(2008/06) June 2008

Hey Leng Leng,

Just pop by and saw yr nick. Congrats to u !!

Wow, not easy for u to manage 2 kids, with yr job and also yr sprees. Now #3 coming. Really pei fu you...

Take good care of yrself !! Closing factory after this ?? hehe

Leng Leng, welcome.

Linda, you are sure funny, got M clothes only after preggie, heehee. Mine will not be sold off, but will pass around my cousins and their friends. As most of my close friends are still single, I can't pass to them. Ox does not eat goat lar (they only chew grass, haha) but if both our temper combine, it may be worst nightmare, and normally I will be the one who gives way coz I soft heart.

fei fei, do your gynae prescribe medic for vomiting? Mine did, even though I told him only naseous nothing comes out yet. He quickly gave me some. My first time he didn't and I didn't know there are such medics, made me suffered so much (I vomitted almost everyday during first preg).

Veinz,
my gynae also gave me some meds for nausea - Avomine - what did u get? It works but makes me very sleepy, and I try not to take unless the nausea very bad.

hi girls, how do u all decide what zodiac animal to plan for your children? I never plan.

Ellysia, High 5 man, same same. My mum is alright, she feels that my vomitting and lost of appetite is OK and normal to feel like that. Hahaha, I can't say the same for my MIL, now everyday start to ring my hubby to ask this & that ....

Crystal, I think my mil more kan cheong about the 'little mousy' than me, coz she keep asking me to drink the chicken essence she bought. Arghhhh .... no appetite how to eat & drink ?? Just had McDonalds Chicken Nuggets yesterday, at least I can managed to finish 5 pcs, not bad liao.

Congrats Leng Leng !!! Welcome Welcome.

Hi Leng Leng, welcome! this is ur 3rd one? wow! then u are the most experience here!

Kylene, I just go by which zodiac animal i like.. heehee... I am goat and my hubby is rabbit, so i go for those gentle zodiac animal and also my age at that time. Oh.. my mum says it's good to have 3 pple in the family having the same zodiac animal.

babycupid, my fren is with the same gynae as me and she did blood test before the nt test.. that's why i so puzzled.

Linda, ok.. will try ur method next time! hopefully bb will do a little wave to me then!

COngrats Leng Leng!!

luz,
i did not vomit so far.. *cross fingers* but only feel nausea.. hopefully wont go any further than tat.. kekeke..

mei,
icic.. mayb u wan to check wif ur gynae on ur nex visit lor..

hi girls,

i shld be 5 weeks pregnant now but my first visit to the gynae last week says that the baby is smaller then 5 weeks worth of pregnancy. i was pretty sure of the date of my first day of period last month, so i dunnoe which area went wrong in calculation.

til now, ive no experience of morning sickness or spotting. ive postpone my visit to see the gynae 7 days after my 1st visit to 10 days instead. hopefully, i can see more progress in the baby's growth as i only managed to see the water sac from my first visit.

my doctor, Dr Mary Yang from gleneagles used a tube looking scan inserted into my womb. Is that the v-scan u are all talking abt?

is the v-scan more harmful to the baby then the tummy scan???

she just jabs n moves it around my womb to look for the sac. will it affect the baby? i heard we cannot even ve sex during the 1st trimester. this scan thingy that moves one big round in my womb will hurt the baby??

any one here with gd doctors to recommend from gleneagles? coz im an insurance agent and i frequent there to visit my clients or do claims for them. so i know some docs there but so far i know nothing much abt names of gynaes. still wondering if i shld try another gynae to choose one that i can relate best with.

my expected due date shld be 30 jun 2008. one year exactly after my wedding date!!

congrats tinyfeet!
hmm.. 5 wks the sac is small.. do u koe the size of the sac? mine is 0.9cm during my 5wks.. i supposed tat is the v scan.. the v scan wont harm the bb.. so dun worry.. you shld be able to see the growth in your nex visit.

hi all mummies/ mummies-to-be..
jux tested positive last week.. had not visit the gynae yet.. went to check online.. my due date should be 28/06/2008
seems dat this thread is going fast.. can i join in the fun? this is my 2nd pregnancy.. my elder gal is 15mth alr..
i have been feeling breathless after meals.. jux to check any mummies have the same experience? so afraid of high blood as i am more on the heavy side:p

hi leng leng..
remember me? i joined ur spree b4

Hi Tinyfeet,

I'm 5 weeks along too!

