(2007/07) July 2007 MTBs

Good to see the thread's still alive and kicking!

This is little Ems pretending to be a demure flower-girl at my BIL's wedding in LA. We just got back yesterday from a 2.5 week trip (LA, Vegas, Beverly Hills, Disney, Legoland) - lucky gal, tired mummy!

3183707.jpg

She will start pre-nursery at St James in Jan - wish us luck!

Tinsel
You are a 24hours mummy!
I hve already started to buy stuff for school. hahaa..
Very KS Mummy here.

Hi Yolksac
Ems sure looks demure.. Pretty gal!
St James.. I like.. too bad too far for me.

Irene
Your gerbers are with me.. contact me ya..

Jillian
Thanks for meeting me yty

hi everyone! been busy busy!!

yolks, thats a super saccharine sweet pics of Ems. I saw her pics bogeying with the handsome ring bearer, cute!!

i'm still figuring where to send Wairah next year pre-N.. lets see if i can settle with a place soon

time flies, it'll be X-mas very soon.. time to do more shopping

need your advice. How impt is it to start them on pre nursery?

Veve has gotten a place at nanyang kindy but we're totally undecided whether she should even start school so early on! Hubs wants veve to play till she's five and only go for k1&2. I'd like to keep my baby with me as long as possible also. But I'm worried that she won't be able to get into a good kindy by the time she's ready since most kindy cater to graduating students from nursery class and unless there're dropouts will there be vacancies.

I like that NK has full mandarin immersion for PN and N classes but really we're hesitating abt robbing veve of her childhood and putting her into the book race so early on. But veve is very excited abt going to school- she must be really bored w me at home :p

anybody has any comments abt NK? Pls share your views on starting PN? Is it necessary to start so early? Tia!

@Jillian... Thanks for ur detailed sharing
max looks like a real bundle of joy...it's not difficult to see why you're enjoying ally & max!

@the other mummies who shared... Thanks

@yolksac...woohoo! US! We decided to postpone our trip cos of h1n1...how's it there really?

bedebe
elle has a plce in nanyang kindy and st james. we shld prob hve to make some sort of decision soon abt which one to go to as term's starting soon. at present wrt to prenursery, i am okay with classes bec it is only few hrs a day and since we have not enrolled her for any extra classes nor enrichment classes all this entire time ..

hello bedebe!

I understand your dilemma! Ive come to a concluson.

School is a place where the child learns, pick up social skills, learns to submit to authorities (other than parents), learn social norms etc. If a parent is able to provide such an environment (and there's so many ways to do so) than i feel its ok to keep the child from school for awhile. As long as they wont be left behind- academically and socially, when they eventually set their foot into a school.

Having said that, i also think a huge part of your consideration should be on Veve's style of learning. Some children learn better at home while others thrive in a school environment. If she learns best at home than keeping her at home would definately be the right thing to do.

For me, i cant provide Shayne with the social aspect of a school and he is gravely lacking in this area, although i think he learns better at home. So, i have chosen to send him to a playgroup. But if Veve is learning well at home, has lots of opportunities to socialise, than i dont see any harm in delaying school.

@banquez suez...wow...so which one are you more likely to have elle go?

@cheok...yeah...we sahms are not all powerful yeah? if i go by your conclusion, it definitely makes sense for veve to go to mandarin school cos my mandarin is sooo bad hubs can't bear to hear me speak it but he's got no choice since he hasn't got time to teach veve mandarin. she sounds weird speaking mandarin! i think she's ready for school and may learn better there cos her attention span at home is really short except when we're reading things that she's really interested in. also this mama is not disciplined in homeschooling :p

now i've gotta convince hubs that 3h/day for casual school is good for veve. she's not onto any enrichment programmes too.

banquez - we're in the same position! ems was just offered a nanyang place and now I don't know which preschool to pick. what do you think you will do? there are pros and cons - I love St James' big open space (3 acres of land!) but the Mandarin exposure at Nanyang will definitely be better. The Nanyang building (new one) is quite cramped right?

this school start has rejuvenated the thread!

Bedebe: I've decided to keep Ally at home till she's 4 or maybe even 5. For us, we want the kids to spend as much time together. I've decided to home school her next year, just so that our time spent together would be a bit more productive. Max will listen in on the lessons as well I guess. We want the 2 of them to build a strong bond with each other and hb is not keen to have her start school at 3 either.

