(2007/07) July 2007 MTBs

yolksac, oh dear poor ems.. must be having a hard time coping with the poos/vomits. argh.. hang in there and make sure u dont get it too!!

Hi Jules - Ems only puked once (well, in four small bouts - and all on me!) but has been having slightly runny poo for some of her poo; slight fever on and off, then suddenly this morning at 5:45am, it was 38.4C! Panadol did the trick and she's back to ok now. Weird bug lah. Hope it's just stomach flu symptoms and not something more jia lat! She's definitely keeping her food down though and she's still eating solids heartily.

A bit stressed b/c PD says no FM for her until the bug goes away, and I'd been supplementing her BFs with FM for a month or so. Definitely not producing enough! Taking out my frozen stocks but she doesn't really like frozen EBM as I've mentioned before. So just relatching her lor.

<font color="119911">CELEB</font>
Oh dear, fever? The one things that makes me super worried, after LM's hit 39.5 two weeks ago!

At least Ems is not puking further and still taking to her food like an athlete in training!

Good luck with the BFing, i'm certain your boobies will cope - they've always been over-performers in production, just give it some time!

<font color="0000ff">JULES</font>
Thanks for the encouragement and tip on freezing stock. I'm up to my ears in with all sorts of books right now and I just want to scream!

Don't know where to look, which way to turn and how to cope with so much information! I think I'm just soo sleep deprived I cannot process much with this tired brain!

Retrying Dream Feed (did the trick initially, but still didn't work after a week), just gave LM his DF. Hitting the sack now, yaawwnn...

Thanks mummies for welcoming me!

Seems that my son is of a bit small size here. He is only 8.1kg, 70cm at 8 mths old.

Anyone knows where to ask for the Kefir grains in Singapore? I heard that this Kefir grain is very good for health, especially the digestion.

Susu,
What time LM sleeps at night? Give some high carbo solid 1 hr before his usual sleeping time (e.g. smashed sweet potato), top up with milk 1 hr later to knock him to his dreamland. It works for me. Milk alone can tahan 6-7hrs. My little one has his last feed at 9.30pm and woke up at 4.30pm consistantly due to hunger. After I tried the solid method, he now sleeps 2hrs longer, so i am not disturbed till 6.30am. Hope this works for LM too.

good morning!!

i'm so so happy,hb bought a prada wallet for me for our anniversary.. really surprise me!!

yolk, ems better now??

susu,for the exccess stock, you actually can throw in noodle + some ingredients for your lunch or dinner!!

bcube, hope you feeling better today

<font color="0000ff">Poulinea</font>
Thanks for the tip. I do give LM a bigger dose of carbs for dinner, followed by milk later.
It hasn't really done the trick though.

<font color="119911">PECK</font>
Ta for the noodle tip! I'm not much of a cook and h-a-t-e cooking, and now having to whip out food for his royal babyness, it's just such daunting business! Took me awhile to puree food fresh for him! I guess it's just unchartered territory for me, just have to start somewhere!

Thank goodness for you girls who can throw me a lifeline every now and then and keep me afloat in the sea of weaning!!

Congratulations on the Anniversary.. and the newly acquired Prada wallet!!

<font color="aa00aa">BCUBE</font>
Feeling better this morning?

<font color="0000ff">CELEBE</font>
How's Ems feeling, and how are YOU?

<font color="ff0000">NOR</font>
heh heh... Abang kamu masih kepit bawah ketiak mak, ke? I haven't heard that saying in yonks! You made me laugh so hard!! Hope the cold war ends soon!

<font color="119911">ORGANIC/FREE RANGE MEAT</font>
Anyone knows where to get such meat? Besides Kampung Chicken, I mean. What about beef, lamb?

LM
Sigh. Attempted to start sleep training last night, gradual crying it out. He was in his cot, crying for half an hour. I was too weak and went in to pick him up, carried him, cuddled, spent time together on our bed.

Half an hour later, I picked him up, put him in his cot - awake - and in 5 minutes, he was peacefully asleep!!

