(2011/02) Feb 2011

i think i am really feeling irritable becos of the stress that everything is not ready.

joodz: actually i rather BB be out soon so that all the waiting can end soon..

you'll be delighted to carry your gal in your arms :p

clio: actually i feel more energised now than when in my 2nd trimester..

i wonder if it is the nesting instinct, always giving me adrenaline to do this and that

ah ching

aiyoh why yr hubby like that? still can make those comments. was he always like that from the day u got married?

@wishchild - u standby on FM huh...u intend to bf? i dun feel breathless but can't get back to sleep after woke up and pee [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

@ah ching - btw r u staying with ur inlaw? Ur MIL din help u with the chrous coz now u preggy leh?? Nwadays the weather can sunshine and rain later...wash also hard as i need sun to shine on my bb clothes. The childcare fee so exp...must be good skool lah. I started to feel tired esp after 3 to 5 hours of shopping cum walking.

Moomoo, not 3D scan. It's the detailed scan which we did during our 5th mth.

Mrs Ong, me too! Realized my gums bleed easily and 1-2x a week will hv blood when I blow my nose. Just drank coconut juice, hope will cool down my heatiness. My gynae said quite hard for placenta to shift up at this stage but natural birth still possible coz I had natural birth for my boy with low placenta.

Wish_child, ya FM very ex hor so if can bf then can really save alot. I'm giving friso for my bb but so far, hvn't manage to find the small tin yet jialiat.

Hi Ah ching

my son is also in Eager Beaver. Which Eager Beaver centre are u putting him at? How old is ur son? When is your baby due?

Hi Mummies.. HAPPY NEW YR TO ALL...

Joodz.. m having same feeling as u .. i kept telling my hubby i will miss the movement of my bb inside my stomach later if baby is born.

Ah Ching.. ya that was one mth back.. been so EMO... cried for nothing.. got angry with hubby over small little thing..feel like y everything is not right.. maybe too stress got so many thing to handle.. wat to buy for bb thing..going to hire Domestic worker... etc..

i start drinking my first coconut last night.. so shiok n cooling.. when to clementi 24hr NTUC to buy at midnight..

ya.. my mum told me too.. if leg swollen & go few time.. mean going to give birth soon.. same goes to my colleague & SIL..

been feeling harden tummy these few days.. it like bb cramp at one side..

anyone have the same feeling.. wonder why..

@charmaine - So qiao haha and wonder other mummies also experience it? Well well, i going to start drinking coconut drink this wkend! No wonder my gynae told me that low placenta still can natural birth coz during my 5 to 7 mths scanned, my placenta was low but she told me that can go natural provided bb not in breech position. Lucky, on my 8th detailed scan, my placenta not low and bb head down but not engaged yet. How to know if bb head has engaged?

ah ching.. jia you.. think all hubby is the same..they will jus talk..when ask them to do .. they tend to do only when instruction given one by one..

ah_ching dun stress one thing at a tme...

U mean nurturestars at safra? tot no more eagerbeaver liao.

my first skool is under NTUC about 500 a month i think. not the little skoolhouse or wat at the khoo teck puah. tt one very ex...

Going to miss myu girl so much esp confinement all attention on baby. really treasure the time i have with her.

found the explaination of BRAXTON HICKS...

Braxton Hicks contractions, also known as false labor or practice contractions are sporadic uterine contractions that usually start around 6 weeks however are not usually felt until the second trimester or third trimester of pregnancy

[edit] Symptoms

They should be infrequent, irregular, and involve only mild cramping.[1]

[edit] Cause

Braxton Hicks contractions are a tightening of the uterine muscles for one to two minutes and are thought to be an aid to the body in its preparation for birth. Not all expectant mothers have these contractions. They are not thought to be part of the process of effacement of the cervix.

[edit] Alleviating factors

Dehydration can make muscles spasm, bringing on a contraction, and is thought to be a factor in extended Braxton Hicks contractions. Adequate hydration can alleviate Braxton Hicks contractions.

