(2010/11) November 2010 MTB

Ermmm,

Could also be hungry in the middle of the night ? 6mth is also growth spurt period. During growth spurt, baby who usually sleep thru the night would want milk in the middle too.

ermm.. tot bb at this stage is suppose to have less feed but more in quantity? thats why we intro solid to provide them with more energy & nutrients.

Mine takes 4/5 meals a day oni:

7am Milk

10am-cereal + puree

2am Milk

6pm - cereal + puree

9-10pm Milk

try to stretch your feeding to last bb longer if their system can take it.

jewel - How much milk and cereal ur bb is taking now? My bb is taking 160ml of milk and 4 tablespoon of cereal. But she is crying for more after every feed (3 hrly). Am im giving her too little?

5am - milk

8am - milk

11am- milk

1pm - fruit puree

3pm - milk

6pm - cereal + milk

9pm - milk

Nelotte, it's easier n faster to use Gino leh. It won't cut the bowl (problem with sharp object) n I dun need to set aside another chopping board for cutting kid's cooked food.

Nana: Thanks for your encouragments [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]my colleague in non-aircon IFC also sick.. PD says the germs are getting stronger and stronger..

Nightwaking : thanks mummies for your advise. I'm giving her about 150-170ml ebm per milk feed and about 6 tablespoon of cereals. Can't increase any more cos she doesn't want to drink/eat more. If we give her a night feed, she only drinks like 50ml. Tried to give her closer to her bedtime, also can't. Maybe I'll try again to give her additional 80ml just before bed n see how. Btw, I still swaddle her to put her to sleep. After she sleep, then I transfer her to sleeping bag. Is that a problem?

that is sign of teething and my boi is going thru that

Super cranky no appetite drink 80ml sometime When his usual is 200-210ml. Sit also cannot lay down also cannot and must kept changing locating from

Mbr to living room to kitchen to dinning area etc

Jo : baby can't sleep without swaddling leh.. Tried very hard to do without it, but she can't sleep. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Ermm...

Any chance of her feeling hot ? Feel the back of her neck. Swaddle + sleeping bag can be very warm especially the back. Since theyhardly turn.

How about, put her in sleeping bag 1st then swaddle on top of e sleeping bag. When she is sound asleep, remove the swaddle ?

Just went back to my GP cos my sensitive nose acts up.

Reminded by her to take

3 fruit, 1 litre of milk and 1 egg --- every day since I'm still breastfeeding. Look like I no need to think of dieting for the time being.

Ermmm: Oic. Ya, was thinking the same as Jovialz- whether bb is hot. If swaddle is still the sleep cue, then use just swaddle? Hope you will nip the bud soon.

Bluesoda, my gal drinking 210ml now, abt 7 ounce ba.

U try whether ur bb can take more bit by bit n if she does, see ur feeding can stretch to 4-4.5hrs till next feed.

When bb are younger their feeds are more frequent like 2 hrs each feed cos their capacity n Digestive system can only manage so little. Now as they grow older they can contain n take more food n they eventually will take eg. 3 meals like adults when they grow up.

Jovialz: just saw your post about the suggesting bf diet. 1l of milk per day? That's a lot. I assume it's for the calcium right? No short cut?

Hi leelee

I saw your post that your bb has reflux issue.

My son is a reflux child as well. He has outgrown it n I would like to share my experience with you. Hope I can be of some help.

My son is born at full term n I had a smooth pregnancy. The moment I woke up from c section, PD informed me that my boy has reflux n will vomit at every feed. Imagine my stress. I cried so hard during my confinement cos my baby will vomit at almost every feed, cannot sleep well n super cranky. My hubby slept with my baby for 3 months n never had a wink of more than an hour every night. My baby will wake up every hour to cry for milk. After every feed, he will arch backwards n face will be super red due to pain of swallowing. Reflux child suffers during milk feed cos will have heartburn feeling. Thus, my baby is forever crying due to pain.

He is on medication for 6 months. He improved slowly n gained good weight. After 6 months, he stopped all meds n vomitting frequency reduced. I am not sure if it is due to reflux problem, my son don't sleep a lot since birth till now. Max 11 hours. He will wake up at 2 am to play till 5 am without fail for 6 whole months. He was about 16 months then. Teething period was worst. At 3 years old, he is sleeping at 3 am n wake up at 11 am everyday. Tough.

