(2009/05) May 2009 MTBs

tinyM/bean, my bb is on nursing strike during day time ! night time he is ok, drink very fast like so hungry.....but day time, he will fuss alot...cry for milk then wan to sleep...must carry and rock him...let him sleep 5-10mins then he will happy and drink his milk...else he will also cry like very qi cham...then my mil keep coming inside the room to say poor boy poor boy...as if i never let him drink milk like dat...actually this whole week i am on leave to take care of my boy...staying at home is worst then working...i have to lock myself and my boy inside the room to avoid my mil to come in and say all sorts of negative comments...whenver my boy cry, she will bang on the door but i just ignore...only meal times i will come out...

juju, tks. i dont care much of wat she say...already get used to it...i just hope to get back to work next monday...ifc called me and assured that they will take extra precaution when taking care of jaeden...

HAVE 2 TINS OF 900G ENFALAC A + SELLING FOR $35 EACH
AS CHILD IS TAKING SOY MILK NOW. NTUC SELLING $40 PLUS.

COLLECTION AT EUNOS MRT OR RAFFLES PLACE

PLS PM ME IF KEEN.

Audrey... Just now was too shocking, that's why I called you...haha..but I'm glad that your bb has recovered.

To all, my baby admitted into KK hospital same day as Audrey's bb.
Thank god! Now has already recovered.

Just want to share my experience with you all.
My bb was having mouth ulcers, fever and rashes few days ago. After monitoring her for a few days, her feet starts to swell. That's where I'm afraid she is having kawasaki disease. So I brought bb to KK A&E.
When the A&E staff saw my bb, they were shocked. bcoz my bb's rashes, apparently is very serious. err.. bcoz I got asked my friends, they told me rashes are normal. Although I felt horrible with the rashes on my bb's body, especially her face, but i never thought is actually 'serious'. what my worry is her swollen feet.
So I've got my 'express' service. A&E doc see my bb first, and insist that my bb need to be admitted.
I never prepare to be admitted, first-time-mum seems like a bit blur like that.. Never prepare anything for admission. haiz! worse part is, hubby is now in overseas for work.
There are really moments that I feel like breaking down.
Really thanks to my parents-in-law, which giving me all the support and help.
(I actually thought they will blame me for not taking good care of bb)
After the lab test results and the monitoring, finally can exclude my bb from Kawasaki disease. I'm so relief!
after that, my girl also stop having fever and this early morning her rashes subsided. phew!
finally... after 2 days of hospital stay, both of us are home.

joyce, thanks for offering the avent breast shield! do let me know when n where is convenient to get from u?

porky, hope jaeden will b fine @ IFC -- m sure he will hv special attention from the staff after this incident...

sharon, glad to hear that ur bb has recovered! u take care, too.

wah...really like gg to kk is so common nowsadays...

sharon, i also first time mum like u...so blur...my hb more blur. he drove and drop me at the women's tower...then he went to park his car...i have to carry my boy and ask ard where is the A&E...actually this is the first time i went to kk...i was so gan chiong but i find the staff there like not so friendly..never say clearly the way then i have to find the directory and finally get to children's emergency...haiz, aft that i scold my hb for making me carry my boy and walk like no head houseflies in kk...

flommy, ya i understand wat u mean..thats why when i was still on ML, i always bring my boy out...dont wan to stay at home...

i think my jaeden will be very popular at his ifc liao...cos aft the incident, i wrote a very long and serious email to the principe...then the caregiver called me to apologise for not taking good care of jaeden...

jean/sharon/audrey,
glad that your babies are getting well.
We really have to be careful and watch out for our little ones! No matter what happens, we must stay calm and clear mind to know how to react!

Kk a&e,
The driveway for a&e is for ambulance only! However, my hubby did drop us there before, then he went to park his car!

Hui Xin seems to get my diarrhea 2days after I had recovered, lucky not serious, y'day poo soft stool, today poo 3 times.

Sharon, lucky your in laws are with you! Else, may feel worst! I can relate this to 3yrs ago when my boy had fist, that's terrible and I thot I'm going to lost him. Hubby was overseas for work too! Luckily, my dad is still well to treat him. After that, he was admitted.

Sharon, glad to hear that your gal has recovered and is home with you now. Seems like alot of people fell sick these few days. Take care, yah.

sharon, glad to hear bb is well. Wat caused the rash n swollen feet?

these experience reminds me to quickly get an agent n buy insurance for my boy, esp hospitalization n surgery portion.

Audrey, sharon, dun mind sharing how much u speed over this?