Rhythmic breathing may alleviate the discomfort of Braxton Hicks contractions.

Lying down on the left side can help ease the pain of contractions.

A slight change in movement sometimes makes the contractions disappear.

A full bladder can sometimes trigger Braxton Hicks, so urination may end the contractions

[edit] History

Braxton Hicks are named after the English doctor who first described them. In 1872, John Braxton Hicks investigated the later stages of pregnancy and noted that many women felt contractions without being near birth.[2] This process was usually painless but caused women confusion as to whether or not they were going into actual labor. It has since been found that Braxton Hicks' contractions are much less noticeable during exercise, whereas real contractions are not.

Ah ching, why u never ask ur hubby for help? U going to delivery soon and tummy getting more n more heavy. U should ask him to help u. As now we will experience pain here n there. Ask ur hubby to massage for u.

Mrs Ong, I going to breastfeed my bb but I'm afraid bb don't drink enough milk so buy FM to standby. Past few weeks I also can't sleep well after i wake up for toilet. But now I can sleep after toilet at night but feel very breathless when I lie down on bed.

Charmaine, breastfeed really cam save a lot of money. I saw Friso infant FM at fariprice and taka supermarket. Maybe u can try go take a look over there.

Mrs Ong, yes can still have natural birth if placenta is low. My tummy was very low when i'm preg with 1st boy. To know if bb's head engaged, when you visit your gynae, he/she will scan bb and determine if bb's head is downwards. That's when we know bb's head is engaged, but sometimes bb might still rotate again. Another way is u'll find bb's kicks at your upper tummy [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Wish_child, ya bf can save alot of money coz FM is really v ex. Which fairprice did you saw the friso 1? Issit in small tin? Coz i went to few fairprice outlets, they only have big tins. Some dun even have friso 1. When i was preggie with my 1st boy, my friend was working at my gynae's clinic and she always keep friso 1 (from supplier/promoter) for me. So tat time, she kapo 16 tins and i rmb i never buy any FM till my boy is 6mths old hahaha... This time i also have to standby FM just in case if supply never comes in by 3rd day, i'll spoonfeed my bb.

@wishchild - me also scare but many told me that it usually base on supply & demand theory...if not, maybe can take green papaya soup and fenguk or raspberry tea supplement to boost milk supply. Hope i can bf till 6 mths though it not easy thingy as my sis, sil and fren gave up bf after 2 mths...quite sad coz breast milk is the best food for bb. So i will try my very best to bf!

Last night has passed my MIL money for my confinement marketing. Anyone can recommend me shampoo for confinement?

@mamaying: used to teach at a sec sch in Hougang.

now at HQ... by afternoon my back was killing me. I think during 2nd trimester i still had alot of energy to climb staris to go class etc, but 3rd trimester during hols i lie/sit down whenever i could and now i am not used to going back to work mode again.

If bb doesn't come out in Jan, i m thinking of starting ML after CNY.

Charmaine, how low is ur placenta?so u can still deliver at tmc . N possibly natural birth? Mine is type 2, about an inch from Cervx opening, doc refer me to kkh leh, and today kk doc confirmed I will have c sect next wk. Mind to say who's ur gynae?

Formula milk

What brands are good?

I read from a book which said that milk supply is relies on demand and supply. If you are direct breastfeed the baby, after the baby stop sucking, it is suggested to pump out the milk balance in the breast so that the breasts will continue to replenish the fully supply for next feeding in 2-3 hours.

For bf, don't go by routine hour to feed your baby such as every 3 hour for feeding. According to the book we should feed baby as and when baby needed.

Just to share ....

Charmaine, I saw it at parkway fairprice finest. Is small tin friso infant tin. If u can't find it I have 1 of the Friso supplier no. As I want take a sample of infant formula milk she rejected me but she said if I really don't have any BM she will think of way get Friso FM free sample for me. =)

Mrs Ong, dont worry if we don't give up sure can breastfeed our bb for long term. As my friend at 1st she thought she will give up halfway on BF after she rerun to work but end up she never. She now still BF her bb until her bb now is 9mths old. Let Jia you together =)

Pinkyoshi, I will add u once I on my laptop =).