You may wish to try these methods out:

1) feed every hourly so that he will not vomit out his milk. From birth till about 1 year old, I fed my son every hourly about 50 ml initially. It helps him to gain weight. Troublesome I know. But it will pay off.

2) try to alleviate your child's mattress or bed during his sleep. Help to hold his milk down. Better sleep too. My son had his mattress alleviated with lots of blankets underneath

for about 2 years.

3) when carrying baby, try to carry upwards. More comfortable this way. My son dislikes me to carry him flat down.

4) try to burp baby halfway through milk feed. My son needs to be burped in order to finish his 50 ml of milk. He tends to hiccup very frequently. Reflux symptom as well.

My son is also super sensitive to sound too. Again a reflux symptom. He needs a very quiet environment to sleep. A sound from door opening can wake him up. About 1 year ago, I discovered that having a fan oscillating in the bedroom while he sleeps can mask away all unnecessary sound from outside. My son sleeps better! Though still very late. :-( so it is always Aircon n fan while he sleeps. Personally, I think this trick is good for kids who are sensitive to sound.

Sorry for the long post. Only hope that my experience can help you in any way.

Please do not be angry with your baby when they are cranky. Reflux babies suffer from heartburn n they are too young to express their pain except to cry. Hug your baby n tell then that you know their pain. They will definitely overcome the vomitting in no time. My son did it. So will your child!

Leelee,

I re-read one of your posts which you mentioned that you give meds when your baby vomits milk.

But I thought reflux meds are given every 6-8 hourly irregardless of whether vomit or not? PD gave my son, Zantac n motillum. If I can remember correctly, PD ever gave losec which is more ex but not effective for my boy.

My parents n hubby also worried that too much meds will cause harm for a young baby. But really boh bian.

Jia you, k?

Jo / jovailz : oh.. I dun swaddle n use sleeping bag together. I just swaddle to put her to sleep. Once she sleep, then I transfer to sleeping bag without the swaddle. She is not too warm. In fact, I suspect she could be feeling a little cold though. So added a blanket for her over the sleeping bag last night.

ermm > my bb was perspiring last nite n the fan was on speed 2! Ur bb slp in aircon? Wonder if thers any cause of concern if my bb perspire all the time. Shld i brin him to c tcm?

Tks jovialz!

Yest I had a bad long day at work. Worked from 6.30 am to 7.30pm.. due to month end closing and reporting. But when I reached hm, I saw baby Ashlyn smiling at me in her walker at the door. Yest was her first time in the walker and she was so happy. Seeing her happy face made my day..at that moment i forgot all my hard day at work.

Wow jovialz: 1 egg n 1 litre of milk daily? Wow! Thats a lot but i know most of us dun do this. How does this improve our milk? Calcium n protein?

My boy shows interest in brownrice mix simmilac ystd. Prior to this he hates brownrice mix FM(nan or enfalac). Hopefully goin fwd he'll like simillac, then i can stop bf le. Yay!!

Ystd evening, he was given avocado n he finish almost half!! Looks like he likes this kind of greenish greenish taste. After so many food intro, this is the second food he likes apart fr brocolli! Knowing that he like something i'm very happy, like kena 4D like that!! Hubby thinks I am obsess..... Lolz

Chris: have u tried other brand of cereal?

Bluesoda: ashlyn is so sweet! I agree our babies happiness makes our day!

Sometimes i found myself staring at my baby especially when he sleeps. I wish time could frozen the moment n he dun grows up so fast. N i thought he was a just born n tiny n fragile jus as if its ystd. *emo

Chris: dun be despair... its a phase we need to go through... my boi also has been like tat for the last 2 weeks.... and worst thing he is going for his next 6 in 1 jab soon le...wat bb fair are u going?

Whim: i remember someone posted some link in the earlier thread... my neighbour also rented apparently quite good and clean condition... am contemplating a exersaucer..

Bluesoda: me bought the si sen brown rice from NTUC the rabbit brand de... no need to cook de just add milk else hot water and mix and feed can le...i dun mix into porridge but my boi dun realli like... he prefers it with something else like apple , pear puree etc... u might want to introduce another meal of cereal in the morning...

