(2010/10) October 2010 MTB

Eh, Ginger is cannot eat too much before or after delivery will cause baby to have jaudice huh?

Jadefeet, pigeon shit erm..........that is very ridiculous lor. Got pple really do that?

Babydes, got recipe for bird shit? omg......

I know got pple drink their own urine for some reason also....hmmmm....erm........yucks....

Xin, can your hb afford to allow you to be SAHM?

For us, my income is higher than my hb, if I dun work, jia lat. House can say bye bye liao....So I hope We can strike Toto...Day Dream.

My Dream is to be a Stay at home HDB Tai Tai. Thats all...BUt very hard la.....

Melissa,

What a cute baby boy!!! Looks so peaceful! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

nycmum, I din attend annenatal lesson too..but is not by choice la.

Anyway ignore wat the doc or nurse say la, they are not you, they dun understand......as long as you find comfortable can liao.

momotan, how come ur friend dad will be infected by bird poo de? Ur friend dad that time rear birds huh?

nycmum, re: antenatal class

I agree antenatal class is good but not a must. if u dun mind me saying, I find ur doc is a bit wierd... why 'scold' u abt antenatal class now?? If it was so impt, why they never tell u when u were in T1 or T2?? Even if u want to take classes now, where got enuff time to finish the class before popping?

I was trying to find this brochure for u but mummy brain, can't find it anywhere. KK (where I'm delivering) has this service where u can ask a nurse to come to ur place 3 times (1.5 hrs each, abt S$150 I think). The nurse is supposed to teach u care of ur wound, baby-feeding etc (things which are covered in the antenatal class). Dun think u have to be a KK patient to ask for this service, but let me go find the brochure. I think this service is for ppl who may not have CL or may want a more 'medically trained' person to teach them, especially for wound cleaning (C-section etc). I dun have a CL and was going to use this service to help me and my own parents cope w/ e new bb (think my parents need a refresher course on how to take care of bb).

Are u in the fb group? PM me ur fb and I'll pass u the info if u're interested.

Melissa, ur prince looks adorable (when asleep). [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Thanks for the short & fast delivery dust! I also hope I can have such a successful delivery.

Melissa, so fast you can discharge fr hospital tomolo...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I think the hospital here hor......Only can discharge earliest 3 days later. I asked liao......So terrible lor. Can dun stay in hospital so long or not.....

Melissa, yes yes yes, I do rem ur history. I am glad that you have been compensated in a way with 3 wonderful darlings whom all love you so much and give you short labours without epidural, au natural.

I hope for the same too. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

And your boy super cute and like has seen the world for a few days liao. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] So pink and healthy [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Melissa, catch your Short and Easy Delivery Dusts. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Vivian, early Happy 4yr old Birthday to your boy. Hope he enjoy himself with all the Ben10 stuff. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Jac, the auntie din saw that u r pregnant ar?..............

Princess Diamond, u so cheeky din tell ur Italian friends before that. But if u tell them before that, they sure dun wan to eat. So do they dare to eat again after that?

Shin, so the fake flipflop, did the news say the nick or the seller can contact or run where or wat? So they got report police huh?

Whim,

Can you also post the KK contact here? I am interested in that too.. I dun have a CL, will be enlisting the help of HB and my mom. But my mom.. sigh.. she still think everything she know.. but I'm sure she is rusty cos we all so old liao. Plus I'm sure there are some advancement or improvements in certain ways of caring for babies so its best to get help from a professional person who is also more current.

Hope someone can answer mine and Suwaiwai qns.

Whim, can fb pm me the contact also just in case? Thank you. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Apple,

sorrie, duno much abt ur BM qns, cnt help.

U so hardworking, reading up on it arh?

I still hvnt do much research loh, my poor baby! Hahahah!!

Bird poo:

it was really an unfortunate incident for my frens' dad.

I'm not sure abt details. She only told me the dad had an open wound on the head.

Then just nice those wild birds we see in the sky happened to poo on the wound.

He got infected & just died like tt.

Melissa,

Handsome boy leh. Hehe.

Re: ebm storage

If I rem correctly, 24hrs for fridge n 3 months for freezer n 6 months for deep freezer. Ebm can be combined right after expressed. Can also combined chilled ebm if within 24 hrs n cannot b consumed in time n need freezing. Thawed ebm can also b combined n warmed up for bb. But once thaw, cannot freeze again. Some bb's fussy n refused chilled pt thawed ebm wor. For me, I will pour e chilled/ thawed ebm into steralised bottled n warm up then feed bb.

