(2010/10) October 2010 MTB

Btw, anyone buying the Philips Avent Single Electric breast pump.

I saw in the Taka Baby Fair, and becoz it's so silent, I wanted to buy..

I can't find Ameda there :S.. But just now I saw Jac post about Ameda lactaline $399...

The Medela person demo Medela pump for me.. I found even the Medela FreeStyle also got the noise from the machine..

I'm thinking to buy Philips Avent becoz they have the container to save the breastmilk too. Hehe. I think I heard the container is good.

Apple ...

Yar lor ... I have both their birth cert with me but not my marriage cert ... dunno lar see how ... I was telling my hubby - do you think they will ask us to ROM again?? hahahaha

Seabreeze, in case cannot find la. I think you can request the certified copy from ROM again wor. Not sure if need to pay $$.

Re: Waxing

Basically, if you are seasoned at waxing, then I think its not a big deal. There is nothing wrong with the waxing procedure or the wax. However, if you are not seasoned or the kind that feel waxing is painful (duh), then its better not to do it coz the pain may bring on labour. That's why its advised to go for it only after baby is full maturity so even if you go into labour coz of the waxing, its no risk to the baby.

Groovy:

Container for BM can be bought. No need to choose a pump coz of the container. I dun recommend Single pumps coz you waste time and milk. If you want Avent, then get the Avent Isis - dual pump. Quite ex though. But its one of the good pumps.

Pumps are not all made equal. Some are just pumps. Some have the technology to mimick baby's sucking so will help increase/maintain supply. The suction method is different.

And 2 single pumps does not equal a dual pump also coz of the timing. Whether the 2 sides compress at the same time or not makes a diff also hor.

y'all lucky i got long meeting today never reply more :p

HS,

Ok i don't get much b'cos hubby took on a night shift. at this point of time, better not let him shoot direct else can trigger labour. he say i pregger or not pregger still the same. but i find myself to be more drier now! so i cut down a lot :p

shaving/waxing,

i used to wax at Strip. they used wax that they heat in a pan. but i'm not waxing this time around. i'm shaving. usually after shave, i use Thalasothys (sic) depilatory spray that can be bought from Strip. it's so ex, but very good. after i shave, i used it, the hair growth will be much smoother and slower and no itch. now that i have ran out, i just use the St Luke's prickly heat powder. can prevent itch as well.

seabreeze,

ROM again? hahaha no lah you can request a copy from the ROM website i thin. must pay for cert of extract.

hello

Busy busy today!Hahha...

Coming in for a short while...

SHirlz

What expert??

hhahha..anyway,i dun find the growing part was that bad and no itch like those that shaved lor...

They apparently applied some kind of gel to soothes the area and growing part was ok..no pokie feeling le...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Pearlyn,

My experienced with Strips is ok...

Wax use is hot wax lor..is there any other wax?they strip it off after that and....wohoo.....If you want you can choose the waxing for the "bottom" too!But more tedious and i trusted them as they once did a clean job!fast and almost pain free...

They did asked me to buy the soothing cream for slow growth but i didn't!Why dont you make a call and asked them if they do have other methods of waxing?

Think the wax they use is a lil different adn not those normal wax that salons does!I remember the lady told me somehting about their wax![IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I paid about sgd70+ each sessions!

JUSt received a call

Caller:hello...Ms Axx.....

Me : Yes?

Caller:i underSTLan that Chew dO some Surway before with us in a baby Care!!!

Me : you mean baby fair??

caller: ah..yah yah yah (Happy)

you limember?

Me : oh yes....may i help?

Caller: you see....we giwing you free ELUCATIONER TOK ..

Me : For?

Caller:Ur SURWAY say u got 2 yrs old baby right?

ME : aha..and?

Caller:the ELUCATIONER tok very POWERFUL for you kids...

Me : Kids?no no no..only one!

Caller:yah Kids!!!u no kids?

ME : never mind...and?

caller[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/proud.gif]h this ELUCATINER TOK good for your bb brain..vely good one!

The ah...they UNLERSTAND ENGRISH POPPEHLY HOR ADN CAN TALK ENGRISH POPPEHLY WAN ...bu AH,you must let us conduct the ELUCATIONER tok to you first la...

FREE WAN!!NO CHARGE!VERY POWERFUL WAN!!

Me :are you kidding me?

Caller :no no..i dun bluff you!

Me : after tok from our teacher hor...your child will be intelested in our programmes wan....

but dun wan package oso can...just accept our ELUCATIONER tok and you decide!

NO OBIGRATION Ms.Axx..

Me :eek:h..that's so sweet of you....

Caller :hahha...thank you ah...so you interested?

Me : so..will you be here for the talk?

Caller :yes yes!Im oso the TEACHER!!!!!!!!!

Me [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]shaking head)!!!!what educational talk is that?

caller :IMprove bb brain and stimulate their ENGRISH!!Vely good one..Want to try?