That said, we're enrolling her for a holiday programme at her future kindy. Its 2 hours a day, 5 days a week. They do things like cooking, physcial activity, story telling, arts and crafts...etc It will be her first time going to a programme on her own so we'll see how she copes. It will give me some time to spend with Max in the mornings as well since now its mainly Ally that demands our attention all the time.

Yolk: Tough situation, I would personally pick St James over NY, only because I've heard lots of positive things about the principal at St James. Just my 2 cents woth

bedebe
its really still a tossup

yolksac

we hve not decided yet at this very stage but NY kindy is not cramp. it looks cramp from frontage but runs quite deep inside. ems been offered morn or noon session? at present for elle, its morn session for st james VS noon session for NY

Hi banquez

Have you visited the new school building? I wish they offered tours! I'd love to have a peek. It was the school administrator who told me the space was a lot smaller. She said she would miss the old campus because they had less space in the new building and she also mentioned that the classrooms are a bit smaller in the new building. I forgot to ask if there is an outdoor playground for the kids. It would be nice if they had some space to run around.

We were offered PM sessions at both St James and Nanyang. I know morning sessions work better for a lot of toddlers, but this timing suits us a bit better as we are very reluctant to brave the rush hour traffic in the morning (the start times for the AM session at Nanyang and Session 1 at St James are 8am and 8:30am respectively, I think). We will need to adjust Ems' naps a bit but she is very adaptable on this front.

I think we have decided on Nanyang. The main draw is the 100% Mandarin. Studies have indicated that for children to achieve proficiency in a minority language, they need to spend at least 20% of their waking hours (about 15 hrs each week) in the minority language. Some studies say 30% (about 25 hrs) is best. This way, at least for N1 and N2, I won't have to worry about Ems' 15 hours!
Also trying to find a Mandarin-speaking nanny to come over and play with Ems once or twice a week. That might help us bump up her hours to 20-21 hours.

But this is a long-term commitment lah. We'll have to rejig our arrangements come K1 and K2 because the Nanyang curriculum becomes bilingual.

[Needless to say, I am very very envious of those of you who have Mandarin-speaking relatives who help care for your kids - that really is the best way to do this. Look at the hoops I have to jump through!]

This is Ems' last term at JG. Overall, I have to say that having put Ems through about 21 months' worth of JG's Mandarin Playnest, it was well worth the effort. She definitely understands basic Mandarin and surprised us all yesterday when she sang along to all the songs on a JG-produced Mandarin CD. We used to listen to the CD regularly when she was younger (maybe up to the time she was 18 months old) but we haven't played it in ages. Then we happened to click on the CD on the Ipod and...magic!

But as I said lah, it's a long road ahead. Please be supportive when I'm tearing my hair out over her C and D grades for Mandarin in Pri School

yolksac
there is an outdoor playground but not huge by any standards. if you drive by, you can see it

yes Mavis said the same to me when I asked wrt campus size. that said, the present campus they are currently occupying used to house Nanyang Primary & hence I feel, is not a very fair comparison.
after reading yr post, i am almost sold on NY kindy
just need to have final discussions with other half ..

bedebe
made a decision? veve joining NY too?

Hi Yolksac & Banquez Suez

We went down to register veve Monday. But there's still a chance that her dad may change his mind and not pay up her school fees and be forever blacklisted :p Otherwise, Elle, Ems and veve may well be classmates

She'll also be in PM session cos going by our lifestyle, there's no way she can wake up that early to go to school, not forgetting how we dun live next door to the school. and we treasure our evening family time. going to am session means she'd have to be in bed by sundown!

as for sjck, i do like the more natural setting but i think they have a mosquito problem. i was badly bitten when we went for an aquaducks trial sometime ago! but i'm overall really pleased tt veve will get to go to the new campus. (i really really hate handmedowns old campuses like the one i spent 3years of sec sch in!)

one thing i can't quite figure out is WHY don't they have a sheltered dropoff point at the new place? i can so see traffic congestion ard the school!

