(2012/01) Jan 2012

juz told my hub to remind his mother when i am starting work and when she shd oso start. expected... she never failed me with more surprises, ha. this time she asked whether i could take long leave to look after bb, if i could not quit my job. so nanny is on the way. will int more nannies...

Ya mine is joint fingers pain... Due to late night washing clothes and bottles. Nowadays, I throw everything in the washing machine...could not be bothered already... Hahaha... It helps save time and my hands are not so dry at least. But waste electricity and water... I wash my boys clothes everyday:p
To prevent my boy f finding breast, I tried to breast feed only at night... For bottle feeding, I do it throughout the day. Hopefully can change the habit... Another thing is think bb is too attached to me... Looking f me all the time also.. Put him at my mil f two days already suffering f separation anxiety
think it is both f him and me...
Anyone let your bb sleep on the tummy... I tried this 2 days, he tend to sleep longer. If not, every 10mins, he will fuss and cry Nd I have to carry him and cuddle him to sleep...

i'm in need for a gd confinement lady in 1-2 wks time. My CL due to some personal reason cannot do for me.
pls pm if you hv the contact. thanks.

Do u latch or bottle feed ur bbs at nite, ie middle of nite? How many do they nd to be fed? My gal wants milk every 1+, 2hrs. Wonder if itz becos she doesnt suckle enuff. She hardly sleep through.

valteen
thanks for checking.
my mil came telling me that can try EYS ba bao san. That one is v good for pre-empting fever when bb is teething..duno how true. Will check out later when I pass by EYS.

jkids
how hur...the interview not v successful hur?
haiz..ur mil wont co-operate one? Dont they find that looking after their own grandchild has more benefits than disadvantages? Can get closer to grandkid, can prevent dementia, can lose weight...

jac/moscato
thanks for the website

yah..but now i am also in a dilemma, not sure if i should put bb in the wait list or not as MIL is able to cope. Just thinking of putting name down for the day when mil really cant cope. But also duno when is the day when she cant....u know just planning when the day it rains la (未雨绸缪).....
but i guess it will be diff to coincide with bb's ifc.

bubble
you can try contacting my CL in malaysia
+60127269128
Aunty Shuhua
She is Hokkien speaking but understands simple chinese also. V capable CL

Valteen: I usually latch on middle of the night.. Too lazy to wake up to make milk. But by doing this, baby may wake up every one hr f milk... My boy only suck f 5 min and gone to lala land...
Anyone can let me know how long u let your bb latch on usually and what time will be the next feed...

it seems that there is a stronger dd than ss for nannies. only one ideal nanny so far coz her house is nearest, and kids are big oredi. not perfect but better than nothing. those wif young kids esp boys one, i will not consider loh.

my mil is like that lah, her pain comes when she bbsit, if go shopping, no pain, lol. then my mum is so nice, wana help me, but i dun want to burden her lah, she is so occupied.

brink:
d water fr washing mach can used to clean toiletbowl after every toilet visit. but v heartpain wif the elect bill.

how do u all deal with termites in your room? so many of them that i close the door, hope they all fly out of the windonw.
i dun thinkthey fly fromoutside...more like they fly out from our furniture...
how huh? kill them all? hate to clear d wings...

Hi brink, my baby boy is the same as yours. Would only latch on for about 5 mins or less, when the let-down is over, he usually is too lazy to continue latching. He wakes up around 1.5-2hrs for a feed. So tiring! Same with bottles, drinks only about 70ml then stops. Luckily he is gaining weight, if not I will be pretty worried

yah loh...coz my wardrobe is custom made...think they came out fr there. it happened a few times over the past yrs, till now...i closed up one hole in the wardrobe last time...maybe now has new hole but i duno y...cant find.

jingle:
the set will have smell. but after a few times of sterlisation it will go away.

now that the train delays can happen anytime co...do u purposely choose to go to work earlier?

i am not sure whether if i shd do that when its time to ret to work, and if i do, it may not guarantee that i can still reach office on time coz we wun noe how long it can b delayed... then my quality time will drop coz muz wake up earlier. now muz oso plan for alternative route if train breaks down...

