(2011/09) Sep 2011

@muffin: oh I went to research on your medication and apparently softening of smooth muscles of uterus helps prevent preterm labour... Hehe occupational hazard, loves research hehe...

When u seeing dr poon ah? Can ask him his tots on private cord blood banking???

icic both medication serves the same fuctions or?

i havent not done any research on that ..

i'll be seeing him on the 6th april. i'll ask him [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

lolz [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] i m considering to donate my cord blood out .. i will look into that later

Hi muffin,

You are taking nifedipine? Thats a hypertension medication i used to take... I suffered from pretty bad side effects from that...very fast heartbeat, palpitation, and very bad headache abt 6 hrs after i had taken the medication... You do take note of any side effects ya....can be pretty uncomfortable.

Update on shop selling belly belt @ Baby fair:

Mums R'Us

101 Thomson Road, United Square

#B1-64

contact: 6259 3326 (maybe wanna call and check if they have stock b4 making trip down)

Hey muffin,

In that case, try asking ur gynae if u can stop taking it ya, do be careful when u get out of bed or when u stand up ya... Cos ur pressure may drop and cos giddiness... Take care

Scan thru the posts understand some like to know the cost .I have TMC costing which i took recently from the TMC counter to share.

Maternity Package (exclude Specialists' Fees) base on Normal Delivery w/Epi (2 days stay)

1 bedded $2,318

2 bedded $1,568

4 bedded $1,408

(max claim for Medisave, Hospital $1,400, Dr $700)

If you want to know cost by other delivery let me know i extract out.

Companion fee for 1 bedded $75 per day

Above Pricing subj to GST

My TMC bill for #1 in 2009 for reference:

Baby package 2 days: $784.94 ($598.18 by medisave $186.75 by cash)

Assisted delivery w Epi 1 bedded 2 days + out of package items + Drs fee: $4779.49 ($2600 Medisave, $1200 deposit & $979.50 cash)

Thus in total i fork out $2366.25 in cash (include deposit) in 2009.

I think the price has gone up again as the TMC maternity package looks higher now.

Muffin: I had the same thoughts as Kelly, haven't heard you talking about having hypertension, but yet you're on nifedipine. Please check with your gynae soon what it's given for! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Sigh Mummies..I'm sleepless at 3am..help! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

I can't sleep too. Thinking about my gynae appt today. Gd news is that DS test is low risk. But scan shows appearance of new blood clot so gynae said I may still have spotting. Although only 12w+ but I suspect the baby is a boy coz I saw something in between the baby's legs v clearly. Even gynae said can confirm by the next visit. I am really disappointed I really wanted a gal. Been telling myself as long as baby is healthy it's ok, but I still can't get over it. Hope that I guessed wrongly, but if turns out to be boy I definitely won't try for #3.

Morning everybody, went for my gynae visit n he told mi 80% princess! Haha. But he told mi cmf agn during next visit. Hmm, so guess I sld hold my purchases? So many things I want to start buying. Btw, can anybody share what is this 20 week detailed scan?

jen, destailed scan is to check if the limbs, fingers, toes, lips and all features, body parts of the body

today i am in office at 630am...so sleepy now..

Jennifer,

Detailed scan also includes scanning whether there is hole in the heart and other visual abnormalities in bb's organs. Better hold ur purchases, else u might want to consider buying neutral clothes first.

Jen Ng,

Wow! Envy u! So fast know the gender! Congrats! U sound v happy. Happy for u too. Hope everyone will get their wish for the gender. ;)

Chine: tks for the info!

#2: Currently 16th weeks. Yah, my gynae was telling mi safer to buy pink stuff! Lol. Coz bb was moving ard but he say boy quite obvious.

Asura79: does that mean the scan can only be done at week 20 or after? Coz my nx visit will be week 19th only.

Congrats Jen Ng!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]You're making me excited about my coming visit. Hehe. Happy shopping!

Morning mummies. Had a rough day y-day, hopefully today will be a better one for all. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Jennifer Ng,

Not sure leh... i recall there is a range, no need to be strictly wk 20. But if ur gynae gave u an appt for wk19, i guess could be done in wk19.

Jennifer: yup, happy to know the gender then can start buying stuff. The temptations quite hard to resist. But dun Noe how my in-laws feel as my hb is the only son in the family.

morning ladies! feeling so sleepy coz of the perfect weather to sleep in. *yawns*

Jennifer ng, congrats on knowing the gender of your bb! so exciting! were you hoping for a prince or princess?

i can't wait to reach wk 16 and find out the gender of my little one.

Jen: wow congrats [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Hopefully during my next visit on 1st ( april fool) baby won't fool us with the gender...

I be doing my detail scan during 22 week.. appt was given when i did my oscar test with NUH.

So exciting to find out about the gender! Jennifer Ng - Is this your #1? Can always try again to have a 好 (1 Girl, 1 Boy). My hb is not just the only son, he is the only grandson in his generation. Cant say I feel no pressure, although no one has been piling any on me. But subconsciously, I know his surname depends on this baby. But I've also made up my mind to have only 1 kid. So not gonna stress myself too much :p

For w20 scan, is it safe to say that if we pass it, baby should be relatively healthy? And if we dont, do we still have option to decide whether to continue with pregnancy at such stage? I'm worried about the major organ developments due to my pre-existing health condition [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Gina,

I had an unpleasant day ytd too... Glad it was over .. Couldnt really zzz last nite n kept thinking abt it as well....

