(2010/10) October 2010 MTB

marissa: i guess its really up to individual.. i forgot who told me so.. but i suppose its likely cos u cant feel much down dere so would u know how much strength to use? or just die die push as hard? and is ur hardest working? =s not too sure.. but we'll all be guided to the same outcome eventually. hee..

shin: yar.. i oso wanna know wats the thigh jab for! i most afraid of injections - any kind of jabs! just now at the clinic, they wanted to do a blood swab. its whereby they put ur finger under this pen-like object and click and draw a tiny bit of blood.. when i saw the nurse preparing it, i oredi went soft. i looked at my hubby in fright and he din make fun of me cos he knows i scared liao. hahaha!

prev for the oscar test, they drew 3 vials of blood and i was also super scared! my hubby took a video of my face.. =_= i looked really scared silly.

Jadefeet: Are u referring to Seng Kee? I love the liver mee sua there too. But ever since got pregnant, I nv go already. Cos my mum says pregnant cannot eat liver.

shin,

you can do that!just msake sure you cap it tight with the btl instead of the teats!usuall all btls comes with

Marrissa,

it depends in individual!usually first time sure long labor tts why many op for epi to relax n eased the pain..however some naturally comes faster than usual n some ppl can tahan pain more!Lets see what your gnae said about your labor durations ..

momotan,

sorry to hear that!arrghhhh..so frustrating!

pearlyn,

nice pics..thanks for sharing![IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

lilac,

that's funny, 'cos my mum told me to eat more liver and lean meat! but of course not to the extent of everyday also eat. later overdose on vitamin A not good for baby. she nv say must avoid 100%

jadefeet,

Yea,that place is always crowded!HB's fav joint!hahaha..his fav comfort food too..liver,kidney meesua!

lilac white..think is seng kee..it opp shell stn n a temple!

Lilac white,

Yes yes!! Can eat liver except during 1st trimester and must be thoroughly cooked..

You can take the pork slice n kidney mah...

I just like the mee sua n soup.. yum yum..

Marissa,

For me i tink the epi helps me more relax hence dilate quite fast..

as for pushing, even though i cant feel a thing, I just visualise I am poo pooing, remember to tuck in your chin into the chest n push downwards...

Jac,

Isit?? I duno leh... i still eat liver.. but my BM very little. duno isit the liver...must ask Princess D...

Confinement beliefs:

my very modern MIL always insist that during confinement, must always sit down when you drink anything. Never never drink straight at the kitchen area after you pour the drink into cup..

And during meals time, if BB cry, never leave the table to attend to BB. If not next time, you can never enjoy your meal in peace, BB will always cry.. Get CL, hub or whoever to attend to BB

Pearlyn- Lol!! Kae was induced last time so I have no clue what the water bag bursting by itself is gonna be like. All I can say is that my induced delivery's contractions were more frequent and more painful than natural delivery. I compared notes with my friend when my brain could still recall the number of contractions I had etc. lol.

Jac- I know eating a lot of ginger can coz baby to be a little jaundiced if u breastfeed. I didn't know about the liver thing. Better safe I guess? Hahahaha about the coconut!!! Lol! I am waiting for when I am at that stage to enjoy coconut juice. Love it too. For now, taking Avodaco juice and peach juice. =D

Shin- Princess D is right. =) If ur bottle wasn't sold with it, check the shops. They do sell these kind of caps with no teats. My friend gave me this whole bag of caps with teat, caps with no teat etc. Lol.

Princess: ya ya opp petrol stn n temple. their pork floss tau hu also yummy!

starry: dunno leh my mum says liver cannot eat when pregnant n during confinement. kidney is ok but i dun like kidney.

Jadefeet: oooh they got pork slice ah? I didnt know. Kidney i dun like :p Hmm but i worry duno they will cook the liver in the same soup base anot? If so then i rather endure n dun eat. anyway max 2 more mths to endure until after confinement. I always order coconut drink with the mee sua.... YUMMY!!!!

huh i still take liver occasionally ne.. cos supposed to "bu" blood or something right? like iron supplement..

but i've oso heard once start bf, liver not good. =s

guess i better stop now?

