(2011/09) Sep 2011

Are we able to feel baby's heartbeat said if we feel it through putting hands on our tummy area?

I asked that cos I can feel the heartbeats but don't know whether I am thinking too much or something....I am going to be week 16th.

Re: squatting

Think like what gina said, we shd get up slowly. I make an effort to kneel rather than squat if I have to. Then slowly get up from kneeling position rather than straight up from squatting position. Having a toddler at home means more often than not u have to go down to their level to speak to them etc.

No mood to work cuz thinking what else I have to pack for bintan trip tomorrow. Really jialat first time traveling "overseas" with toddler! Thankfully he can eat most of our food now. Any last min packing advice from mummies who are seasoned travelers with regards to kids?

@Happymummytobe: It should be your own heartbeat..., I tot I was feeling bb heartbeat too when I placed my hands on my tummy area... but its impossible to detect unless using a fetal doppler...

Hi Blossomsbb,

Oh...I thought its bb heartbeats...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] So happy thought can feel it..

Jennifer Chng/Asura - Yup, generally I'm still quite happy throughout the pregnancy period. The non-symptoms allow me to go on life as usual on most days. But sometimes pessimism does set in and I would be so paranoid to think - how come zero symptom ah? Or whenever a test is near, I would fear for the worst, for this is really an unfamiliar uncharted territory. Haha! It doesnt help when my gynae visits are now spaced out. Used to visit weekly from W6 - W12. After that, spaced into fortnight at W14. Now gynae only needs to see me after 1 month. So I get paranoid again cos I dont get assurance from the weekly ultasound =X

I'm also guilty of big meals at times! But luckily, I think there have been times when my appetite somehow turns smaller (at dinner-time). I'm also more open to lighter food these days, e.g. teochew porridge meal. Overall, lost 3kg in 1st trimester and I've only put back 500g. While I was happy with the slow weight gain, again I sometimes worry about fetal growth. And especially when I compare my non-existent bump to pregnant colleagues, paranoia set in again. I'm in such dilemma every other day!

Had a very very very strong craving today. Feel like eating piping hot creamy chicken pies.

Me was craving for nasi lemak this morning, so went for Qiji's nasi lemak in the afternoon. I've cravings for Macs fries too, but thinking that I should ignore it since I've just had a sinful nasi lemak. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hi mummies, just to share... I went for my gynae check ydy at 12wks1day, spotted something at the centre of bb's legs during ultra scan and gynae told me most likely a boy [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] But still, can only cfm during my next appt at 16wks.

welcome dongle! another experienced mum with experiences to share [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

blossomsbb n krya : no need to worry about losing weight. i also lost weight. but slowly goign back to almost normal now.

I read that the weight is usually from 2nd trimester onwards..and from then on will balloon at a fast rate! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

9-12kg for full term is a gd weight gain.

we also dont want to put on unnecessary weight as they 'll stay as stubborn weight after birth .

squats : i've been squatting every now and then.

so long as no sudden movements. if not confident , best to hold on to something when getting up.

welcome dongle!

bb heartbeat : if u feel your wrists, shd be able to feel a 2nd heartbeat faintly! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] tummy not so sure.. i felt some .but thought mb it's my stomach :p

@klyekyra: I understand what you mean. My visits are also spaced out by a month now and that feels awfully long to me. And I get random thoughts on how the little one is doing, becos I used to get more regular assurances through the 3 weekly visits and to see him/her.

Now everyday does feel like living on tenderhooks until the next visit, hoping everything is going well cos I've heard horror stories of how things go wrong w/o symptoms but.. touchwood.

That's also why I even suggested getting a fetal doppler but my hb thought it was totally unecessary.

@Roybelle: That's fast!! I hope you're happy. Your bb is very guai to show u so soon. Hehe. 2 weeks to my visit!

Welcome Dongle.[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

blossomsbb : cant find the exact plc about the more recom group for crodbanking. must have read it in a magazine.

can only rem family with genetic diseases plus mixed races..mb one or 2 more points.if i chance upon it again..will let u know [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

dont know why i am suddenly worried about the detailed scan at 20 weeks... zzz i think its my preg hormones turning me into a paranoid monster again [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Pommes, squating is ok but stand up slowly. Try to go into kneel position before getting up. If can, grab onto something as support when getting up too. I used a squat toilet during my first pregnancy at my rented place, had no probs but got landlord to install a handrail for support to pull myself up.

BlossomsBB, pregnancy hormones playing trick lah. Dun worry. I'm also paranoid over everything and my poor hubby gotta keep assuring me throughout the day via Whatsapp.

RE: Cord Blood Banking

My friend banked her girl's cord blood with Cordlife... But she tells me that rather expensive to maintain...

For my #1, we wanted to donate but end up, not in time (cos I popped earlier than I expected). So gynae actually pushed the cord blood back into my boy before cutting the cord [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Maybe that's one of the reasons why my boy's immune system is strong?

