(2011/02) Feb 2011

Faith & hope : i start using stretch mark cream.. but dun forget leg too... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] leg also easy have stretch mark. not forgetting breast part too .. oh ya ytd went for a talk at mariott hotel.. Is orgainse by Mum-to-be.. any mummies went yesterday????

hi everyone...

choc: thanks alot for tabulating the chart...

my doc is : John Tee

Hops: KKH

re: confinement nanny

I got to find one for this 2nd one cuz can hav beta rest....charges is abt 2.5-3k during CNY period for stay-in

for day care is 9am-6pm but price i am still checking with diff agencies...

if those got mum or mil to help can save money jus cater confinement delivery food...

nite feed is easy...jus latch baby n slp...even b4 he un-latch himself i already doze off to dreamland...

jus make sure baby slp...u also slp then shld be fine

re:cravings

i crave for potatoes during 1st preggie and now 2nd one also crave for potatoes...haha

re:stretch marks cream

my frens and most mummies use clarins n is super good...but i very lazy de....ask me apply everyday very difficult...

n lucky 1st one no stretch marks...so tis time round i decide to not even apply....

Ah Ching - is that true that we have to express milk every 2 hrs? Even at night? I m thinking, correct me if i m wrong, can we express our breastmilk in milk bottles (like those mothers who did in the office), then the CL can warm up and feed the baby at night? Or it is preferred that we personally bf the baby ourselves?

Thanks to felpoo for your introduction to bra latch extension (i nvr know of its existence!) the extension is really useful!

Neonogoby,

YOu have to latch / bf baby even though it is night time..=)

So, there is no point to latch cl to warm up milk and you express on the other hand?!

when my son was first month, i just latch him on and sleep! he will go to dreamland after satisified!! haha...i so lazy, not even burp him afterwards..:p

Hi Choc thks for the adds on.. I hvn't come in lately as I hv been feeling unwell. Kept feeling nausea but unable to vomit out. Also hv been feeling sleepy and tired for the past few days.. Hope this week is a btr week for me. Btw I hv cfm a CL but her rates s bit weird, she said if I give birth before 3rd day of CNY, she charge me $3k becoz she has to spend her new year at my hse. If I give birth aft 3rd day of CNY, then she charge me $2.5k I thk most likely I wld give birth earlier than that as usually our bb is born earlier than our due date.

Hi Neongoby,

Yes, we need to feed baby at night.

even if someone else is feeding, we still need to wake up at night to express the breastmilk.

Unless you want to ask your CL to feed formula.

But you may end up not enought breastmilk or get engorgement.

My baby didnt know how to latch on until he was abt 3 weeks, so I had to express the milk and feed him using bottle, which is very tiring.

You also need to wake baby up to feed if baby sleeps for too long. My baby cried every 1.5 hours initially so i had to feed every 1.5 hours..

the funny thing is baby always awake at night but sleep throughout the day.

Ah Ching, u are amazing! U had no help in the first mth? Well-done. But physically, u are ok so far? Even with the help of a nanny, my waist ached for a long time coz my mum said I din lie flat enuff during that first mth.

Hehehe... In that first mth, I din latch my bb on. I expressed every 3-hourly and store in the fridge. Bb zz with my nanny and he woke up every 2-3 hourly for milk.

Joy07, I read that we can start stretchmarks cream as soon as we know we are expecting. Also heard that it's genetic, so I guess it's up to individual.. no harm trying and see if it will minimise marks hehe..

choc, I'm thinking to buy palmers too. I've heard of the benefits of clarins oil too but exp lah.. hehe

mrs chua, most I read that application of stretchmark cream should be circular motion so this is the first time I heard that it's better to apply up down... so which way ar? Hhahha!

charmaine, you are amazing! From B to E cup! Haha! Sorry to hear that your mum wasn't able to help you. If you can't get a gd CL, can cater confinement food, and maybe ask your hubby to take 2-3wks leave and help you? My mum's health is not good so I won't ask her to help. In any case, she's a vegetarian so not convenient for her too. We haven't told my in-laws about my pregnancy yet.. so we'll see how. Likely I'll order confinement food, ask hubby to take leave, and if MIL offers to help, she can come by and help but not exactly to do confinement loh...

felpoo, I like the smell of "ru yi" oil too! Baby always smell so nice with "ru yi" oil on them after bath.. but cannot apply before work.. else the entire office will smell haha!