HARLOW? Eh, this actor doesn't follow script la!

And best part was be after dream feed at midnight, he only got up once about 2ish.. no crying, just abit of whimpering - to which I didn't respond and he soon put himself back to sleep!!

EH again?!

He didn't get up till 8 this morning!

I'm soooooo hoping this isn't a freak episode!

susu, i saw a organic corner at carefour suntec.. they have meat there.. but the price WOW!!! my eyes grow bigger when i see them..

susu : there is organic salmon...hehe i help u ask my hb about it... if i am not wrong a fren of his started a organic salmon co.

yolk : ouch!! must be very taxing on u huh???

food : ermmmmm am i the only one that feed K fruits straight from the source??? in huge chucks!! hahaha yesterday was at tanglin mall... was a little late for her dinner.. so pop by the supermarket to get banana just to tide her over..i was happily peeling the banana skin and then feed K... when 2 caucasian guys walk pass and laughed... hmmm... is it a rare sight to see a baby eat fruits from the banana itself??? jhahaha

i been feeding her grapes/rock melon/mango/honeydew/banana/papaya/pear/peach not mashed up leh...hmmm..

poultry : so far i fed K chicken... and cheese (dairy products) and pasta/rice/udon!! hehe seems alright with them...

oh oh!! tried eggplant yesterday!!! was kinda surprise that she took it steamed!!!

cheok: u shall not show yr post to my hb... if not he is going to postpone my long waited trip!!!

Susu: Congrats on your good night with LM. I had a rough one, I think Ally is still a little under the weather. Like Ems, she had a slight temperature as well. I HATE THE STOMACH FLU!

Peck: That was so sweet of your hb, Happy Anniversary!

Yolk: Hope Ems is feeling better. Ally seems to be running a slight temperature too. She has nearly finished the bottle of panadol that we took back from the hospital after her operation so you can imagine how often I have had to dose her over the last week. I kept her home from tumble tots today just to be extra safe.

Cheok: Wow , sounds like quite a rough flight for you and Shayne. When are you back from Dubai?

SUSU,
wahhhhh....so sad u re gonna leave me alone in the SPG club...R had a terrible night..or rather I did! she wanted me as pacifier the entire night! if i dislatch her, she wakes up...so basically the whole night, she wakes every half-one hour to cry for it. She is still having running nose so gonna give her some slack but once she is well, shall give her some forn of training!

ORGANIC MEAT
I SAW SWISS BUTCHERY SELLING ORGANIC BEEF. Frozen chicken from Supernature &amp; Bunalun. Better to hold off fish. PD also adviced that it causes allergy more than meat. She adviced to start with pork actually.

But for me, I am holding off any animal protein untill she is 1. Asked PD and she also feel it is absolutely fine. No reason to intro meat.

GLOOM
still feeling blue lah..am gonna attempt to "self-Soothe" by going out..haha...dont even know where to go or what to do...BORING!!!! And its gonna rain again! Sian ah!!

Jillian/yolk,
hmm this stomach flu bug is really strong eh? poor bubs....

Sigh my R been fighting SLEEP/FOOD for the past few days. Have no idea what she is up to....its getting to me already...

I told you my Ems is a big bully! This is her laughing at Ally's misery. Tsk tsk!

1338965.jpg

susu, what a gd night! see? maybe u really dont have to do anything fanciful to help him sleep better. he will do it in his own time once he is ready
i had a not so gd one.. xy got up at 5 and wldnt be settled without milk! hasnt fed at 5 for pretty long now. guess i spoke too soon!

yolk, hope ems is better now. actually i find fever in babies quite odd.. really comes and goes quickly, and in between they act perfectly normal! really not like adults. hmm.. ur PD really very pro bfing! i guess full bfing is great to pump her up with as much antibodies as possible, but i thot a bit of FM if u dont have enough ss wont do any harm at all. xy doesnt like FEBM much too. have u tried to mix fresh with frozen ebm b4 feeding her? maybe it can help to mask that fishy taste in febm.