Re: pain down there

Duno wat is bub trying to do not. He is trying to barrow his way out n it actully feels painful down there lor. Faint.

momotan, no la, I not hard working, I suddenly thot of it when I check on the pump I was given ma....I dun wan last min hand leg messy (shou mang jiao luan) and I am given birth very soon, like these few days......anytime liao...so must quickly ask.

Ur friend dad really very unlucky and unfortunate. That time also got 1 case, a dad want to eat crab and kill the crab that finger got infection or wat from the crab and because of this died.

Zuen, thanks for your ans. Hope to hear from more mummies.

Glad to know your maid has arrived. Hope she will stay with you for long. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Apple

EBM can be store at freezer up to 6mths however do note that soem nurtrients will be lost during thawing of milk!

Whenever you expressed those milk out just used whatever btls that fits to your pump!Anyway,if you have extra..you will need extra storage that's where your AVent cups or other btls with caps comes in!Doesnt matter what brand,so long the btls or cups comes with a lid and can be secure tightly...

Those that you store in the fridge have to be use within 24hrs...When i used to pump,i have almost 80ml of fore milk and the rest are hindsmilk!

What i did is to take write the date on the Avent cup!When bb thirsty,i feed foremilk...yes,you transfer the milk from cup or storage bag into btl to feed the baby!you pour what ever amount to the btl to prevent wastage![IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

THen comes actual feeding time,can mix the hinds and foremilk together![IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

hehehe..m i confusing you???feel free to ask..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Drinking coconut wont help with Jaundice.

We can't prevent Jaundiced baby,unfortunately [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

It is believe that the liver is not matured or some blood cells are higher![IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Refrain from eating e=ginger during confinement for breastfeed mommies because some beliefs Ginger will aggravate the Jaundice level[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Suwaiwai,

All btls have to eb sterilized b4 you transfer the milk in!

Yes,you may mix the milk into 1 btl!Howver like what i mentioned,i separte the hindsmilk and the foremilk simply because ...sometimes afte bb poo or wee...i fed her a lil foremilk (Which is thinner) and it is served as water!newborn dun need water,fyi.just 10-20ml...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

And when during bb's feeding time,i served her the mixed milk,hinds(maincourse) n foremilk!![IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

then she will feels fuller!

This will not overfed the baby with so much milk.

However,if you think the above methods is troublesome..it is ok to served them milk that you ve already combined![IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Yes,EBM milk stored.....taste different!Apparently,direct from breast is sweeter and those store in the fridge a lil sour...i taste it myself![IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Some mommies might ha different view on the taste but it definitely taste different![IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

suwaiwai,apple

You warm up the milk slightly after you transfer the milk into your feeding btl![IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Ensure your feeding btls are clean and sterilized[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

princessD

I thought when u express, everything goes into the bottle? How u know which is foremilk or hinds or what? Still can separate ah??

Congratulations Melissa, your boi boi look cute!

Will take some time to read through the posts.... was out of the office the entire day for a trade event. Very tiring. Tomorrow is the consumers event.

ZuEn, happy for you and hope she works out well and stay on for the 2 years. At least you can take a rest a little [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

suwaiwai,

Sorry if i left out some points....

The first 15mins when you pump your milk is usually call the foremilk,which is thinner and watery then coems the hindsmilk(thicker and white in color) after that[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I am using dual pump too!

When i pump both breast at the same time..the 15mins of milk are all thin(foremilk) then i stop..i mixed it into 1 btl/storage cup.

Then i continue to pump out those hindsmilk and then mix it into one cup!

This hindsmilk and foremilk will come 1 week later but some may take about 2 weeks>....

some mommmies decided to latch on directly but bb fell asleep after 15mins......

Then bb woke up after another 45mins and asked for milk again!and this continue.......then mommies will assumed bb constantly hungry and mommy does not produce enough milk!

No NO!!

