(2012/02) Feb 2012

AirMex- I just delivered at Mount A, the ward was quite peaceful, do no worries abt the Reno outside. Only thing u should worry abt is the chances of u getting your preferred room type! I had opted for single room but due to baby boom, all types of single rooms right up to suite (I was so desparate for privacy) was fully booked when I was in labour. Worst than hotel! In the end I have no choice but to downgrade to double room, btw the promise of mount A converting a double room to a single room did not materialsed for me-was very angry and feedback to management.

Momo's baby- yes, baby bonus n CDA acct still available for us. U will get the registration package when u r admitted.

Meiji, my son was in engaged but not sure if he face up or down during delivery. His head was at the edge of my virginal with the slightest push, my husband can see his hair already.

@Gg, my cl previously told me tat she wouldn't use so much ginger cos I'm on total bf and might cause jaundice

As for bf-ing, I've got a super sleepy bb. Only manage to latch him on for abt an hr today. The rest of the tries (abt 2 sessions), he refuse to open his mouth. Nurse suggest to bring him in when he cries instead of every 2-3hrs

Meifen - waaaaa v scary. Its gd tat u're ok le! Take care ya and congrats!!! Speedy recovery! =)

GG - my #1 BM supplement with FM. Jaundice recovered in 2 wks. Dunno if it helped but tink sun v impt for bb. I hate ginger so my confinement food is min ginger one. Mebbe tat helped too. Also, I drank red date tea till nose bleed so my red date tea also v diluted. Hope ur bb get well soon! =) for storing BM u can buy tis ice try to freeze den after frozen store in zip lock. My fren did tat. Chk out sensiblelines.com

Pineapple - no la I not vbac. M gonna induce tml once past midnight! Heh. Hows ur situation? In labor yet? Gd luck to ur vbac!

Opps - how's everything liao? Ok? Take care ya! Hope ur #1 and hubby recover soon and gd luck for vbac too! =)

Tks mummies. Both my CLs got put bit ginger in red date tea to help rid wind. But yes have asked CL to stop. Last time I mainly fm bb also jaundice recover faster. So now ask CL to give fm at night at least. Will give some ebm to no 1 instead. Sigh!! Raining! No sun again!!!

Meifen, not bad leh ur bb latch an hr. Mine put to breast 15mins sure sleep!!! I am like a sleep inducer! End up sometimes I prefer just pump out after she fall sleep, pump settle v fast!

Hi mummies. Those who gave birth at tmc and stayed in single bedded. Can I check under what circumstances they charge the $75 spouse stay ? Is it once our hubby stay over they will auto charge or??

Amy, nope
If they ask u any companion, just say no. Then they won't specially set up hubby sofa bed with bedsheets etc but the bed is there anyway, and they won't take your hubby breakfast order. Their bkfast not great anyway, hub can go delifrance or opposite buy or drive out.

Jojo, khim, my lochia stopped after 5 days but during gynae check can see still got blood inside. So gynae say dun worry if blood come out still. Massage can also help push the blood out.

Waaaa GG tats fast! 5 days onli? Anyways can say no companion? Den when they come over in the middle of the nite will they ask spouse to leave?

Xia, ya c section lochia less coa gynae will suck out as much as possible during op. But of course will still have some residue after they stitch us back.

Nope, the nurse won't chase cos in single bed ma. I took the premier one but I believe is same cos they also listed companion fee $75

i thot my lochia is stopping so quite surprise that there's more fresh and brown blood.

amy, for my #1, we informed TMC there was no companion but my husband stayed overnight. Like what GG mention, just no blanket, etc.

xia, what we did was draw the curtain that is nearer to my husband side so the nurse wun see him. anyways, dun thk the nurse will chase hubby out lar...

Hi, I'm back in office. Will be taking leave tmr and wed to rest. Hope bb will come out either tmr or wed. I don wan to be Mar 12 mummy.

GG, i find tt after trying to latch my girl more, my supply seems to be dropping as after latching her, i cannnot pump every 3hrs. Only pump after her feed. how often do you latch your bb?

GG: I think the 3G rule is because the alcohol will be less in the milk coz our digestion completes in about 2-3 h so less will be in our system therefore won't pass to baby. Also same when we take medicine or TCM..

Today my CL has left.. Now super sianz and tired.. No more shaking leg.. Haiz

Hi khim, I latch bb about 2 times a day, as bb always zzz..and I find she not as effective in emptying my breast. After latch I will immediately pump also, sometimes still can get like 80-100ml so I really wonder how much she takes when latch. I will pump for most feeds now. Plus CL helps feed her so quite fast and convenient. Aiyo after CL goes dunno how. Everything must own self do, wash, sterilize pump and bottles, feed!!