irene, i've been feeding xy slices of apple/pear/plum/what have u! she just gnaws at it with her bottom 2 teeth. so cute. yesterday she managed to bite off 1 big chunk of plum and nearly choked on it!! scare me lor! didnt know she cld actually bite pieces off b4 that.

peck, waaa ur hb so sweet!!
envious wor!

jules - apparently the no-FM prescription is because when they have stomach flu, their tummies can't deal with dairy very well? does that make sense? PD said for mums who don't BF, they recommend feeding the bb soy milk

Slight fever too...!
LM is running a so slight fever, just gave him some paracetomol and he's asleep now after a good poop! (Love <font color="ff6000">PAPAYAS!</font> His poop comes out that nice orange hue colour and I swear it still smells like fresh papaya! - too much information? Wahaha!)

I'm surprised how the fever sneaked up upon us. Teething? AGAIN? (his top two are coming through, can almost see them beneath his gums).

I just pray pray pray it's not stomach flu!! AIII!!! During his meals, as of yesterday, he'll bring up some of his food. Not vomit big time, but just abit of his lunch or dinner. This afternoon, he was totally not keen on eating at all.

I pray pray pray that his sleep will not be affected tonight...

<font color="119911">ORGANIC MEAT</font>
Thanks, <font color="aa00aa">BCUBE, PECK, IRENE</font> for the info on organic meats.

What's your reason for holding off meat for the first year? I'm curious, cause personally, I'm not too keen about meats either.

But Aunty Ford hor, she harps about giving enough meats to the baby to help them sleep better. See lah, this Mama just wants to sleep, sleep, sleep!

Apart from Tofu and Lentils, what other subs are you using for protein?

As for SPG club, it's too early to tell if my membership has been revoked. There's just no telling with this LM of mind... anytime can go on strike!

<font color="ff0000">LOBANG QUEEN</font>
Sounds like your K is under Baby Led Weaning - they're just given real food in its original, bite size form! Nothing mushy or pureed.

I'm too afraid to give LM stuff like grapes and raisins though.. in case he might choke!

<font color="ffff00">CHEESE</font>
What kinds of cheese do you mums give the bubbas? Cheddar? Any recommendations, esp organic variety suitable for babies?

<font color="ff0000">caveat hor.... this aunty is kitchen-challenged..Sharing is Caring!</font>

<font color="0000ff">JULES</font>
I think LM knew I was going to start sleep training, so he decided to co-operate of his own good. Must threaten Sleep Training more often! hehe!

I'm certain R knows that Daddy isn't around and she's adjusting to his absence, as much as you are. Maybe she's also picking your vibes and missing him just as much?

The Sleep Training book I'm reading (but haven't put into practice yet, and hopefully don't have to!), says that anything can destroy their routine. Eg, house guests, either parent starting a new job, etc... you get the picture.

Hang in there!

<font color="119911">CELEB</font>
Emily's quick on interactive play.. most bubs are just on parallel play at this age!

Actually, Jillian, Ally doesn't look like she's crying either in this picture.. looks like she's telling a funny joke and Ems is laughing along!

hi everyone!!

only got a few mins to post.. thn we're off to my nieces bday party.
she's turning 6!

just wanted to give out hugs to everyone
HUGZZZZ

love the pic of Ally n Ems..

bcube..
wht happened?
aiyohh you ok?
i'm gonna make your ngor hiang next weeeek!
thanx for the recipeeeeeeeee

it's a busy weekend, have got another bday party to attend tmr.. but not bringing Ash for tht one..

its only been 4days back aat work but loooving it and oh so excited! but ive realised i cant do squat after work.. cos all i wanna do is rush home to be with Ash!

so figured best days wld be mondays... cos i wldve spent all weekend with her..
hoping to do a pedi/haircut
but have to do thm on diff mondays!!!

crap..gotta go..

oh oh.. a thinking of getting a bottle with a straw for Ash..
wht's eeryone using?
pigeon? combi?
whts gooot?