(shouldnt itbe improve bb's english and stimulate their brain?)

Me :that's very kind of you but no thank you!

Caller :Why le?

Me :im about to give birth!!!

Caller :WAH...congrat ah..ok..i dun disturb you ah...sorry ah...you give birth ah..sorry ah..sorry ah...

sorry until he hung up.....

WAHAHHAHHAHAHAHHAHAHHAHAHHAHAHHAHAHAHHAHA

How to send my gal to their school??A twit that can hardly speak properly but want to give speech wor....steady la!!!wahhahaahhaha.....still laughing...

Princess D

WAHHAAHHAHAHAHAHA.... OK sorry for my sudden burst of laughter COS it's DAMN FUNNY!!!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

HOW TO send your kids there????? My goodness!!!!

pearlyn,shin

HB scolded me and said i wasted his time!But i need someone to humour me!!!!!!Buay paiseh!!!ENGRIH SO POWDERFUL dare to offer ELUCATIONER TOK!!!BEST!!!!hahhahaha...

Anyway the thread today is so fast for me to follow [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] My brain a little slow today cos I feel lethargic.. do things also slower. hais...

Re:Toys

Is it necessary to buy toys now? I think they are too young to play right? hehe.. I was only thinking of getting rattles... but totally do without it first... hehe

Lilbluey

Sorry I am a little slow... but the person is totally too much!!! Is he blind? He cannot see that you are pregnant and that using vulgarities at a pregnant lady is totally ungentlemanly!!!

HahahahAha!!!! Princess d..sista..at first I tot u purpurly spell wlongly the engrish le :p u meen itz true e elucator spoke to u like liss?? Hahahahaha ....ooopppppsss...better slap my face for being mean :p

Talking bk ang waxing again..sista u said they apply gel for u..who?? E nurses or e therapist at strip?? E therapist @ strip usually apply 'ice-cream' after e waxing le..

Ladies keen on waxing..shall we do it togetherness??

By e way..do u mommies suffer fr itchy skin nw ah?? My tummy itchy hor n when I scratch, I find dat it kinda leaves some sort of pigmentation le [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Re: Next gathering

Proposed date: 3rd Sept 2010 (Friday)

Time: 7PM

Purpose: to have dinner + ICECREAM!!!

Proposed Venue #1 : Swenson's at ION

(more accessible and centralised for everyone)

Proposed Venue #2 : Ice Edge Cafe at Simon Plaza (Kovan MRT -NEL , Opposite Heartland Mall)

Response so far:

1)Shin

2)Starry

3)PrincessD

4)Seabreeze (will join if she clears the test [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif])

Any other interested parties?

Any other suggestions?

Shall start asking earlier so you mummies can plan for half-day off, take leave, plan your time etc..... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

princess d,

super good leh, that ELUCATIONER and his ENGRISH. wahahaha!! imagine later the poor child speak like him. LOL~!!! sometimes just need this kind of brainless entertainment. got money also cannot buy! priceless!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Shirlz

waxing now? aiyooohh I scared painful leh. haha.. they say pregnant ladies more sensitive so = more painful. You all very brave to go try it.. lol

re: waxing

i going this week and again at week 37. yes, pregnant definitely more sensitive. try to book a therapist that has experience with preggy. however, strip will ask u sign a disclaimer form cos we pregnant. i think don't wait until too thick to wax, will be less pain. once in awhile may itch, but that's about it, must use the strip x-ed cream and the sothys soothing cream. so far so good.

shirlz: ya.. my tummy oso itchy sometimes but i refrain from scratching it.. afraid will leave marks.. think u better dont too! when it itches, i'll just lightly rub the area or put stretch mark cream to ease it..

if we will be gettin stretch marks, does it mean we'll see red lines on tummy now? and these will fade to silver lines... or will we see the stretch marks after birth only?

pearlyn, I just saw red colour vertical lines near the main Nigera or wat line, I still can't rem the term near my tum tum there a few n told Hb why got stretch mark he never tell me. But I am not sure that is stretch mark or not n I heard stretch mark appear before delivery, some during late last tri n hear is heritary.

Cherry

It's just a proposed date cos 27th Aug, Jac and Princess D cannot make it. So if 3rd Sept you cannot make it.. Maybe you suggest a date? I chose friday cos last working day of the week mah [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] It can also be on other weekdays. Then we see if the rest of them can make it not [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Jac

the "ice-cream" is to soothe the area after waxing. Cos after waxing the skin like "raw", a little stinging feeling.. so with the cooling effect, it feels good. Actually it's only the instant where they peel off that is painful.. After that it's ok liao [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

shin,

oic, in this case no worries.. just gals enjoy. I understand the difficulties as a organiser and at the same time trying to accommodate to everybody. hugs, no worries. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Cherry

haha no worries! It's still early anyway... like I said, propose earlier so you all can plan your time and hopefully... more people can make it then! lol.. still got time to discuss [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

shirlz

I'm not so Bo Liao like him lor! Funny fella ...

