(2011/10) Oct 2011

champagne80: thanks for the confirmation [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] do you happen to know what is the brand/size of the caps?

Hi Mummies/MTB,

Sorry to disturb. I have the following to let go ...

**99% Brand New Avent Electronic Breast Pump. Warranty till Jun 2013. Used once only. -$170

**Avent BRAND NEW Breast Shells - $25

**Avent BRAND NEW Nipple Protector- $10

**2 boxes of BRAND NEW NUK Breast Pads (24pcs/box) and loose piece Pigeon Breast Pad (44pcs). -$12

**9 BRAND NEW milk bottle caps together with glass milk bottles from hospital. - $8

**2 boxes of BRAND NEW Pureen nappy liners, 1 box of BRAND NEW Lucky Baby nappy liners - $10

Pls PM me if interested or mail me at [email protected]

Me too! Gilera you at 36 wks so fast! Mine's 35w4d. Hooray no need see diabetic specialist anymore and no insulin! It's a breakthrough!!!

bubblygeekypig,

eat durian. i was told to help baby pile on the weight. durian, beef and pasta and rice suppose to help. i guess no harm to give it a try esp so near to edd already. try to get the baby to hit at least 2kg before birth because i was told baby is born below 2kg must stay in nicu and very expensive per day. so pass weekend, i have been eating durians.

gilera:

which store you referring to. I finally got it from baby kingdom at exactly the size i need at $69. no choice as they seems to be the only one selling this size. the shop at west coast plaza quoted me $49. I wanted to save $20 so i chose to go west coast. too bad theirs turn out to be 48x25 instead of the promise 48x26. now i jus have to make sure she really did refund to our credit card. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] such as hassle.

Royal,

the bed is odd size. sigh.

yes, i got a set of those bumpers and also will be suffing some bolsters to close up gap. should be ok now that i got the 26inch mattress.

rina,

i will also be delivering at TMC!

Adele,

coconut refers to those real coconut fruit?

what is the purpose for drinking?

drink only or must eat the flesh also.

i am now stressing about breast feeding. i recall one of the mummies saying night feed can top up with formula milk so that we can have a good sleep. can or not?

i worry not enough supply so i thought only day time breast feed, night time top up one formula feed then next morning start breast feeding again. is this workable??

i getting very panic about this whole thing. i read some people say will bleed and baby tummy no good if drink milk mix with blood. i got all confused, worried and panic.

help help. some advice to calm me down!

pofy> don stress too much... mayb u can go n find a book which abt fb. i find it quite helpful.book title: Successful Breastfeeding

( a practical guide )erm btw which gynae are u wif?

Hi pofy,

You can give formula at night as it s more filling for baby hence he or she might be able to last longer than 2-3 hours for the next feed. However, if you can keen on bf, you might need to still wake up middle f nite to express your milk. The rationales are your breast need regular stimulation

(expressing or bfing) to produce more milk and if you milk come in and you not express out for a stretch of 6 to 8 hours, you might have engorgement. That might lead to mastities as shared by one mummies here based on her previous experience.

As of milk mixed with blood due to our sore breast. You have to make decision. My previous time, one f the breast sore and when I pump it mixed with blood. But nurse at mt e say is okay to feed. I have no choice as my #1 refuse on formula since day 1. If you are not comfy, then don't feed to bb. However, you need to understand you need to either bf of express your milk regularly at 3 hours interval for first 4 o 5 weeks to establish your milk supply.

pofy, dun worry abt breastfeeding! Blood from the nipples most likely bb isn't latched on properly. When I was bf my elder boy, I got so much -ve comments frm pple say must top up with formula cos bb will never b full. Even the 1st CL who s'posed to support bf psycho my hb to bring back so much pre-mix formula milk from TMC. That got me depressed for at least 2 weeks. The moment I start supplementing with formula every 4 hours on top of constant latch, the supply dropped drastically.

I decided to silence the naysayers and went on to feed just 1 bottle of 3oz formula at night and latched on constantly during the day. When I went back to work, managed to pump out between 5-8oz after 3 pumping sessions of 15 min each time.