I wished though that we live closer so that going to NYK is a no brainer. but the school bus service dun come so far, so it's gonna have to be me sending her ard but i've not driven in years and me in an mpv is just scary! add to the complex equation the potential of an overseas posting next year and it makes moving house altogether another...aargh....

anyway...i'm a little worried tt veve may be completely blank in school the first few days/weeks/months :p she's only been to one JG trial. otw her mandarin is taught by yours truly (i'm so bad tt hubs actly banned me from speaking mandarin in his presence after being traumatised by the giggling shopkeepers all lined up hearing me try to bargain in beijing!) but at least she knows her name, colours, food, animals, numbers well and sings a couple of chinese songs learnt off some cd not too badly :p (the 1,2,3-7 song is her pyjama song :p we sing that as i button up her 7 buttons on her sleepsuit! but she tends to overshoot to 10! LOL)

banquez: I should be in sales! Good at selling things - e.g. Nanyang, haha. Thanks for the info - I'll drive by this weekend and see if I can spot the playground. Have you paid the St James school fees yet? I doubt we will get the deposit back right? I should let St James know asap.

bedebe: Yay! happy to hear that veve may be at Nanyang too. Hopefully the commute won't be too traumatic. I reckon with the good traffic flow at that time of day, you should be able to do the drive within 30 minutes each way. Not too bad. Anyway, you still have some time to weigh out the pros and cons. I think Nanyang said they'd only collect fees in December.

Yeah I think traffic congestion will be a big problem because King's Road is very narrow. I'm sure the grandparents are going to complain about this. Oh well, we'll cross that bridge when we get there.

oh wow! the thread has come alive with school talk
nice!

i just got Wairah started with weekend playgroup with MMI, just an hour of singing, coloring and some mingling with her little frens. She's taking it well so i guess we'll just go with the flow for now.

<font color="119911"><font size="+2">Hi mummies! Sorry to intrude, i need to get Nestle Nan 3 milk sachets urgently.
If you have or know where to get them, please kindly PM me.
My budget is 50cents per sachet. Thanks for your help! </font></font>

long time no log in to chat

sch sch sch

i've got a place for jo to start half day chidcare too in jan.. hopefully he'll enj himself

btw.. is it a long q to get into st james??

Hi peeps!! I had been peeping at the thread but din post!!

Most prob I will be sending Kayden to GUG at Suntec.. anyone there?

Peck: I saw u in another thread! You are with your no.2 now? CONGRATS!!!

Nor: I saw u have moved into ur new place! Rem to invite us over to rara abit!! haha~~

Angel, I am in your gang also....only peep but never post hehe. Btw, why are you looking at 2010 thread, are you expecting too????

Thought Kayden is already in sch, why do u still wanna send him to GUG?

Peck, congrats!!! Does that mean no playdates for the time being??

Hi kth, I am DEFINATELY NOT expecting!! lolx.. cos my co in that thread then I go KPO a little loh.. haha.. I withdrew Kayden from that childcare cos I think not very good leh.. So keeping him at home at the moment and my mum looking after him now..

Is ur boy still in Shekinah?

Angel: So we have another thing in common...that is not expecting haha. Not trying for a 2nd one?

Yup my boy still with Shekinah. Ok so far cos his teacher is good.

kth: I will not be trying at the moment cos this terrible 2 stage is driving me crazy. haha~~ maybe let nature take its course if have then give birth loh.. dun have also bo pian loh..

Angel: Same here, I think I will go crazy looking after Kaizer &amp; being pregnant now!! Just don't have the courage to do so.

Hi hi everyone!
Angel -- yup we've move-ded to our new abode almost 3 mths.. in fact i am just done with the girls room, give it a brighter look with some wall decals

sure when i have settled down, can arrange for play date

Peck -- CONGRATS babe!! Jovan gonna have a sister or brother?

KTH/ Angel -- i was a little apprehensive when i was having my no 2.. wasn't sure how i can handle 2 monkeys alone but i guess the juggling come quite naturally (thou there are times you feel like hiding under the bed and pretend you don't know them!) heheheh.. every mom would have these i-feel-i-cannot-cope times but please don't wait too long, its nice and doubly fulfilling to see them grow together.
i'm sure mommies who have more than 1 would agree

nor: haha.. I am so impressed with u! You can really juggle 2 kids and work well.. but for me, I think this is the world's challenging job! Cos I dun think my mum can help me managed 2 rascals when I am at work.. (she has been complaining how difficult my son is!) lolx

Angel, i have to be very honest here - i am very very thankful with my current domestic helper!
she's is such a great help to the household and so far she doesn't give me any attitude problem.

only thing is that she doesn't know how to cook and sometimes just do as per what is being told (read: not much initiative) but well, nobody is perfect and most impt to me is that she takes good care of the kids while i'm at work and she takes instructions well and she's also well mannered.