This is because,foremilk does not keep the bb full!And that' is why we are encourage to latch the bb at least for 30mins each side!Just to ensure bb get the Hindsmilk which is their maincourse as well!![IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

So do give a lil patience to our lil one because by latching on for 10mins IS A VERY TIRING WORK WORK THEM..jsut like us running for 1km marathon!If they fall asleep shortly after you latch,wake them up..some are naturally lazy,like mine..i woke her up by stripping her...heee[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

SHin

Initially you won't be able to tell as those are your colostrum but as when you further express your milk in weeks...you 'll be able to differenciate the hinds n foremilk by the color![IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Thinner (foremilk) and thicker (hindsmilk)

This don't come overnite<i also learn from what i ve experienced whe i had JAde!

LC and PD taught e how to...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

hello all

the thread is running so fast today and took me a good 20mins to read thr the 4 pages heehee

went for my gynae check this morning and thank god that my weight gain has slowed down and bb is now 1.98kg!

and she decided to pull a stunt by turning herself UP!! all the while it was head down and of all time ... now she is UP *faintz*

my gynae dun appear worried though cos he said maybe for #1 more concerned but since mine is #3 and usually tummy is looser so the bb still have room to move

seem like he is trained to turn the bb but he said that he wont do it *at least for now* cos there is still a chance that she will turn back up AGAIN! so we see how it goes for my next appt

sugar level is fine and he agreed with my 'self assessment' of skipping the strep B test heehee since I already kanna for previous 2 + my last strep B test was only done last yr ... he oso agree that I stand a v high chance of still having the infection. so he will just issue me with the anti-biotics at my next appt.

seem like now I have to start nagging at her to turn turn turn heehee

princessD

Oh I see.. Very informative and good info!!!! Hehehe I must remember it leh!!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Seabreeze

You must sayang sayang and chit chat and ask her to turn... Hehehe

Anyway have a great long weekend everyone [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I'm gonna try sleeping and hopefully I can have some sleep tonight [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

seabreeze

Fwahh.... Your girl still playing inside !! Lol

Nvr mind, just let her be n let het be the boss la... Hopefully she will turn back before the big day![IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

How far along are you now?

MELISSA, HE IS SUCH AN ADORABLE SWEETIE! =D So happy for you! God has truly blessed you!! Baby has really nice features.

I used to have to tap Kae's cheeks to wake him up to continue feeding. Foremilk gushes out very fast and I remember Kae choking trying to drink it as quickly as my boobs dished them out. Lol.

Shin ...

Yar man ... must tell her to turn lor my gynae say to spank her if she dun turn down hahaha

Princess Dia ...

I should have suspected cos most of the action are 'down there' ... think she doing some tap dancing or what!!

Apple,

I think his name is Dr Kenneth Png, not say super handsome but better than the rest there... i am impressed by his needles poking skills.. really no pain.. even the IV also no pain..

Oh.. one last impt point to add on on EBM...

Do not mix freshly expressed milk to already chilled milk.

During beginning stage, our milk output may not be a lot in one session so sometimes we will store the milk that express in the morning in the fridge, then wait for second express later, then combine both sessions' milk together to make 1 feed.

So after expressing the second time, do not mix the body temperature (freshly pumped) milk to the first session milk which is already cold due to storage in fridge immediately.

This is becoz by mixing different temperature milk will cause bacteria to grow.

What i did is to chill the second session milk first and when both are chilled fully, then you can mix them into 1 bottle.

Oh.. and most imptly, rem, once the EBM is warmed up for baby to drink and if baby din finish all or sip a bit and fall back to sleep, the whole bottle of warmed EBM must throw hor. For me, once over 1 hr, whole bottle got to throw. Dun think abt keeping it warm and feed much later coz bacteria will grow.

Last time, I saw my CL warmed the EBM for my boy and ended up he not hungry.. then she just pop the bottle in a cup of hot water to keep it warm, thinking that she can use it to feed few hours later. Heng I saw and told her cannot do that.

Hope the tips above helps!

Melissa,

sooooooooo cutttteee. Seeing newborns these days make me really excited about meeting mine!

Seabreeze,

I hope your girl turns back to head down! There are babies who turn at the last minute also so anything is possible! Anyway if your gynae will do an inversion to turn her it'll be great. good luck! my silly hubby asked me that won't the baby feel giddy being upside down for weeks or months? lol.

By the way ladies just thought I'd share, C-section in exactly 1 month's time! 10/10!

By the way an alternative to combining EBM from different sessions is to use the Sensible Lines Milk Trays. They freeze EBM is single ounce bars so you can always combine them to warm up when you need. Only downside of course they have to be frozen so it doesn't work for refrigerated milk. Can get them from Mums Fairy & I think some mummies are doing BP for it too.