How big is your BB when you went to Gynae? Mine was 0.6cm when I went early this week. Is that the normal size? Gynae did not say anything about normal or not. So it din even occur to me to ask!

So far, no morning sickness for me too. You are really lucky but not so for me.. I've been having spotting. =( Which is almost 2 weeks!! I'm getting nervous but the mommies here and Gynae said I don't have to be overly alarmed. Just continue to monitor and see how. Given jab and on medication still. Next appt with Gynae is this coming Wed.

I'm just praying and hoping that everything is normal and will proceed well as I move along into my pregnancy.

My EDD is 30 June 08 too!

hi babycupid n sheepysheeps.

i din realy remember the size of my sac.. she humble...something but my mind was flooded with many other questions to ask coz she mentioned that the babay shld be smaller than 5 weeks. so maybe i ovulated later or something.

i din expect to be overloaded with infomation on my first visit so i was taken a back a bit. now after reading so much on thread n online baby sites, i know what are info i shld ask.

she din offer to let me have copy of the scan. is it right to ask one from them?

Veniz,
Din take any med frm gyane for nausea leh...hmm...so far, i only vomitted twice lor...This is my 10th wk liao, 2 more weeks to go, hope everything will be fine...But I experience crampy feeling yest at my lower tummy again, duno is it bb start to grow bigger lor..Been coughing and flu these few days, took med but still not yet recovered =(..

Leng Leng,
Tks for ur advises....Really not easy to cope with 2 kids hor...me too peifu you =)..

tingfeet,
Congrats and welcome here =D...My 1st appt was during my 5th wk too...Did a V-scan and e sac was 0.8cm only...guess at 5th week, its still bery small...No spotting is good news ger...I also dun hv any spotting..

rachel,
Congrats to you too!

I also felt abit of breathless after my meals or climbing upstairs so must really eat slowly...

WHich gynae will u be seeing?

sheepysheeps,
Congrats! Dun worry, everything will be fine ya...1st trim is more xinku...

I did a scan just under 5 weeks. The sac was really small.... smaller than the 0.9cm or 0.6cm you ladies are talking about.. it was more like 0.5cm. I'm going for my next scan on Tuesday. Hopefully things are ok. The only consolation I have is the pregnancy symptoms that I experience have not gone away yet.

Hey tinyfeet, I just requested a copy of the scan from my doctor. I'm sure it's okay to request. You may need to pay an admin or printing charge though.

Thanks feifei. I'm just going to hang in there and not worry too much. 1 week will pass by very soon.

Good luck for your oscar test!

hi gers, good morning! Am back...wow..so much posts to catch up on...hmmm...will take some time definitely...fyi - nope didnt win anything at my D&D...

Hi Kylene, the medic my doc gave is call Primperan Tab 21. As I am only feeling nausea only and not yet vomiting, I haven't taken yet. I am waiting for the worst (touchwood) then I will take.

Mei, at least you can try for a rabbit. I am going to stop at this baby, so will not have chance, unless god feels I ought to have a rabbit baby. At least you and your hubby are of good zodiac compatible signs, I am goat also, but my hubby dragon, and I always got bullied by him.

Feifei, if you are really feeling very bad ms, do get your doc to prescribe the pills for nausea ok? At least have some standby. I think your flu and cough, dun kancheong, take it easy. You will sure get well soon. My sorethroat and flu also cleared after two weeks, seems like because we are pregnant, the medics we get will be of lower doses thus will delay recovery. Hope you get well soon.