I purchased hospitalisation insurance for my boy already. My brother told me most important is hospitalisation so that is the first insurance I purchased from him for my boy. I also purchased life insurance for my boy. Those who haven't buy, must buy quickly, especially for the hospitalisation. Can use CPF for the basic hospitalisation plan. If I remember correctly, I upgraded my boy's hospitalistion plan to don't need to co-share and can go to any hospital including private hospital and need only to pay cash around $200.

<font color="ff0099">hi everyone
Thank u for ur concern.. Baby andrea is ok alrdy

Sharon,
Yah so scary when bb gets admitted. So worrying. Glad ur bb is ok

Muffintop,
KK A&amp;E for children is $80 for consultation alone n we chose B2 ward cos its about 73 a night.B1 is about 231 a night..
They dun provide diapers.. Muz buy frm them n they only have drypers. Maybe B2 no aircon, 6 bedder so no diapers also. Haha. If stay less than 8 hrs den can't use medisave.</font>

Audrey

I had high fever when i came back from Batam. 4days of high fever and when i visit the clinic the doc say he suspect i had H1N1 as well.. He gave me the tamiflu pill which cost $80over. He nv did any test for me jus ask me to take the medication.. but after taking 2days of tamiflu pill i recover.. now as long as high fever for few days doc will say is H1N1...

I'm new here! Just go thru all ur posts.

Care to share which brand fenugreek u guys taking which brands is the cheapest? Is it ture we can take up to 6 cap per day?

How much bm pumping out per time is normal eg. one day I can pump out to 1200ml-1400ml avg is this many or less?

Thkq in advance!

re insurance - yes, very impt to get the hospitalisation plan. if you get the rider, you won't hv any out of packet exp in the event of hospitalisation. worth buying coz premium around $200 annually only.

when bbs fall sick, take note of their basic functions ie, are they drinking, pooing and peeing. some drop in feeding is expected but if they are drinking very little or not at all, there is risk of dehydration. as long as their basic functions are no gd, will need to be admitted.

sharon - must hv bn real terrible experience. do tk care.

juju, i dont mean to get angry with my hb also...but at that moment just wanna vent my anger loh...

joyce, i also saw a few car drop there...so i think is possible to drop there if really emergency...else have to walk so far...

i have bgt H&amp;S insurance for my bb since he is 10weeks...from ntuc income with additional rider...

mummyJan - GNC sells fenugreek. a bottle is around $29. if you are GNC mbr, will be cheaper. yes it's true dat you can take up to 6 capsules a day. but if you hv not taken before, start with 2 first. some pple might hv bad stomach after taking fenugreek.

your ss seems very good to me. actually, there is no ideal amt. as long as you are producing enuff milk to meet your bb's demands, then dat's good. if too much, will hv probs with milk storage etc. juz ask poohwei ;p

hi Joyce,
yup! although I don't really like the idea with living with parents-in-law, but, I can say that, without them, I really can't imagine what's the situation will be.
Parents-in-law never say any blaming words to me, but just ask me to be calm. When I was in the hospital with my girl, they also come and accompany me, even though they are very tired le, but they still accompany me, they worry that I'll feel depress and lonely.

muffintop,
the rash and swollen feet cause by viral infection. rashes is common in children's fever. but the swollen feet is something 'extra', that is why i brought my girl to KK. I think experience mum should know...
but happens that my girl's rashes are really a lot more horrible. so those A&amp;E personnel also very shock... I asked them I thought everybody says that rashes is common, but they told me my girl's rashes is too much. apparently, after observation, my girl's 'swollen feet' is actually rashes... 'too horrible rashes' causes the feet looks like swollen.
Err.. the expenses, to be frank, I also duno. I only worry about my bb, everything I also OK OK. I know medisave cover most of it, plus, the rest will use my company's child benefits to cover. So I no need to pay a cents. When the bill comes, then I update you again.
I've requested for A1 and they don't have bed le, So I chose B1, but only left those with H1N1 children. So I make a big fuss,, then luckily still got one isolation room, i take that one. I almost want to bring my bb to private hospital le... They charge me B1 rate.
Yup.. like what Audrey mentioned, no diapers. All my bb things, i called up my in laws ask them help me bring. luckily i got packed my girls IFC bag, so they just bring the bag for me.

feb mum,
You are right! I only note down my girl's daily milk time, poo how many times etc, but actually there's much more to take note! I did call up a friend, who is still studying paeds specialist, so he highlighted all the things that I need to take note. like the wet diapers' smells, and head to toe things. OMG! I think I'm a careless mum.. I never know that I need to do that much...

