at rush hour. din know soup spoon sells herbal soups, this is a spin off from soup spoon isit?

Morning mummies...

Groovy, looks like you got some good deals but I don't think I'll be buying more clothes now cos I have quite a lot already. BTW, GAP is also having 30% sale with additional 20% off for 5 pcs of purchase. I like their baby clothes, bought 2 the last time already.

Prettibride, Soup Broth Asia is a spin-off from Soup Spoon, focusing more on Asian style soup dishes.

I don't think I'll be joining you girls this evening. Haven't been sleeping very well these few nights cos of baby's constant kicking. I'm still very tired and will probably go home after work.

Hihi!!! I should be there around 6PM today.
Petrina i will text U when i reach there. I didn't know Soup Spoon and Soup Broth are similar/same. Is it side by side?

nattan: u rest well then. we'll see u most probably with your bubba in July/August

fleur: yeah. beside each other.

Sale again?? I'm gonna pretend I didn't see the posts.. hurhur..

Venue: Raffles City - #B1 THE SOUP SPOON/THE SOUP BROTH.
Near to Thai Express
Time: 6pm onwards
Date: 18 May 2012, *coming Friday*

Attendees:
Petrina
Prettibride
Jul
Charmaine
Fleur
Loshita
Jolene

So sian. Just came back from gynae & seems that my baby has turned her head back up again. Her head was down the previous 2 visits. Doc said there's still time for her to turn back since I'm only 34 weeks preg now. Hopefully, she will.

Petrina, thanks... you girls enjoy yourselves!

Cheri, try doing more "floor scrubbing" exercises to turn your baby downwards... there's still time.

Fleurfleur, it's the physical store having sale.

ya. usually the 5pcs above is physical store. i like to go centrepoint as it's big.

Cheri: hope ur baby will be guai n turn head down. try some turning exercises, use headphones and play loud/attractive music & shine light near pelvis. put something cold on top of tummy.

Nattan & petrina

Yes, gonna try out some of ur ideas. Why headphones? What abt just playing music near the pelvis? Floor scrubbing exercises?

woops the t-shirt is 6.9, plus 15% discount so about $6 instead. hahaha.. Miscalculate. preggy brain.
But the jacket is the real steal!!
It's a plain jacket though..

Re playing music by headphones, actually I read that it's not advisable as the baby may become tone deaf :p I don't know how true, but anyway the baby can hear perfectly well without headphones, you can just place the mini speaker closer to the pelvic area.

Cheri, floor scrubbing - get on your fours (can be on the bed or mattress) and move as though you're scrubbing the floor.

nattan: tone deaf?? dun scare me.. i dun have speakers so headphones r next best choice since i can't hear the music once the headphones r plucked in. can't put hp/ipad near baby due to radiation..
so i think it won't be too loud.

nattan: i went carrefour to buy WCC coconut juice. per can $1.20. if I buy from gmarket, it works to $1.10 per can for me. $11.90+$2.00. So i'll buy ala-carte instead. Since carrefour I have 5% rebate too.
Just drank the first can, found it very sweet.. But it states no sugar added. I went around reading all the other brands ingredients list. All have preservatives & sugar added.
So the best is still WCC.
But dunno y it taste very much sweeter than COCOMAX..

Petrina, re tone deaf, I don't know how true, but read this about safety using headphones http://www.babymed.com/pregnancy-safety/it-safe-put-headphones-your-belly-during-pregnancy

Re coconut juice, you bought how many on gmarket? I ordered 24 cans since it's free shipping with $20 purchase. After the $2 discount coupon, total is only $21.80 or $0.90 per can for me. Anyway if it's more convenient for you to get from Carrefour then go ahead and buy there. Mine will be delivered tomorrow before noon.

Petrina: I went for the pre-natal course and Wong BB also discourage headphones on the belly. Too loud can cause deafness, coz even without the headphones bb can already hear noises outside. Thats why sometimes when watch tv or go watch movies will notice bb figeting inside cos hes waken by the sound outside.

nattan: i didn't order from gmarket after calculating. i can only get max 12 cans since i am already 36wks. instinct tells me i'll pop by 37wks.
these 2 days my BH r terrible.. a big sign that she's gonna explode out of me anytime..
Already started to handover work today. Abit relaxing in ofc now since i need to give fellow colleagues samples to try out in case they encounter problems.

asrias: i can't put my hp or ipad near tummy due to radiation. if i switch on the music max and put hp on table, my hb will scold me for disturbing peace in the bedroom since we're watching tv.. haha
so my next best choice is to plug in the headphone and put headphone next to tummy. i use my ears as gauge for volume as in if i have the headphones on me, what is the level i'll use.
then i'll put headphone on tummy after testing vol level.

Petrina, you can always drink the coconut during your maternity leave while bf-ing what..it's suppose to be good for rehydration. No need to finish everything before your delivery. But anyway up to you.

Heh.. nobody should put iPad or Hp on the tummy la.. you don't have a normal speaker at home? I use my FM alarm clock which has an iPod dock and it comes with a speaker to play music. And no need to turn the music up loud, just normal volume will do. The article I sent you says that the recommended level should be below 70 db which is about the same level as music you hear in a dept store, ie not very loud la.