(2011/07) July 2011

elch, really? pigeon standard neck bottle can fit medela pumps? but all my pigeon bottles are wide neck! bang walls... haha... thanks for the info! I shld then get some standard neck bottles...

Hiladies

Long time since i loggin..but i do read up the thread for updates ^_^

I'm tempted to take leave to go to the MC & Taka baby fair leh..but really at a loss at what to get though this is my #2. Really long time since my #1 was a bb..so memories fade..kekek

feimei

last time they sell at $60/box which is $15/pack.

dunno now got increase in price or not.

think i'll call up to check nearer to delivery date.

cos no point checking now then nearer to date they increase price.

Wanna ask the ladies here..what do u think of the Medela freestyle pump, which was offered on the bp at $450..worthwhile to buy? My pal recommended to buy prior to giving birth as whether got milk or no, also worthwhile..but I'm thinking after maternity leave, I'll still hv to get a smaller one since got to bring to work to pump...

RE: Diaper

My #1 has been using Giant's diapers since 2yr old..prior to tt, using Huggies..we also use cloth diapers when he was at home, cooler & save $..though the wearing part must need practise.

RE: Wipes

Used to use Pigeon wipes but changed to Angelwipes (available at John Little) since after calculating, cheaper & quite tough also.

Feimei> thanks for adding me up in the list[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] I've sent u an email on my contact. Hope to see u at sgh[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]))) so excited!

Pinkyrose> yeah I just realized that bb girls r more at sgh[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] coz female sperm survive longer!!!! Haha. Oh lots of u guys under dr Tan h.k for me I m under devendra. He's very nice. Most of us staff nurses are under him. Very gentle n patient

hi gals, i didnt go to e fair and didnt get e bundle package. my gf told me tat can just hot boiling water to sterilize milk bottles. this is why i didnt get e bundle.

Janice

Yes, boiling water to sterilize is actually cleaner than using sterilizer. My personal opinion. Even for warming up milk you can use the traditional way of soaking bottle in hot water. Good also save $$ since you only plan to hAve one.

Daph> oohh...so happy to hear this from you. luckily i didnt spend tat S$199. heehee... but i still need to get 2 small milk bottles and some necessary stuff like breast pads.

Does ntuc sell pigeon milk bottles? any1 knows where to get cheapest (after comparing prices) on pigeon milk bottles alone?

My hubby said dun buy warmer. use the traditional way - hot water, will do... which is true laa...

Anyway, i went to Taka bb fair again!!! hahaha... was having my dinner at clementi with hubby, then ask him since we on the way home, shall we go and take a look and he said OK! hahah... so we spent the hr before they closed. And we managed to buy the playpen at $199!!! Cuz they were preparing to bring more stocks out for next day, thus they able to sell me tt model today and at promo rate! So lucky! So i persuade my hubby to buy today, saying tt u all say its good buy! but it is really a good buy! play music, soft light, the changing diaper area, toys hanging (but its manual) and able to place contaniners at the side of the playpen. Indeed a good buy. Only bad side its a little low, so bb easier to climb out when he's older. But anyway i dun intend to keep bb inside even when he is 3 yrs old.

Janice> you've tried counting your ovulation date to conceive a bb boy? Well good try but not always successful. I bought online a boy prince or princess n it says it's only 80% true. However if u learn biology, it make sense on choosing the sex of your child. Coz indeed the male sperm swims faster but also dies faster compared to a female sperm which swims slower bu have a longer life span. However sometimes, the pH value of your vaginal also influence it and the regularity of your menses

Janice

Ntuc does sell pigeon bottles but not any cheaper. Two bottles like very few leh... Need to keep washing and sterilizing. If you wanna save on breast pads, go for washable ones. They are reusable in other word. But I'm lazy to do extra washing so I still prefer disposable ones. What about necessities like breast pump and cot?

Maureen> yeah i counted my ovulation. although i m in my late 30s but my menses quite accurate. usually on e same day of each month or 1 day early or late. but if i m sick, then of coz my menses will be very much delayed like 1 week or so.

In fact my baby is conceived 1 day after my ovulation. plus we use doggy style all e time for e machine gun...(so embarrassing to say this here..hehee)...but i didnt wash my vaginal to make it alkaline or acidic (cant remember). My hubby eat alot of seafood/beef tat time. I eat mostly meat too (which is not good, shd eat more veg). anyway i still got a gal.

sad lor!!!! sigh..its all fated.