I jz realise i hvnt been cleaning my avent steriliser! Did not knw hv to clean. Gosh wat a blur mum! Noticed the base hv dark patches. So lemon can get rid ah?

im begining to feel resentment for my 3 month old son who has been problematic since birth..

he is always in pain with gas or whatever it is.. and its dragging full force till now.. i havent any restful sleep at all for the past 3 mths and things doesnt seem to get any better.. he cant prolong any sleep at all! wtf! ive to b near him 24/7 or all hell breaks loose when he wakes!! im extremely tired.. i have thots of hating my bb and im begining to think i may have depression...

ive gone to countless PDs and tried holistic ways.. nothing! nothing works!! im just pissed... im pissed.. will this ever end?!

Hi silsilly,
Please see a doctor as u may be suffering from depression. For your baby, please get help from parents or parents in law .. U can try letting your bb sleep on his chest... But be mindful and check on him constantly to prevent suffocation. Also try to be patient w your baby and burp him constantly especially after each feed... Try also to stick to routine activities as he may start to recognize ppl and places. Stay cheerful

Valteen: squeeze some lemon juice to the heating plate, leave for 20 mins then wipe off with a cloth. I did that for my Pigeon steriliser. Not sure if avent one easy to reach the heating plate.

Silsilly: get some help like what brink said. maybe for a nite or two so that u can catch up with some sleep. U will feel better that way. Guess u are too exhausted now, that's y u feel that way.

silsilly
guess u are having a breakdown. I believe u really need some help now. Its there any way to get ur PIL or parents or aunty or cousin to come over to help you? What about your hub? U need to get some rest and "escape from bb" to have a breather....relax hur...try to SOS for help to ease ur mind

valteen
think for Avent one better use vinegar. The set never say use lemon lei..they never even provide citric for the new set..is urs the rectangle or round Avent?

Silsilly, we have a January mothers gathering at someone's place near Bukit Gombak MRT Station. On this Friday 20th April morning, 11am. Do you wanna join us ?

Sometimes it is better to be sharing tips, discuss problems and possible solutions with mothers whose children are in the same growth stage.

If the issue is with gas in stomach, you can try carrying him on your shoulder, and make sure that his stomach is above your breast. Our breast tissue is too soft to purge out the gas in babies' stomach, so with their stomach higher up, it is more efficient to purge out the gas.

I find that lying babies on their stomach is also efficient in purging out the gas on their stomach.

Also, some babies are strugging with teething problems from 3rd/4th months onwards. They may want to have something to bite, and tend to be more cranky at this time.

Another experienced mum also pointed out that, it is easier to pacify a baby when he/she first start making noise. Don't wait until he cry out full force to attend to him. It doesn't mean that you have to attend to the baby immediately when he cry, but you observe the baby's pattern and see how, guage the comfort level between you and him.

When baby is crying, carry him close to your chest, because in our tummy, he has been listening to your heartbeat. It is a familiar rythem and soothing rythem to him.

Have you seen this video that one of the mummies shared long long time back ? http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nv3-74EFtWQ If not, maybe you wanna learn the 5 words that babies use

It seems that many babies like people to sing 'Twinkle twinkle little star' to them. When I see that my girl is sleepy, I will sing this song and pat her on her backside. She falls asleep easily with this song

Hope the above suggestions helps

Hi Silsilly,
Feel ur frustration, good to vent it out here n like Kamile mention do join us @ tis friday's gathering, sometime a breather can help to recharge us.
Hang on tis phase will pass eventually, seek other family member's help when possible.
I'm sure bb love u as much as u love bb, will keep u in my prayers. @ e meantime know tat all mummies is all e way here wif u ya. Lots of hugs n kisses ya

Moscato
Yah easily reach. Got my dad to buy lemon uday.

Jingles
Mines the rectangular one. Oh wat kind of vinegar ah? I suppose the white vinegar is it? Sigh din read the manual cos hubby set it up after my delivery. Continued to use the same way after that without thinking abt the cleaning part. Hope i din cause bb any harm.