Gals, last two days I have some brownish blood discharge and I am monitoring now. Also felt more cramps at tummy yesterday, not to mention whole day headache. Now feel like staying at home and sleep throughout the day....

wat a lazy morning.. the weather is so good to sleep at home.. aiyo.. now office so cold..

tinyfeet,
you can ask the print from them.. i dun tink they will ask u to pay..

sheepysheeps,
0.6cm i tink shld be ok.. like mine is 0.9cm, and feifei's is 0.8cm.. so is abt that range.. so dun worry ok..

feifei,
me too.. experience slight cramping on sat afternoon.. i tink is normal.. as long as no spotting..

veinz,
u take care and rest well.. better see ur gynae if you still spot and cramp.. to play safe..

morning ladies,

quite a no of new mummies =) <font color="aa00aa">WELCOME WELCOME</font>

Have decided to see Dr Adrian this Fri. First visit, so pretty exciting!!!

Can check with you ladies 7-8 weeks need to go with full bladder?
Remembered in early weeks, my previous gynae always request to have full bladder if not scan won't show. But the nurse didn't mention when I make appt.

read that some of you shopping for maternity wear. Can share some discount cards =)

I've got SPRING MATERNITY (10% off), and Belly Basics (10% off)... this belly basics is at China Town market #03, near Ocean toiletries.... like their design a lot, cos not very auntie.

Anyone keen can pm me. Just need to tell you member no, then can get discount liao... HAPPY SHOPPING

PERFECT MUM quite nice too. I've got the discount card, but can't share this one, cos must sign =(

Must confess for my #1, I spend quite a bit on maternity wear... hee heee.... me vain pot, must be pretty pretty mummy.

tiny feet,
my previous gynae charges $8 for a print of the scan. So maybe you can ask first. Or can wait for a nicer pic, then ask them to print for you.

veinz,
must rest rest and more rest!!!

piyoz,
not sure whether need to go with full bladder.. i did not for both of my scans.. both are needed to be done thru V scan..

piyoz,
hur.. u mean mus pay for the print? oh my god.. i din koe tat.. my gynae giving me a few for every visit..

Hi piyoz,

Full bladder is necessary if it is a scan through tummy. If it is a vaginal scan, you need to empty your bladder totally. If you are unsure, you can call the nurse to check? if not, maybe you just go with full bladder. If not tummy scan, then just empty.

Hi, piyoz

Do you still remember how much to spend in order to get a discount card fm perfect mum? went during e wkends to buy & spend $209 there but no discount card so I assume it's more??

cactus,
how den consider full bladder? mus have the pee feeling? kekeke.. wait cannot hold burst.. hahaha..

Hi BabyCupid,

I don't think we need to pay for the print when we visit. But if we request for copies subsequently, after the visit, we may need to pay for the print cos there will be admin fee incurred to call up our files and make copies. But of course, doctors' practises vary. I'm sure it is regulated if you visit govt specialist. but private specialist who run their own clinics want to make $ mah.. so may charge.

Just want to point out, it is common for clinics/even govt hospitals to charge a fee if you request for prints/reports on a day other than the day of your scan.. cos there is admin fee incurred in recalling your file.. as opposed to just giving you an extra print out there and then.

talking abt scanning, if it's full bladder, it's easier to scan. if not, they just have to press harder on your tummy to scan. thats all...... that's what the nurse told me.

Ya, my gynae also tells me the same. In order to get a full scan, u can help by not having full bladder... then during scanning, then i understand wat he meant

Hmm.. let me try clarify the scan and bladder issue -

if scan is through tummy, a gel will be applied cos hard to scan through air. Will be blur. That's also why if tummy scan, will need to have full bladder.. cos bladder is water and not just air.

If scan is through vagina, need to empty bladder to make it clearer.

So whether or not need to have full bladder, depends on what type of scan.

Hi Babycupid and piyoz, thanks for your concerns. I am actually working today, with major headache now. Maybe due to last night taking care of my son who complaint about the thunders and painful private part, I didn't sleep well.

Fudgy, they mentioned at least must purchase $300.00 then can get the card lor.

cactus,
Jiayou..

veniz,
Tks ger...my next visit to my gyane will be on 20th lor, 2wks more to go..haiz...

I also felt cramps at my lower tummy yest evening, almsot freaked out cos duno wat happen..Then quickly massage that area, lucky it goes off after awhile...

babycupid,
Take care also hor, maybe e womb is stretching, thats y lor..

Piyoz,
Tks for sharing on e discount cards =)...Tink me need to go get a new top or dress for a wedding dinner next mth liao...
I also din pay to get e printout wor...hmm...