Clio, haha I also feel very tired easily nowaday. Because baby getting more and more heavy that why will feel tired easily. Hehe.

Hi mummies, my son is sleeping now..

very early as he usually sleeps ard 9+ think CC really tires him

mamaying oh i think it's the one at ktp.. that one very expensive and i got sick when i only went there for 15 mins the last time

tiffany, mamaying.

i sent my son to eager beaver at yishun

they moved to 925 from safra. very big place

i also visited nurturestars but didnt like the teacher i spoke to..

EB principal is very nice and met the directors too.

925 is near the bus interchange and it's walking dist from my place.

trinket: men are very diff before marriage la..

Mrs Ong: I do not live with my in laws..

think if need to live with in laws i wouldnt marry my husband, ha ha

My hubby promised to pack the room by middle Dec but yest already 2011.. so i just pack as i started ML today

re: infant formula

i have standby Friso.

for doc ang's patients, he'll normally give mamil gold.

but i heard the most popular is similac

tiffany: my son is 18+ months.. and i'm due 5 Feb.

have been pooing quite often and getting BH..

my stomach has also been moving quite violently like vibrating recently.

My gal also poking me and stretching until it is painful..

still got 1 month to go..

Ah_ching thanks for info, will go check it out with hubby [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] nurturestars is by kinderland quite ex too... Maybe I can send my girl to eagerbeavers before we get a place in my first skool(ntuc) in abt april.

Today I told her I am going to work tml, she got to go to ah ma's house. Then she say 'mommy bu yao qu zuo gong!' Makes me wanna be sahm!!!

Funny thing is then she farted, loud n smelly haha then I said I wanna go to work so I dun have to smell her smelly fart and we both end up laughing hahaha

Re:formula

My girl was only bf-ed for a month. Then on mamex gold till now step 3. There's a brand my sis told me when u change to next step taste is different then kids might reject. Also for future info, pediasure is very sweet. Kids will keep wanting to drink milk might take less food.

Clio: at least work in hq can wake up bit later. Tml I got to wake up 5 plus zzzz jia you to u! i Plan to take leave after 3 week

Claire, my detailed scan at 27wks which I had bleeding showed this -'Placenta - Posterior, low-lying, covering the os. (Grannum Grade 1) My gynae is KC Yeo. So u will be delivering at 35wks? Did the gynae mention how come c-sec so early?

Wish_child, can pm me the contact? If can't find small tin, will take the free sample [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Ya, almost all brands dun gv sample for stage 1 milk coz encouraging bfeeding.

Mamaying, haha yr ger so funny!! Ya pediasure v sweet. Though my boy's a super fussy eater, I nv gv pediasure coz i scared he will only want to drink milk and dun want solids.

Ah Ching, when my boy attend cc prev, he'll sleep at 8 instead of his usual 10+. Pros and cons for me. Pro is I can hv time to do hsework after he's asleep, bad thing is v rush for me coz I need to rush to pick him after work, cook his dinner, feed him and bath him within 1.5hr.

@EMO, share the same sentiment with all mummies. =P the mood can be very low or get frustracted easily... =P

@ah ching: try to get part time helper if possible.

@jeanie: hmmm.. my girl fell hard down this weekend - 3 days 3 times when she was in daddy's care, one on her back head & 2 on her face. i cant really scold him as i think this is not he wanted. i only blame myself as lacking of energy to accompany her..

Selling this playpen with changing mat @ $95 in original packaging. Almost brand new & comes with mattress + bedsheet free. Kindly PM me if interested. Thanks.

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/3877999/4957424.jpg]

Hi anyone interested in this

1) Fisher Price rocker with vibration for $25, condition 8/10, Collection at Toa Payoh MRT station.