Have a wonderful long weekend everyone! Don't go squeeze squeeze at the malls ah!

Thanks Princess Diamond and Vivian for answering Our qns, v useful. Glad that Shin ask thé Same ans i wanted to ask.

Seabreeze, your girl naughty but Think she Will be guai guai and turn soon?

Pinky, u must be feeling very excited too.

Shin, i am tired but cant zzzz too.

Apple:

Yes, you can either pour into the Avent bottles from the Medela bottles. Or you can get this adapter thing from Avent to attach to your Avent bottles so that they become standard neck size.

RE: BM Storage

In Singapore, guidelines are

Fresh in room temperature - 4 hours (must be FRESH and not dethawed, etc)

In fridge - 48 hours

In freezer - 3 months

In deep freezer - 6 months

*May be different in other countries due to the ambient temperature, esp for fresh in room temperature.

*Thawed BM cannot be refrozen. So thaw in the fridge and use within 1-2 days.

Milk can be combined into 1 bottle. No worries. In fact, different pumpings (but not that far apart hor) can also be combined but take note

- if 1 is in the fridge already, cool the newer one to a similar temp before combining.

- expiry of that bottle is based on the older milk.

DO NOT mix Forumla milk with BM. You are killing the nutrients in your BM.

Fresh BM is the most nutritious followed by EBM in fridge followed by Frozen EBM followed by FM. So give fresh when you can. Fresh Bm & EBM in fridge CANNOT be stored in glass bottles coz the antibodies will stick to the glass, wasting it. Frozen EBM - antibodies are killed so no difference.

RE: JAUNDICE

Asian babies are prone to jaundice due to our pigmentation colours. No way to prevent. My LC says the Ginger - Jaundice link is a myth.

Hi Melissa, Congratulations!!!! Reading your post makes me happy and excited. Your boy is so calm looking.[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Pelvic Pain: How to handle? I couldn't even lift up my leg to wear my pants. Thats how bad it is.. Walking with a limp too...

Congratulations Melissa!

He is such a cutie pie n u were so cool!

Haha!! Think we r all wondering how our own birth story n little bubs will look like !!

So exciting... Can't wait to see touch n hold little one but at the same time wondering how little one will be making his grand entrance n how to cope [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Ai yo!!

Btw could I trouble the nice mummy who updates the table?

Edd 11oct

age 36

1st child, boy

hospital TMC

doc dr tseng

thanks!!

melissa, your boy is so cute! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

elle, sit down to wear your pants... that's why I'm doing as well. it still hurts but at least minimize the raising of legs.

realise when i don't sleep well, the pelvic pain the next day gets more intense.

Hi Melissa!

Congrats! Your bb boy is so adorable! I am having my second baby, boy as well! I hope he'll stay inside longer coz Daddy will be away next week and I dun wan to go into the delivery ward on my own! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Hi mummies to be,

I am an April 2010 mummy.

I have bought too many Medela Pump & Save milk bags for me myself and will like to let go the extras. They are brand new, in unopened boxes. Selling for $28 each box of 50 bags. I think retail price of it is about $27 for only 25 bags. I have 3 boxes to let go.

Also have a First Years nursing shawl to let go at $18. I believe it is retailing at about $29.90. Used it only 2 times. Condition 9/10.

Pls PM or text me at 93383677 if you are interested.

Enjoy your long weekend!

Fifi, thanks for ur reply. I got another stupid qns. Most of thé bottles are plastic or polyester or dunno wat kid of bottles right. Cos i dunno if My avent bottles are glass one or not but Dun Think so. But then plastic bottle how comme Can stérilise huh?

Elle, i alway sit down to wear My pants like Emmie. Drinking chicken essences helped In pelvics pain?

Apple, diveera,

I hope she stay long, long also. Even my agent also say e same thing. Haha. She spent e whole day doing housework today while we took care of dd ourselves. Yes, my house is tat dirty. Hoho.

nycmum i have just request to add u In fb. M'y initial is VH.

Zuen, Dun Think so much, she Will.

Hi Mommies-to-be

Sorry to interrupt your post.Im a july mummy.

Ive a few items to let go.

1) medela electric pump and extras to let go as ive stoop breastfeeding.condition 8/10.

