(2010/12) December 2010 MTB

Michelle, as for stroller, i think it depends on the country you're going. If it's baby friendly then ok. However a bit bulky to carry stroller overseas. If you don't mind carrying a baby in carrier then can consider that instead.

Hi mummies who feed babies dragonfruit to reduce constipation, do you choose the ones with the white flesh inside or the red flesh? Can the black 'seeds' inside be eaten too? Thanks.

Chercat, try to get the red flesh one, cos of higher anti-oxidant. Please note that baby pee maybe slightly pink after taking the red dragon fruits. It is harder to get red one from SIN. The white one can make do.

stefie - saw the pic of your camping adventure, looks sooo cute! will alexis roll out of her mattress? mine rolls all over in her cot and i can literally hear her bump here n there in the middle of the nite... which dragon fruit do u give? the white or red flesh? i rem once i gave my elder the red flesh and she poo-ed blackish poo.. tat got me freaked out totally!

oshgosh - oh dear.. must be very heart breaking to hear her cry.. im vy lousy at such matters too, when chloe had to hav her phlegm sucked out at KKH when she was bout 3mths.. i got HB to do it and i stood at the side tearing as i watched her struggle and cry.. good thing ur girl is better now, tats a really nasty virus to have her vomitting sooo much! u take good care too, jia you!

Eoneon - i normally give chloe 'pao shen' water before her jab, so far so good... can give it a try. just 2 spoonful in her milk the day before will do.

debbie - did u tell ur MIL tats wat the PD said? sometimes they can digest the info better if we used the PD's name.. hee..

Michelle - i wld think the ergo carrier and sarong is more useful than the stroller in most places.. i brot the stroller for my malacca trip but din use it at all... for my HK trip, im also intending to use just the ergo and sarong. safer and also easier.. no need to lug the stroller and squeeze through crowds...

god's child, Ha!! ha!! Alexis enjoyed and I suffered from backache. Yesterday she didn't rolled out liao. I changed her mattress position with mine, so she was "cornered" by my mattress and hubby's wardrobe. I also worry that the shelves may give way (will not lah, just I think too much).

The red one better, it is normal for black poo and pink urine after taking it. I even update Alexis teachers if I fed her, if not the teachers will faint if see pinkish pee or black poos. My dogs pee and poo also reddish after I fed then the red dragon fruits[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I also fed her the white dragonfruits, it also works. I preferred red cos sweeter and more anti-oxidant[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Btw Chercat no need to worry about the seeds. Just like kiwi, it will be poo out. You may see some seeds in baby's poo.

Eoneon, o i see its due to the schedule huh.. hmm.. poor chey..poor u too.

debbie, i see err.. ya maybe like wat other mummies say use PD hahah.. soemtimes will work hee..

oshgosh, O dear.. it must be soo saddening to hear that. poor u.. cannot imagine how horrible u must have felt. glad your gal is better now.

stefie, ahha i still tink u very good la haha... can go so many places with alexis. hehe

Osh,

For the intestinal virus.. Best is probiotics.. Now the new version comes with fiber so it will help in bowels ..

It's tough when kids has intestinal virus..

My boys used to have them but now lessen due to the probiotics.. Especially when we travel we will definitely bring it along..

It tough for the parents when kids fall sick[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] ..

Crystal, we are okay lah. Just hubby siao about travel. He actually think that we are too ambitous to bring Alexis to Osaka in Dec cos Alexis very sticky (He scare liao). I told him off. It is the only bonding time we have with him and hubby will be in exhibition during Alexis Birthday leh. So he better make up to her.[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Alexis deserves more from us, since she very poor thing hubby not in town most of the time.

Chercat, anytime[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Crystal, I am the xing fu one to have such a wonderful baby[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hi mummies, seems like many have constipation issues while mine is having diarrhea! My gal had diarrhea for past 4 days, this morning then I finally brought her to see PD as she is still having loose stools.PD said its probably due to some virus.

Osh_gosh: I can't imagine you having to hear her screams while she gets poked by the nurses, must be very heart-breaking for you.

Stefie, Alexis is so blessed, so young can take so many aeroplane rides. I only got to sit in an airplane at age 19. haha

Neko, poor mind. Is she better liao?

Yes leh, my 1st flight was I was 22 years old[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Anyway air travel was very ex last time. Now more afforable cos of budget airlines and special promotion.

Stefie, she is better, still active, except with the diarrhea.

Btw, can I ask how can we train baby to drink from the straw? I changed her mag mag cup to stage 3 but she does not know how to suck the water...

Neko, she is playing then no worries. She will be fine soon[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Just let her drink more water to cleanse out the virus.