For #2, we've decided on donating to public bank again. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] This round, I'll mark in my calender to settle the paperwork early. :p

BTW, I know of a couple from my boy's birth thread. They banked their boy's cord blood too. And turn out, their boy had a rare form of leukemia (discovered at 18mths). Can be cured using cord blood, but he cannot use his own cord blood. So, they went on to try for #2. Thankfully, their #2's cord blood was suitable for #1 and their #1 is now a healthy 4yo. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

There is benefit in cord blood banking, but the benefit is more for family members than your own child I guess.

Hi Mummies to be !

Congrats on your upcoming bundle of joy !

Have you already bought a Diaper Bag for your baby ?

A diaper bag or nappy bag is a storage bag with many pocket-like spaces that is big enough to carry everything needed by someone taking care of a baby while taking a typical short outing.

These bags are not always designed expressly as a diaper bag, as any well-pocketed bag sized in between a child's school backpack and adult pro-camping backpack can be used for the purpose. Some are now being made with rigid handles and wheels so that someone can cart one around, allowing that person to hold the baby more firmly, complete more tasks (like opening a door, paying a cashier, or using a phone), and reduce lower back pain. My Child magazine suggests a brightly colored diaper bag is harder to lose and can help combat the "baby blues".

Diaper bags are generally small enough to fit on or under a stroller or buggy. There have been fashion trends against large bags, as mothers learn to reduce the number of necessities carried

I am a mother of a girl myself too, I was using a normal Naraya bag, until I get so frustrated trying to get my baby diaper and handkerchief out from the bag FAST but failed to do so, because the bag is either too cramped or messy. hence I decide to get a proper diaper bag.

if you are keen to explore a reasonable price diaper bag , pls drop by my BP thread taking in pre-order of famous brands Carter, Stork, Eddie Bauer and Ergobaby Diaper bag. various models from slingbag to shoulder bag to backpack. BP is only for 1 week only from 21-28 March. Shipment will arrive in early Apr.

Link per below :

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/581296/5247168.html?1300775891

quick post while on the pc. one mummy was asking yest abt whether ok to take vit C supplement?

i check my preg book coz recalled something adverse about taking it and found the paragraph, here goes:

"The Singapore RDA for vitamin C intake in pregnancy is 50 mg a day whilse the US recommendation is 85 mg a day. It is recommended that pregnant woman obtain their vitamin C from food rather than from supplements, as there have been reports of rare cases of 'rebound scurvy' occuring in infants born to mothers taking 400mg or more of vitamin C throughout their pregnancy. 'Rebound scurvy' occurs when the infant becomes tolerant to the high dose of vitamin C from the mother during pregnancy, hence it develops symptoms of scurvy or vitamin C deficiency after birth."

I think better to have our vitC intake from fruits and vegs. I rem checking with my gynae and advised to go natural instead of suppl too. I diluted my vitC and only drank half a cup when I really had to take twice during a bad cold during #1's time. If not taking throughout the preg, should be ok but just to take note k.

btw, the para comes from the book "The New Art and Science of Pregnancy and Childbirth - What You Want to Know from Your Obstetrician" by docs from KKH. I find the book useful as it covers childbirth in Spore plus covering chinese food/tcm info, something we usually can't find in the pregnancy books published by western docs/authors.

#2, i saw several BPs on the wet wipes during the past 2 years. but can't recalled the wet wipes brand, tot angel wipes sounds familiar. could be or may not be the same. anyway, will look out for the BP again. haha i love checking the BP thread :p

blossomsbb, sorry log off yest night liao. hope your day today is good!

got to log off again now, time to "persuade" my #1 to nap, hopefully he will zzz today. coming back later to check...ciaos mummy!

BTW, mummies interested in my massage lady, she's now charging $450 for 7 sessions include 2 baby massage and girdle (she will use cloth on first 6 sessions, then last session use girdle which you can continue using after that).

Auntie Khatijah 98001394

She stays in Hougang if I recall correctly. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

chocolate15,

Hi! Yah.. i was at taka baby fair on sunday. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Gina: Thanks! I am happy as long as bb is healthy [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Hope u can see your bb's gender in 2wks time too [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

BlossomsBB/#2: My Mum thinks I got pre-natal blues. Haha! I also get really paranoid. Miss my husband a lot, even when we're together? Haha sorry quite weird I know.

daddysbao: Thank you for sharing the article! More information loaded into my database. Heh.

sung: Oh dear. I've been drinking the Vitamin C water made from Redoxon which is 1000mg! Yikes. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

gina christine: Heyhey! I just saw your FB pics with your gang recently! Made me crave for porridge buffet also heh.

hello: how is everyone doing?

Chocolate: have a nice trip to Bintan .. i am so craving for a holiday right now. umm ... remember to bring some medicine for your toddler. I always pack the fever and cold/cough medicine whenever we travel.

Welcome dongle!