All,
That day i was askign my gynae whether need to fast on e day for e oscar test cos need to draw blood, she says no need lor...hmm...Guess I need to be drawn alot of blood in wks time for oscar and thalessimia...

cactus,
icic.. u are referring to the request of printouts after the visit.. this one i can understand.. tot u said during the visit mus pay for the prints.. kekeke..

the blood test bery fast and painless.. so dun worry.. if you r scare jus look away.. or chat wif the nurse.. hahahaa..

catus,
ohh, didn't know got 2 diff scans avail. I always did the tummy scan last time. hmm, better call the nurse to check.

fudgy,
Sorry but I don't remember how much I spend to get the card. maybe can call and ask? think should be around 200-300, should not be more than 300. my hb will kill me if I spend so much in one day.

Re: PAYING FOR PRINT
Actually my gynae didn't tell me outright each scan cost $8. Each visit the nurse only tell me the total amount to pay. But I kaypo ask the recep when making payment. So she told me breakdown of the cost.
Sometimes, I want print, but baby not cooperating, hiding face, the ultrasonagrapher will also mention maybe next time then print la, can save $8.

BTW, Do scan your ultrasound prints into the computer, cos my gynae mentioned they do fade off after few years.

He allowed me to video down ultrascans on my handphone =) Did it once, quite nice.

babycupid,
ya, full bladder must hold till want to pee kind. Last time I go with full bladder, end up still must wait around 1 hour!!!! Really feel like bursting with pee. Ops, so disgusting.

feifei,
no problem. Suntec many maternity wear shops, can go see. Find PERFECT MUM salesgirl bit pushy, beware ... but their clothes are nice.

Hi piyoz,

usually the transvaginal scan is done during very early stages of pregnancy cos tummy scan tends to be less clear.

Which doctor are you seeing now?

I plan to laminate the prints eventually.
Going to do a collection of them... paste onto acid free paper.. then laminate. Should be cheaper than laminating them one by one.
Neater also.

cactus,

is the v scan painful? Can hb be in during scan?

I plan to see Dr Adrian this time round. First visit this fri. Nearer to my home, more convenient.

Laminating the prints is a good idea!!!! What is acid free paper? Is it better for the prints?

piyoz,
wah.. tats bad.. kekeke.. full bladder and waited for 1hr..
v scan is not painful.. jus feeling abit uncomfy.. for my case.. hubby is asked to excuse when gynae inserting the scope in.. after tat hubby will asked to come in to see the ultrasound..

piyoz, yam the Suntec Perfect Mum salesgirls quite pushy, I only thinking of getting two pants, and they pushed me to get 3 as 3rd one is on 50%. So I think ok lar, just this time, as I have yet to collect to pass around clothes from my cousin.

So far I have kept my son's ultrascan photos, they still look fine after these 3yrs. Maybe I should go laminate them also, hee.

Back to work...and feeling sick. I think I really dun like working leh, weekends I dun get this problem.

Piyoz,
V-scan not painful lah. My gynae will place a new condom on the probe and put a lot of KY jelly. The probe also not so big.

Hi Verniz
Yeah, tell me abt the thunder.... my girl also complain lor and i had a stuffy nose yesterday too, really didnt sleep well.

this is my 1st post here...
i'm in my 7th week this week and my edd is currently 23 jun 08. i say currently cos my gynae says it will change as baby grows. my LMP wasnt accurate cos this is a case of late ovulation. this is my 2nd child.

i'm oso having very bad morning sickness... which started ard 5 weeks. i cant stomach alot of food... and alot of gas in my tummy... keep burping... and i cant reali take plain water now. still trying to find a liquid which i can consume...

veniz, castus, piyoz...
hehe... so far wat i do is use my digi cam to take pics of the scans... i trust digi photos rather than laminating... cos i laminated the scans for my 1st child... now all the pics blur already... cant see anything.

Hi Piyoz,

I found the v-scan abit painful cos I think I was quite tense. you need to be very very relaxed.

Acid free paper won't detoriate with age. normal paper may yellow or disintegrate with time. upon contact with air and sun. You can get acid free paper from any art shop. Not that expensive. just a slight premium over normal paper.