You may want to try this way I used on Alexis. I use the mag mag straw cup, like want to bottle feed Alexis, then she will suck from the straw. Once she does that, I let her sit up and bring the straw to her, then she will automatically knows how to suck from straw liao. Sure success one[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

hws everyone?? can see tat sm bbs r sick...hope they can recover fast

oshgosh & neko: hope both yr little one gt well soon...its always heartpain to see our bb fall sick

stefie

hws is Alexis?? hope both of u r better...btw u mean let bb suck while she is laying dw, once she kw hw to suck den let her sit up izzit??

Re: probiotics

wat izzit actually use for n when shld we use??

PSH, yes leh. It works for Alexis. We need to teach them the technique, once get the hang, Cherlin will know how to drink from straw[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Stefie: ok, will try your technique. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

PSH: yah, hope she gets well soon. Today 4th day liao and 3 times today... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

whisp, stefie, dewdew : thanks for the info, will get dragonfruit for my girl. Currently giving her prune.

Stefie: i gotta get the floor mattress soon. My girl decided to fly from the bed again tis morning .. despite all the barriers ard her [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Neko, you are the most welcome[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

PSH, yes once Cherlin suck the straw can immediately make her sit and drink from the straw. Like that they will know how to do it. Slowly if it does not work well at first.

Sunshine, poor mine. Now babies are fearless, can fall even with barrier. Even on the floor will also kena head. So don't feel bad lah. If it want to happen, it will happen.. Can try to get seahorse folderable mattress, $30+ bah. My mom said, fall more, will grow up easier. Don't feel bad. I kena asked by strangers, Alexis classmate parents about her blue black. Really guilty.

Yvaine, ya totally agree with you, stay together definitely will have tension. I upfront told my hubby actually if we dun stay with his mum, our relationship with her will be even better, can go and visit every week.

EonEon, must really close 2 eyes and ren lor. Anyway have you seen a doc for your throat infection? Must drink more water.

God's child, MIL told her children I am nicer to maid and we like always 'you shou you xiao' but we always talk abt Darius and also the funny things that he do mah so of course laugh together lor. Anyway cannot be too mean to them also as they taking care of our precious! So r u still staying with your MIL? My MIL said that next time when we move out, she want to stay with her daughter. Frankly I am happy if she does , she might be happier there and everyone would be more happy.After all, she is always saying her daughter very filal etc. But my hubby say that she is just saying it cos she was angry, she would still wanna stay with us , haiz...was suggesting to my hubby that he 'll show her more concern when she doesn't stay with us as now though we stay together, I actually dun see him showing concern for her. Guess when you stay together you'll take such things for granted.

OshGosh - poor thing, can understand your pain...hope Leah gets well soon..

stefie

thks...will try again tonite but pblm nw is she dun like to drink water lei...try giving her fruit juices aso dun like...hw to make her drink more water...

hi mummies, can only come in and visit some of u here while at work 'cos my laptop decided to fly off my kitchen top last weekend and is now being diagnosed if reparable. :p haiz... still hv the desktop at home but sian lah, to switch it on. laptop is so much easier.

anyway, PSH, i just let gwen play with the mag mag bottle. after a while, she got the hang of the sucking. she also doesn't water, so after sucking the water out, will let it dribble all over her chin & chest. aiyoooo... the mag mag became a toy to her now. i still feed her apple water and the heinz juice via bottle.

sharon, it's very true that staying together with ILs is hard. and after hearing your stories, i know what kind of MIL you hv. she's like my grandma, always say the other child is better when she's staying with my dad, and telling stories with her own special twists to them. when in actual fact, the other children didn't want to stay with her 'cos she was full of nonsense. just close your eyes and ears to your MIL's talk. she'll learn very soon who's really good to her. then she'll be complaining about the person she's staying with to you!

stefie, sayang sayang alexis. nevermind lah, like u said, children must fall to grow up and learn. no pain no gain, right? the blue black will go away. can try using zambak? i used that when gwen knocked her cheek and got a blue black there also. :p

neko, could erin be sprouting more teeth, thus the loose stools?

have a tough night, bb woke up in the middle of the night crying very badly. no matter how i carry her or sayang her she still struggling and crying till voice hoarse liao. tried applying ru yi oil, and she managed to sleep for an hour or so, before waking up and cried. *sob sob* left the house this morning for work feeling so heavy hearted [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Any mummies try tui na (tcm massage) for baby before, is it any good?