It's a brand new day... Hope u have a wonderful day today... Let's Jia You!!! For our bb! ;)

Kyra, if there's major prob discovered at w20 detailed scan, still can abort. But, it's not a simple abortion. Have to deliver the fetus, usually alive. Then they'll just leave the fetus to die after delivery.

A few mummies shared their experience before on their blogs & in forum.

#2, thanks for the info. That's really sad. I havent had the courage to discuss that with my gynae though it has been a nagging thought.

Recently heard that a working partner got a healthy child through IVF and subsequently learnt that she opted for this route because her previous natural pregnancy resulted in a child with unhealthy brain development. Pregnancy was terminated and she was traumatised for a long while [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

I'm praying for the best.

I've been eating a lot more these days... My mouth seems to munch every sec n I can't stop!! V scary! Ytd, one of my Colls commented I have become fatter after the one week break! :/

Any advice given to me so that I can eat yet not over eat pls? It's getting out of hand. My hubby bought me a pack of bee hoon n I'm still hungry after eating. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Kyra,

It's really sad to hear this... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] No one will ever terminate any P. Will pray for u n all the mummies here...

Stay happy! bb can sense if we r not in a happy mood....

Mornin ladies!! Def gd day today!!

Went gynae year but didn't get to see as gynae was rushing for delivery plus it seems all the preg ladies are gathered at his tiny clinic!! Will wait till my proper appt next mon![IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Jennifer: gd way is to portion ur meals. Use small plates n bowls at home . Like just eat half packet of beehoon at each time. Have more meals but smaller portions. Also be selective of the type of food u eat.choose good proteins/ gd fats etc I eat like 6-7 times a day but all in small

portions.. Eg if u feel like ice cream: go for the gd

Quality ones.. Avoid processed foods like ham/ sausages etc stick to foods as close to nature as possible.[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Thanks bunnz!

I spent an hr eating my pack of been hoon from 10am to 11am... Does it consider as eating slowly?It's jus the 'after-food taste' that I dun feel comfortable ... Still hungry now .. Will Tabao food b4 I go to work later...

Cord banking : there s a seminar a bout it this sat..we hv registered for the afternoon one fr 2 to 5 pm. At Orc parade hotel. Anyone attending? Plus misc talks abt other topics by different gynaes.

Most likely we r taking cos I read it s even more recommended for certain groups of pp which we happen to fall under .

Btw Palmer s stretchmark n all their brands also has

unpleasant ingredients in it..

Pamperin myself w congee agn this morning [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Bb is a congee bb!![IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Eat slowly is great!! Also rem to stop eating if u are full or preferably like 80% full. The fullness will take a while to register in our brain, ESP with food like bread, rice, noodles ..

These days no point thinkin we must finish all our food in one go. In fact more unhealthy for us

rather learn to start in smaller portions. When u know how much u can take , by then shd hv no more wastage. Can always eat again 2 hrs later.

Less carbs for dinner.

Avoid soft drinks.

They really go a long way.[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Yeah u are eating very slowly!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Not too sure abt ur after food taste feeling.. Cos if I do hv that umcomfy feeling after eating, it means my body doesn't enjoy the food n I ll remind myself to avoid it next time if I rem.

congrats on your princess, jennifer ng! spread the princess dust to me pls! i hope to have antoher girl this time round! hehehehe

I just tried taking some fresh milk again just now and I feel very very sick now. my little one really don't like milk i gather. shall stop trying to have any more milk. argghhh.. really don't feel good now. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

@Jenn Chng: Understand what you're going through. I'm also eating and eating too. I eat double breakfast every morning, imagine. It's always like hot food before I get to work (i.e. noodles, porridge) and when I get to work, I eat a sandwich. And if I don't get lunch by noon, my stomach growls with a vengence. Hahah.

Very paiseh always, esp when I'm in the midst of a meeting. Haha. The growl is really audible.

After you finish ur bee hoon at 11am, do you still take lunch?

@bunnz: can you share more about the certain group of pp that are recommended to do cord blood banking?

I am still deciding whether to go for the cordblood banking... hmm and hubby wants us to wait till the week 20 scan then decide but the roadshow has alot of offers on the signup price... hmmm.... hmmm....

Gina: I m also eating double breakfast, lunch, tea, dinner n supper !! Haha

Blossoms : need to check out the exact info agn. I m sure many road shows to come in the next few mths.[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] just not sure which is better . Cord life or stem cord. Both shd b similar.

Jennifer - you are not alone! i have also suffered from eating too much and too good last week (pizzas, pasta, steak, BBQ ribs, big breakfast, etc) during the one week hols. Furthermore, i would usually eat out alone after work.

Hopefully i won't gain too much at my next doc visit.

kyra,

I think dont think of negative tots at the moment. When it comes it comes, discuss and talk to gynae after taking the test.

kyra,

I think dont think of negative tots at the moment. When it comes it comes, discuss and talk to gynae after taking the test.

Logging in for a while before I go on with work.

Have been experiencing cramps this morning until now. A lot of people told me is normal, but really? I also want to check, can we squat down to do things?

@Pommes - I think it is safe to squat but do get up slowly. I noticed that when I stand up quickly after squatting, my belly will have a very uncomfortable stretching feeling which can be painful. Be careful ya.

Gina - that's what happened to me this morning. I was squatting down to clean up some stuff and when I stood, I had this very painful pull/ cramp. Got to lie on bed for a while. Ever since then, I dun feel gd. Keep having the same kind of pain/ pull/ cramp.