oh.. cheese.. i gave her some laughing cow cheese.. like the size of a pea.. and she loved it.. purely experimentaal..
i havent given her much else.. think cheese sauce,.. cheese in a pasta.. but not sure wht kind to give ..
might go for laughing cow.. the kiddie cubes

fish..... ive stopped all fish for now cos i realised it gave her exema.. or rather it made it flare up!.. tiny bit in between her toes..

bcube, wht did you use for Renee?
am looking for one.. saw at eden frodo elvis
boo boo goo
any suggestions?

gotta go

Amber,
you mean body moisturizer is it? I am using Cetaphile, recommended by skin specialist and I must say it is rather good. R's eczema is now just at her knee area so for the rest of her body, I am trying out Weleda Calendular body lotion that i bought from Supernature

Susu,
hmm..dunno if she is super sticky because of Daddy being away..but I seriously doubt so!

BUNALUN AT HV
ok here is a rather spooky story. A month back, I brought R for a walk and she was perfectly fine and happy until we entered the Bunalun shop. In a few seconds, she screamed and cried as if in fright and I had to hurry out of the shop. I thought that she just might have reached the end of her patience and it was all a coincidence. Spoke to Amber/Yolk about it and we both thought it may just be that babies have 6th sense but I didnt think much of it.

Then on Wed, I walked around the estate again and decided to pop in to make some veg purchase. Again, she was sitting contently in her stroller eating her biscuit..and in a few seconds after entering the shop, she cried horridly again. This time, I was rather suspicious.

BUT being the nasty mum that I am, I decided to go with her again on Thurs. That day, I carried her and I was watching her reaction. THE MOMENT I walked into the store, her fist tighten and she was clenching onto my shirt..she looked around and her eyes looked UP and finally gave a yell and cried inconsolably again! Ofcause I hurried out.

So its been confirmed. Either R really think Bunlun's decor sucks or she senses something in there. Am NOT gonna be bringing her there anymore for sure. :p

bcube...not too spook you out too much... but i used to live at block 43...was the damned bunalun's neighbour (god knows why they watch instructional videos LOUDLY at 3am!)

anyway...jus as we were moving out, hubby saw something in the tree just outside downstairs our unit...it was a THING...yikes...writing abt it now gives me the creeps...hubs can see such things...i'm so glad tt we were leaving then.

gosh...perhaps R saw the same thingy...yikes!

SUS,
Egg yolk is another source of protein. It is rich in vitamins and minerals as well, which is important for babies above 6 months. Just need to hard boil an egg, peel shell away, dig out the yolk, mash and mix with milk, yogurt or freshly squeezed orange juice. Give just half the yolk the first time. If baby does not develop any allergies, then you can give whole yolk subsequently.

HI GALS... anybody normally shops at ferregamo (erm.. did i spell correctly?? ) my mum has $1200 worth of vouchers to let go... letting go at 10% discount.. valid til end of this mth.. hehe..

hey mums.. had a super busy day today..

morning: was at market; bought sotong
gonna cook sambal sotong tmr! yay!

afternoon: took lis to library.. was so hot i had to cut short the reading trip as i had a major headache!

evening : took the girls to jurong point, bought a straw cup for wairah at kiddy palace
Note : Amber its a no brand one, $8.90, see pic below, model not included

1339835.jpg

will go read up the rest of the post..

<font color="0000ff">susu</font>
yeah, i got anak mak here

<font color="ff6000">yolk sac</font>
hey thats cute pic! Ems got that cheeky smile..
oh but poor Ems is sick.. you take care too ok! *hugs*

<font color="119911">jules</font>
hey your hubb can hi-five with mine - he loves those B grade movie on animals which becomes larger and life size and terrorize the village kind.. lame.. i normally excuse myself from watching it with him.. spare myself the ordeal..

kids say the darnest things
i was in the lift with lis and my next-door neighbour. she was asking where we were going and lis proudly say she's going to the library. then out of nowhere, lis asked "aunty siti, you have baby in your tummy is it? like my mommy last time"

my neighbour's face turned red when she said no she wasn't pregnant.. and you can imagine how hot my face was! i apologised but she said she understands cos she knows she got tummy! i was so paiseh!!