If you can't produce alot of milk like me, remember you mustn't stress. It'd be v v bad... I wish I've alot more support during the early days. Support came in the end seeing my elder boy hardly sick and learning well. I bf him for 2 years before he self-wean. Surround yourself with exp mummies who's been there, done that.

Just want to mentally prepare new mummies, bf is hard work. I literary lose perspective of day and nite initially as I was living on 3-4 hours interval of bf or expressing and sterilizing. After feed, have to bump the baby, by the time baby sleep and everything done. Next schedule of expressing !

One suggestion is to keep a schedule of bf and expressing of both breast. Else I keep forgetting which breast was bf previously,

As my #1, I did nt engage confinement lady, I was swamp with unexpected hecticness of bfing. Luckily, I invested on a electric dual pump that expresss milk pretty fast hence I manage o save some time there and get my hubby to take over the midnite shift of feeding the baby with epress milk.

Pofy,

Glad to her you finally got the mattress u need. If u neen bumpers, let me know, I hv extra sets, can give it to you..Since I dun intend to put bumpers..would be too hot for bb.

Regarding BF, I am also worried I cant supply enough..let's pray for the best and encourage one another..to endure the pain n hardship to establish ample supply for our children. I would love to BF her completely without help on Formula milk..fr the advices from the mommies here, it is achievable..Jia You!

Bubblygeekypig > don't stress too much on the food intake and bb's weight. The figure given by the doc is just a prediction. It will have a difference of around 20%. Are you working? Maybe you can drink the milk in office so MIL and HB won't know.. :p

Rina > me too will be delivering in TMC

Luv > tat's a good news!!! But how abt your diet? Do you still need to watch or can be lenient?

Pofy > the coconut is those big green type. Drinking of coconut can cleanse away some blood so when BB is born they will be cleaner instead of like "char siew".. :p

luv (luvagape)

How u manage to get off from insulin and how to improve ur GD? I was given insulin about near to two week backs and still on it leh. Now in my 34 weeks.

Hi, I recently delivered and would like to clear some items which I’m no longer using.

These include:

Brand new baby and toddler clothes from Osh Kosh B’gosh/Carter’s/J Khaki/Nursery Rhyme, MyBrestFriend pillow, baby carrier, cot mattresses, Spiffies tooth wipes, Mothercare and carter’s prewalker shoes etc . Check out my link below!

Thanks, ladies who have visited my album before! I have added new items so do take a look.

https://picasaweb.google.com/101858061993997554978/ForSale?feat=directlink

If you see anything you need, pm me for discussion.

Lastly, have a safe delivery and enjoy motherhood!

pofy

bf at night is a good way to increase milk supply as you tend to be more relax. I take care of bb myself at night. find that though milk powder can fill the baby maybe up to 3 hrs interval while bf 2 hrs. but bf don't need to wash bottle or wake up to make milk.

hi Rina, i am due 07th Oct but Gynae say might deliver anything from now..

My Gynae is Benjamin Tham.. Last Thurs(35wks), he complained my bb too fat liao 2.7kg and i must control my diet if not might be difficult to give birth naturally.

anyone experiencing sudden severe low back aches? I am suffering this today... thinking is it baby getting heavy or posture not right. but i always remind myself to sit or stand up straight.

any advices other than putting a small pillow on abdomen while sleeping??

plus my bb weighs 2kg at 31weeks, this coming thurs is appt, wonder how heavy will he be..