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/3877999/4957596.jpg]

2) Fisher price Miracles and Milestones playgym at $18

( Conditoin 8.5/10)[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/3877999/4957597.jpg]

Hi mummies, I'm an April 2010 mummy selling the Ameda Lactaline Dual Breast Pump for $70. Bought 2nd-hand from another mummy for $120 because my manual pump broke and I was desperate. In the end the electronic one didn't work as well for me as the manual, so I didn't use it very much. Please email me at [email protected] if you're keen. Thanks!

Got a 30% discount letter for Philip Avent products valid till 31-Jan. Not much use for us because we don't use any of their products but probably going down to TPY one of these days to take a look. If you want to get anything IM me.

Jus update, ytd managed to visit dr Ang for my check. I am 2 days to 36 weeks..

My 32 weeks bb is weighing 1.8, ytd check, bb is 2.7 kg already!!! Omg !! Didn't expect to b so fast. 10 days later will go review again..

Actually I asked for induced, but dr Ang says MT a

C section chances are higher.. So ask me wait later date den decide.. But I m pulling myself to work .. Backaches and very tired.. So tempted to start maternity.. But it will b a waste as later part won't hv more time wif bb.. Mmm

All mummies who haven on maternity, jiayou ah!!!

@wishchild - ya jia you and all mummies can do it!

@Ah Ching - ic no wonder u working as partimer...

@wenzi - wow bb grow so fast at 2.7kg now! Abit worried now coz at 32 wks, my bb also wt 1.8kg. Did u eat more or just normal 3 meal and what is ur wt at 32 wks and now?

Hi Mommies, I'm from April 2010 and just wanna wish you all mommies a happy new year and all the best to the birth of your little precious very soon!

Since I've stopped breastfeeding (when my son was 7months), I'd like to sell my electric breastpump from Pigeon, the super silent one.

I've only used it for about 2 months as it was a spare piece for my office use. If you are keen I will also throw in milk bottles and disposable bags for storing breastmilk.

Interested parties, kindly email me at [email protected]

Thanks and have a blessed new year everyone!

Claire, I dunno yet, maybe next review den consider, if bb hit 3.5.. I will c section. Cus I scare cannot push out, and need pay double.. Yup! So panic when relatives and fren keep

Telling me it's anytime now.. Awww

Mrs ong, I eat normally.. 32 weeks Gained 1 kg, 36 I gained 3 kg.. When is ur next check?

Good morning everyone..

Mamaying - are u queueing ur gal for my first skool at orchid country club? Me stay around the area and am already eyeing the playgrp there liao.. hahah, my mil and hubby say i very kiasu.. but i wanna give my kid a good foundation mah.. izzt very difficult to get a place? and do u know how much they charge for half-day play grp?

wenzi - my baby also abt 2.7kg.. at 35wks 2days.. blur me thought i 36 wks liao.. but realised at my gynae visit yesterday that i'm only 35wks... are there any guidelines on the wt of the baby which will determine that we hv to go for c-sect? abit worried abt the cost leh.. had a hard time convincing hubby to let me stay in single rm.. if end up c-sect, he sure ask me to consider double rm again

Paying Double

- anybody knows when do the hospital decide whether you will be charged double? I heard of some cases where mummies initially wanted natural but later was c-sect as baby cannot come out, and was only charged for c-sect.

Hi Kinderbueno,

I think you all got mixed up. my first skool is a child care under NTUC and I am looking at the one near my place in sembawang. hee

the one at orchid country club is my little skool house. I think tt one very ex. yeah good curriculum and what not i think long waiting list also.

I prefer the NTUC one as there are good reviews and I have met the principal a few times and she is very warm and sincere to help the kids, sometimes we drop by to see what they are teaching or conducting for the kids too. I think average standard for the academic i guess, but for me and hubby more impt is the socialisation, the academic part, basic will do. I am a teacher and my husband was so we can handle tt part as well :> But currently no vacancies for her earliest is April.