<font color="aa00aa">bcube/ bedebe</font>
oh dear.. sounds eerie.. where exactly is this? cos i go HV from time to time..

wairah now wants to push things across the house.. she pushes the small plastic Ikea stool, my triangle thai cushion, and today she was pushing Lissy's trike.

here's wairah posing by the trike
1339849.jpg

and a few seconds later, off she goes pushing it around
1339850.jpg

bcube... thts really freaky.. i wld just avoid the place n be done with it! esp with bedebe's story!! eeks

NORRRRRRRRRRRR
i love the pictures!!!

straw cup... okie got it.. will check out kiddie palace...
i wanna ditch my NUK bottles n use only Bfree.
need a bottle only for water..

Ash now has 3 upper teeth n 2 lower!

<font color="0000ff">Amber</font>
yeah i'm using the straw cup thingy for water only.. it'll be a chore to clean up the straw bit if use it for milk.

<font color="119911">chic mummy!!!</font>
i love the pics! Mischa and Russell look so cute in the costume! Lis love the kimono.. she said its so pretty.. oh you have a cheeky lamb there!

actually wairah can't walk on her own yet, but she's pushing things around the house a lot.. i'm hoping to be able to catch the first steps.

oh btw...veve was ok in bunalun the last time we were there but she was extremely serious looking while we had our da paolo outside pantry magic....hmmmm

oh btw here're my bad mummy moments for the week...it's been a real bad week for veve...poor girl!
wed: fell out of her car seat onto the car seat, drop of about 30cm
fri: mama nipped off quite a bit of flesh and skin off her left pinkie on horror manicure session...bled like nobody's business

sat: crawled off bed and fell from a height of 60cm. (the thud on the floor was so loud my heart literally skipped a beat, fell out and ached
) she hit her right side of head first...she's now sporting a swollen right eye, bruised nose
i'm so so scared she's not ok but she seems to be pretty normal so far.

lessons to learn:
1. never leave baby in child seat unattended without seat belt on (i thot i'll be quick cos i was jus taking out her stroller from the boot)
2. never leave baby on bed or dangerous places with sleepy hubs (yes...i tod hubs to look after her as i climbed out of bed to check on veve's porridge...next thing...sleepyhead went to lalaland...veve was happily exploring the bed and beyond with the mata asleep :|)

now we're off to gymboree...yipee!

bedebe,
whah thats scary man! I am sure she probably sense the THING....gosh..your HB can see these THINGS huh? Must be no fun!

Nor,
Its at the streatch of shophouses in Chipbee gardens....hey great pics of Wairah! Am impressed with her motor-skills!

Amber,
whoa! 5 teeth in total! R still has her 2 lower ones only...and to think she seem to be displaying teething symptoms all the time..geeesh....

oh bedebe! you're not a bad mummy, these things happen even when we're the most careful. even wairah fall when she attempts to walk, and i mean the face-down kinda fall. lesson learnt, hope veve is ok.. if she show any kind of throwing up/fever quickly go see the doc, just to be sure.

i'm off to IMM to take the girls to play by the water spouts!

Long time no chat! haha,
freaking tired man.. Charlotte teething, upper one, this time quite jalak leh, coz onli one tooth but cry alot; last time both came out same time i didnt even realize.. sigh..
Bussy with looking for new place to stay, bussy with small project that i'm working on, bussy entertaining in laws, bussy bussy and bussy!!
Lots of things to catch up!

Nor,
Glad to hear that your father better.. dont bother what mil says.. i'm sure she wont likeit if she's in your father posisition then u go out to attend someone else "party".. everybody will feel same way u know.. dont be sad ok? sometimes ppl just didnt realize how we feel till they're in our posisition.. =)

Susu,
I dun noe that you're a writer? WOW!!
Btw, i oso freeze veg stock, our advisor told use that frozen veg stock have to use withing 2-3 months, but of coz shorter would be better, for me, i only use it within 1-2 weeks coz i never make in a huge batch (no equipment) haha..