Leelee: i started my boi on the rabbit brand si sen brown rice...no need to cook just add milk or hot water and can feed le. He dun like it on its own... think abit siap siap... he likes it when the lazy mummy mix with gerber banana or squash.. i tried mixing real apple puree which i steam and blend apparently he also dun like... sour i think...

Eermm: try applying some teething gel to see if it helps... i did that for my boi and he is much better... at least he doesnt cry and can sleep... through will wake up lah... i did make some milk for him for him to suckle..

Chris : yes, baby sleeps with me in aircon room. I can't sleep without aircon, so since baby she also sleep in aircon rm. But my baby doesn't perspire a lot though. Usually she will feel sticky sticky but no perspiration.

Hi lynquek,

Really thankful to you for sharing your experiences...Greatly greatly appreciated. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] At least I feel so much better and will try not to think negatively at all times.. I feel you cuz my boy has been taking medication since birth and also vomit at each feed.. Yes, the medication is zantec and motilium (6 hourly).. but sometimes i ddint feed the medication cuz he can finish his milk.. but the next following feed, he cant finish, I will give zantec and motilium again..

Happy to know that ur hubby is helping you a hand.. Becuz sometimes it really make our r/s strain and both of us will be very pek chek and feeling helpless..

Thanks for suggesting different ways to help.. I will try it out [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] U made my day [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Sharon, Oh no need to cook over fire? hmmm, my colleague says need... if no need to cook, great!! heheh.. cuz i'm very lazy..

Seldom hear bb likes those bottled ones (gerber banana or squash), my cousins told me they taste awful.. thats why they always make the real fruits.. Maybe i should try the bottles one day.. NTUC have so many flavours to chose.. BUt i heard the bottle cannot keep.. once open, have to finish within 24 hrs..

U bought the normal si sen fen? or the one with ikan billis or ginseng?

Hi Chris, my bb also perspire alot leh.. Even in the air con room while dreamfeeding her, her back of the head laying against my elbow area always sweat.. Is that a concern?

Hi lynquek,

tks for sharing your experience on your baby's reflux. Reminds me of the initial months when my baby's reflux was bad as well. Her cries were really cries of pain. And she can spit up even after many burps, even after one hour after milk. Now it is slightly better at 6 months and we also learnt to cope with it better. I change diaper before milk feed and not after cos always keep her upright after milk and pat and rub her back lightly.

Update: Baby now is so easily distracted and I think she drinks lesser when latching on. Suckle 2-3 times, then either arch her back to look at things or unlatch and sit up to liek adjust herself then lie back to latch on and then unlatch to sit up. This thing can repeat throughout the entire feed and I resort to waiting till she is very sleepy on her bed, then i pick her up to dreamfeed. So tiring. But she is also growing in other ways..more aware and alert now and cheeky. Last week I wore a mask while feeding her cos I had viral fever. She looked at me, then very quickly ripped the mask off my face that the string broke. Then she looked at me and laugh! Very funny.

We also discovered that she can wave her hands bye bye when we asked her to do it. On Sunday, my CL came to SG and she came to visit my baby. I asked her to try to feed my EBM in bottle to my baby and she very gamely said ok. But as usual, baby chu pattern and refused to drink. Screamed and got angry even though she was angry. Then CL asked...huh? how come so fast become so naughty and fierce?? She must have been very disappointed cos she always tell me she has a way with babies and they surely will drink when she feeds..haha

Jolyn N Chris - My bb oso perspire alot esp back of his head n back,even after bathe. Could be due to the super hot season in SG now. ya,any concern for tat?

Sharon n Lee Lee - i m oso a lazy mummy. i feed him hienz or gerber bottle food during wkend. i mix with ballamy baby rice. Ya the bottle food has to be consume within 48 hrs...

Personally i tried them myself, the squash n banana is nice. The prune and peach taste siap siap. Hienz's range of sweetcorn, mix carrot is nice..