Neongoby, you so funny to say that Mt A is your "dream hospital". Why ar? hehee..

Thanks for sharing, Ah Ching. So in actual fact, there is not really use for a CL to take the night shift for you while you sleep since you still need to wake up to express milk. Then, you will also be expressing milk throughout the day too, where got time to rest? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

FaithnHope - hee hee, donno leh, maybe bcos i m a Catholic, and MT A seems calm and 'surreal' though when i went there, reality struck that it is quite old though, but if i don't go there to deliver, i will always be thinking about it [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Wow.. Only 2 days away and I have soo.. many posts to catch up with...

Neongoby: Do you stay in Semb area too? Dr Ang delivers in Mt A too. The only difference btwn Mt A and Thomson was if you choose to deliver in Thomson under Dr Ang, you get to be upgraded to 2 bedded ward at the price of a 4 bedded ward.

I think perhaps my tolerance level is lower ba.. When I delivered my number 1, I find my wound hurts lei.. In fact, I was hurting for 2 weeks before I got well again.. It could partly be bcos I had "zhi chang" at the anus area that time.. So it was pressing onto the wound..

Dr Ang came into the delivery ward geared in running tights and singlet.. I was a little shocked.. Cos I was expecting a typical surgeon kind. He mentioned he jsut returned from a trialton and had a doc for my case liaoz.. Anyway.. he is not bad.. Good to consider if you stay in Semb area.

Breasts size: It will get bigger gradually.. Like other mummies advise, you can get bra extensions first.. By the time your breasts gets too tight, then you change into a bigger bra.. In my case, I think i changed my bras at least 3 times.. Once during pregnancy (to a bigger size), after pregnancy (to an even bigger size + nursing bras), after breastfeeding (shrink in size very badly.. even worse than before)... Now I am concern if I would have enough milk for number 2.. Cos the size have not regain significantly yet.

Felpoo: I am amazed when i saw that you have been eating on oysters and sashimis during your 1st 3 months!! No matter freshwater type or not.. Better try not to take anymore this time round.. Wow.. Your hb is a seafood distributor? So blessed. You get to enjoy fresh and nice seafood very regularly..

Ya.. Agree that most of us feel bloated with gas at this time.. Sometimes, I actually used my dd's ruyi oil to rub my tummy.. keke.e..

faithnhope, Mrs Wong is quite a well-know antenatal specialist. Her classes were always full the last time I attended.

If nothing changes, she is also the in-charge of parents' craft from TMC.

Hi Mrs Chua, I'm fine physically.

Actually BB sleep 18 hours in the first month so no need to carry him much.

Neongoby: Must try to rest when BB is sleeping.

I still remember HB and I quarrelling as both of us was surviving on 2-3 hours sleep in the first week.

Get someone to help with housework, cooking or look after baby in between the milk feeds so that u can rest.

E.g. you can express milk then go sleep while other take care.

In the beginning I had 'visitors' in the daytime.

In the end I couldnt sleep when BB was sleeping as I had to entertain them.

So this time I am going to ban visitors.

Ha ha

But this time I got to handle a toddler at the same time so I really wonder if I can handle alone.

Bloatedness: I tried gaviscon and it really works wonders [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hi Neongoby, I heard that Mt A has been refurbished so should be fine. You can take a tour if you prefer.

Thanks Mrs Chua for the info.

charmaine: den for now u still feeling giddy or not for this round?

Neongoby: sad leh..mine alrdy consider v small le den till now still no growing leh..

i also dont really like plain water keep wan some gassy drinks to make myself burp...keep having indigestion ...

seems like a few r from Dr lawrence..so for all dr lawrence one when is yr next appointment?

i thinking to change to dr benjamin thiam or not..i am currently with dr lawrence ang but he seems very busy den my SIL intro me dr thiam.

Ah Ching, u are really gd.

When I had to handle mine in the 2nd mth, I was really on my knees begging him to go back to sleep. Lol

I agree, now with a toddler in tow, wonder how to cope. But I told myself this morning, i shall try not to ask myself "HOW to cope" but will tell myself "i CAN cope". Hope it can work...