I am counting down to knock off [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] very tiring with this backache.

pofy

For successful bf you should latch whenever baby wants milk, including night feeds. giving formula at night means that your breasts do not empty. After a few days your supply will drop. If for whatever reason you do not latch, you MUST pump to maintain supply. Once ss drops, it is very hard to build it back up. My daughter was full latch and she could sleep through the night more than 6-7 hours. I was very lucky to have such a good baby, but most of the time, baby will demand every 3hrs average. During the time that she slept through, I would still automatically wake up to pump and store because the breasts are so full, its painful to sleep through. The first 5 days WILL be painful because your nipples will be sore from the sucking and tugging. The first 3 weeks were tough for me but after I got the hang of it, bf was a really wonderful experience.

hi luck,

veri close wif my due date.. im due 10th oct... pervious week (34 weeks) my gynae also say my bb one week bigger 2.5kg... we facing e same problem. im going bk tml for my check..

mummychannel,

U can always choose to do direct latching instead of pumping out the milk. In that case, u will be able to save the time for washing, sterilizing and warming milk and spend the time sleeping. I only used my breast pump at the initial stage to establish my milk supply. After that my pump is left lying in the corner. Cos I would just wake up at 3 hrs interval or when she cries for milk, latch my bb, after she is done, change diaper and pat her to sleep and I will get back to bed.

Pofy,

Dun stress urself on breastfeeding. Stress will affect milk supply. The most effective way to learn breastfeeding is to get the lactating consultant in TMC to teach u how to breastfeed while u are still admitted in TMC. I understand from one of the mummies that she requested Wong BB to come down to her bed to teach her personally. So I suppose u can do the same thing. U can get her to give you tips on how to improve your supply as well.

U can refer to the following web link on recipe that can help to increase milk supply. Personally I find the Fish n Papaya soup the most effective.

http://sgmummy.com/category/food-recipe/

Hope it helps. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

brownish spotting:

called the gynae. he asked me to rest more and to call him if there is any fresh bld. he said should be ok as long as i feel the bb movement.

Hi Ben Ben

I do direct latching as well in the day. But for the midnit feed, i get my hubby to bottle feed. One is to train the bb to take bottle and secondly, direct latching may not empty both breast. Hence i still need to pump out the excess my baby cannot finish.

Cos i BF exclusively for about 1 year even after i went back to work so i rely on my pump a lot.

Hi mummychanel,

I suppose its personal preference. I am a lazy person who finds sterilizing and warming milk a hassle in the middle of the night. And I will feel very bad for daddy (who needs to work the next day) to wake up in the middle of the night to do all the warming, feeding, washing and changing of diaper. So direct latching is my only option.

Plus, I was told by the PD that some babies might experience nipple confusion the first few weeks so I make it a point to do direct latching since start. Luckily my gal managed to pick up the skill fast and can even suck better than the breast pump. She even managed to helped me cleared my engogement instantly. So I always make her empty both breast by waking her up if she falls asleep during latching. I only pump during weekends to let her daddy have a chance to feed her using the bottle. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

esther, i still need to control diet most of the time. but i do pamper a bit by eating foods that are not so ok eg chwee kueh w/o the cai por, MacD grilled chicken salad w fries maybe once a week. V tempted to eat a teeny weeny bit of mooncake if i manage to get my hands on 1 :p

happymomo, i didn't start on insulin this time round tho i'd it with my elder boy for 9 weeks. I'd v minimal carbohydrates; ate lots of fibre and protein; no titbits nor sweetened drinks; plenty of water daily (at least 1.2l in office and maybe 2-3 cups at home), exercised alot by walking often; climbing stairs and strength training by carrying my boy. and at least 2 home-cooked meals a day during weekdays. weekends i indulge abit.

i think it's the exercise part which helps me stay off insulin cos the last time round i hardly exercised and always a couch potato. also i had all 3 meals eaten outside last time.

Ben Ben, i'm a lazy person who prefers direct latch. if i not wrong direct latch will produce some hormones that help us to relax. pumping milk out really takes effort. besides i never got engorgement right from the beginning. how i wish i've engorgement this time round. but i think i'll have more milk this time cos lately i've managed to squeeze out 1 drop of colostrum at will from the nipple unlike the last time [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

luv,

You sure you want to experience engorgement? The pain is no joke. To me, the pain is worst than having migrane. I had only experienced it once and I tell myself never let it happen again.

You already managed to squeeze out 1 drop of colostrum already? What week are u in now? I haven't seen anything coming out from my nipple yet. Don't worry about the supply. I understand from my frens who has more than 1 kids that their supply comes in much faster after delivery and much more for their subsequent babies. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Luck (sby78) : we have the same due date n gynae! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] listen to dr ben ok, and try to eat light. hope can see you in delivery ward and we jia you tog!!