Yuki,
kawasaki disease...
U go to this link... http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Kawasaki_disease

feb mum,

Thkq for your info, I'm now taking GNC fenugreek but wish to check any other brands good n cheaper or not?

Now I'm taking extra care cos my #1 time I've exp tat after 3rd mth my supply drop so much till 4th mth, than I started to take fenugreek but is useless cos too late I can't even get more than 10ml per breast then I give up on Bfg, so this x I really want to mantain my supply b4 it drop and also now I'm giving to my #1. But she seem doesn't like or what's the reason that she drink lesses milk (e.g FM she took 200ml aft powder ll reach ard 240ml, but BM she don't even want to finish sometime ard 60ml to 160ml only)

I don't know shld I cont'd to feed her BM or go back to FM? Pls advice any mum?

Thkq so much!

baby may,
yup, i agree. alrdy bot jodie prushield gold (i think) and added cash of $285 annual premium for 100% of any hospitalisation plans.

wanna ask if it's normal for bb to hv discharge, like mucous?
also, jodie jus pooed extra lot today, once was full diaper, 2nd time was almost overflow, both times like mustard. is this normal also?
she's still coughing leh, but no fever.

porky,
can understand. hugz...

Haiz, now my #2 kena cough and blocked nose from the sister. Need to bring both to see pd tomolo again. Gonna burn a big hole in the pocket again.

Hi Mummyjan,
I suppose u r giving ur extra to your #1? Toddlers sometimes do not want to drink BM already. You may want to mix it into their FM? For me, i am quite lucky, my #1 loves my BM, so she is mainly on BM except the feeds in childcare. Btw, your supply is definitely wonderful!! Just nice for 2 kiddos w/o worrying abt oversupply.

Poohwei,

Thks so much for ur reply!

Juz for ur info, I'm so upset last x when I can't feed my #1 for long (only 3-4 mths mixed with FM cos supply not enough daily), I've tried so many methods (fenugreek, fish soup and fish daily, drink milk powder, etc..) NO HELP! can't make it (someone said only baby sucking can bring the milk back but that x my #1 already don't want to feed direct since after 1 mth so tried let her very hungry also don't one, cried even louder, tried when she is not so hungry after sometime her feeding also don't one, then I have no choice to give up totally).

This x #2 I tried so hard to feed direct so that the milk supply will not drop but again she don't like to direct feed even faster than her sister less than a month. I seek for advice the nurse said due to I ve given milk bottle to her so now she don't know how to suck from mother breast. So tis x I really want to try my best to mantain my milk supply for my #2.

After 2 mths I have kept too much in the freeze and need to buy milk bag for storage cost so much extra, so while thinking of how to deal with the over supply, THEN I THINK OF my #2 can take my BM so I started and I now save my $ dont need to buy milk bag for storage. (So stupid rite so late than think of my #2 :p)

Pls advice how to mixed BM with FM for my #1?

Thkq in advance.

sharon,
poor thing.. glad that all over already, must be very worrying for u &amp; ur family. good that u have such supportive in-law to stand by u, and pls dun ever feel guilty bcoz of this, parenthood is a journey of learning, we all have to go thru this.. dun worry, baby will get stronger after this ordeal..
i can fully understand your feeling.. my elder boy was admitted to Mt Alvernia when i was 3 mths pregnant wi my younger boy, and hubby was at oversea for work then... his condition was rather serious then coz PD din even let me to go home to pack for hospital admission stuff and asked me to go straight to hospital to admit my boy, he was quite breathless then as he was asthmatic.. i was so worried but i need to be strong for my boy, hubby not around so i need to stay calm and handle the situation well... i couldnt sleep/ rest at all during the 2 days hospital stay, i even slept on his hospital cot to be by his side, to make sure he still breathe well.. nothing in the world beat his calm and steady breathing then..

re hospital:
just to share my experience, my elder boy was admitted to Mt Alvernia 3 times because of his asthma and bronchitis.. we had very good experience there, we love our PD Dr Terence Tan and the nurses there, they are very helpful and caring.. and yes agree wi the rest, insurance is VERY impt, esp those that can fully cover hospitalisation. we got ours from Great Eastern plus the rider for my younger when he was 3 days old..

mummyjan,
my elder boy (22 mths old) also drinks my EBM. but im not as lucky as poohwei, he dun seems to enjoy my EBM, haa.. so i mix 50% of his milk feed wi FM and he has been drinking well.. give it a try

Hi Mummyjan,
Like what dodo has suggested, you can first prepare the FM, heat up a small quantity of EBM. For first attempt, you may start with 10% ebm mixed with the pre-prepared FM, then slowly increase until u think that that is the optimum composition.