But had read some mummies say carrot cannot eat too much..

hi hpc and Lynquek,

Both of ur bbs also got better after 6 months.. I hope mine will also be.. and yes, even after drinking milk 1 hr liao, will still vomit [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] teacher in IFC say they didnt even touch him and he vomit already.. how long do u keep bb upright?

hahaha...hpc, ur girl is cute and funny.. think she wana make sure its her mummy and not someone else.. Yes, my boy also v distracted at EVERY feed... aiyoooo...really make me big head..

Thanks mummywong10 for your encouragements! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Chloe: ya, i heard cannot eat carrot and payaya straight in a few days, cuz bb skin will turn yellowish/ orangish..

Hai... Mummies... I read all your happy posts and I feel so bad.

Last night halfway thru her porridge, she suddenly went crazy and cry. So ok lor. Stop feeding and I think she's tired so bring her to bed.

Wah lau.

The moment put on bed cry even louder and harder! Went on for 30 mins. NON stop. And then the cot is at the low position, I kept bending over her. And I backache after that.

SO FUMING MAD!

And I gave her 1 tight smack on her thigh and she cried even louder!

ARGH!! Bad night.

hai........

Jolyn, Chris, Chloe - my boy also perspires a lot..but i tot coz he is big size that y..since birth though, when he drink milk his head areas all perspire..like jolyn, i feel my hand elbow 'wet' after feeding him..

so i on aircon and fan for him..but heard from some chinese friends that it is not good for babies..is that true?

Reflux baby: yes,requires a lot of patience. My boy's reflux was EXTREMELY bad.no matter what i tried, it didnt stop.but my PD didnt recommend any medication,coz he is a firm believer of not giving medicines..PD said,just let it be.he will stop at 6months..i even admitted by boy before, thinking my PD is not doing anything..

tried all the methods shared by mummy lynquek too.. slowly i juz lived with it..bring a bagful or clothes n bibs..telling ppl who carry him jokingly,"pls carry at ur own risk! ur clothes dirty i dunno hor" soon the reflux became a common part of our lives. once he was 6months,we started solids..he automatically stopped the relux.so give the child time [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] n like what lynquek said always reassure the child that u understand their troubles n love them. all the best mummy!

Ikan bilis: mummies can i check..When u put ikan bilis in porridge, is it fried first,then grind n put in or how ah?

hey ladies..

just wanna share..

always tot my hair loss is due to pregnancy.. but ytr went for hair scan, i got clogged follicles..tat attributed to the hair loss n improper nutrients to the hair [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Signed 5 sessions scalp treatment.. hope to improve.. even if scalp is fine, only 20% of the hair will regrowth, they suggest to go for hair treatment aft tat...

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

oh dear sheepysheep...

don do tat to the innocent lil one, i cant undstd your frustration, i encountered such b4..else deep in the nite, he woke n cry n nothing pacify him..

i did "beat beat" him but on the buttocks..got diaper is ok.. don beat other pl its hurt!

n it's not their fault or choice they wanna b grouchy, they juz don feel good

for the dinner case, i oso got such encounters.. halfday suddenly cry nonstop n refuse to eat.. v messy.. no choice, leave everytin on the table first, then i quickly carry n warm milk forhim.

he drank abit then able to pacify then burp, then let him slp.

jiayew mummy...

*hugs*

I would believe egg and milk provide the protein and calcium. Baby needs a lot of protien for tissue growth. This help us produce more quality breastmilk. She say if the breastmilk looks thin and transparent, then it contains more foremilk, poorer quality.

Ching

Yes I cooked bb porridge wif pork to make it sweet. Sometimes I add a small slice of pumpkin to enhance the taste. My bb loves it.

My bb also a reflux. Brought her to couple of specialists but non gave me med cos even though she vomit a lot her wt gain still ok therefore doc dun GV med to such young bb.

Doc advise to add friso comfort n enfa ar to bring milk down. It help n dun vomit so much. u may wanna try it too. Also doc recommend reflux bb start cereal earlier to reduce vomitting

My bb cries a lot during confinement mayb due to uncomfortness of reflux. Daddy gotta carry her to sleep every nte. But she will sleep the nte though

Cos my bb hates go drink milk, after all the effort of feeding her she jus vomit everything out, it's really deheartening...