Rina: I'm also delivering at TMC by Benjamnin Tham.

Is he a conservative doc? At 32wks, he say my baby's weight of almost 1.8kg is big leh.

I w joycelyn wong, tmc

wk 36 first bb boy

e custom cut mattress is not a shop, it's a supplier lobang contact. Anyway good u got ur mattress liao

coconut supposedly for cleansing bb. Wonder if will b too liang?

Wk 32, 1.8kg normal wat

Ben Ben, ya it may sound crazy to think i want engorgement. i heard about the engorgement part from another mummy and her nurse said "no pain, no gain". so i assume engorgement means wow the mummy must have alot of BM for her bb. i need to up my supply cos #2 will be going to infant care when he's just 3mo and wanted to keep him safe from falling sick often.

i'm at 35w4d today. and noticed colostrum can only be squeezed out when the nipple is soft and tender. and yes i also know about mummy friends having #2 and more having alot of BM supply and i hope i'll be 1 of them [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

gilera, 1 more i can think of: losing mucus plug. some mummies never had water break nor bleeding so you can assume regular, timed contractions close to each other means you are in active labour. call your gynae clinic for more advice or monitor your own birth process if you're more confident.

Hi Winny

Dont feel scared. If you can read up as much as you can and you will be more prepared. At that time, all mummy will be strong for their baby.

Hi Gilera,

For my #1, my gynae warn me that baby is coming couple of days before hand (around 5 days). He tell by my irregular contraction and the baby head was engage. Then i have regular contraction (which i wasnt even sure is contraction, according to nurse later, my pain threshold is quite high) so i call my gynae at nite. He ask me just go into hospital for check up. And at the hospital, they hook me up and found i am having regular contractor and while Gynae checking me, the water bag break.

So i guess, you will need to rely on your gynae a bit for guidance and gut feel. I deliver my #1 at week 36+.

If only hv contractions n bag no break Gynae will break bag?

Gynae gonna do first VE check this week 36. She said will use 2 fingers check dilation n a swab test For infection- that birth canal passage way is clean n clear for bb to pass.

When she do VE it shouldn't hurt right? N wouldn't disturb mucus plug right? Haiz, so weird. Nothing has entered there since conception!!!! Worried tat a non lover touching there omg.

Anyone planning to wax ? Supposed to wax this week but too early? Body hairs n nails grow so fast when preggie.

Hi gilera,

I rem I reach mt e around 10pm and they started to hook me up for monitoring. Gynae arrive shortly, the water bag break and he ask f I wanted epi. Even not very painful, but I know I want eventually. Hence gynae say put earlier so not to incur midnite charge from anesthesia. Put in epi before midnite, I scream like he'll as I fear the needle. Then I slept overnite, but the nurse in labour ward came in and check blood pressure and all kinds thru the nitr. Hence s not a peaceful sleep. They woke me up around 8 plus for gynae to deliver. The nurse at mt. E was very good in guiding to push, but I was quite tired around 9am. Hence my gynae use forcep to help me to deliver the baby. Pd was around to check baby immediately and I was wheel to ward only in afternoon. I Aldo run a slight fever after the delivery, but fever went off by evening.

Creamdonut: The bottle caps that I bought dun have brand one. I bought them from the pharmacy at TMC level 1. 3 for $3. They come in blue and pink colors only.

Pofy: The coconut is the fresh coconut (green color) that you can get from the hawker centre drink stalls. No need to eat the flesh. Can just drink the water. Suppose to help your baby to come out clean meaning less mucus/blood.

As mentioned by jojobar, even if you supplement with formula at night, you will still have to wake up to pump out. Otherwise you may have engorgement. It also helps to stimulate supply if you wake up to pump/bf. But you must be mentally prepared if you wake up to bf coz for the first month, baby may take a long time to finish feeding and you'll be super sleepy. Sometimes I will also doze off for a while...