Ah Ching, u are really gd.

When I had to handle mine in the 2nd mth, I was really on my knees begging him to go back to sleep. Lol

I agree, now with a toddler in tow, wonder how to cope. But I told myself this morning, i shall try not to ask myself "HOW to cope" but will tell myself "i CAN cope". Hope it can work...

hi choc,

thanks for tabulating the spreadsheet, my info as follows:

EDD: 8th Feb

2nd Child

Gynae - Dr Adrian Woodworth

Hospital - TMC

mmm, i think get a CL will still be helpful no matter what.

Ah Ching - i think this time round, you better get a CL or a maid to help you, otherwise you will be very tired. Good idea, i think should ban visitors at least for the first 2 weeks huh? that's the crucial period for your body to heal and recuperate.

eviangal - i stay in sembawang, that's why i m really tempted to go with Dr Ang, but i m really concerned about the heavy patient load, will consider first.

I'm new here.. nice to meet u all.. this is my 2nd child and my EDD is 6th Feb.. I really hope that he/she will be born after CNY.. becoz i want a rabbit baby.. hehe..I just booked my CL. she charged me $2.6k.

Mrs.Chua,

My first one now also 21mths+.. think around same age with yours. She was born in Sept 2008..

check out her blog at - http://yaopage.blogspot.com

Choc,

Help me to add in my info, thanks..

EDD: 6th Feb

2nd child

Gynae: Dr. Don Wong

Hospital: Mt.Alvernia

Neongoby,

You stay in sembawang? you can consider Dr. Don Wong. His clinic is at admiralty MRT station there. My 1st one delivered by him. Last time i also considered either Dr wong or Dr Ang. In the end, I chose Dr Wong becoz less crowded. He is also quite patient and gentle. His package is $600, start from 1st visit.

Hi lim_baby,

Yea yea, my boy was borned on 21 Sept.

Wow! Such dedication you have! Website for ur gal. She is so smart, can sit still and read on her own. My boy behaves like he has nails on his bum, cannot sit still else his bum will hurt. Lol

all along I have been a silent reader. Like most of u, I am also suffering frm MS. Any medicine tt can help?

Hi choc: pls help me to update the template

Edd: 5/2/2011

gynae: dr John tee

hospital: KKH

child #2

lim baby, i read your blog, you are such a good and hardworking mummy to start a blog for your gal, i bet you hope she will continue on from you once she knows how to type and write? ;) Well done!

wow wow.. I didnt check my email only for 2 days and our thread here has become so active... After reading all the posts, I am getting real excited..

Choc, thanks for compiling all the mummies details. here's mine

EDD: 12/02/2011

Gynae: Dr. M. Tan

Hospital: TMC

Child: 1

Hi Choc, thanks for tabulating....

Nick: Littledevil82

EDD: 02 Feb 2010 instead of 01 Feb 2010

Gynea: Dr Kenneth Lee

Hosp: MT A

Child: 1

Faithnhope: I should look at the bright side just as you mention, everything will be alright.

CLtine: My Gynae is the same as yours. Is he your 1st child gynae as well??

Hi Rachel, I don't have a cure but I read somewhere, not sure if it's from this forum, that having a small biscuit just before you wake up helps. Think some of the girls here also mentioned ginger tea.

My MS and sometimes evening sickness not so severe but my appetite has gone down. And everytime after a meal (no matter how small), I'll feel uneasy. So I eat those preserved plum - the "wu hua guo" strips I bought from NTUC, and I'll feel better. I no longer drink as much water, so I'll add a slice of lemon to enhance the flavour. I think the lemon also helps curb the uneasiness.

Thanks faithnhope.

I have tried biscuits but guess nt enough to fill my tummy. End up vomit again coz hungry. Have tried Ginger tea with black sugar sachet type, but does nt wrk for me.

Guess I will try the water with lemon since I dun drink water too. Will also try the wu hua guo tt u mentioned.

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Faith,

my appetite oso gone down. Scare bb not enough nutrient as i will vomit out what i ate. I took durians now, craving for it. I will try lemon water. Can we take honey?

Mrs chua,

My gal was born 3 days earlier than your boy, on 18th Sept. when is your EDD? What's a coincidence. Hope to get a boy this time. i also hope you can get a gal this time...

