(2007/07) July 2007 MTBs

Freedom
Hubby say the menu at Cedan very "cheena" but the teachers i've met are really nice and friendly.
Remembered when I brought my gal to pay the deposit, i went in the office with the supervior.. When i came out, my gal has joined them making mooncakes!
Too bad we didn't go back to collect the baked product.. Forgot all abt it.

JLK
Aiyo!! Just by a day.. if a week later, in time hor..
Let me go back see if i wanna let go of some.. really bought alot - enough for new outfit for all 8days!!
Have you bought anything yet? Think Gap/OldNavy still having sale..

hi eliz

ya, i also feel so hahah.. but my children luv the cheena food leh hahah

just called them. they would have 14 children next year for our children age. meaning, 2 teachers to 14. 1:7.

wonder if they will allow our children to be classmates? hahaha

Freedom,

Haha! My hb prefer Elite becos its nearer to our house and he doesn't need to climb the steep slope when he go and fetch Caden. Haha!

I like Amazing Star ever since the first impression. And 2 of my gf's child graduated from it. And they told me the teacher is really good.

Now that Caden is in, I witnessed it. Caden really picked up a lot from there and most imptly, the teachers there treat him really well =)

Monica
Its Caden who made me determined to send Megan to CC earlier.
He is so much more well-behaved than Megan!

Freedom
Actually i was gona just send Megan to St Anne's Church Kindergarden and skip childcare.
Plan was to send her to enrichment classes will do..
In fact Megan was with GUG since she was 20mths? But she got restless and so her last day was last sunday!
Now looking for new classes to keep her entertained!!
Music/dance classes here we come!!

hi eliz

is there any enrichment sch near our area?

called up many childcare centres and they are already closed for next year.. really stuck and feel like crying! hahahah how huh??

Freedom
I so understand how you feel.. Chin up! Our tots' only 2 yrs old

I'm in a hurry as my gal was previously looked after by my MILs' but when FIL passed away recently,
MIL became abit "weird" so I have no choice.

Hmm, do u need childcare or just enrichment classes?
If not, next yr entrol with PCF? or Apple Tree?

I've tried Little Nero Tree at Hougang.. Opp SRJC.
You can check it out.. they have classes in English, Mandarin and Japanese!

hi eliz

i want childcare.. enrichment classes is a "just in case" thingy. cos i still can't find any yet. my boy very active leh.. i don't know how to occupy his time

little neuro tree is good? similar to shichida right? what don't you like about this?

Eliz
Ya lor... just by 1 day! Lucky Megan, new outfit for all 8 days. Me stingy mummy, sure will let Karis repeat her outfit...haha
I have only bot a pc of knit sweater so far. my SIL told me to hold till year end sale then scout for more. U check la, if really wanna let go some, let me know.

Hello mummies...

Welcome new mummies! The thread is suddenly alive. I actly refrshed my bookmark cos the discussion sounded so foreign :p

just to share. To remove stuff stuck in ear, like previously mentioned by one of the mummies, drip a few drops of oil in the affected ear. My aunt had a cockroach stuck in her ear (yikes!) and her gp was clueless and referred her to an ENT specialist who advised her that. Hth

btw congrats to the mummies who will be/have delievered #2/3/4... I'd really love to know how you're coping w a newborn and toddler. Oh and also the emotional aspects of coping w a newborn- your own feelings, elder child's etc. I'm still undecided abt another. Thks

also back to lurking

bedebe, i knew it.. most of the mommies are just lurking.. tsk tsk tsk!

and the cockroach thingy... yewwww!!

Bedebe: Cockroach?! Eeewwww!

About having no.2, Max is now 3 months and it seems like he has been part of our family forever. Its tough, physically and emotionally, especially during the early part of pregnancy when you're just tired but have a toddler to entertain. Then when the baby comes along, the frequent night feeds takes it toll as well. Suddenly you find that you have a lot less patience to deal with typical toddler behaviour.Emotionally, you're going to have to deal with pre and postpartum hormones. The first week postpartum, I cried over silly things. Over the fact that Ally no longer had our undivided attention, cried about the frequent night wakings just when we were getting full nights of sleep once again. That lasted the first week or so and then I was alright.

Now the good side, nothing beats watching the two children interacting with each other. Even at this young age, Max always has a special smile just for his sister. He went with me on a trip while Ally stayed home with daddy. When they came to pick us up at the airport, Max kept smiling at Ally the whole time. Knowing that they'll always have each other growing up almost makes those sleepless nights bearable, ALMOST

I'm sure as they get older, things can easier. Its already improving compared to a month ago. I guess it also helps that Max is a really easy going guy.
3114165.jpg

jillian,
Max is soooo cute! looks like his sis

nor,
yes... finally i can tie C's hair! can't bear to cut it coz it took forever to grow... :p

eliz,
thanks for asking abt the ear wax... i was wondering abt it myself. going to try the baby oil tomorrow

bedebe,
ewwwwww.... a cockroach?!?!

re: enrichment
C's with LNT too

Jillian
Max is so adorable! I wanna pinch his cheeks... oops..hehe

Shymz
So good that you can tie C's hair. Karis' hair like not growing leh... wonder when I can tie her hair in a little ponytail...sigh..