Silsilly, sometimes i also get v irritated with my bb. Esp when I dont know why she is crying. So its normal to feel upset. then i will put myself in bb's shoes, i guess its also xing ku for her not being able to tell us what she is unhappy abt, n my heart will soften. Whenever i feel upset, i will pass bb to hb or mum and go shop for 1-2hrs. I will buy tidbits n new clothes.. Wadever i wan... hahaha... Feel so good after tat. And during that break, while im happy to be out from the boring routine of looking after a baby, i will start to miss my darling n will rush home to see her. In our hearts, we do luv our bbs.. Its jus that sometimes we get so overwhelmed with the day to day routine that we let it take over our love for them. Dont worry, this period will pass. My friends told me jus wait for the 6mth mark. After that it will be so much easier. So jiayou ok! ^_^

Went to see PD dermatologist at gleneagles this afternoon. . He say bb's eczema is v extensive.. Body, legs, arms, face.. Even ears n scalp.
he gave steriod n cetaphil intensive moisturiser n asked me to stop using other products, jus use his for now. Sigh bb's skin is so bad I feel so sad.. It also makes caring for her tiring as she is always cranky and always scratches herself n always wants to be carried. hope everything will improve over time. If only we can fast forward time! Till they outgrow all these pesty bb ailments!

valteen
you wont caused bb any harm la...but i guess by descaling u will make the metal part looks "nicer" and machine will b more effective lo.
I used white vinegar "tiger brand" for the descaling as some mommies also told me to use vinegar as per instruction...cause the manual never say use citric acid lei...

Hi Sisilly, hang in there. Every mommy will go thru a rough patch along the way. But just think the effort we went thru carrying our darlings during the 9 mths and the moment we hold them in our arms. All is worth it right?

As most mommies mentioned...go out & take a break....do something you like and leave bb in the care of a relative. You will feel re-charge and will sure to miss you little one.

Think it this way....at least you can fully attend to your bb now. When you get back to work....you won't get to know how your bb is doing for at least 8-9 hrs.

As for sleeping....do you put bb in yaolan? It works for my girl who also fuss and cannot sleep long....had no choice but to give her the pacifer and yaolan...it works wonders.....now she can sleep longer and wakes up to be a happy baby. Maybe cos bb not enuff sleep thatz why feel grumpy therefore tend to fuss more.

Don't be too hard on yourself and feel free to talk to anyone of us here...we will try to advise or encourage one another!

silsilly,

you r not alone do come by here often and vent out your frustration and you will feel better....every mummy here goes through the same n we all know it's not easy.

btw mummies may I know if you r feeding formula to bb then how many ml r u feeding? Mine is having 150ml every 2 hourly-_- and also how many Kgs is bb now?

tks mummies for ur encouragement n moral support.. i really needed it from other mommies.. i must say that i really felt better reading all ur postings..

my son has started phlegmy cough.. he must have contracted it from his 5 mth old cousin.. brought him to gp n she said she heard wheezing sounds.. told me to bring him to kkh..

haizzzz... non stop problems...

silsilly
no problem...personally i had been in the woods too during my first month. Cant sleep, cant eat, cant drink for 1 whole month, I was practically a walking zombie. The responsibility of taking care of an infant without knowing anything was too overwhelming for me.

And her cries at night made me over jumpy too. Cant sleep cos I was kind of expecting her next cry/next feed. I nearly went insane.

So personally I really know wat u are going through....But I am really glad I am out of the woods now..

Things to share how I got through:

1) Support from hub, ILs/parents, siblings, relatives, friends are v important. No matter how short the ventilation and conversation is, it does make a difference. Also is there a way, you can get out of the house for one night? Like sleeping in another room while ur hub or mom help? The one night of proper sleep will make a difference.

2) Yaolan and pacifier. As what Mrs Gui said, it does make a difference....the few hours she is in the cradle can let u have some peace

3) Proper burping and not letting bb cry for too long as what Kamile shared.

sisilly:
if your family cannot help, maybe u can engage a achoc nanny who can come to your house to help u for a few hrs.

toking abt nanny...so far only went for one interview. abit uncomfortable but coz she stayed nearer to us, thought of trying out 1st.juz when i thought i would try out this nanny and settle wif her, i decided to ask her 2 more questions b4 i finalise. now i confirm i dun wan her liao, haha. so its back to square one looking for another one...haiz.