Cyn, these few days I am quite relax, taking it easy Liao or else I will be very stress and worried. Yar excited and waiting and hoping she will decide to come out on a good timing.

Babydes, thanks in advance for the recipe. For ti Shen, y dun try chicken essences?

yo jadefeet

I m not really a fan of liver anyway,during confinement i only ate stomach and kidney soup and with lots of pepper.wahhhaah...

yes some said must eat more liver for blood![IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

there's some said that not to eat broccoli,ginger,cabbage during breastsfeeding days......i still eat le....

Don't think liver can cause milk supply to drop le..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

jadefeet,

i don't know how true about the liver. only heard of it. does your MIL know the reasons behind these old wives tales?

pearlyn

Yah man!! Scared!!!

But drawing of blood for Oscar test was fine for me [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

PrincessD/Geri

Thanks for the reply.. I better go check my bottles whether it comes with the cap.. I think so ah!!

Jac

My grandma also cook liver soup for me since first tri... Say can "bu xue" leh.. Just that I only drink soup.. Never eat the liver.. And talking abt mee sua, you all remind me abt taipei's ah Zhong mian Xian leh!!!! When I was there.. I ate a bowl everyday!! Shiok [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Melissa, 3rd labour in 2.5hrs that is fast. Ur labour time is count from when to deliver of baby?

I am so happy for you, You are compensated for the bad mcs experience with fast labors without epidural for all three kids. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Yar, so what jab were u given can share? Is to induce the birth or?

pearlyn- instead of taking liver for iron, better to just take the iron supplement? U can also take spinach for more iron! =)

Apple- My mum brought me chicken essence the other day but didn't tell us about it. She just quietly left it on kitchen counter. My dad was wondering who it was for the next day and my little boy was like, "MUST BE FOR ME LAH! MAMA BUY FOR ME TO TAKE FOR EXAM!" Lol. She just told me it is for me so I shall have to go burst his bubble haha.

Lilac,

they cook every order separately so you wont kana kidney if you never order kidney.. they cook like porridge, 1 small pot per order..

My cousin who donated her BM to me the last time whack kidney like mad... she has abundance of supply.. think its my personal milk factory capacity nothing to do with liver hahahhahah

Only heard ginger will cause jaundice... i had ginger as well, boy had mild jaundice but sun tan at home a few days then ok liao..

Ti shen

can try ginseng..jsut put few slice into a hot water btl and drink ..is veyr good!Cordyceps is another herbs that is very Pu but mustn't take too much rite now...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Lilac

Ya man!I HATE Tofu but ah,,their tofu pork floss very nice!heeehheeeee.....go there quite often![IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Pearlyn

Yes,Liver supposed to be bu but i heard last time it is good to take after birth where one lost too much blood lor......i ve nvr heard of can' teat during bf!

The only thing to take note us during the first month where bb still have jaundice,there are ppl believe that some food can caused the jaundice stays etc ginger..other than tat i think is perfectly ok if eat in moderation after that![IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Jade- hehee ya we had to suntan Kae as well. =) He quite enjoyed it. ^.^

Princess: I think ginger is cos it will cause bb to hv jaundice. But if moderate amt is ok. As for cabbage confinement cannot eat cos its considered a cooling vege. After birth, our body is supposedly to be 'han' as in cooling so need to eat stuff that can heat our body like ginger, wine, tonic, etc All these are old wives tale la not sure how accurate. I'll probably just listen to my mum and follow. kekekeke

Re: Liver

Actually liver is good to replenish blood after our menses. Not sure if it helps replenish blood during prengnacy leh.

shin,

i didn't like ah zhong main xian. there's a taste/texture to it which i really don't like.. :p couldn't even finish 1 bowl and gotta share with hubby lor.

Jac,

I forgot abt the standing up n drink one.. But the meals time is to prevent the BB from disturbing meal time...