Bedebe: My #3 just turned 9mths. She came as a surprise after our very long wait for #2 (Jul 07). You'll need to have some support & things will work out fine.

Jillian: Yes, things will get better each month. I'm past the night feeds. It was horrible while it lasted for the 6 weeks. Glad that it was over pretty quickly. My #1 (7yo) & #3 (9mths) were comparatively easier babies than my #2, who is still getting up at night occasionally.

& it certainly is comforting to see the kids watch out for one another. *smile*

Awwwww! baby pics never fail to cheer anyone up!
Thanks Jill for posting Max's cute face

You're right, it does help when you have an easy baby to care for.. i'm so happy for you!

i so know what you mean by having that special smile for each other.. just the other night, the two girls were on bed side-by-side having their pre-sleep milk (yes, Lis stil prefer to drink fm bottle before she sleeps at night!) and Lis was making monkey faces, Wairah said to Lis "hahah! you're so funny!" before bursting into giggles!

but of course there's the i-don't-want-to-share-this-with-you moments (or shall i say daily routine?) and they will shout and end up crying just to be ok the next 5 minutes or so..

Shymz, yup now can tie and use the mini hair clips - FINALLY!! i do trim a little at the ends as i heard it will help hair growth or rather make it thicker, but i cut only like 5mm.. so sayang to cut beyond that right?

JLK, don't worry too much, i had same problem with my 1st girl, her hair is super fine and little and still "untie-able" till she's >2yrs but now her hair is thicker and longer and she made me promise to keep her hair and not cut it.
Lis said "I want to be pretty, not cute!" hahahah!

Nor
ya, i also heard that trimming/cutting hair helps growth but my girl's hair still the same, not much difference after a few cuts..haha.. But then again, she perspires so much that i think it's not a bad idea after all for her short fine hair.

About having #2 and #3.... I still can't convince myself with a #2 when a #1 already so not easy to handle.. hahaha... kudos to all mummies with #2/3/4....u gals are good.

Bringing my girl to zoo tmr morning.... hope she'll have fun (*cross my fingers* for good weather please)

jillian Max is such a cutie! I spot bit of you in him.

childcare/pre-nursery Just curious, how many of you are NOT sending your kid to any school, pre-nursery? Im wondering if its really necessary to check my son in to school this early (i mean he has half of his life time to do so!). Then again, seeing how almost all the toddlers in school makes me feel like im robbing him of something. give me your opinions?

JLK, enjoy your zoo trip tmr!

yup tods perspire darn heavily in our weather! I don’t like to keep Lis’ hair but my helper is very good at pleating and hair-styling so its ok for now.

About having 2 or more kids.. personally I have to say don’t wait too long to have another one, our tods are 2yrs old already, by the time of production + delivery, they’d well turn 3.. its tiring, no doubt abt it but very fulfilling and you get to see them grow (and fight) together.

I’m glad I have the 2 girls with me and the age gap is such that Lis is able to verbally express what she wants while I figure out what Wairah wants though her cries.. and that was like 2 yrs ago.. now I’m amazed that they are chatting away and sharing with me what happened in the Princess Protection Programme in Disney Channel!

Cheok, I’ve not send Wairah to school yet, not even weekend classes. Only once I let her attend trial class at Tumble Tots, if that counts. I’m still searching around for a playgroup around Jurong West. Zoo-Phonics is full.. so the search continues..

Thanks for the kind comments about Max.

Cheok: Ally isn't going to sch next year as well. We're not in a hurry to send her, like you said, she's going to spend the next half of her life in school. We would prefer if she stayed home and spent time with her brother and just enjoy being a kid for now.

morning mommies!

ok this is non-kids related
anyone knows where I can get super thin wonton skin for soup kind?

i always get the ones from ntuc but those are mostly for fried type..

peck,good to hear that. currently i'm busy with Lissy's upcoming exams.. hopefully by the sch hols the place should be more ready too. will let you know

Jillian
Love max's eyes... so charming wor..

lcyen
The two really look alike ah.. so cutie!
Jiejie really so sweet... even taking pic also protecting didi..

Help!!

Mummies with their tots attending class with Mandeville Music School @ United Square

Any comments?? I wanna send Megan but no trial class till next yr.

Got a class starting in Nov but not sure if i should just sign up without the trial class.