Rina and Gilera: I'm delivering at TMC too. My gynae's Dr Joycelyn Wong =). Yes, coconut is liang that's why should only take from 36 weeks onwards. I took 2 per week from week 36 onwards. Gave birth to my son on my actual EDD. For my first one, I was admitted due to contractions. Dr Wong did prick my water bag when my dilation is about 4 cm. You will be able to feel a gush of warm water coming out. For the VE thing, because I am quite sensitive, so felt very weird and uncomfortable when she put her 2 fingers in. It shouldn't disturb the mucus plug. Dun worry =)

gilera,

Whether VE hurts or not will depends on ur pain tolerance. Btw, ur gynae will not be the only person who will be doing VE check. The mid-wife will need to do VE check for you constantly to check ur cervix dilation when u are admitted for delivery. The mid-wife will get u to be ready to push if ur cervix dilate by 10cm (if I remember correctly).

For my case, my gynae VE check was not painful and the swab test feels like the same when we do pap smear tests. But I did encounter slight bleeding the morning after he did the check.

Thanks. Hv nv done pap smear so unsure wat to expect.

Ben & Adele : share birth exp lei.

Adele when ur Edd

jojo: ur birth story quite smooth n painless it sounds.. wow.

Envy!

Gd morn, for those buying coconuts, u can buy fr normal fruit stall, ntuc or giant.any type should be ok. I buy the green type but the green crust has been chopped off, showing only the white crust. This is easier to open accordingg to my hubby. The water content is also more n the flesh softer n young. Cost abt 1.30 in giant n ntuc.

thank you for all the great advice on breastfeeding. i will try to read up but these days dead tired. i guess i am getting very panic attacks that's why like lost.

i didn't buy a pump so i guess i have to direct latch. i recall the supply will come in only after the first week and one mummy advised not to buy until milk supply establish. for me definitely cannot pump after ML is over and also due to budget constraint, i can't buy those electric pump. so i guess i will latch or buy a battery operated pump later on if need.

just curious. after pump out the milk, put in freezer can last how long? put in hot water to warm up milk is it safe or definitely need to buy those warmer?

coconut. ok, i will try out this weekend. i haven't hand over all my job duties yet. i am worried i will pop anytime and then it will be big problem.

this morning i had heavy discharge dripping out after bath. i wonder if its this mucus plug thing that was discussed a few days ago by mummies? not bloody but heavy discharge. sigh.

i also getting nervous about birth.

i trying to get hubby to switch to day shift after baby is out after the 2 weeks he will be taking leave to help with confinement. if not if he is on night shift, i will be alone. worry i cannot handle. hahaha.

luv,

i might have to try your method. one bottle of forumula provided i don't get engorgement. sigh.

if nobody at night, i tot it will be good if i can get a good sleep when baby sleep after the 3oz of formula milk then i get up earlier to bf in the morning. i guess all have to wait for bb to come out then see his pattern. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

thank you everyone for the wonderful support and advice. it really does help to calm me down knowing that there are so many of you out there so generous in sharing knowledge and experiences. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Royal,

thanks for offering the cot bumpers. i got a set of hands me down too. but i don't on aircon at night so we might not be putting it to surround the bed. i intend to roll them up to close up whatever gap there is between bed and the mattress.

i haven't unwrap the mattress yet. i tot as hubby to do it when we get home from hospital becos i worry dusty. should be ok?

Ben Ben,

Ms Wong BB won't attend to me bah. hahaha. i should be staying in the 4 or 2 bedder depening on availability. I will request for someone to assist and see if i am lucky. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Thanks for suggesting. i didn't know have to or can ask for it. i thought must pay money to go this place in tmc called the parentcraft to get help and i am not keen cos of the cost.

Can't sleep for nutz!!!!

Sun rise then fall asleep hv to wake for work liao

tired of being a hippo so heavy n uncomfortable

can't eat can't sleep can't shit

sob sob

Jojo

there is midnite charge for epi? Geez

then did u hv to hv 2nd dosage to last til next morning?

Do they charge per dosage? Each dosage can last hw long