Anyway, i just follow what she say... since she offer to attend to bb when i am eating.. Take it this way, we shld eat confinement food when they are freshly cooked n hot.. not good to eat cooled food... esp the soup...

Vit A will affect BB during 1st trimester when the vital organs are at forming stage. and it need to be consumed at super high level to cause negative effect...

if we take a few slices once or twice a week its fine.. Don't panic..

In fact in our prenatal supplements, there is Vit A as well...

jadefeet,

i think for don't stand and drink is in case next time intestines turn straight is it? something along the same ridiculous line lah. princess d told me before but i forgot liao..

huh.. Den all along I taking so much liver soup is bad?!?!? Omg!! But every visit to the gynae seems normal leh.. What's the adverse effects of too much vitA??

Jac

I liked it a lot! Haha

Maybe one day must go try the mee sua at xin Wang TW cafe u talking abt.. Hehe

lilac,

that's the usual practice and beliefs la...but suntan the baby is the best solutions for jaundice!hehehe

as for vege.....broccoli is very hi in Iron,but some CL will not cook!I ate it during confinement anyway![IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

During pregnancy we don't need to replenish blood..usually liver be taken after operation and after birth....tat's what i know la..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

JAdefeet

Yea,whats the reasons behind all these myths?}

Jadefeet: OIC! heee then that is ok.

ooh confinement can eat kidney but not liver leh so ur cousin whack kidney ok mah. hehe

Geri: u r welcome. I also jus know the reason! LOL only hear my mum say cannot eat but she oso nv tell me why. i doubt she know also. hahaha

Princess: Hahahaha see next time got chance bump into u there anot!

Eh... broccoli is high in calcium right? Iron meh? =D Maybe both! Hehe.

HUH can lah! I stand and drink water and all that and I am sure I dun have straight intestines coz u know how long ur intestines are or not?! LOL!

geri,

wahahha~!! exactly lor, intestines so long how to turn straight right? hee hee! nonsense lah, all these old wives tales.

Princess: Im not a sun person la.. so hope my baby is ok wont get jaundice... else i hv to join him suntan... i will become roast pig!! haha

OK Going home le!! Happy holidays to all mummies here!!! Tata

Jac - Old wives never study mah hahaha. Then we gong gong listen to them. Adoi.

Lilac- Happy resting!! =D

Princess D,

I seriously duno... dun care also...

hahhahah.. if not too ridiculous then i follow lo.. but if tell me cant bathe for 30 days, i will ask the person to do the same then talk...

Last time, my FIL after listening to some relatives say cannot wash hair for confinement, he "suggested" to me to cut botak !!!

Then another time the aunties from M'sia say if dun follow the rules, kana confinement headache, the only cure is to eat pigeon shit!!!! Out of courtesy i walked away from their discussion.. after that I told my MIL straight in her face, these pple got shit in the brain!!! Pigeon shit is the most virus filled poo in the world!!

Shin

Don't panic....it is ok la...everything in moderation is ok wan!DOn't worry..i ate sashimi and cockles if it makes you feels better!waahhahahhahaa....

Just that some ppl mistook liver as a side iron supplements during pregnancy but usually we eat it after birth....[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]Is ok la...No worries babe[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Starry

PPl said .after birth intestine is STRAIGHT because kana stretched during labor or dunno wat la...!!!how would one know?How can it be?our intestines is so long and our body is short..how can it be staright???to me doesnt make sense at all..that's y some ppl said drink must sit and drink otw everything inside will be flush out!Yea rite!sorry..if i got the info wrong ..but this is wat i was told la!

Jade- HAHAHAHAHA. Ur FIL so funny! Aiya that time my mum forced me to chop off my locks into this horrible super short yucky cut. Hated it.

I recall my friend called his mum, a doc, when I told him abt my confinement period to tell me it's ok. She bathed for all 3 of her sons and was ok. I was like itz not me that needs convincing... itz my mum!

My Dad was kind. He let me shower when Mum wasn't home hehe. Dad has more sense!