I think boy should be more active than gal. mine one sometimes still can sit still and read book, but also not long time.. just a few minutes..lol..

Thanks for visiting my gal's blog, Mrs Chua and Neongoby. I hope to record everything in the blog, so that when she is bigger, and she can read back what happened in the past.. I hope after i have 2nd one, i still have time to update it and create a new one for the 2nd one.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Yeah, hopefully my gal can update her own blog when she is in primary and treat as diary..

CL, I'm a kiasu mom ma.. actually i just booked this morning.. because i read this thread, and saw some of us here already booked, so i also better quickly call and book..

When no.1, i started to look for CL when 3-4 mths, all the CL i called oredi fully booked.. so i better book earlier this time round becoz CNY maybe CL not willing to do..

lim baby: that a meaningful blog for your gal! u r hardworking! welcome to Feb mummies too =)

Hi Rachel: welcome here...the mummies here some suggest ginger tea..hope it works for u..

joy: honey suppose to be good but im not sure also if we can take that now...anyone hear of anihing?backache yes! last week mine was aching, longed for a massage but enduree...and i guess its part of the systoms.

Hi Joy07, so far, I don't have backaches. Don't worry about nutrients for bb at this stage - I think I read in babycenter.com that it's alright to eat small portion given our poor appetite, so long as we eat healthily, cos bb is still very small now. From what I've searched on the internet, honey is safe for pregnant women (but not children <1yr old).

Im new as well.

My EDD is on 10th Feb 11.

Gynae : Dr Lawrence Ang

Hosptial : TMC

Child : #1

My next appt is 9 July.

Joy, me been experiencing backaches on and off too. I tot prolly was coz I have to carry my boy. But after lying down for a while, it tends to go away for a while.

And yea, can take honey. Everything in moderation shld be ok ;)

Lim baby, u are really a devoted mum. Ur long term plans are worth following! But hard to start. :p :p Gd job!!

thanks, Amazing miracle..

You all really give me encouragement to continue to update my gal's blog.. Thanks for visiting my gal's blog..Time really flies, no.1 almost 2 yrs old and 2nd one is coming soon.. Need to record down when they start crawling, standing, walking... too many milestones.. If not, easy to forget.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Anyone here is blogger too?

faithnhope, i got very bad stretchmarks on my breasts which never disappear due to the increased in the cup size. Apply stretchmark cream also din't help.

amazing miracle, yes i'm still feeling giddy, nausea and still very fan3 wei4. My worst days really...

Neongoby, when i was breastfeeding, i will pump at 12am and next round at 6am. Will just warm up the milk and feed bb at nite. I never latch on coz i got short nipples and difficult to latch on. If u got confinement lady, you can get her to warm up the milk and feed bb for nite feeds so that you can rest at nite.

Hi Ivy,

Yes, Dr Lee was also my gynae for my first one. Am quite comfortable with him.

What made you select him?

Hi Charmaine - that could be an alternative too, to pump b4 we get some nite sleep.

Irene - we have the same EDD! I think i better don't choose Lawrence Ang then [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Going to see my gynae later, 2nd appt at 8th week, i wonder what will he check?

Hi Neongoby,

Which gynae r u seeing nw? Oh u intend to switch to Dr Ang as well... Anyway EDD is estimated onli so might nt fall on same day dear...

i m seeing Dr HK Ho from Mt A currently, chose him after reading recommendation abt him in this forum. people say his stitching is good n v pro [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

oops, hope pple dont think that i m promoting for him [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hi am new here.

Was v happy in week 5 when my preg test was positive.

After that the TCM doc who helped me said tht my HCG and progesterone was low and started me on herbs and asked her gynecc friend to jab me with HCG and progesterone hormones.

One week later-my hormones HCG rose to 450 from 140 and Progesterone dropped from 30 to 4.No sac visible on 6w 1day.

Now they ask me to stop jabbing and herbs and not giving any further advice.

I'm alone and miserable now.

Another doc said to take gestranol to hold the pregnancy.

I have no clue now whether I am pregnant or not-and dont know what to do.

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Hi Angel Dust

Your situation sounds sad and scary... Have you seek professional advice from a gynae yet? Doesnt sound very safe to heed Chinese medical advice.. Not very sure though..