(2010/11) November 2010 MTB

enmummy: Thanks for ur advice [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] I'm going to start solids this week.. so i should start creals for 3 days then i can move on to purees liao right?

Luv to join on yr outings but afraid can't handle bb. 2 june tentative can join. Today lunch at Vivo gg for bb jab. Too bad have to give it a miss. Been letting bb nibble on bread. So far so good. If food dun go in, will come out. Gd old plain gardenia.

Hi Chris, yes i was affected by the thunder and lightning the night before.. Im such a protective mom, i woke up till the rain started and the thunder get lesser before i fall back to sleep just to ensure bb will not get startled [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Re: Cereal

I realise my bb doesnt like watery cereal eg. 2tsp cereal with 30ml milk.. She likes when it's smooth paste-like.. Just give her 4tsp cereal with less than 30ml milk mix into it last night, she finishes whole bowl and then follow up with 5oz of milk [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hi Jovialz .thanks for info. btw,if i make apple puree..how to prevent the apple piece turn to brown color as apple usually very fast to turn brown..is it can put in salt water before we blend it. how long time to steam it?

got gathering.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] cant join again..

3rd June, i'm on leave..coz MIL got medical appt.. anyone meeting up for lunch? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

i gg to blend spinach this weekend, hope babyH like it [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Baby2010> the mummies here advise that u steam the apple before blending will prevent the apple turning brown. From the receipe book by Avent Steamer/blender, think they mention 5mins of steaming, no need to add salt water. Previously when i tried apple puree i didnt steam first, and yes it turns reddish brown. I have not tried second time with steaming yet, so i'm just giving advice base on what the mummies mentioned before.

JO: The usual organiser u referring to Peggun?

Sharon: you organising 1 gathering? 2nd June i can't. Having dinner with customer and my manager.

I'll do another gathering for the week after.

7 - 9th May.

Place and time to be dicussed.

(If working mummies interested then will be after work timing.

Please let me know who will be interested, your preferable date and time..

Hi Jo, thanks for the advise! I'll try grinding the ikan bilis with my usual blender first bah. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Jovialz: ya, i also wana know how long to steam apple and how to prevent apple to turn brown?

shan: spinach? did u buy organic ones? I heard can only blend the leaves and not the stems?

Hm...For apple, I normally steam fir about 5 to 10 mins. Then I put into the cube to freeze the moment it cool down. The apple still turns a bit brown. But the "magical" thing is when I take out from freezer to warm up, it changes back to yellowish colour.

yup leelee i bought organic ones from cold storage n yes only the leaves...

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

monyetnakal: I think weekend would be more of family day with Daddy for mummies who are working. let's see wat the rest suggest.

My girl prefer EBM and dun wan FM. Anyone have this problem? I am thinking of stopping expressing milk since she is gonna be 7 months soon. Started giving her Nan2 and so far, she only drank it for one day, other days she don't want. When I give EBM, she will take...any ideas how to solve this problem?

Hi Mummies..who have using avent via cup to store the puree? bcos the cup is can store abt 220ml puree but the problem is cannot be eat at one time.. we put the pureer into freeze and take it out when we need. if like that is it not very good for the rest of portion bcos i still need to put back to freeze for left over portion..any mummy can share with me if u use the AVENT VIA Cup to store puree for baby?

BAby2010, I use avert cup to store puree. I only store 2 oz fir each food to prevent food wastage bcoz once defrost cannot defreeze again. In addition I bought some baby cubes to store the puree.

Nana: if only store 2 oz is abit wasted hor..bcos cup is big but cannot 2 Oz.. where do u buy the baby cude , how much is it? somebody say they are using ice cude tray...

nana: for shoulder or back ache, I go to chinese doc for acupuncture. U wanna try? I think very effective. I go to one in Bt Batok (near princess elizabeth sch) that central. If you want to msg, I give you the direction.

Porridge: Can I ask mummies feeding porridge, what do you use to make porridge? Brown rice or normal rice? My mum was saying wash the brown rice then drain and sun dry then blend to power. But weekdays i always not ard to sun and keep then weekend always out. Any other method? Those Si sen brown rice and eys brand one is it instant kind or to be cooked kind? I bought a electric pot to cook porridge already, so dont wanna use instant kind. Am already feeding instant brown rice cereal. Please advise mummies.

Sharon: thanks for organizing. Can't do 2 June cos hb not in, will be alone with kids so dinner is impossible cis kids sleep early.

Bam: ya, peg! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] she is the SAHM gathering organizer and you are the FTWM gathering organizer! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

thanks. I can make it on 5-7 June, for dinner.

Jen: if you have slow cooker, no need to blend. Either you buy short grain rice or normal rice. Just use the slow cooker, the texture will turn out just nice- something like the dim sum kind of porridge. You can buy both brown rice and white rice, can always mix.

Cherrios, u can try to mix ur bm into fm. Slowly increase the fm portion as you go. Mayb ur bb doesnt get used to the fm taste.

Hi mummies, I'm at Phillips avent carnival sale. Steamer blender at $176 bundle deal.. I THINK comes with a weaning bowl, 2 containers to store the blended food, 2 weaning spoons and 2 yrs international warranty plus receipe book. Original price: $199.

Jen,

I didn't dry n grind rice into powder for no. 1. I'm using those single portion electric slow cooker OR those magic cooker from Endo. My inner ceramic pot for electric cooker can be used over the stove. So in the morning I just boil the porridge over the stove for about 10mins then I transfer over to the outer pot to let it continue to cook. By lunch time, the porridge is very soft Liao. If want it to be watery, just add more water. Might have to trial and error for the consistency that you want.

Baby2010: once u steam the apple before u blend it the apple wont turn yellow or brown de....