Jojo, tks. Ya, pd told me pump or latch 2-3 hrs after alcohol or herbs. I was wondering where they go then? Always thot wat we eat will go into bm anyway. I started to ask CL give 2 fm feeds a day. Hope will help clear the jaundice faster.

Thinking of just doing a private lunch for full month rather than buffet at home. Wan it to be hassle free and get to eat nice food. Any mummies have recommendation for Chinese restaurants with private room?

Thanks GG! i wanna latch my girl more but seems like i need to build up my supply first. =( sigh! i guess now i will pump more and latch my girl less for now.

really hope to have at least 150ml per pump by end of bb's 1st month. tml gng to see gynae and will ask her for the pills. hope it will help.

meifen, I jus read your birth stories. Really scary. So glad that all was over. Hope u are aldy well and started bf. COngrats!

GG, ya lah, my bb too comfy inside. Also maybe he really listen to my instructions. Let wait and see tmr and 29. If he came out tmr or 29 means he really gd boy loh. Wanting to end the waiting game fast but at the same time worried I can't handle 2 kids. Last note did not sleep well cos #1 keep waking up to cry. Can't imaging next time hav to handle 2...

Thanks GG and Khim.. yah i find it abit ridiculous to charge companion.. cause by choosing 1 bedded, we are already paying more yet they are charging extra for hubby to stay over...

ok thanks for the advice! will declare as no companion too hehee

LOL I also dun wan end up in march thread. Gonna go induce later tonight le. Finally my turn too! Looks like today and tml alot pple go deliver. Dunno got enough rm for me not. =.="

Opps - I also worried cannot handle but early or later they still come. I'm sure we'll find a way to cope by den. All the best!!!

Meiji - safe delivery! =)

Khim, u going to bring bb for jaundice check? I v sianz, she is still quite yellow and there is just not much opportunity to sun her. How?? Jialat.

opps, i can feel for you, handling 2 kids is not easy when your #1 is at a demanding age. sometimes i a bit regret having #2 so early. but a fren told me that when any difficult situation arises, we mummies will learn/adapt to handle them. btw, my fren handle twins on her own since birth. just keep a happy mind ya..

xia, good luck to you. jia you!

meiji, you bb out already? congrats to you first. =)

GG, my girl also very yellow. planning to bring her to polyclinic on wed or thu. just to ensure that the jaundice level is within the safe level. yah lor, so far i only manage to sun her like 3-4 times from the day she discharge lor. just letting her drink as much milk as possible.

Evon, i didnt drink any plain water. only milo, red date tea and lactation tea.

i'm having itchy rashes on my breasts. Not sure f it is heat rash. Been bathing everyday since day 14. any mummies also have the same prob?

any catering companies to recommend for 30pax?

Khim, same here. I only managed to sun her twice since discharge. Tmrw going poly review. I see so yellow v worried but CL keeps saying is normal. She stop putting ginger in my food today. U can call for appt so no need wait so long.

GG and khim: dun worry so much about jaundice.. Mine also had high jaundice initially. Had to visit PD everyday after discharge but it came down after the 9th day. Anyway in Singapore, there has not been any babies that develop brain complications due to jaundice for last ten years. But if baby is underweight or not gaining enough + jaundice, then it is a concern. Just continue to sun baby n it should come down,

Khim, your rashes could be hormonal change.. Can put some nipple cream. I had a fren who had rashes too. If u r BF directly, nipple cream is safest.. I tried four season - not bad

Jojo, tks. Hope so, my bb jaundice went up then come down slightly. Hopefully tmrw is lower. Weight wise is ok, gaining weight.

dear mummies, any of you use avent electric pump? i faced very bad problem, the first pump i used for 4days, break down, change a new one, break down within 4-5 days. And today, 7 days later, spoil again. Omg..this is so bad..and worse is during confinement period break down

Shan: oh dear! Did u manage to get a replacement? There's this website for breastfeeding mums n they rent out pumps.. I can't rem but u can try google..

hi ladies:

i had a bloody show 2 time today...trying vbac..cant induce yet cervix is closed
at home n when shopping...contractions were regular n strong. the moment i go hospital...contractions slow down... worst thing...TMC FULL HOUSE!!!! all the single bedders were taken! they ask me to wait it out in labour ward n wanna charge me by the hours till a room become available.... i decided to go home
tom calling TMC again n prob mt A to check the room situation...mean time i will try to "tong" contractions at home until i cant take it...

xia:

which hospital r u at? u in labour ward tonight? i was there

jojo:

oh dear. hugz, must be a scary experience....mums r always the best....going thru all these for our babies

oops:

my standby dr wanted to "cut" me today i insisted i wanna wait for PT... drama today...i better catch some rest while i can...how r u coping? still spotting? ive been spotting with the contractions till they r scared my placenta will rupture wo....