As for the 2 girls, they fight and quarrel a lot but its just sisterly thingy lah.. they laugh and be sweet to each other and that kinda cover for their mischief.. can't imagine life without my 2 monkeys!

nor: I agree with you about the kids growing together bit... my #2 &amp; #3 are only 18mths apart &amp; they really gel. One will look for the other when she wakes up. It is just so cute to see #3 looking for her older sister when she still cannot verbalise her thoughts yet.. she'd just sit up, look around &amp; if she spots her sister napping nearby, she'd either crawl over or simply lie on her! #2 will do the same when she gets up from her nap, she starts looking for her mei mei or if they are in different rooms, she's asked where her mei mei is.

I dun observe this as much between #1 &amp; #2 who are 4.5yrs apart.

made me so guilty of not having no.2 anymore cos i have no helper at home and can't afford to hire one either as i am a sahm. I know my boy feel so lonely sometimes.

july_bb, since your boy is only 2, there is still time for #2 &amp; more.. there are pros &amp; cons... perhaps you &amp; HB can discuss &amp; decide what is good for your family in the next 2 years, 5 years, 10 years.

My friends who are single children (themselves) shared about their lonely childhood &amp; how they felt miserable about having to be solely responsible for their aged parents now, about not having a sibling to turn to, etc.

But at the end of the day, more does not necessarily mean better. It all depends on what's best for you &amp; your family. Dun feel bad even if your eventual decision is to stop at 1. At least it means your boy does not need to fight for your attention.. *smile*

Thanks EmQ. Actually I am also an only child in my family. I too longed for a sibling last time. My mother aborted twice due to some medical reason. For me, if i get preggie by accident, i will definately keep it as i will nvr consider abortion. So i will just let god decide. 3 different Fortune teller predicted i have 2 sons and 1 daughter, haha.. Don't really believe it. Unless hb 'tio' TOTO 1st prize.

wah wah! wah!! all these no. 2, no. 3 talks has got my +ve vibes going! now i feel more motivated than ever to have my number 2! hahah!! luckily i have my mum to rely on

It's really a fortunate thing to have ur parents to help willingly.. but not all of us r so lucky..
Even if u hire a domestic helper, it depends on ur luck too..

If everything permits (financially, physically and a fixed caregiver), I will very much like to have #2 so Kayden wont feel so lonely too..

But I am happy enough now cos sometimes we will organize playdates for the kids too!

Same sentiments with Angel. I will spend quality time with my kid so that he won't feel too lonely and left out then.

Re: BB No2
Me trying but so far no good news yet..

Told hubby, at least we have Megan.. She's really very fun nowadays.. Very talkative!!

July baby, true what EmQ said, its entirely up for individual on emotionally, financially and "logistically" prepared to have 1 child or more.

for you mommies trying for no 2, 3 and more, hope we will hear good news in months to come.. its a 'nice season' to try for a baby - cool time of the year, nice to snuggle-snuggle! **cheeky grin**

Angel, ON the air-con and go under the covers lah.. i really dun have to put this in print right.. hahahahah!

A lot of people have been telling me about single child being lonely and now is the best time to give her a younger bro/sis. But I think hubby's mind is set to 1....sigh... sorry girl, hope she won't blame us in future.

JLK: this is a very "rare" scenario! haha~ usually we sort of call the "shots" to stop at one... if u want one more kid, maybe u can try to persuade ur hb.. We want another one but too many other factors to consider but if u can afford it, y not?

nor: overSHARE la!! haha~~

<font color="aa00aa"><font size="+2"><font color="aa00aa">Just sharing:

Xmas Cartoon Character shows at shopping malls!</font>
</font></font>

<font color="aa00aa">1) Date: 13 -18 Nov
Event: Bakugan Competition and Meet &amp; Greet
Venue: Takashimaya
Timing: 1 pm &amp; 6pm

2) Date: 13 -18 Nov
Event: Power Rangers – Jungle Fury Meet &amp; Greet Venue: Takashimaya
Timing: 3pm &amp; 7pm

3) Date: 20 - 29 Nov
Event: Mr Men meet &amp; greet only
Timing: 1 pm, 4pm, 7pm
*1pm on 20 Nov for Takashimaya members only, no shows on 23 Nov

4) Date: 21 Nov- 7 Dec
Event: Winx Club show
Venue: Marina Square, Central Atrium
Timing: 1pm &amp; 7pm (Tues to Thurs), 1pm, 4pm &amp; 7pm (Fri to Sun)

5) Date: 2 – 14 December
Event: Barney &amp; friends show
Mon - Fri, 2pm &amp; 7pm (No shows on Tuesdays)
Sat &amp; Sun, 2pm, 5pm &amp; 7pm
Venue: United Square, Main Atrium, Basement 1
***Be the first 50 shoppers to spend a minimum of $30* in a single receipt to Meet and Greet Barney &amp; Friends after each show. Passes will be issued 1 hour before each show.