Daph> coz i m not working so i need to cut alot of costs. i am getting the following from my frens and relatives:

- kaneson manual breast milk pump (my aunt's fren's shop happen to close down, and my aunt got a brand new one free for me [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif])

- baby bed from my dh fren (just need to buy a brand new matress, pillows)

- maybe can get stroller from my dh's fren too (hoping) [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

- baby's clothes, wraps, some cloth diaper etc (from another aunt, and gf)

- a big bag for putting baby's stuff (hoping my gf can give one this one too)

hihi... i have the following to let go...

WTS Natal Care Plus (400mg): Each box of 30 capsules at $14.00 (U.P. $16.05)

http://img831.imageshack.us/img831/8470/img1140sx.jpg

http://img821.imageshack.us/img821/5936/img1141e.jpg

Natal Care Triplus (625mg) : Each box of 30 capsules at $28.00 (U.P. $32.10)

http://img823.imageshack.us/img823/6593/img1190o.jpg

http://img593.imageshack.us/img593/2861/img1191u.jpg

http://img830.imageshack.us/img830/9746/img1160a.jpg

All boxes with Expiry 2013.

Bought too many from Dr Adrian.

================================================

An Australian specially balanced formulation that helps fulfill DHA requirement for fetal / baby brain development, and optimizes the brain development of the fetus and infant.

The core element in NATAL CARE PLUS - Natural Fish Oil - contains DHA and EPA, which is particularly needed during pregnancy and lactation. Apart from that, NATAL CARE PLUS also contains Vitamin E, an anti-oxidant that helps to alleviate the negative impact of free radical formation, and increase normal cell function.

================================================

Cash on pick-up/delivery @ Jurong East or Raffles Place.

Kindly PM or leave SMS at 9 876 1872.

Jan-ice...i also not buying the steralizer...buying a big stainless steel pot and using boiling water for the bottles. and will also heat up milk using bottle in hot water way...hehe not about saving $$ but my mum prefers to do so...she say she dunno hw to use the steralizer...

Janice> me too, not using sterilizer.. My mum will be taking care of baby and she thinks hot water is cleaner.. But I will buy warmer though. My fren is breastfeeding now and she says hot water method takes 10 to 15 mins and 2 rounds of hot water to heat up the milk, but the pigeon warmer took her 2 mins only. And when the baby is crying and wailing for milk, 8mins makes a whole lot of difference...

and TGIF mummies!! finally its friday...

Janice> NTUC sells pigeon bottles but I dont see any discount.. I bought the new born pigeon starter set at BHG sale for 49, but I saw it at Taka fair for 47plus.. 3 Wide neck BPA free bottles, one pacifier, one bottle brush.. I think quite ok.. Take note- the transparent bottle is not BPA free.. only the yellowish one is..

Px22 - I saw another transparent pigeon bottle wide neck that is bpa free; made of pp material at robinsons. The yellow one is made from ppsu (or something). Both r bpa free. Just that the yellow is can withstand higher temp while the pp one can withstand lower temp.

Any one can confirm?

Janice

It's ok lah, alot if things really can save one. ESP with only one kid. Mine not that bad, can pass down to #2. actually I didn't buy much too. Coz I don't like things to take up a lot of place in the house. But I bought quite a number of clothes!

wildchillies, the transparent one is onie small bottle don't come in bigger size and the material is softer. So if u r boiling, if forget to turn off the fire, like me (always happen) then not good..haha.

The lady at robinsons asked me to get the yellow one..:p

Janice

For the breast pump which you getting from aunt, you need to check whether it fits the pigeon bottles, or whether it comes with any bottles. Coz I've not heard of the brand before.

-pinkyrose (pinkyrose) & Tze (tze48) ,

Thanks for replying [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] . I am going to Taka fair

this Sunday to take a look.Hopefully the cushion pad and headcushion they have is universal type cos I think the stroller and carseat are already discontinued as they are bought from US [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

dolphin (sillydolphin) - You got the playpen at $199. Is it the Graco brand been advsertised on straits time ? I thought the promotion is started on 11 Mar -13 Mar [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

I intend to get a playpen too.Hopefully they will have stocks on Sunday . But is there any limitation on how sets per day for promotion ?

I already bought a cot from Mothercare sale for my home.

Am thinking, do I really need another playpen for my MIL place after my maternity or can just make do with a mattress? Wanna save the $$$.

Hear that some bbs dun use their playpens. Dilemma man :X

angelwink ~ np!! happy shopping [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Liz ~ nipple cream is if nipple dryness and crack. usually happens if you are breastfeeding. It is not necessary if you are not experiencing that.

mummies.... being call back to KKH for 1day program. Due to sugar level high. Rite nw i feel so disappointed & sad on myself. When things nv happen i nv knw hw serious is the matter. rite nw i must have the determination to change & care for bb.

may god dun take away my precious......