One day ard 5mths plus she suddenly grown out of reflux n

no more vomit. Life was much better since den. However she had nvr drink lots a milk since birth. She is now 7 mths but max only drink abt 120-130ml n muz break into two intervals. So u can imagine how tough it is to handle such tacky bb..

So mommies dun despair n jia you... The hard x will be over soon

Yaya... Like wat dimple says we accepted the reflux condition n got used to it. Jus bring lots of hankies n nappies when got out. For tat reason I seldom bring my bb out for the first six mths

funnily reflux will jus suddenly disappear by itself one fine day... So jus look forward to tat dag to arrive [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I c sm of the bbs here so smart. Cn ^5, wave bye, sit, crawl, hold the bottle by themselves and etc. My bb does none of these, although I hv bn teaching him ^5 since the longest time. :p Bt he is still my little xiaobaobei.

Bbs perspiring alot:

I m also nt sure if it shld raise any concern. Jus heard fr sm old ppl tat if kids perspire alot, it cld mean thy r generally weak?

OrangeBB > No leh, havnt try othr cereals yt. Thinking of trying eye yolk this sun. If he takes it well, I will lik to add it to the cereal.

Sharon > Thks for the encouragement. I will persever. Actually I consider myself vry fortunate alrdy, cos my parents r helping mi to look after bb. And given the situation, outside nanny may hv given up. I m jus so grateful to my parents. Tonite mus remind hubby to b grateful to thm too. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Sheepy > totally understd hw u feel. I m lik tat too. Smtimes I get so frustrated n tired tat I jus wana put him at teh side n ignore him. (although I havn't hit him yt.) Thn I will always rem smthing smone tld mi. Bbs r going thro tough times during their 1st few yrs, cos thy r growing at such fast pace. Physically and mentally thy r being stretch to the maximum to accomodate these growth. n vry often thy r in much discomfort n pain. As parents, we hv to support thm, hlp thm to go thro this difficult phase. It is nt their choice to behave hw thy r behaving. So true n touches my heart. So I always remind myself nt to break dwn, cos bb nd mi.

Jovialz > I hv a similiar exersaucer fr evenflo. Cost mi nearly $300 n it is alrdy a discounted set. My bb loves it.

oh, today jus went to ntuc n saw the rafflety's range of cereal n puree. It comes in a cute pkt, similiar to the ribena pkt, which we cn jus stuck fr it...err, if u guys knw wat I mean. I feel it is really convenient n hygiene. Cos minimal exposure to the environment. N the pkts r so pretty n cute. So tempted to buy one to try. Anyone tried these? BB likes it? Wonder if they sell it in the baby fair.

Sharon > I m going to the fair at expo this thu. Wonder if thers any gd deals.

Chris,

I'd an exersaucer too. Just post it here in case anyone is interested. Mine was the older version ultra 2 in 1. Paid $70 for a 2nd hand from WTS. Intend to sell off later :p More worth it than to rent [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Reflux

My bb too reflux since birth..but she still loves milk alot..her weight ok too..Even till now (but much much lesser), she still puke a little after feeding..I went to see many PD, all PD commented is normal coz her reflux condition was not so severe (just 1 or 2 mouthful after every feeding). Everyday, we got to change many clothings..is very frustrating..

She is very active and move alot..so i tried to control her movement after feeding. And i dun let her lie on the bed after feeding coz she tend to flip...

Chris> dun be dishearten...all babies develop differently...most imptly, he is healthy and bubbly! =)

I rem one mommies mentioned her bb can say "papa" and "mama" at ard 6mths+...mine dunno how to say till now..but i still teach her everyday..she is still my darling..

wow!didnt realise that soo many of us in the same boat w reflux babies..well,let's juz perserve n our little ones will grow out of it =)

Chris..my little precious is a lazy boy..also do nothing..hahhaha..he wants to sit up/stand..but body too heavy..so always on the ground..trying to fly but look like a helpless fish! :p

dimple > Haha...I lik ur description. Reminds mi of my lazy boy too. He will attempt to rch for his toys whn he is on his tummy. Bt w the minimal effort n after jus 1 or 2 tries, he will jus giv a vry loud sigh n flip bk to his lying dwn position. Super lazy bum, although he is nt tat heavy. Jus 7.8kg at 6mths. Bt he has a big head. Haha...a big head lazy bum.