Muffin: i didn't have a PD in mind for #1. After birth, the hospital will automatically assign a PD for baby's check up.For the first month, i brought Andre to the polyclinic, but after that i change to PD liao. Cos i think PD does a more thorough check than the nurses at the polyclinic. Shorter waiting time for me too.

Have a good evening to all

@sung: where can I find the book? Only in KKH? I frequent Times and Kino a lot for preg books but don't recall seeing this. Thanks in advance! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

@koume: Yeah! The porridge buffet was super nice!! Get ur hb to bring u there too once ur appetite comes back okie? And pls rest well!

For those who are wondering, Koume and I were secondary sch mates. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Happy to have one more person on this journey! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Going back taka fair this evening. Hope I can make it there on time. Supposed to go yday but ended work ard close to 9? Yikes.

Muffin: If u have a PD in mind, u can let your gynae know so he/she can make the arrangement with the PD. Alternatively, u can ask your gynae to recommend one. If not, the hospital will assign one. For my #1, my gynae recommended me and #2 I used back the same PD cos she's good. I will be going back to the same PD for #3. Hope my info helps.

@SJ/Roybelle, thks

can i ask for the 1st mth or early stage we hv to go pd for bb's check up ?

Im looking at the pd located at hg ave 5 Dr Anthony but he is always so packed and think he is exp too.. but he is known to be a gd pd

@roybell, may i check where is yr pd located?

Muffin,

Your gynae will auto-allocate a pd to you if you have no preference. At first I thought it's allocated by the hospital, but my aunt who's a nurse said it's the gynae's network of 'friends'.

Muffin: Yes, 1st mth or early stage bb needs to go for checks, especially if bb has jaundice. My PD is at Toa Payoh central, also always packed and exp but gd.

gina: Yes, u can get from Dr Goh the list. Or u ask him to recommend a gd one [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Thanks Roybelle. Will do so. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Am having Ban Mian for dinner, hope everyone's appetite for today is a good one. ;)

Koume: pls stop redoxon. there's an ingredient called aspartame inside which is not good.

Choco15:enjoy your holiday!!

I will really have a busy week ahead. just found out my mil is droppin by on sat for a few days plus all my prog which i have planned for the weekend.

Busy busy!

Thanks for contact #2!

Cordlife is roughly abt $250 per year to maintain for 21 years if you decide to take it for that period of time with an initial paymt upfront when bb is born with bb bonus. (basic package) think most pp take this package.

seems like most mummies appetite has pick up, which is GOOD news.. mine too, starting to eat "proper" meals now..

choco15: enjoy ya holidays..

kounme: me been drinking C1000.. think i better cut down on that..

hi Blossombb, i tried google on the 2 medications dr poon gave ;venderol and nifedipine.

they seems to serve the same effect , correct me if am wrong .. i was lost and over drowned w what i read.

im gg to stop the medication and call doc cos the side effect is getting into me. but when i read the purpose of the medications.. it seems there are pros and cons abt it ..

am gg to zz and have clearer mind to digest tmlo...

Thanks SJ, bunnz n pooh! Really hope we all enjoy the trip! Finally finished packing on top of doing last min laundry n washing bottles n stuff! So exhuasted!

Wide awake at 3.40am due to the returning of sore throat & blocked nose. Kill me! Just finished antibiotics on Mon and symptoms return on Tues [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

I haven't been taking heaty/fried stuff. Was on soup, porridge, chrysanthemum tea mostly [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Kyra: smtimes symptoms linger for a while more after last round of anti boitics. Just take rest for now n cont healthy diet. Body takes a while to adjust ESP now w a little one.

Welcome Lydia

We were watching a DVD last night "takers"

Lame show . But everytime they mentioned food.. Like burger, hot dog n pizza. I feel like eating! Quite funny. Hb just looked at me n shake his head.

In e end satisfied my craving with Mac today. At this rate, high sodium rate liao :/

Does any of you know of any agent that can help source for nannies??? I am trying to find one now... Pls let me know if you do!!! Thanks!!!

How is everyone's morning so far?

Office auntie so nice, bought Chee Cheong Fun for us. But I'm feeling so uncomfy now after eating. Appetite has not resumed for me. My comfort food now is my green apple.

blossomsbb - u mean confinement nanny? or baby sitter?

@muffin: I also read that the 2 medications serve the same effects, to soften the muscles of the uterus so as to prevent premature labour... It is good idea to call up the clinic to speak to Dr. Poon ASAP to inform him of the side effects you have. See if you need to go in for an unscheduled visit. Today's wed so he got a night clinic tonight... Keep us posted...

@ Pommes: I meant baby sitter. You got any contacts???

i jus spoke to dr poon.. he ask me to reduce doasge to 2 x a day instead of 3. ask if am still bleeding..i say no more . he says that wld be the medication helping me.

will review me the next time he sees me.. if u were me will u seek 2nd opinion though trust him. its like just for xin an.