Maybe when you are free drop by the OCC one and check it out, talk to the principal and ask about vacancy. Some of the more popular child care centres have long waiting list. Another one is my little campus, for my girl waiting list for 2 years! till 2012.. u can imagine. :>

Good day!

kinder- it is also 'bo hua' to choose half day care. Cos usually the full day care for most centers is not much more but if u r late to pick up ur child for half day then u got to pick extra.

hi Mummies,

Quick update for myself.

Went to gynae check up yesterday and bb is weighed 2.6 kg at 34 weeks 5 days. My weight is increased by 300g only from the last 2 weeks (which is good according to gynae), but i guess all my weight gain goes to bb cos her weight increased by 300g from last check up.

Gynae said bb head is a bit big and my left placenta is a bit low, will monitor first. By next check up (2 weeks later) should be able to decide which delivery method to use (C-sec or natural).

I also had my hospital pre-admission done yesterday. Washed all bb clothes and napkins. Cleared space for bb room, packed my hospital bag (about 70% done), etc. But still feel like many things not done or bought yet [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

My legs started to swell and EDD is brought forward to 1 week earlier, 02 Feb 2011.

I will start to drink coconut drink when i hit 36 or 38 weeks i think.

Mummies, is there any sign of labour?

I heard that swollen leg is one of them. Is that true? But my gynae said my bb head is not engaged yet.

@wenzi - oh no thn i must control my diet liao coz i also eat normal 3 meal with snack in between if hungry. Thought i can enjoy eating esp cny coming. I dunwan my bb to be too big just hope her wt keep to 3kg the max. Sighs...will update my bb wt after my appt this fri on 35 wks.

@jolin - izit coz bb head not engaged that why cannot cfm natural or csec?

@moomoo73 - if im not wrong for SGH, it charge room used only.

hello ladies,

seems very quiet here nowadays.

@wenzi, u went to see Dr Ang ytd? I was there in the morning too. My baby is 1.9kg only @week 33. Dr said the placenta was up and the baby head is down now. Should b no prob to give birth naturally. but he gave me next appointment which is 4 wks later. I wonder why not 2 wks?

mamaying: how old's your gal.. checked that the toddler class is full already.

luckily i didnt hesitate and sign him up last year.

looking at all the updates.. i'll only get to see Dr Ang on the 12th, still got a long way to go.

Long time never post in this forum, am now in my 35 wks and bb already weighed 2.7kg... gynae said bb is abit big, and may need to induce in early Feb.

Wanna ask is there any mummies experience rashes during the 3rd tri? Currently i got quite bad rashes and my gynae advised me to go skin ctr, is that normal for preggie mummies to have this?

I just came back from my detailed scan. My placenta is up! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Even the sonagrapher is kinda surprised. Apparently when she typed in my particulars in the pc, it showed her my previous detailed scans record. My placenta is normal at 5th mth, super low-lying at 7th mth and now up again at 35weeks. I saw my bb's face too! Coz he's facing up so i can see very clearly his eyes, nose and mouth. Oh, he has alot of hair too now hahaha... But he weighs only 2.247kg. So i spoke to my gynae, do i need to "pump up" bb by eating durians or drink milk. He said no, still need to monitor my sugar level and control wat i eat (wth??) Kinda worried my bb might be small at birth coz i think my boy was ard 2.5kg at 36weeks.

Swelling

My legs are swelling, in fact i find tat my whole body is swelling for the past week, making me so uncomfortable and no appetite. Controlling my diet, i'm eating 2 slices of bread for bf, salad for lunch and 3tsp of rice w veg & fish/chicken for dinner only. But my weight has went up by 1kg in just 1 week's time. I'm drinking 2L of water daily. Today gynae checked my legs and he said the swelling and water retention is still okie. Mummies, are you feeling the same too?

Claire, replied you in fb [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

@jac - no rashes for me so far...

@charmaine - great and good to hear that! You eating so little and still need to control? I think my feet got abit swollen though not very obvious. Ur gynae also checked ur legs?? For whole body, how to know if we are swelling??