How old is ur #1? Most of our #1 here are born in 2007.

As to milkbags, many of the mummies here are using Playtex liners now cos its the cheapest!! $13+ for 140 pieces only. But no ziplock function. You need to use ikea clips or garden wires to seal it when u freeze the milk.

Thkq dodo for ur adv.

do u mean u mixed the FM 50% as usual than pour in the 50% of BM?

Or u mean use BM 50% as water 50% of water to mixed in the 50% of FM?

Pls adv.

Thkq.

Hi Poohwei,

Thkq so much for ur info and advice.

My #1 is Jan 2008 baby girl n #2 is May 2009 also baby girl.

where do u all buy ur playtex liners and wat is garden wires?

sorry to ask? so suan goo rite? :p

Thkq.

sharon, when i bring my bb to KK...i pack everything that is needed cos i worry that he might need to be admitted due to dehydration...but luckily we can bring him home...

hoops, i also wanna ask abt circumcision...hope experience mummies here can advise...at 6 weeks when i bring him for development asses...pd say his penis will tilt to one side when erected...but wont affect his fertility in the future...but if can circumcise will be better...

Hi Mummyjan,
We normally buy from sprees. Prettycloud is one of the organisers. Some of the mummies got it from me previously cos my friend over-ordered for me.

If i can get sufficient orders, maybe we can order another round. Need to order 30 boxes to maximise shipping.

Garden wires are basically those wires that are used to tie a bunch of wires together? Or those that are used to secure the goodie bags?

You can msn me at [email protected] to chat further.

Hi poohwei,

ok thkq for the reply now I guess I know the garden wires is those that we buy new electrical stuff the one the bundle the wire in order one rite? But where to buy that? I think I just need one box pls contact me once u all are ordering or do u hv extra box now?

Thkq.

porky, hope jaeden will be well taken care of @ IFC. U putting him there 2molo?

re: medical insurance
bought for my bb immediately after she was born -- upon advises from friends....

re: washable breastpad
mummies using washable breastpads -- how do u secure the pad? disposable type comes with adhesive tape...

adv, yes tmr i will bring him to ifc then i go work...cannot dont work for so many days...paperwprk all piling up liao...but i still worry cos jaeden not fully recover...his skin at his buttoks there still red red...everytime change diaper he will scream then must carry him for a while...i hope ifc caregivers knw how to handle him properly...

Hope all is well.

Thank God Baby Andrea is ok now and Porky, hope your boy will recover soon as well.

I understand that some mummies here are giving your #1 (toddlers) breastmilk as well. Wondering if their stool is watery after drinking it. My boy started drinking my BM a while ago. It was quite alright when I mixed chilled BM and FM together. However, since he started on frozen BM, he has been having stool like what we get when we have diarrhea, very very watery...and he farts so much, even when he poos in the toilet. Not much of solid in his stool but more of explosive gas... Is this normal? Please advise.

Morning all...

How long can we keep an opened can of formula? I wanted to let the boys try it just in case I ran out of milk...the instructions stated once opened, consumed within 4 weeks.

I'm still on TBM for my 2 boys- pumping twice every night and also when I'm at work...must admit it's tiring and I'm beginning to feel weak. I'm now lighter than my pre-pregnancy...many have been asking me to give up breastfeeding but maybe I'm too stubborn, I still refused to give up.

Gd morning all,

hi hoops
Once opened best consumed within a mth, but over a bit is still ok cos not expiry n the milk powder must not be harden.

Btw, how many kids u ve?

Pls dont give up on bfg, hang-on! I'm also bfg 2 kids now, I can unstd also all bfg mummies out there it is not a easy task! I even face sore nipper all the x even till next pumping x so whenever I'm carring my #1, she touches my nipper I ll feel very painful. Without say it is a very tring job! But for our beloved kids all these r worth it!

Jia yu!

yah..my first and last pregnancy..hee..
Thank God for my parents- they're helping me alot with night feeds and taking care of them during the daytime.

Hi MummyJan
Dun worry abt soft stools. My #1 is also having watery stools at times depending on the amt of solids that she takes.

For my #1, her 1.8kg of Gain IQ can now last her for 2+ months. Cos she is older, i dun care...hehehe..will let her finish this tin then open the 900g tin.

Hi adv-sports
There is no way to secure washable breastpads. You just wear it!!

Re: PD visit
My gal is currently 5.5kg @ 11 weeks old. Put on abt 900g over 1 month. Sob sob, got to give her medicine for her blocked nose n cough. But she seemed to like them..No struggle! But still so heartache to see her cough.