Bam: next week seems alot of mummy cant leh.. let me know if u are planning one? prefer dinner..

any mummies keen to take Nan stage 2 i got a sample to give away let me know...

Baby2010: I use the VIA cups. I put the purees into ice tray then once they are frozen, I just take all out as cubes and put them inside VIA cups hehehehehe. If I need to take, then just take one cube of the frozen puree. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Mummies... Is it ok for baby to drink different brand of fm at different time of e day, ie not mixing them at one single feed.

I m currently feeding baby enfapro @ my mil's place but i hav a sample tin of mamilgold which i thought of using @ home. Will tat b alright?

Re: Friso

For mummies feeding Friso2, there's a promo currently at NTUC. Buy 2 tins, get 1 tin free. Very worth!! This promo is valid until next Wed if I am not wrong..

We just bought 9 tins today... and last week, I just bought 10 packs of huggies at 1 go. Keke.. very well prepared if Spore is going to war anytime.

Hey mummies, survey for ntuc vouchers.. Just to share with u all, interested parties email to person in charge, angeline..

To: ;

Subject: Fw: Proect Kiddy

Date: Fri, 27 May 2011 00:12:17 +0800

For Mother with kid 0 to 3yrs old

or Expecting / mother-to-be age 18 to 40 yrs old

Survey 25 mins - Face to Face survey on Milk powder

Venue : Research office at Beach Rd (Nearest Bugis MRT)

NTUC Voucher $30

Date : 10th to 19th June 2011

Any time between 10am to 9.30pm (last slot 9.30pm)

- Must not have family member or themselves working in the sensitive

industry  i.e. Media Corp, Marketing Research,  Public Relations,

Advertising, promotions, journalism, supermarket, minimart, groceries, Store,

Interested, pls reply me full details by email ASAP

Race :

Name:

NRIC:

Edu level

Age of all Kid/s ?

or months of pregnancy ?

Angeline

nelotte > if put puree in ice tray n transfer to the avent cup only aftr frozen, wil it gt contaminated? Cos my freezer is shared w raw meat n the tray has no cover.

Jo & Jovialz: thanks for the info on porridge.

Nana: im that kind who is very afraid of injection so the first time i went for acuputure I am very scared. But It is like a mosquito bite only cos the needle is very fine but the after effect is damn good, can go on for months without the pain.

chris: I also sharing freezer with raw meat. So I bought small plastic containers w lids from daiso to store bb food in freezer to avoid contamination. One small container I store one serving.

Jen > Containers fr Daiso is it ok to store bb's fd?

I tried cereal w bb today. No luck. he hates it. Refuses to let mi put the spoon in after jus a few tries. Haiz...my baobei doesn't wan milk, doesn't wan cereal. Don't knw wat he wans. Nw he refuses to even suck his milk. He will let mi put the teats in n jus refuse to suck. Jus managed to fd him after 5 hrs or interval w/o milk. Usually I fd him at every 3-4hrs interval. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] Don't knw wat to do.

Chris: my bb also same like urs.. Sometimes can drag 5hrs.. I hope he's teething that's why he got no appetite.. But dun seem like it leh.. I'm like giving myself false hope.. He usually on 150ml.. Then now on 120ml and sometimes 4-5hrs interval.. Sighh.. How old is ur bb? Mine is 6 months this coming 30th..

Chris: Yes, but not all, look for label that says it can be used for freezer and microwave.

My boy recently also rejecting food or reduce intake, my guess is he is teething too cos he always eat cereal halfway then start putting his fingers inside and use his gums to bite. Hope these time is over soon so he can eat more since he lost some weight during his fever period. Let's jiayou.

Jen: I uses Japanese rice for porridge cooking. Fat and round. Takes longer time to cook on the stove. Jus normal wash the rice and cook. I cook a portion for. 2 feeds. Lunch and dinner. My maid will steam and blend blend veg. Eg carrot or potatoes or sweet potatoes and mix in the the porridge when almost about to cook.

She finishes 1 big bowl each time..

leelee> my bb is 6 mths n 2 wks liao. I tot tis the growth spurt mth?! Ya, he also seems lik no appetite. 5 hrs fd is also by dreamfeed, cos he jus refuses to suck. Haiz, i dont knw wat to do. I m exhausted. Ur bb cry for milk or u jus try to fd him/her? Is ur bb takin cereal?

Jen > thks jen. Wil lk for it nex time whn my bb is more ready to tak solid. Nw he doesnt even wan2 tak cereal. Haiz, my bb is so difficult. Oh, whn he drink milk, he wil put in 1 finger into his mouth together w the teat. Thn he jus lightly suck. Lik tat is it possible he is teething too?

Chris: My freezer has different compartment, so I put the ice tray separately from the meat. Anyway, I cover the ice tray with clean plastic or zip lock bag [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

bam: Oh the pearl rice kind. Wanna buy that one but they dont have the 2.5kg pack so I cook with normal rice today and filter it thou it seems fine. For your 1 feed how big is the portion? 5-6 tablespoons?

Chris: yah that's my guess loh..dont know true or not. What brand of cereal are you feeding? I used quite a few brands,healthy times, friso and cerelac but I find healthy times the best especially for beginners cos it is very smooth and fine, so it makes the swallowing much easier. Maybe you wanna try this brand if you are not using.

Saw a BP on the Gino Cutter thought I share here. (it's been quite a long time since I'd last saw a BP selling it)

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/581296/5489395.html?1306675576

I'm using this whenever we are eating out with my no.1. It's very good and very easy to cut meats, vegetable into tiny pieces. So good that I'd bought a spare one but till now (after more than 1 year) still no need to use the spare. Best is it comes with a box, no mess. Do becareful when washing as it's sharp thou it's plastic.