OshGosh,

trying to catch up with the earlier post, my heart goes to you when i read yours. wish both your girl and yourself speedy recovery!

hi whisp, so poor thing, both of u. any idea what's the reason? is she still having constipation? still unwell? too hot? played too hard in the day, so got nightmares?

my gal cries at night when she plays too hard in the day. she'll also cry when it's too hot. last night i switched on the aircon, no peep out of her for the whole night. so much so i crept onto her mattress to check if she's ok. :p she just totally knocked out. think the aircon was really shiok.

but if it's cos she's still unwell, then it'll be a passing thing. gotta get her health back before she goes back to being her cheery self. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] hope she feels better soon!

thanks dewdew.

my gal is currently down with flu and cough + constipation. originally brought her to GP, but after a week still no much better, brought her to PD yesterday. PD commented that the flu medicine prescribed by the GP contains some kind of "stimulant", thus that may explain why bb woke up in the middle of the night for the past wk. but yesterday, we changed to the PD medicine liao, but her crying yesterday was worst of all nights, really no idea what's wrong.

as for the constipation, she cleared her bowel after the PD did the procedure to insert the thingy to help her poopoo. could it still be the constipation causing her discomfort, really clueless. she's sleeping in air-con room all along.

Really praying hard that my gal will be back to her cheery self at the soonest.

Good morning mommies and daddies[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Mommies remember to drink more water and eat more fruits.

Dewdew, thanks for making me feel better and yr kind words [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Hope your laptop can repair. Haiz, I hate desktop too.

I also use Zambak, it helps alot. But I read that it is not advisable to use this balm on baby under 2 years old. But I don't care. I still use, cos this balm is really God sent.

Whisp, has your baby poo? Alexis had that session when she can't poo, very xin ku. Poor mine, tonight will be better. Sayang Sayang. Try to put her on your chest, it will helps to calm her down. I think is the discomfort from her flu, cough and constipation. She will be back to her cherrry self soon. Jia you.[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

thanks stefie!

bb has poo but that is with the insertion of the bullet thingy. think she's still too afraid to exert force, even when farting she will whine a bit. have initially cut down/stop solids for the past couple of days, but PD said no no, must continue feeding solids so that her digestive system can get use to it. crossing fingers & toes that with the continuation of cereal and porridge back to her diet she will be able to poopoo.

regarding the zambak, my mummy also swear by it. she had a very bad knock and cut at the corner of her eye during cny eve, she applied zambak immediately, and next day can still go house visiting, though still a bit of bruise.

all mummies, let's jia you together. jia you! jia you! jia you! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

whisp,

hope ur baby's constipation clears soon.. my also has it quite often cos she hates water.. then when i notice she hasn't poo poo for a few days i will 'help'. I'll wet a cotton pad with cold water then wipe her butt hole a few times.. after a while, i can see her straining, then will help by moving her legs and massaging her tummy. quite gross, but its actually quite shiok to see the poo coming out, and the first one usually v hard, then after that soft..

now my little one is not constipated, still watery stool.. sigh, too hard we worry, too soft also worry, our worries never ending...

she is still not eating her cereal after her bout of illness.. only drinking milk. not sure why, but she seems to have a phobia about opening her mouth.. maybe cos we tried to force-feed her water when she was sick, now when i try to give her water, she will turn away, cry w mouth close and violently push or grab the spoon.

i also super tired from the past few days.. has been a week since no 1 fell sick and passed to no 2... and no 1 has been sleeping badly since she fell sick, not sure why.. she was up fr 4.30 - 7am last nite and i had to accompany her.. she didn't even allow me to go feed meimei when she cried for milk at 6am.. lucky my hub was around, but he has since left, sob...

talking abt laptops, i jus got my macbook air... super like it for its slim and light weight.. heh

zambak,

i also use it.. i think its ok cos it v mild....

rash,

my bb has a rash around her mouth, any idea why?

Re: zambak

I don't dare to use it on Liz. I use Aloe Vera gel for everything, even on bruises and it works.

Re: constipation

I give liz fruits or yogurt everyday, and I can see the difference in her poo-ing habits. She can poo easily now.

OshGosh: Hope Leah is feeling better. Yup, having gone through with Liz when she was done with viral fever, I also noticed that Liz wakes up more often after her illness, wanting to be carried. She's a lot more needy/clingy/moody after her illness, refusing/insisting on certain things (eg. doesn't want solids, water etc, wants to be carried, doesn't want to be alone etc). After a week, she's back to her usual self. Give her some time as it was probably a traumatic experience for her. Continue to give her hugs and kisses.

As for the rash, it may be due to the dryness at the hospital? Put either aloe vera gel or nipple cream.

Osh, did the dr give Leah some probiotics for her stomach. Hope she gets well soon[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Baby's poo are gold to mommies now. Really, even sometimes Alexis poo can be very smelly, I can be super happy when she poo.

Could the rashes around Leah's mouth be milk rash? California Babies Calendula might help. Alexis had very bad rashes around her neck and face, with 2 days it cleared up after using CB Calendula cream.