Pineapple, when I went for induction for #2, also no single bedded. Gonna wait till chk out time which is from 10.30am onwards. U can try calling before then.

Shan, oh my. Makes me remember my #1 time. Had an ameda pump n it breakdown after 1 wk of using. Gonna manual pump and manage to borrow an electric pump frm a fren. Maybe u try asking arnd your frens. Mummies, it is always better to have spare pumps, may it be manual pump.just in case of breakdowns.

Hihi, my bb gal Is out since 6 pm plus yesterday. She weigh 2.9kg. Luckily we chose c sect over natural birth. Her cord was around her neck.
All the best for the rest of the feb mummies.

Shan, ask your hubby bring the pump to phillis service centre for one to one exchange. Within warranty right? Tell them it had been breaking down etc. If stock avail they can give on the spot.

Meiji crackers, congrats on ur bb gal!! Have a speedy recovery!

Pineapple, yup tmc is super full! My first day there also no premier single, end up took their suite for one night before shifting to premier single. The nurse told me single room is worse, as most pple go for their single bed. On average they say tmc delivers 60 bb a day cos of dragon year!

Any mummies try the cakes or cupcakes from cupcakedivinity before?? Reviews? Thinking of ordering for bb full mth celebration. Tks!

Hi pineapple, may I know who is yr standby dr? dr Paul should b back tomorrow right?

I do agree tmc is v full and service sucks! I chose to induce last fri though my edd was not due yet. First, tmc admission ppl bully my hb say one bedded not Available ask him to upgrade to suite and we pay! But during hospital tour they say if dun have room that we want they upgrade for free. In the end they downgrade me to 2 bedded. I could not sleep at all. When I could sleep the next bed patient came in. China woman bring village of ppl in with her and was having chicken and duck talk with nurse. China woman dun speak gd English and nurse was Indian. Faint. Her hubby wear leather shoe and shorts and walk up and down. V noisy. China couple ask tmc nurse for catelog for fm. Nurse say dun have. I was laughing at them they think go restaurant to eat is it? Complain to my gynae the next day and got a single room. Big relief...

Second note yr bill b4 u pay. U will b innocently charge a lot of items which is not worth paying like admission services, some test they do also not worth paying. I juz close one eyes

Third the nurses keep gg in and out of yr room. V irritating. ESP when they give u yr bb, they juz push in and say feeding time. Then put bb there.

I feel their soup r v salty, bread is v hard, and meat r v tough.

Catherine, agree w u their admission quite terok. When I went at night, the admission staff were chatting away and there was no one before me. I was damm pissed wondering when they will press my number. Then think they saw I keep looking at them then they buzz my no.

As for nurse keep coming in, not just the nurses but also the cleaner aunty, the meals and tea break deliver aunty, newspaper delivery, nursery staff, LC etc. Anyway can put all these in the feedback form.

Congrats Meiji!! The joy of having ur baby in ur arms is incredible!

Pineapple, Jia you!! Take long deep breathe when the contraction comes. Hang in there!

My experience with TMC was ok so far.. Maybe cos I chose 2 bedded from the start. I was lucky for the 1st nite cos the next bed got discharged tat afternoon. At least I can have the room by myself, but that's also the nite with my near death experience. 2nd day got a china couple who check-in in the morning. Tink she is more disturbed by me cos I got constant visitors. Her hubby came over and tell my husband whether my visitors can come in the afternoon cos her wife just delivered. *faint* after that got even more drama when the wife got up for her first pee and fainted in the toilet. Apparently the nurse just escort her to toilet and let her clean up her own wound after explaining (which the nurse did the same for me). After she fainted, her mother scream and shouted for help and she got panicky and nearly fainted herself too. My visitors got to help her call the nurses and pass her a chair to sit. I nearly wanna give up my bed to her cos she seems to need it more den me. My young nephew saw the whole drama and got scared, didn't wanna come into the room after the whole drama is over.

Gg, I can't b bothered to complete the feedback form cos i dun want to make things difficult ESP my gynae help me get the single bed.

Meifen if I were yr hb I will say to the chinaman.. Only nurse can ask my visitors to go and not u. I was tolerating the china couple in my ward. Telling myself to ren and rest. I even purposely call my mum, hb and speak in English and dialect to say they r noisy.

Pineapple listen to the midwives and push as what they instruct u. Hope u r not getting the plumper midwife to help u. She has lots of strength!! I Had contraction pain since tues night and realise I had dilated on Weds afternoon but no action till fri when i induce. Jia you