Jules,
My gal oso doesnt want to crawl.. don know why, instead of crawl, she's moving ard in a sitting posisition n drag her self here n there use her hand n back side! freak me out! but then doctor says nothing's wrong wif her, so i just let it be lor.. dont understand why she does that.. everytime i brought her to this LC group, the trainner will tease her to come using anykind of toys, or ask me to sit far away from her and then ask her to come but she just shake her head (that what she does if she refuse to do something).. *sigh* dont know what happens to her.. she can clap her hand like yours, she can climb certain things, she bubble alot n can say some words, she understand some commend, but not crawling.. bit worry whether she can walk before 1 year old or not coz she's heavy now.. hehe

Cheok,
what r u doing in dubai?

Bedebe,
Hope veve ok.. i know it will sounds lame, but it does happens! i'm sure lots of mother experienced the same thing eventhough once!

Glen dolman card - immitation
Is anyone still remember the cost of making this card? i tried to open old folder to find out but couldnt find leh.. I'm going back jkt next week n thinking to ask my untie who has a printing company the cost of making this card..
anyone can help? Thanks in advance!

im new to this thread and my baby boy arrived on 19 July 07 =) super active baby who's trying to stand now.. really very taxing on both my maid n me..
cant resist sharing pics of him too..
1340389.jpg

<font size="+2">Drinking from straw</font>
Yeah R just figured out how to drnk from her straw and she find it such fun! was grinning and letting the water flow outta her mouth after she suck. haha...

was at IMM Jurong east, let Lis play at the water spout at level 3, she really enjoyed herself! wil upload pics later. Wairah just watched cos i realise she's afraid of the cork material of the flooring used at the spout area.

hey <font color="ff0000">gugi</font>, yah i think this time my cold war with hubb is pretty bad la.. mil's and her relatives comments on the sunday reception which i did not attend (only hubb went with lis) must have got into hubb so much that he was very much agreeable to them than me.. anyhow, coming to his senses doesn't seem to be anytime soon so i'll just chill and let the silence keep him from flaring up.

<font color="0000ff">joanne</font>
welcome to the thread! what a cutie you have! what's your boy's name?

<font color="aa00aa">bcube</font>
funny right when they just discovered the magic of getting water via straw! you should video it for your hubb to see

my boy's name is Asher.. he's following my surname though =)
talking abt straws, should i invest in d pigeon cup thingy? asher's drinking alright from a cup but was tinking of getting a water holder for him instead.. is pigeon any good? since we're relying on my income onli things can get abit tight so everyting aso muz ask, research, ask, research before can buy.. haiz =(

I am new to this thread. My girl is coming to 9 mths old. Happen to have some personal free time to chat online as I am on overseas work assignment. I think the pics of the babies are lovely!

Read about the Gymboree classes that some of the babies here are attending. My girl attends the sat class but she's not been there for the past 2 Sats becos of my trip. Hope to meet some of you there next sat.

Haven't log in for a long time.

Bcube: The place you went is creepy. So scary...

Bedebe: Children will always have their bumps here and there . That's part of growing up... If she's not vomitting, she should be ok.

Drinking from straws: I bought a mag mag for Matt, he doesn't know how to drink from it. Think he couldn't make up what to do with the straw. hahaha

sippy cup: I bought so many sippy cups for him, Avent magic cup, mag mag cup and then I tried nuby one - finally, he likes it. Phew....

Cheok: oh no, it must be very stressful on board the plane. I won't know what to do too. Won't be handle the stares from the other passengers on board. Anyway, the worst is over. Enjoy yourself in Dubai... Post pics ok.

Jules: babies develop at different pace. Not to worry. I worry constantly too. Matt is crawling but he can't clap and talk...