Isn't that the soothing gel they applied?

Similar ice cream? How come I dunno? Got special izit?

When you wanna do? I thought of going it in another 2-3weeks la..... You wanna do?

Starry

He is so funny ! !! I can't stop laughing!

Shin

Why not somewhere next week or so?

Thanks for organizing ..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

princess d

Next week? Also can [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] cos I'm afraid it's like too soon for you people. Haha.. No worries, we take turns to organize lor.. Share share the load.. Hehe

Ok.. Mummies and daddy..

who's on for next week?!?

Cast your vote now [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Wed (11/8)

Thurs (12/8)

Fri (13/8)

Those who don't wish to have ice cream can also join for dinner.. Those who want ice cream can just pay extra for the ice cream buffet [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

shin,

if u free one of the afternoons next week we can meet up! Just let me know which day. I'm okay after 3.30pm.

Princess d,

any plans next week? Still thinking abt dim sum buffet since few weeks ago le. I really, really want my flowy bun (流沙包)..

shin,

Wednesday and Thursday I can. Friday cannot. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

gathering:

wednesday is good for me!!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

thanks all the mummies for compromising. really appreciated!!!

jac

Dim sum sounds good!!! Hahaha.. But got dim sum after 330pm?? Where is the Liu sa bao place u referring to? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Yo princess d sista.. Yup don mind gg waxing finale b4 we pop [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] any girls wanna go strip togetherness? E ice-cream is to calm e waxed area loh coz raw after e wax rite..so dunno is it e gel u refering to wor..

But seriously ladies who r intending to do ur virgin wax..itz quite a gd experience n pretty addictive loh..coz once e area is clear of forestation..u wouldn't want them bk again [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Dinner outing:

I'm gd with anyday..thanx for organizing again !!

Hi all MTBs,

I have past Motherhood magazine for sale.

For 2004 - March. July, Aug, Sep and Nov issues.

For 2005 to 2009 - whole year issue

Selling at $2.00 each.

Buy one whole year issue at $20.00

Self-collect at Hougang.

Interested, email to [email protected]

shin

Thank you... I'm ok with all days but this time I ll be out with jade n maid! HB won't be around yo bbsit!

But 11th to meet for DIM SUM,, it will be good!!!!!!!!!!!

Hi mummies.. can I check which baby carrier has good reviews? I am talking about those front carrier type... not those in cradle form. I've heard about Baby Bjorn and now X HANAMUGURI CARRIER from Japan. Anyone used it before? Pls advise [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Votes so far

Wed (11/8)

- cherry

- jac

- shin

- shirlz

- PrincessD

Thurs (12/8)

- jac

- shin

- shirlz

- PrincessD

Fri (13/8)

- shin

- shirlz

- PrincessD

hmmm seems like so far Wed is the more popular slot. Keep your votes coming in and I will consolidate [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

PrincessD

so we get to see Jade as well? Cool!!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Dim Sum on 11th sounds good... but if we are having ice-cream dinner on the same day then activities too packed? Lol.. See what Jac has to say since she wants dim sum [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hi shin.. My gf just bought for me e hanamuguri Carrier..still trying to figure out how to use le..but fr wat I c..it don really offer alot of support like waist support n all le coz I c other brands has a waist support belt..but I guess it must hv itz usefulness coz I heard it very popular in japan [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I am game for Tim sum!!! Yum yum...

Irish,

thank u for ur hyperlink, alrdy add as favourites as easy reference . Bb fair: the 3 in a pack toy truck is good in quality!! 85% of Tonka vehicles, maybe u might wanna consider for ur boy??Btw, do join us for lunch nex week!!

Yawnzz.. Gd nitess sweeties!

shirlz

Thanks for sharing! Yah I have same idea as you.. From picture look a bit flimsy like no support.. But duno why it's a rave in japan! Haha.. So I'm trying to research for reviews [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I miss dim sum. Hope to join next time. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

11/8 - Arriving Singapore on this day.

12/8 - Good for lunch

13/8 - Good for Dinner

Grrrr.......gotta get packed......only 1/4 packed only!!! Arrrggghhhhh!!

Addictive waxing

Shirlz, I've also heard from some of my frens that once they tried waxing, they will continue to wax coz it can be addictive.

But what happens if you keep waxing during/after confinement? Am hoping for natural/vaginal birth, which means the docs might have to cut me there (forgot the medical name for it), don't think can wax so near the cut right?

Even if I wax at 37 weeks, say the bb really come out the week of EDD (40 wks), u recover from the wound or confinement is 1 month (which means 44 wks). If I want to go back for a re-wax, the re-wax would be 7 wks (44 wks - 37 wks) from the original 1st waxing session.

Would it be v itchy during that 7 weeks while the hair is growing back coz we may have lochia etc somemore?

Sorry for being so detailed (especially to the guys in the thread), but I just wanted to know.