Feimei,

Can get Goon diapers sample from this site http://www.diapers.com.sg/. I previously bought my Goon diapers from the site as well.

Both Nepia and Goon are equally good. Both are Jap brand. Goon cutting is bigger though.

clarrisagoh,

Most breastpumps other than the Avent brand fits standard neck bottles. You may want to get http://www.pigeon.com.sg/index.php?page=shop.product_details&flypage=flypage.tpl&product_id=32&category_id=18&option=com_virtuemart&Itemid=42 this to store breastmilk as well. Not necessary to get the Medela storage bottles, which are much more expensive.

RE: Steriliser

I'm still using hot water to sterilise my #1 water bottle & cup prior to using even though he's 5 already.

Intending to use hot water for sterilising for bb..actually, was intro by my mil to this method..

Suying

Dun worry too much..hmm..dun mind me for being swakoo..why they need to call u back due to high sugar level?

Wanna ask..which type of breast pump is good? My pal was recommending to get the Medela freestyle..previous for my #1, I was using Avent manual one..which is v time consuimg & I cant do other things as need to use both hands to pump..somemore pump until hand ache..so heard frm her tt with freestyle, can go hands free..but it's the cost tt draws me back..thinking whether to get from bp instead as much lower..

btw..any idea whether it is light a not huh? Cos tot of having to carry around once i returned to work leh...

appreciate the advise!

This is what i gt fr Nepia:

Dear Cindy

Thank you for your following email.

Here is some Nepia Information as below:

Tape Type:

New born 60's (up to 5 kg)

Small 54's (4-8 kg)

Medium 48's (6-12 kg)

Large 42's (9-14 kg)

Pants Type:

Large 30's (9-14 kg)

Ex-Large 26's (12-19 kg)

1 carton of diaper = 4 packs = $60

1 carton of pants = 6 packs = $90

All size selling $15/pack for home delivery service.

Minimum order 4 packs (can feel free to mix up the sizes you want), we offer free delivery.

If any enquiries, please don't hesitate to contact me.

Best Regards~

Nepia (HK) Ltd

Thks feimei for the info. Hmm..so in this case, is it cheaper to get Nepia diapers compared to diapers of other brands?

For nepia, i personally think if getting NB size then it is cheap but for other sizes, it is not cheap. I always calc price per piece.

For pampers, during promo 1 piece = $0.40 max..Nepia is $0.57 and summore cannot hold the urine as good as pampers. My 2cents worth. But i use NB and S size for Zach last time..day time use is good

yes agree with zachmommy.

that's why for my 2 boys, i got NB size from Nepia, and intend to do the same for mei mei.

size S onwards i stockup Pampers during sale.

my boys can't take Drypers as they will get rashes, somemore the sticker tape is not baby friendly, i.e. if it sticks to baby's tummy, it can be painful for them when you "tear" it out.

feimei > does it means one pack inside got 60 pcs for NB?? so one carton is 240 pcs?

Isnt it a bit early to stock up on diapers? Thought that we still do not know what type of diaper suits baby's skin. Or which diaper's cutting best suits baby??

zachmommy,

Agree with you. That's why I only bought NB and S size for Nepia/Goon. Switched to Huggies Dry Comfort for day use and Huggies Ultra/Pampers Active/Mamy Poko for night use since my boy started on Size M.

Feimei

NB size don't need to get so much. they can change to S size quite fast. Somemore hospital will be giving one pack of NB diapers. For TMC is pampers brand. I didn't buy any diapers at all when I had #1. I use those free ones from hampers. After that we bought S size.

feimei,

For my boy, I utilized 1 packet of NB and 1 packet of S of Nepia and 1 packet of NB and 1 packet of S of Goon. I shared it with another preggy colleague of mine previously. If not enough, can always order again. Just get a carton to try 1st. Don't forget you'll have a few pieces here and there from the hospital stay, samples, goodies bag, hampers and etc. After trying different brand, you may want to change brand.

I also rem not buying any diapers for newborn size..but my #1 pretty small hence..we took a while to move to S..finally M then L..kekeke..

Zach/Jas

might consider Nepia for S size if really gd..cos i think for newborns, most of the time spent at home..wearing cloth diapers..

Feimei

heheh..thinking if u were to order, we can also share the orders if too much to use at a go..cos honestly thinking, to order a carton is a lot of diapers..