hi jkids,
what qn u ask the nanny?
By the way, how many ml of milk is your baby drinking now? Mine is coming to 3 mths and he seem to drink 120ml only and these days the intake seem to be lesser and lesser...he will just bite the teats and not drink the milk
teething? a bit early lei...haiz...but he start eating his fingers though...
Another thing is does your baby pass motion everyday? mine pass motion like 2 times per week, was ask to change my formula from similac to similac total comfort by PD. But after trying a few times, my boy dislike the milk so am sticking back to normal similac...dont know whether is a correct or wrong decision...anyone in the same situation...can share...
And does anyone of your babies have a lot of eye shit coming from the eyes? Me saw a PD and a GP all say will clear only by a year..have to constantly massage his eye...PD gave anti botics and GP gave eye drop...seems still to be there...kind of frustrating
Then my first boy eyes kept blinking...donno if should bring him see eye specialist...
Anyone is a SAHM here?

jkids
hello babe

eh wat qns u ask hur...i am also curious lei...can share

cyy/brink
i am feeding bb enfalac, so far she is eating range of 100-120ml every 3to4hrs. At times she will eat lesser and play with her teats also. Sometimes I find its distraction esp when I am feeding her and hub/FIL will talk to her. So I discourage them to talk to her when I feed, cos with any disruption she will suddenly lost focus and interest to eat le.

Actually I also find that bb is teething. Some bb infact teeth at 3rd month. So now I will massage her gums and give her eat ba bao san (from EYS) cos it will remove heatiness.

Hello brink/jungles,

my boy is 3 mths now and feeding on Friso and is drkg 150ml/2hrs, though on the high side but he is having lesser now while the hours are stretched longer at times as he grow. And also towards feeding the last quater of the milk he will have many pattern like stretching, smilling, playing around and he even brush away the bottle. So dun worry it's normal that they drk less as they grow. My boy is also sometimes biting his fingers and drooling and so i guess shld be time for teething soon.

Initially I feed him Nan HA but I realised he is always having a lot of nose discharge and diarreh and can hear that his breathing have got phlem and so I switched to Friso then very significantly nose discharge and all stop and back to normal. My bb poops daily only once or twice constipated.So far so good.

silsilly, do stay strong! see whether u can get any help from ur hubby, parents, in laws or friends. frankly I've lost my cool b4 too, scolded my boy, shaken him (heng he didnt suffer any injuries), tot of dropping him on the floor, etc etc. then realized that i'm more of a danger to him than any1 else. it's better to juz let other ppl look after him (even thou he'll cry his head off) when u r relle relle tired. go get a good rest & recharge yrself. don't think that u're being selfish or irresponsible, u need to take care of yrself b4 u can take care of ur baby. take care! take care!

jkids, what happened to the nanny u interviewed?

re cleaning sterilizer, I use lemon to clean my pigeon sterilizer. pour the lemon juice onto the metal plate (better if plate is still warm), leave for half hr, then clean it off. find it works better than vinegar leh.

cyy, how heavy is ur bb now?

my boy is taking enfalac 150ml every 3hrs, 6 feeds a day. so far so good. poos once a day. I also give him water, abt 3-4 sips every hr, so that he's not so thirsty & heaty.

jac
same here i also give water....
but u know if u do tat in KKH will kana scolding lo
that time my mil did tat in KKH kana scolding from nurse lei..mil so piss

hey mommies! long time never log in here liao...

silsilly: like what the other mommies said, do get help from family if u can.. i also suffered from mild depression in the beginning.cry lots, think too much..etc... when bb cry non-stop and doesnt quieten down no matter how i soothe, i'd be super frustrated and feel like strangling him..even shook him quite hard once (luckily nothing happened if not dunno how i can forgive myself).
then i reminded myself that the only way bb can communicate now is through crying.. that made me feel better and not so frustrated.
My baby also quite gassy.. he always makes funny stretching or gek sai noises at night so if you are a light sleeper, sure cannot get any sleep at all..when i'm on night duty to take care of my son, i only get to sleep probably 2 hours the whole night... so i understand how you feel.. very tiring but please remember that this phase will pass...

my boy taking 150ml every 3-4 hours..5 feeds a day.. milk intake really reduce alot.. and it seems he slim down abit le.. haizz...

Jac, He weights 8kgs while because he has been drkg so much n moreover my hubby n I are both big sized n so... Ppl always comment he is big for a 3 mths bb but well then look at us lor hee...