6) Date: 3 - 13 Dec
Event: Hi-5 Meet &amp; greet only
Timing: 1 pm, 4pm, 7pm
*1pm on 3 Dec for Takashimaya members only, no shows on 6 Dec 1pm &amp; whole of 7 Dec

7) Date: 5-12 Dec
Event: Spongebob Square pants Musical show
Venue:Suntec City, Tropics Atrium
Timing: *To be confirmed

8 ) Date: 5-13 Dec
Event: Bob the builder
Venue: Jurong Point, JP1 Centrestage
Timing: Tue – Fri, 1pm and 7pm
Sat and Sun, 1pm, 4pm and 7pm

9) Event: Watch &amp; Meet friends from Sesame Street, 20 mins performance, followed by a 10 mins "Meet &amp; Greet". Show at 1pm, 4pm, 7pm
Date: As follows

Yew Tee Point - 20/11 to 22/11 (Meet &amp; Greet only)
Compass Point - 24/11 to 29/11 +
Causeway Point - 1/12 to 6/12
Northpoint - 8/12 to 13/12
The Centrepoint - 15/12 to 20/12
+ (24/11, 1pm show reserve for children from Minds)

10 ) Date : 4 – 14 Dec 2009 (except 10 Dec 2009)
Event: Disney Classical Christmas Meet-and-Greet with Mickey, Minnie, Donald, Goofy, Chip &amp; Dale
Venue: Vivo City
Time : 2pm and 3.30pm at Central Court, Level 1
6pm and 7.30pm at Amphitheatre, Level 3
**** Note: Spend $100* (maximum of 3 combined same-day receipts) between 27 Nov and 14 Dec 2009 to redeem a pass to attend one of the Disney Meet-and-Greet sessions. OCBC Credit Cardmembers only need to charge $80 to qualify. Each pass admits a maximum of 6 persons and limited to 1 group photo only. Redemption is limited to 1 pass per shopper per day, on a first-come, first-served and while stocks last basis.

11) Event: Hello Kitty's Christmas Wish
Showtimes : 4 &amp; 11 Dec :7.30pm
5, 6, 12 &amp; 13 Dec : 3pm &amp; 6pm
Venue : The Great Hall, Millenia Walk

12)Event: Care Bear Musical Show
Date: 1 - 6 Dec
Showtimes : 1pm, 5pm, 7pm
Venue : Plaza Singapura

13) Date: 22 Nov - 25 Dec
(Weekends and Public Holidays Only)
Additional show on 21 November at 12.30pm.
Event: Mini Musical Live Show by the Looney Tunes
Showtimes : 6pm - 6.30pm
Venue : Downtown East Event Square

14) Date: 20 Nov – 6 Dec (Except Mondays)
Event: Barbie “I can be” Live show
Venue: Raffles City 1pm , 4pm, 7pm
Date: 7 –20 Dec
Event: Barbie &amp; The Three Musketeers Meet and Greet
Venue: Raffles City, 1pm , 4pm, 7pm

15) Event: Christmas Rocks with Tom &amp; Jerry!
Venue: West Mall
Date: 11-20 Dec 2009, 1pm &amp; 7pm
Interactive song and dance
***Spend $50* to redeem pass for exclusive photo session after each show.
UOB cardmembers need only spend $20* to qualify.
*max. 3 combined same-day receipts. Each pass admits one child only. Limited to 30 passes per session, one pass per child. Passes are available on a 1st-come-1st-served basis.

16) Date:21 -29 Nov (except Monday)
Event: Astroboy Live
Venue: Liang Court
Time: 2pm, 5pm &amp; 7.30pm (Sat &amp; Sun)
5.30pm &amp;7.30pm (Tue to Fri)
*** Meet &amp; Greet: Spend $50 in a single receipt to get a Meet &amp; Greet Pass. Limited to 30 passes each show time &amp; 4 pax per pass.

Well well ladies..

all these talks about number 2 heh..

My number 2 is already 15 mths old..
I would agree its tough to take care of both n to be working at the same time. But we will need to have all the support from our hubbies n family members and it is such a pleasure seeing both siblings playing together,giggling together n fight together..lol

It is so worth it having a number 2
Its time to plan if u mummies r ready for number 2..

btw here is the pix of my 15mth old number 2..

JIA YOU JIA YOU..

3299071.jpg