Wow nice... I love all stuff from Apple[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Leah will get over her phobia soon. I am also having hard time feeding Alexis her medicines now, she will turn her head away when she see syringe and close her mouth tightly. Haiz.....

Maybe try to feed Leah Porridge water, then slowly back to cereal when she gets better.

Zambak is the best for bruises, yeah would continue to use it.

Sharon - i shifted out from my inlaws' when my elder gal was 2.5yo.. then recently engaged their help again when Chloe arrived.. they are taking turns to stay over at my place from mon to fri.. so they alternate themselves btw my place and my BIL's... the tension is better now as compared to last time..my MIL used to stare at my maid n i when we talked n laughed last time, wf her forehead creased.. can tell she's not happy and plainly jealous haha...

Re Zambak

for babies, i also use aloe vera like muddypaws.. its good for insect bites n bruises... for rashes, aloe vera and california bb cream will b ideal..

PSH - chloe also doesnt like water.. but i just feed her every now and then to get her used to it.. i add gripe water to it. my neighbour's kid doesnt drink plain water and she's been adding heinz juice for every water feed...

stefie,

my hub says i'm an apple nut.. cos in my handbag, there is an macbook air, iPad and iPhone..haha.. and at home an iMac.. abit too much apple pdts already..

ok good idea, i shall try give her porridge water, although knowing her she may not want to open mouth after first spoon.. even barley water, she tried and want to vomit..

yes, she is taking the lactol-forte, probiotics for her diarrhea...

Osh, once started on Apple products, you will never stop...The functions, the look are just perfect. Apple is just to clever, exclusive own software, so it will be hard for you to switch. Plus the apps are just very user friendly. Ha!! ha!!! Once used liao difficult to turn back....

Try lah, Leah may likes it?

Her diarrhea will clear up soon lah. Jia you[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Xin ku ni le.

Michelle, you are the most welcome[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Enjoy your holiday hoh[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I can't PM you, could you PM me your email? I think I have the list for my Thailand trip somewhere, I can email you.

Btw, please bring new tin of FM when going to Australia, in your check-in bags. I think there was some restriction at the OZ customs. New totally unopen can.

PSH, yes, she's a "waterbottle", just like mummy. if she sees a bottle of her apple water, she MUST hv it, otherwise will make noise.

Stefie: will do, guess hv to make a trip tis weekend to get the mattress. I oso use zambak for the bruises.

PSH: my girl oso dun like to drink water, but she likes to play wif it. She drinks water from the bath tub, keep sticking her tough out to taste. Like doggie T_T

dewdew: yes, my girl plays wif her mag mag, she licks the outside & bite the sprout then to drink the water. I'm going to try the straw, but I think she'll bite it off then sucking it.

Oshgosh: take good care, hope your girl gets better soon. I give my girl porridge water & she tot something new so accept it readily.

Hi, anyone has any idea how to get rid of nose and throat phlegm for our 9mths? Totally dunno what to do. Seen PD 3 times already. Take medicine but seems like the phlegm just wont go away and my girl has lost weight cos no appetite. Anyone can advise?

oh yes, for mummies who are still losing hair, rbr the shampoo i mentioned before? it's now being sold at basic beauty so can go and buy. it's called Esthaar. get the purple bottle one. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Mommies, for those whose babies now have teeth already, I found a place that sells the First Teeth toothpaste for only S$9.50 a tube (Guardian/Watsons sells it for S$13.90). It's at Chua Lee Cosmetics at People's Park Complex 3rd floor.

Seem like all babies here already start crawling. I just brought my girl for the 9mth development checkup last friday. The nurse found tat my girl has no intention to stand, she will curl her legs up when we hold her to stand, and she still not crawling. But she start to turn around 7 or 8 mths. Quite late, doct suspect maybe she is just slow... but recommend us to bring her to KK for checkup, afraid something wrong with her bones...

haiz..

dewdew ,honestly I hope that she will stay with her daughter in future. Then she'll probably realise her daughter has flaws too, not that her daughter is mean or anything but I am sure her daughter will get impatient with her too.

God's child, think if on alternate days still not so bad. Yup they are jealous and feel left out I guess but anyway after that incident I am a bit mindful how I behave to the maid in front of her, cannot be too friendly and laugh too much lor

Candy, don't think too much first, schedule a check up for her and see what the doc says bah. keep us updated...

Psh- yup, she takes her water wf gripe.. I just add warm water now n then to her magmag so it gets more diluted twds end of the day hee...

dewdew

mine even drink wif bottle aso drink a bit...ask her to drink more she juz suck a bit n split out...aiyo...dun kw hw to make her drink lei

lilsunshine

my ger aso like to play wif her water...mayb yr ger think e water she used to bath is more tasty den e one in e bottle...hehe

god's child

i shld try yr method =)