Princess- Can eat Sashimi ah?! ONZ LAH! And ya lor I said the same thing about that intestine nonsense. Rubbish leh. Hahaha.

Ok i go meet the hubby le. Lol. He hasn't slept since day before yesterday... imagine that. Work hectic and preparing for an overseas shoot. Poor thing. Cya all around! =D

jadefeet

Wahahahhaahaah that was damn funny!!! The part abt pigeon shit... I'm amazed at what tales they can spin.. Headache eat pigeon shit!!!! Hahaha

Plus ur FIL also funny.. Ask u cut botak! U have cute family members [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

PrincessD

Yah agree!! Think everything moderation is ok [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] lol

Shouldn't scare myself.. Hehee and the intestine thingy is ridiculous... I never hear before leh!!!

Luckily my family and MiL all modern modern... Hope during confinement I won't get funny issues [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

lilac,

yah ..maybe can see me there one day![IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

No need to go under the sun directly,doc will advise jsut near the window good enough liao..but then again it is something doing with the maturity of their liver and the level of bilirubin ..jUSt pray for them to stay in the womb longer....[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Geri,

I learned that broccoli is high in iron,calcium,vit C and may other nutirents from this book SUPER BABY FOOD!

To me,it has so much nutrient,why can't we eat?

Don't we need these nutrients during confinement?LOL[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

SHIN

I DRINK 1 can of ASAHI every night at my 6th months of bfg!!hahhaha....open 1 btl of wine cannot finish[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

SO HB always stock up for me...heheheehe....chilled it in the freezer!!how about that?hahhahahhahhaa.....

Not that i don't care about my bb!IF confinement can take liquer,i think beer is nothing lor!!wahhaa..so bad ah!trained jade form young....next time i got drinkin kaki!!LOL

jadefeet,

I wanna laugh when I read about pigeon shit!!!! Wahahaha! Maybe eat liao will kee siao or better, dead! Then won't feel any headache liao. I'd love to know if anyone really ate pigeon shit to cure headache lor. All the siao char bohs!!

Jadefeet

I cant stop laughing at your post on the pigeon shit.. hahahaha... pls ask them to eat first. I read somewhere that pigeon shit is poisonous.

Liver

When I attended the antenatal class, Mrs Wong said that we should not take too much liver because liver is the organ that absorb all the toxins from the body so it actually contains a lot of toxic. So dont eat too much.

She also said not to take too much dang gui when breast feeding as it will affect the supply. Once a week is ok.

hehe I dont like liver so I am ok not to take that. =P

Shin

When I was in taipei we also go n eat the Ah Zhong mee sua everyday. hehe.. ya but I agree with Jac, got a smelly intestine porky smell. But that dish for me still bearable.

Prefer the oyster mee sua at our shilin stalls.

Shin,

I tell you, my ILs are ok very modern..

Its the relatives...they like to comment this n that....n they r usually very anti BF!!

if my mum still around, she will scold me for taking shower.. she is the old fashion type...

Babydes,

They somemore say must be some special breed of pigeon shit then duno fry with what n what...

really those kampong aunties... dun like to talk to them...

thats y i dun liike visitors during confinement... disturbing.. n somemore my hormones haywire after delivery so lagi no patience for such nonsense ....

Congrats Melissa! Rest well. Wonder who will be next.

My gynae has given instructions to stop medicine once I hit 37 weeks (try to tarhan till then) and let baby come out. Am already 1.5cm dilated so once stop medicine, I hope wont be too long.

RE: Epi

Whether you need or not depends on your pain tolerance & also your condition. For some, if dilation is too slow coz mummy is using all energy to tarhan pain, then epidural will be recommended. If your tolerance is good, you can go without. My aunt went without for 4 kids but sadly, I dun think I can be like her. I took for the first one coz dilation was too slow and long labour.

RE: Liver

I ate liver during BF. No problems for me. Guess its about moderation.

RE: Alcohol during BF

The reason to abstain is coz it puts excessive stress on babies liver. The effects will not be seen now but its a risk for your baby's future life.