2)nappy liners(unopened)and cloth nappy(not used before)

3)Chicco baby carrier.Used once.(pink in colour)As baby prefer my sarong sling.Condition 10/10.

4) 1 tin of BN Friso Stage 1

Pls email me at [email protected] if you are interested for price and pics.

Take care mummies and enjoy pregnancy stage..!!!

Good afternoon Ladies and Ian

Hope everyone is having a great time !!!I am expecting few friends over for dinner and i am still out!wahhahahhaa..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Elle,

YOu are not alone!I had that pain since last month!IS getting intense until i couldn't lift up my leg...soemtimes when i am sleeping on one side...and when i tried turn to lie flat!IS IMPOSSIBLE!!i will screamed in pain!I can't do that!I can't move my butt or legs...very painful!!Gotta do it slowly..slow like move abit ..ouch and rest for 5mins then move abit then ouch and then cont till i reach my desire position!!Freaking nightmare to fall asleep at night!

Sit down and wear your pants..thats the only position i think the best to wear anything from bottom!

Sigh..nowadays,i can't be bother to put on anything (bottom) at night!Jsut wear my lingerie...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]LOL

Zuen

Glad that your helper is finally here!yes,that's what we usually hope for when they come!HER TO STAY!!!..good luck and all the best and i wished she will be here as a good helper and stay till contract ends!!

Snoopy,

Are you okay with your next gathering on the 17th?

Lunch?

I always wanted to ask you but forget....

You mentioned your prev pregnancy went for scheduled c sect cos low placenta,this round how?so far what did your gynae said?everything ok?

melissa,

oh ur boy is so cute [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Enjoy ur confinement okie

nycmum,

i have sent request to add u in FB

Hi apple, I was hoping the chicken essence will give me more "qi" to move my body. I took ages to walk 10 steps. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

hi princess_d, thanks a lot for ur post! I got so worried cos I scared this is a sign of labour but I only 35 weeks exact.

Zuen,

My 2nd maid also just came today... my 1st question to my hubby is: how long u think this one will last ? hhahahah...

so far seems ok, very eager to learn n earn $$.. and talkative, warm personality... hopefully my son ok with her... she is my hope to entertain my boy since i cant move much n i cant sit on the floor to play with him...

hope that the 2 maids can get along well... no one will bully another...

women politics.....

Jac,

Do you have any idea if the shop at chinatown which you bought all the diapers from is open tomorrow or sun? I want to go get the organic BB shower gel n shampoo + toothpaste....

BTW, do we need to get disposable liners for those diapers??

I really forget how to use my Bumwear ones.. still virgin from my #1. thought since now got CL + maid then have more hands to do laundry so can take out n try...

jadefeet,

I'm not sure abt their opening hrs on weekends. You can call to check though, 65352005. Those diapers can be used without liners, but I would think using liners is more hygienic since can catch the poo.

For Sale:

1) BNIB Avent NewBorn Starter Kit

Avent: http://www.philips.com.sg/c/avent-baby-gift-set/scd271_00/prd/

Wrapped in box and unopen.

Avent: Retail SGD49.90 , My Price SGD40

2)BNIB High Density Foam Playpen Mattress (Shears)- 28" x 41" x 3" High Density Foam

Wrapped in box and unopen.

Mattress Retail SGD58, My Price SGD25

3) Themed "Its a Boy" Baby Shower Bouquet

Used once.

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/2495852/4477656.jpg]

Retail more than SGD50, My Price: SGD20

4) Unused Baby Handprint Kit - DIY

Tender Prints My Baby's First Impression Keepsake Kit

Condition: Box looks abit old and is green in colour (attached picture is blue), otherwise everything inside are unopened / intact

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/2495852/4477657.jpg]

Retail SGD40, My Price SGD10nett

5) Chicco Go Front Baby Carrier - Brand New

http://www.babycarrier.org.uk/chicco-marsupio-go-baby-carrier/

Condition: Box looks abit old and is black in colour (attached picture is grey/black), otherwise everything inside are brand new / unopened.

Retail SGD79.90, My Price SGD30nett

All Items Cash and Carry

Call 98204176 for immediate transaction

Hi hi, I'm frm may 2010 forum. I have a philip agent electronic sterilizer for sale. Brand new, nv use before. Selling @ $130. Collection at toa payoh.