Hi Eliz

Karis started her Baby Music class at Mandeville in Aug, so far so good. I signed for a trial class that time, cos i wanted to see her first reaction in class before committing, just in case, she throws tantrums and refuses to go in etc... Well but her trial turns out fine and so i signed up for the class on the same day.

I'm now thinking of finding dance class for her...hehe.. any recommendations?

JLK
I'm a step behind u all ah... Who's her teacher?
There's 1 starting in NOV with Ms Goo? But her class more expensive.. So i'm still considering..

Dance? I'm looking out too.. hahaa..

WTS:
1) Best Denki Vouchers $700 (in $50 denominations) valid thru to Sept 2010
2) John Little Vouchers $300 (in $10 denominations) valid thru to May 2010 at PS

Will let go at 10% discount, pls sms me at 98424462 if interested.

Eliz

Her teacher is Ms Goo.. ya, her class more expensive. I was also a bit puzzled when i signed up why diff teachers diff price. Heard she's good plus i din hear about other teachers, so no choice lor.. perhaps can ask around for recommendations on other teachers? Not sure of new class starting in Nov leh.

JLK
I asked! hahaha.. she's more ex coz she's the Vice Principal

Yup, new class 7th Nov 6pm.. Timing abit late. Worried Megan will be cranky

Looks like i will wait till next yr then join..

Eliz

Next year? I thought she is entering Childcare by then? Maybe the school provides music lessons.

Like Amazing Star - They have piano lessons for N1 students =)

Monica
Yup, childcare by then but thought to let her go for enrichment classes lor..
Plus by next yr, Mummy here can send her into class, while i go with Daddy for a cuppa and relax! haaa...

Monica: Amazing Star so good huh? No need to pay extra for the piano lesson?

Eliz: Me, Peck, Shymz & JLK are all in the same class. I totally understand about going for a cuppa with hubs and relax coz we're doing that now when K attends her weekly art lesson!! The "us" time is soooo good

JLK: I'm going to check out a shop selling pre loved sewing machines, update u again hor.

Tinsel
You are into sewing now eh?
Saw your work on K's blog. Nice!!!
K's in CC already mah? With music and art, is she overloaded??
I so wanna send Megan to many diff activties but scared too much for a 2 yr old

Eliz: Thanx for dropping by my blog
Derived some satisfaction from the 1st skirt, so now making another one. Remember the twirl skirts we bought from Joann? That got me inspired...hehhe...coz when I looked at the skirt, I told myself I should be able to do it since it looked pretty simple! Hhahaha.....but dunno if my passion will lasts, so hubs dun allow me to get a new sewing machine in case it becomes another white elephant of mine

K's not in CC yet, she attends enrichment class on Sat. So far, she's ok and she enjoys her lesson less the days when she's into one of her princess tantrums. Oh, the art school does not teach kids of their age to draw an apple, table etc but rather expose the kid to different types of art medium etc. K enjoys the lesson coz doing different things each lesson. Just last week, they went to the Singapore Arts Museum (think our 4th time liao) & last term they did some baking!

Tinsel

Not so good lo..haha! Of course, parents got to pay if we opt for that lesson. If I can rem correctly, its like 60 or 70 bucks per term =)

Tinsel
Sure sounds like K's enjoying herself!!
My mama has a very pro sewing machine but i can't sew for nuts!
Still easier to buy. hahaa.. But i sure do understand your sense of achievement!

Monica
Its still cheap ah... hope Cedan will offer such classes when Megan starts next yr.

Tinsel

You are great! I can't sew at all. Not even buttons....let alone skirts "-_-"

I will get pricks all over..haha

Tinsel
The art class no need parent to accompany? hubs and i also interested to sign karis for the art class.. still considering..
hehe... i was still guessing if peck is the one in the same class.. thanks for confirming..
Yes yes, do update me on the sewing machine.. thou i have to admit my passion is slowly fading...:p

Monica: Silly me! Hahah!! No free lunch in this world hor? Ppppplease.....me very lousy too!! It was a spontaneous act, I know nuts abt sewing too, so have to take lessons!! And you know what? Others learn making clothes for adults, but I asked the teacher to teach me to make clothes for girls!!

Eliz: Ya, definitely much more convenient and economical to buy but nice to see ur own girl wearing something u make
I dunno how long my interest will last too...hope it is not short lived..hehe...

JLK: By right, should have 1 parent to 1 kid but K has been with them for a year already so she is very familiar with the environment and close to the teachers, thus she's alright when we leave. No crying or whining at all...in fact, it was her teacher who asked us to give it a try and the rest is history

Tinsel
Hey that's great leh.. good tat the teacher suggested on this and din insist on 1 parent to 1 kid policy

Tinsel
I totally agree but like i said, can't sew for nuts! Hahaha..
I'll end up sewing my fingers instead!!

K's a big gal already.. No worries when she goes starts school. Next yr right??